• Issued: November 2007
  • Content last reviewed: May 2011

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

This Guide has been prepared to provide employers, constructors, owners, workers, health and safety representatives, members of joint health and safety committees, supervisors and occupational health personnel with guidance on the requirements of O. Reg. 278/05 and to increase the awareness of workplace parties of their duties under this Regulation.

The Guide does not prescribe how an employer must develop and implement specific components necessary for asbestos management programs in buildings; however, it answers common questions about the regulatory provisions. The Guide is not intended to replace the Regulation. In any case where the Guide may differ from the Regulation, the regulatory provisions prevail.

This Guide consists of an overview of the Regulation and a discussion of the provisions of the Regulation. The Guide has no legal effect. Reference should be made to the Occupational Health and Safety Act (the Act) and O. Reg. 278/05 to ascertain the legal duties and rights of the workplace parties.

For further information on any aspect of this Regulation, contact the Inspectorate of the Ministry of Labour at the nearest ministry office.

Previous | Next

ISBN 978-1-4435-6554-7 (HTML)
ISBN 978-1-4435-6553-0 (PRINT)

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

• Diffusion : novembre 2007
  • Dernière mise à jour : mai 2011

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

Le présent Guide a été préparé pour orienter les employeurs, les constructeurs, les propriétaires, les travailleurs, les délégués à la santé et à la sécurité, les membres des comités mixtes sur la santé et la sécurité, les superviseurs et le personnel chargé de la santé au travail relativement aux exigences découlant du Règl. de l'Ont. 278/05 et pour sensibiliser davantage les parties sur les lieux de travail à l'égard de leurs obligations en vertu de ce règlement.

Le Guide ne stipule pas de quelle façon un employeur doit élaborer et mettre en œuvre les éléments précis nécessaires des plans de gestion de l'amiante dans les édifices; il répond néanmoins aux questions courantes concernant les dispositions règlementaires. Le Guide n'entend pas remplacer le Règlement. En cas de divergence entre le Guide et le Règlement, les dispositions règlementaires prévalent.

Le présent Guide consiste en un aperçu du Règlement et une discussion des dispositions de ce dernier. Ce guide n'a pas d'effet juridique. Il convient de consulter la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (la Loi) et le Règl. de l'Ont. 278/05 pour vérifier les droits et les obligations juridiques des parties sur les lieux de travail.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur quelque aspect que ce soit de ce Règlement, communiquez avec un inspecteur du ministère du Travail au bureau le plus proche du lieu de travail.

précédent | suivant

ISBN 1-4249-1226-1 (HTML)
ISBN 1-4249-1226-1 (Version imprimé)

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.