Print this page

Alert: Meat Mixer/Grinder

  • Issued: September 13, 2016
  • Content last reviewed: September 2016

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

Hazard summary

A worker in the meat department of a grocery store was injured while processing meat using a meat mixer/grinder machine. The worker opened the lid/guard of the machine while it was still running and reached inside. The worker’s arm became entangled with the moving parts.

Access to moving parts such as mixing arms, worms and other grinding accessories have caused crushing, laceration and fracture injuries. A guard or other device that prevents access to a moving part that may endanger a worker is required under the Industrial Establishments Regulation (Reg. 851).

Hazard locations

Hazard locations include bakeries, grocery stores, restaurants, cafeterias, supermarkets, hotels, theme parks, colleges, schools and the food processing industry.

Precautions and legal requirements

Under the Occupational Health and Safety Act

  • Clause 25 (2) (a) – "An employer shall provide information, instruction and supervision to a worker to protect the health or safety of the worker."
  • Clause 25 (2) (h) – "An employer shall take every precaution reasonable in the circumstances for the protection of a worker."

Under the Industrial Establishments Regulation

Guarding

Meat grinder/mixing machines must be guarded to prevent a worker from being exposed to moving parts. Employers may refer to CSA Standard CSA Z432-04, Safeguarding of Machinery, for guidance.

  • Section 24 – "Where a machine or prime mover or transmission equipment has an exposed moving part that may endanger the safety of any worker, the machine or prime mover or transmission equipment shall be equipped with and guarded by a guard or other device that prevents access to the moving part."
  • Section 25 – “An in-running nip hazard or any part of a machine, device or thing that may endanger the safety of any worker shall be equipped with and guarded by a guard or other device that prevents access to the pinch point.”

Maintenance

Section 75 – “A part of a machine, transmission machinery, device or thing shall be cleaned, oiled, adjusted, repaired or have maintenance work performed on it only when,

  1. (a) motion that may endanger a worker has stopped; and
  2. (b) any part that has been stopped and that may subsequently move and endanger a worker has been blocked to prevent its movement.”

Lock out

Section 76 – "Where the starting of a machine, transmission machinery, device or thing may endanger the safety of a worker,

  1. (a) control switches or other control mechanisms shall be locked out; and
  2. (b) other effective precautions necessary to prevent any starting shall be taken."

Pre-start review

A pre-start review may be required if installing or modifying a safeguarding device. Please see section 7 of the Industrial Establishments Regulation to determine whether a pre-start review is required.

For more information

Remember that while complying with occupational health and safety laws, you are also required to comply with applicable environmental laws.

Permission is granted to photocopy Ministry of Labour alerts. Please distribute them widely and post them where people will see them.

ISSN 1195-5228

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Imprimer cette page

Alerte : Mélangeur/hachoir à viande

  • Diffusion : 13 septembre 2016
  • Dernière mise à jour : septembre 2016

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

Résumé du danger

Un travailleur dans le département des viandes d’une épicerie a été blessé alors qu’il transformait de la viande à l’aide d’une machine à mélanger/hacher la viande. Le travailleur a ouvert le couvercle/protecteur de la machine alors qu’elle fonctionnait encore et s’est penché à l’intérieur. Le bras du travailleur s’est emmêlé dans les pièces mobiles.

L’accès aux pièces mobiles comme des fouets, serpentins et autres accessoires de hachage ont entraîné des blessures par écrasement, lacération et fracture. Un protecteur ou un autre ou un autre dispositif qui empêche l’accès à une pièce mobile pouvant mettre la sécurité d’un travailleur en danger est obligatoire aux termes du Règlement de l’Ontario 851 (Établissements industriels).

Emplacements du danger

Les emplacements du danger comprennent les boulangeries, les épiceries, les restaurants, les cafétérias, les supermarchés, les hôtels, les parcs thématiques, les collèges, les écoles et l’industrie de la transformation des aliments.

Précautions et exigences légales

Aux termes de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail

  • Disposition 25 (2) a) – « L’employeur fournit au travailleur les renseignements, les directives et la surveillance nécessaires à la protection de sa santé et de sa sécurité. »
  • Disposition 25 (2) h) – « L’employeur doit prendre toutes les précautions raisonnables dans les circonstances pour assurer la protection du travailleur. »

Aux termes du Règlement sur les établissements industriels

Protection

Les machines à hacher/mélanger la viande doivent être munies d’un protecteur pour empêcher un travailleur d’être exposé aux pièces mobiles. Les employeurs peuvent consulter la norme CSA Z432-04, Protection des machines, pour de plus amples renseignements.

  • Article 24 – « La machine, l’élément moteur ou l’organe de transmission qui possède une pièce mobile exposée qui risque de mettre la sécurité d’un travailleur en danger est muni d’un protecteur ou autre dispositif empêchant l’accès à la pièce mobile. »
  • Article 25 – « Un point de coincement par attraction ou toute partie d’une machine, d’un dispositif ou d’une chose qui risque de mettre la sécurité d’un travailleur en danger est muni d’un protecteur ou autre dispositif empêchant l’accès au point de pincement. »

Entretien

Article 75 – « Le nettoyage, la lubrification, le réglage, la réparation ou l’entretien des pièces de machine, de mécanismes de transmission, d’appareils ou de choses n’a lieu que lorsque les conditions suivantes sont réunies :

  1. a) tout mouvement qui pourrait mettre un travailleur en danger a cessé;
  2. b) les pièces arrêtées qui pourraient se remettre en mouvement et mettre un travailleur en danger ont été calées de façon à en empêcher tout mouvement. »

Blocage

Article 76 – « Dans le cas où la mise en marche d’une machine, d’un mécanisme de transmission, d’un appareil ou d’une chose pourrait mettre en danger la sécurité d’un travailleur :

  1. a) d’une part, les commutateurs ou autres commandes sont verrouillés;
  2. b) d’autre part, les autres précautions efficaces nécessaires sont prises pour empêcher une telle mise en marche. »

Examen préalable

Un examen préalable peut être obligatoire en cas d’installation ou de modification d’un dispositif de protection. Consultez l’article 7 du Règlement sur les établissements industriels afin de déterminer si un examen préalable est obligatoire.

Pour plus d’information

N’oubliez pas qu’en plus de vous conformer aux mesures législatives sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, vous devez vous conformer aux lois applicables en matière d’environnement.

Il est permis de photocopier les bulletins Alerte du ministère du Travail. Veuillez les distribuer en grand nombre et les afficher dans des endroits bien en vue.

ISBN 1198-8770

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.