Print this page

Alert: Safety of Load Haul Dump Equipment Operators

  • Issued: Februrary 23, 2016
  • Content last reviewed: February 2016

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

Background

Workers who are operating Load Haul Dump (LHD) equipment may be ejected from the operator’s compartment while the equipment is in motion. This alert has been issued to raise awareness about the potential for serious injury or death to LHD operators if the equipment they are using is not properly inspected, operated and maintained in good working condition.

Hazard summary

Operators run the risk of serious injury or death if the compartment doors of LHD equipment are not securely closed and latched when the LHD equipment is in motion. Operators should also be aware that if they are operating LHD equipment where the controls for steering are located on the door, in the event the door opens, the operator may lose the ability to control the equipment. This may put other workers or equipment operators in danger if they are working nearby.

Operators must also ensure they properly use restraining devices such as seat belts and that the restraining devices are maintained in good working order to ensure that, if an uncontrolled event occurs, the operator remains in the seat and in control of the LHD. Depending on the LHD design, this may also prevent an uncontrolled runaway of the equipment, which could put other workers at risk.

Recommended precautions and control measures

Workers operating LHDs should be performing daily assessments/inspections on their equipment. This includes:

  • Inspection of door hinges and latch systems to ensure proper operation and check that doors remain closed under all operating conditions.
  • Inspection of the seat belt mounting hardware for wear or damage.
  • Replacing any mounting hardware that is worn or damaged.
  • Making sure the mounting bolts are tight.
  • Inspection of the buckle for wear or damage. If the buckle is worn or damaged, replace the seat belt.
  • Inspection of the seat belt for webbing that is worn or frayed. Replace the seat belt if it is worn or frayed.
  • Verifying that the integrated controls and safety devices are tested for proper function prior to use.
  • Maintaining doors, latches and restraining devices according to the manufacturer’s specifications.

Operators who find any defects should remove the equipment from service and report deficiencies to their supervisor.

Employers shall require a worker to wear or use such personal protective equipment as needed to protect the worker from the particular hazard to which the worker may be exposed.

The employer must ensure that equipment is maintained in good working order.

Workers must ensure that restraining devices are used at all times where provided, and equipment is in good working order.

Locations and sectors

Sectors: Mining

Key legislative and regulatory provisions

Occupational Health and Safety Act

Clauses 25(2)(h), 25(1)(b), and 25(2)(a) of the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) require that all Ontario employers, regardless of the type of work, take every precaution reasonable in the circumstances for the protection of a worker, maintain all equipment provided in good condition, and provide information, instruction and supervision to a worker to protect the worker’s health and safety.

Clause 27(1)(b) of the OHSA requires that supervisors ensure that a worker uses or wears the equipment, protective devices or clothing that the worker’s employer requires to be used or worn. Clause 27(2)(c) requires that the supervisor take every precaution reasonable in the circumstances for the protection of a worker.

Clauses 28(1)(b) and (c) of the OHSA require that a worker use or wear the equipment, protective devices or clothing that the worker’s employer requires to be used or worn, and report to his or her employer or supervisor the absence of or defect in any equipment or protective device of which the worker is aware and which may endanger himself, herself or another worker. Clause 28(2)(b) requires that no worker use or operate any equipment, machine, device, or thing or work in a manner that may endanger himself, herself or any other worker.

Regulation 854 (Mines and Mining Plants)

Personal protective equipment: An employer shall require a worker to wear or use such personal protective equipment, clothing and devices as are necessary to protect the worker from the particular hazard to which the worker may be exposed (subsection 12 (3) of Regulation 854).

Motor vehicles: When in use, a motor vehicle, other than a motor vehicle running on rails, shall be in safe working condition (subsection 105 (1) of Regulation 854).

Regulation 856 (Regulation for Roll-Over Protective Structures)

Vehicles that operate on surface: No person shall use or operate a machine that is equipped with a restraining device unless the person is wearing the restraining device (subsection 3 (2) of Regulation 856).

Reference material

Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) SAE J386-2012 Operator Restraint Systems for Off-road Work Machines

For more information

Workplace Safety North

Mining (Ministry of Labour)

Contact the Ministry of Labour Health & Safety Contact Centre at 1-877-202-0008.

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Imprimer cette page

Alerte : Sécurité des opérateurs de chargeurs-transporteurs

  • Diffusion : 23 février 2016
  • Dernière mise à jour : février 2016

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

Contexte

Les travailleurs qui opèrent des chargeurs-transporteurs peuvent être éjectés de la cabine de conduite pendant que le matériel est en mouvement. La présente alerte a été émise afin de sensibiliser les travailleurs aux blessures sérieuses ou aux décès d’opérateurs de chargeurs-transporteurs pouvant potentiellement survenir si le matériel n’est pas adéquatement inspecté, exploité et entretenu en bon état de fonctionnement.

Résumé du danger

Les opérateurs sont à risque de subir des blessures graves ou de décéder si les portes de la cabine du chargeur-transporteur ne sont pas bien fermées et verrouillées lorsque le chargeur-transporteur est en mouvement. Les opérateurs devraient savoir que s’ils conduisent un chargeur-transporteur dont les commandes de direction sont situées sur la porte, l’exploitant peut être incapable de diriger le matériel si la porte s’ouvre. Cela peut mettre les autres travailleurs ou opérateurs de matériel qui travaillent à proximité en danger.

