Print this page

Alert: Collapsible Plastic Bulk Containers

  • Issued: June 2016
  • Content last reviewed: June 2016

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. FOR FURTHER INFORMATION PLEASE SEE FULL DISCLAIMER

Background

Open-top, collapsible plastic bulk containers offer a convenient way to store and transport a wide range of items. They are widely used in numerous types of workplaces to store and transport parts, items or materials at a location or from one location to another.

Types of Workplaces

  • Aerospace
  • Agriculture/Poultry
  • Apparel
  • Appliance
  • Automotive
  • Bakery
  • Electronics
  • Food/Beverage
  • Manufacturing
  • Pharmaceutical
  • Produce
  • Storage
  • Warehousing
  • Waste Management

Collapsible plastic bulk containers come in different sizes. For reduced storage space and ease of transportation, the four sides can be collapsed inwardly so the two sets of opposing sides lie neatly on top of each other in the horizontal position. Photo 1 and Photo 2 show a collapsible plastic bulk container in collapsed and set-up modes respectively.

Photo 1: A collapsible plastic bulk container in collapsed mode

Photo 1

Photo 2: A collapsible plastic bulk container in set up/vertical mode

Photo 2


This hazard alert is intended to help workplace parties, including manufacturers and suppliers, be aware that these types of collapsible plastic bulk containers can suddenly collapse inward. This sudden collapse inward can be caused by pushing against the side of the container and the container coming into contact with another object; or if there is enough resistance caused by the load in the container and/or the condition of the surface area that the container is being moved on.

Hazard summary

A worker at a workplace attempted to move a collapsible plastic bulk container by pushing it to try to make it slide on the floor. When the container came into contact with other containers behind it, the side of the container the worker was pushing against suddenly collapsed inward, causing the worker to fall head-first into the bin. The worker sustained serious neck injuries as a result.

Two of the sides of a collapsible plastic bulk container have two latches that, when engaged, secure the sides in the set up/vertical position. Photo 3 shows the latches (yellow) on a side of a container. The right latch and the left latch are identical and are a mirror-image of each other.

Photo 3: Latches to help secure a side in the set up/vertical position


Photo 3

Figure 1: Latches Pulled Back from Receiving Pockets due to Deflection in Side

Figure 1

(Simplified diagram, not to scale)

A push force applied to a latched side of a collapsible plastic bulk container will result in some inward deflection in the side. The amount of deflection depends on several variables, including the container material properties, the amount or magnitude of push force, and how much the container is restricted from moving. The deflection can cause the engaged portion of the latches to be pulled back, as illustrated in Figure 1, to the extent the latches slip off the receiving pocket, allowing the side to collapse.

Protective measures

The Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) requires employers to provide information, instruction and supervision to a worker to protect the health or safety of the worker [clause 25(2)(a)]. Therefore, employers must provide information, instruction and supervision to workers to address the hazard of sudden inward collapse of collapsible plastic bulk containers.

Pursuant to clause 45(a) of the Regulation for Industrial Establishments, material, articles or things, required to be lifted, carried or moved, shall be lifted, carried or moved in such a way and with such precautions and safeguards, including protective clothing, guards or other precautions as will ensure that the lifting, carrying or moving of the material, articles or things does not endanger the safety of any worker. Therefore, employers must take precautions to ensure that collapsible plastic bulk containers are moved in a manner that will not endanger a worker. This may include developing safe work procedures for moving collapsible plastic bulk containers, paying particular attention to any force being applied to the latched/collapsible sides of the containers.

The OHSA requires employers to take every precaution reasonable in the circumstances for the protection of any worker [clause 25(2)(h)]. This may include following the instructions from the manufacturers of collapsible plastic bulk containers on the safe movement of the containers.

Legislative and regulatory requirements

Section 45 of the Regulation for Industrial Establishments (Regulation 851): Material, articles or things,

  • required to be lifted, carried or moved, shall be lifted, carried or moved in such a way and with such precautions and safeguards, including protective clothing, guards or other precautions as will ensure that the lifting, carrying or moving of the material, articles or things does not endanger the safety of any worker; [clause 45(a)]

Under section 25 of the OHSA, the employer must:

  • provide information, instruction and supervision to a worker to protect the health or safety of the worker; [clause 25(2)(a)]
  • take every precaution reasonable in the circumstances for the protection of a worker; [clause 25(2)(h)]

For more information

Faurecia Automotive Seating Canada Ltd. Fined $80,000 After Worker Injured

Ontario.ca e-Laws

Contact the Ministry of Labour Health & Safety Contact Centre at 1-877-202-0008.

Remember that while complying with occupational health and safety laws, you are also required to comply with applicable environmental laws.

Permission is granted to photocopy Ministry of Labour alerts. Please distribute them widely and post them where people will see them.

Imprimer cette page

Alerte : Conteneurs repliables de vrac en plastique

  • Diffusion : juin 2016
  • Dernière mise à jour : juin 2016

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santè et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. POUR OBTENIR DE PLUS AMPLES RENSEIGNEMENTS, VOIR L'AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ INTÉGRAL

Contexte

Les conteneurs repliables de vrac en plastique sans couvercle constituent une manière pratique d’entreposer et de transporter un large éventail d’articles. Ils sont largement utilisés dans plusieurs types de lieux de travail pour entreposer et transporter des pièces, des articles ou des matières à un endroit, ou d’un endroit à un autre.

