Print Print This Page

Alert: Collector Shoe Assemblies on Overhead Cranes - Bridging an Isolation Gap

  • Issued: November 7, 2014
  • Content last reviewed: November 2014

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

Background

A crane service company technician (the worker) was completing preventative maintenance work on an overhead crane. There were two cranes operating in the same crane way. The employer had moved the crane that was being maintained to a position where they were able to shut off and lock out the electrical power to the bus bars in an isolated section at one end of the crane way. The second crane continued to operate while the repairs to the other were completed.

Each of the two cranes was equipped with a double arm collector shoe assembly that made contact with the bus bars and provided power to the cranes. Each of these collector shoe assemblies had a total of six collector shoes with inserts and two shoes and double arms on each bus bar that provided for a steady flow of electricity to the cranes’ motors. Each collector shoe assembly has a set consisting of three phases of shoes, or a leading set, termed the first set; and a set consisting of three phases of shoes, or a trailing set, termed the second set. The designation of leading and trailing sets changes depending on the direction of travel, as each crane is able to travel in both directions along the crane way.

To create the isolation section, an isolation gap was created between the bus bars in the crane way so that the current from the main section bus bars was prevented from reaching the bus bars in the section to be isolated. The electrical power at the isolation gap was diverted through a disconnect and routed back to the section of the bus bar that needed to be isolated. With the disconnect locked open, the bus bars in the isolation section were de-energized.

The worker was changing a worn insert in one of the shoes in the double arm collector shoe assembly (which had been de-energized) when he was fatally injured by electrical contact due to the subsequent, inadvertent energization of the isolated section of the bus bars he was working on. This inadvertent energization caused by current bridging the isolation gap is due to the inherent design and construction of the double arm collector shoe assembly.

Hazards

If there are multiple cranes in a crane way and they are equipped with double arm collector shoe assemblies, there is a danger that the double arm collector shoe assembly from the operating crane can create a bridge between the energized main bus bar section and the isolated section.

This condition had occurred when the operating crane was moved into a position where second set of shoes for the double arm collector shoe assembly was in contact with the main bus bar, and the first set of shoes for the double arm collector shoe assembly came into contact with the isolation section, thus bridging the isolation gap. The design and construction of the double arm collector shoe assembly is such that the first set of shoes is electrically connected to the second set of shoes at all times.

In general, there is a hazard when there are two cranes sharing the same crane way (and the operating crane has a double arm collector assembly), when the second crane is allowed to operate (remain energized) and, this crane’s first set of collector shoes encroaches into the isolation section while its second set of collector shoes remains in the energized main section. This results in current bridging the isolation gap, despite the first crane having been placed in the isolated (de-energized) section.

A worker performing work on the first, stationary crane’s double arm collector shoe assembly on the initially de-energized section could then inadvertently, come into contact with subsequently energized electrical parts that he or she believes had been safely de-energized. This hazard is due to the isolation section becoming energized from the operation and encroachment of the second, operating crane into the isolated section.

Locations and sectors

Any facility that operates two or more overhead cranes in the same crane way. This could include steel plants, heavy equipment production or assemblies, large parts machining facilities, steel slitting plants, heavy parts processing and materials handling facilities.

Precautions

Section 42 of Regulation 851 requires that when electrical maintenance work is carried out on a crane, the power supply must be disconnected, locked out of service and tagged before any work is performed. However, if there are multiple cranes operating on the same crane way additional precautions may be required. If the multiple crane way is equipped with a double arm shoe collector shoe assembly then the power supply to the full crane way must be disconnected, locked out of service and tagged before any work is performed.

Legal requirements

Section 42 of the Regulation for Industrial Establishments (Regulation 851):

  • Subsection 42(1) — The power supply to electrical installations, equipment or conductors must be disconnected, locked out of service and tagged before any work is done and while it is being done, and
  • Subsection 42(7) — The employer must write and implement procedures for being in compliance with this section.

Under Section 25 of the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA), the employer must:

  • Clause 25(2)(h) — take every precaution reasonable in the circumstances to protect workers,
  • Clause 25(2)(a) — provide information, instruction and supervision to protect the health and safety of the worker, and
  • Clause 25(2)(c) — ensure the measures and procedures prescribed are carried out in the workplace.