Les opérateurs doivent aussi s’assurer qu’ils utilisent correctement les dispositifs de retenue comme les ceintures de sécurité et que ces dispositifs de retenue sont conservés en bon état de fonctionnement afin de s’assurer que, dans l’éventualité d’un événement non contrôlé, l’opérateur demeure sur le siège et contrôle le chargeur-transporteur. Selon la conception du chargeur-transporteur, cela peut aussi prévenir une dérive du matériel, ce qui constituerait un danger pour les autres travailleurs.

Précautions et mesures de contrôle recommandées

Les travailleurs conduisant des chargeurs-transporteurs devraient quotidiennement évaluer et inspecter leur matériel. Cela comprend notamment :

  • l’inspection des charnières de porte et des systèmes de verrouillage afin de s’assurer de leur fonctionnement adéquat et de vérifier que les portes restent fermées dans toutes les conditions de fonctionnement;
  • l’inspection du dispositif de fixation de la ceinture de sécurité à la rechercher d’usure ou d’un dommage;
  • le remplacement de tout dispositif de fixation qui est usé ou endommagé;
  • la vérification que les boulons de fixation sont bien serrés;
  • l’inspection de la boucle afin de déceler l’usure ou un dommage. Si la boucle est usée ou endommagée, remplacer la ceinture de sécurité;
  • l’inspection de la ceinture de sécurité pour déceler l’usure ou l’effilochage de la sangle. Remplacer la ceinture de sécurité si elle est usée ou effilochée;
  • la vérification que le fonctionnement des commandes intégrées et des dispositifs de sécurité sont testés avant l’utilisation;
  • l’entretien des portes, des verrous et des dispositifs de retenue conformément aux spécifications du fabricant.

Les opérateurs qui découvrent des défauts devraient retirer le matériel du service et signaler les anomalies à leur superviseur.

Les employeurs doivent exiger qu’un travailleur porte ou utilise tout équipement de protection individuelle nécessaire pour le protéger des dangers particuliers auxquels il peut être exposé.

L’employeur doit s’assurer que le matériel est conservé en bon état de fonctionnement.

Les travailleurs doivent s’assurer que les dispositifs de retenue sont utilisés en tout temps lorsqu’ils existent, et que le matériel est en bon état de fonctionnement.

Emplacements et secteurs

Secteurs : installations minières

Principales dispositions législatives et réglementaires

Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail

Les dispositions 25 (2) h), 25 (1) b) et 25 (2) a) de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST) exigent que tous les employeurs de l’Ontario, peu importe le genre de travail, prennent toutes les précautions raisonnables dans les circonstances pour la protection d’un travailleur, maintiennent tout le matériel en bon état, et fournissent au travailleur les renseignements, les directives et la surveillance nécessaires à la protection de santé et de sa sécurité.

La disposition 27 (1) b) de la LSST exige que les superviseurs veillent à ce que le travailleur emploie ou porte le matériel et les appareils ou vêtements de protection exigés par l’employeur. La disposition 27 (2) c) exige que le superviseur prenne toutes les précautions raisonnables dans les circonstances pour assurer la protection du travailleur.

Les dispositions 28 (1) b) et c) de la LSST exigent qu’un travailleur emploie ou porte le matériel et les appareils ou vêtements de protection exigés par l’employeur, et signale à l’employeur ou au superviseur l’absence de matériel ou d’appareil de protection, ou les défectuosités dont il a connaissance et qui peuvent le mettre en danger ou mettre un autre travailleur en danger. La disposition 28 (2) b) stipule qu’un travailleur ne doit pas utiliser ou faire fonctionner du matériel, une machine, un appareil, un objet ou un ouvrage d’une façon qui peut le mettre en danger ou mettre un autre travailleur en danger.

Règlement 854 (mines et installations minières)

Matériel de protection individuelle : L’employeur doit exiger que les travailleurs portent ou utilisent l’équipement, les vêtements et les dispositifs de protection individuelle nécessaire pour les protéger contre les risques particuliers auxquels ils peuvent être exposés (paragraphe 12 (3) du Règlement 854).

Véhicules automobiles : Lorsqu’il est en service, tout véhicule automobile autre qu’un véhicule automobile sur rail doit être en état de fonctionnement sécuritaire (paragraphe 105 (1) du Règlement 854).

Règlement 856 (structures de protection contre le capotage)

Véhicules utilisés à la surface : Nul ne doit utiliser ou conduire un engin équipé d’un dispositif de retenue sans porter ce dispositif de retenue (paragraphe 3 (2) du Règlement 856).

Documentation de référence

Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) SAE J386-2012 Operator Restraint Systems for Off-road Work Machines (en anglais seulement)

Pour plus d’information

Sécurité au travail dans le Nord (en anglais seulement)

Mines (Ministère du travail)

Vous pouvez aussi communiquer avec l’InfoCentre de santé et de sécurité au travail du ministère du Travail au 1 877 202-0008.

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.