Types de lieux de travail

  • Aérospatial
  • Agriculture/aviculture
  • Appareils électroménagers
  • Automobile
  • Aliments et boissons
  • Boulangerie
  • Électronique
  • Entreposage
  • Fabrication
  • Gestion des déchets
  • Mise en entrepôt
  • Produits
  • Produits pharmaceutiques
  • Vêtements

Il existe différentes grandeurs de conteneurs repliables de vrac en plastique. Afin de réduire l’aire d’entreposage et de faciliter le transport, les quatre côtés peuvent être repliés vers l’intérieur afin que les deux jeux de côtés opposés reposent bien l’un sur l’autre en position horizontale. La photo 1 et la photo 2 montrent un conteneur repliable de vrac en plastique respectivement en mode replié et monté.

Photo 1 : Un conteneur repliable de vrac en plastique en mode replié

Photo 1

Photo 2 : Un conteneur repliable de vrac en plastique en mode monté

Photo 2


Cette alerte au danger vise à aider les parties des parties des lieux de travail, notamment les fabricants et les fournisseurs, à avoir conscience que ces types de conteneurs repliables de vrac en plastique peuvent se replier vers l’intérieur soudainement. Ce repliement soudain vers l’intérieur peut être causé par une pression sur le côté du conteneur faisant en sorte que le conteneur entre en contact avec un autre objet, ou s’il y a suffisamment de résistance causée par la charge dans le conteneur et (ou) l’état de la surface sur laquelle le conteneur est déplacé.

Résumé du danger

Un travailleur dans un lieu de travail a tenté de déplacer un conteneur repliable de vrac en plastique en le poussant pour essayer de le faire glisser sur le sol. Lorsque le conteneur est entré en contact avec d’autres conteneurs derrière lui, le côté du conteneur que le travailleur poussait s’est soudainement replié vers l’intérieur, entraînant la chute du travailleur, tête première, dans le bac. Le travailleur a subi de graves blessures au cou.

Deux des côtés du conteneur repliable de vrac en plastique ont deux loquets qui, lorsqu’ils sont enclenchés, verrouillent les côtés dans la position montée ou verticale. La photo 3 montre les loquets (en jaune) sur le côté d’un conteneur. Le loquet de droite et celui de gauche sont identiques et sont placés symétriquement l’un par rapport à l’autre.

Photo 3 : Loquets pour aider à verrouiller un côté dans la position montée ou verticale


Photo 3

Figure 1 : Les loquets sont éjectés des pochettes de réception en raison de l’inclinaison du côté

Figure 1

(Diagramme simplifié et non à l’échelle)

Une poussée appliquée sur le côté verrouillé d’un conteneur repliable de vrac en plastique entraînera une certaine inclinaison vers l’intérieur. L’amplitude de l’inclinaison dépend de plusieurs variables, notamment des propriétés matérielles du conteneur, de l’amplitude ou de la magnitude de la poussée et des limites de mouvement du conteneur. L’inclinaison peut faire en sorte que la partie couplée des loquets soit éjectée, comme le montre la figure 1, jusqu’à ce que les loquets sortent de la pochette de réception, permettant au côté de se replier.

Mesures de protection

La Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST) prévoit que l’employeur fournit au travailleur les renseignements, les directives et la surveillance nécessaires à la protection de sa santé et de sa sécurité [disposition 25 (2) a)]. Les employeurs doivent donc fournir aux travailleurs des renseignements, des directives et de la surveillance afin d’aborder le danger du repliement soudain vers l’intérieur des conteneurs repliables de vrac en plastique.

Conformément à la disposition 45 a) du Règlement sur les établissements industriels, les matières, articles ou choses qui doivent être levés, portés ou déplacés le sont de telle manière et en prenant de telles précautions et de telles mesures de sécurité, y compris des vêtements et dispositifs de protection ou autres précautions, que la sécurité des travailleurs n’est pas mise en danger. Les employeurs doivent donc prendre des précautions afin de s’assurer que les conteneurs repliables de vrac en plastique sont déplacés d’une manière qui ne compromettra pas la sécurité d’un travailleur. Cela peut notamment comprendre l’élaboration de méthodes de travail sécuritaire, en faisant particulièrement attention à toute force appliquée sur les côtés verrouillés et repliables des conteneurs.

La LSST exige que les employeurs prennent toutes les précautions raisonnables dans les circonstances pour assurer la protection des travailleurs [disposition 25 (2) h)]. Cela peut comprendre le respect des directives du fabricant des conteneurs repliables de vrac en plastique concernant le déplacement sécuritaire des conteneurs.

Exigences législatives et réglementaires

Article 45 du Règlement sur les établissements industriels (Règlement 851) : Les matières, articles ou choses :

  • qui doivent être levés, portés ou déplacés le sont de telle manière et en prenant de telles précautions et de telles mesures de sécurité, y compris des vêtements et dispositifs de protection ou autres précautions, que la sécurité des travailleurs n’est pas mise en danger; [disposition 45 a)]

Aux termes de l’article 25 de la LSST, l’employeur :

  • fournit au travailleur les renseignements, les directives et la surveillance nécessaires à la protection de sa santé et de sa sécurité; [disposition 25 (2) a)]
  • prend toutes les précautions raisonnables dans les circonstances pour assurer la protection du travailleur; [disposition 25 (2) h)]

Pour plus d’information

Un travailleur est blessé : Faurecia Automotive Seating Canada Ltd. reçoit une amende de 80 000 $

Ontario.ca Lois-en-ligne

Communiquez avec l'InfoCentre de santé et de sécurité au travail du ministère du Travail au
1 877 202-0008.

N’oubliez pas qu’en plus de vous conformer aux mesures législatives sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, vous devez vous conformer aux lois applicables en matière d’environnement.

Il est permis de photocopier les bulletins Alerte du ministère du Travail. Veuillez les distribuer en grand nombre et les afficher dans des endroits bien en vue.