Under Section 27 of the OHSA, the supervisor must:

  • Clause 27(1)(a) – ensure that a worker works in a manner and with the protective devices, measures and procedures required by the act and its regulations,
  • Clause 27(2)(a) – advise a worker of the existence of any potential or actual danger to the health or safety of the worker of which the supervisor is aware;
  • Clause 27(2)(b) – provide a worker with written instructions on the measures and procedures to be taken for the protection of the worker, where so prescribed, and
  • Clause 27(2)(c) – take every reasonable precaution in the circumstances for the protection of the worker.

Under Section 28 of the OHSA, a worker must:

  • Clause 28(1)(a) - work in compliance with the provisions of the act and its regulations,
  • Clause 28(1)(b) - use or wear the equipment, protective devices or clothing that the worker’s employer requires to be used or worn,
  • Clause 28(1)(c) - report to their employer or supervisor the absence of or defect in any equipment or protective device and which may endanger them or another worker, and

For more information

Workplace Safety and Prevention Services
www.wsps.ca

ServiceOntario e-laws website
www.e-laws.gov.on.ca

Or contact the Ministry of Labour Health & Safety Contact Centre at 1-877-202-0008.

Remember that while complying with occupational health and safety laws, you are also required to comply with applicable environmental laws.

Permission is granted to photocopy Ministry of Labour alerts. Please distribute them widely and post them where people will see them.

ISSN 1195-5228

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Alerte : Ensembles de frotteurs sur les ponts roulants – Comblement d'un intervalle d'isolation

  • Diffusion : le 7 novembre 2014
  • Dernière mise à jour : novembre 2014

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

Contexte

Un technicien d'une société d'entretien de grues (le travailleur) effectuait des travaux d'entretien préventifs sur un pont roulant. Deux ponts roulants étaient utilisés sur la même voie de roulement. L'employeur avait déplacé le pont roulant qui faisait l'objet de l'entretien dans une position permettant de couper et de verrouiller l'alimentation des barres omnibus dans une section isolée à une extrémité de la voie de roulement. Le deuxième pont roulant continuait d'effectuer des manœuvres pendant les travaux de réparation de l'autre pont.

Chacun des deux ponts roulants était équipé d'un ensemble de frotteurs à double bras qui entrait en contact avec les barres omnibus pour alimenter les ponts roulants. Chacun de ces ensembles était muni d'un total de six frotteurs avec des garnitures ainsi que deux semelles de contact et des doubles bras sur chaque barre omnibus afin de fournir un courant électrique continu aux moteurs des ponts roulants. Chaque ensemble de frotteurs compte un jeu composé de trois phases de semelles de contact, ou jeu principal, appelé le premier jeu, et un jeu composé de trois phases de semelles de contact, ou jeu secondaire, appelé le second jeu. La désignation de jeu principal ou secondaire change selon la direction du déplacement, puisque chaque pont roulant peut se déplacer dans les deux sens sur la voie de roulement.

Pour créer une section d'isolation, un intervalle d'isolation a été mis en place entre les barres omnibus sur la voie de roulement de manière que le courant des barres omnibus de la section principale ne puisse atteindre les barres omnibus de la section devant être isolée. Le courant électrique à l'intervalle d'isolation était détourné par un sectionneur et réacheminé à la section de la barre omnibus qui devait être isolée. En verrouillant le sectionneur en position d'ouverture, les barres omnibus de la section d'isolation étaient mises hors tension.

Le travailleur changeait une garniture usée dans l'une des semelles de contact de l'ensemble de frotteurs à double bras (qui avait été mis hors tension) lorsqu'il a été mortellement blessé par contact électrique en raison de la mise sous tension subséquente, par inadvertance, de la section isolée des barres omnibus sur laquelle il travaillait. Cette mise sous tension par inadvertance causée par le comblement de l'intervalle d'isolation est attribuable à la conception et à la construction inhérentes de l'ensemble de frotteurs à double bras.

Dangers

Lorsqu'il y a plusieurs ponts roulants sur une voie de roulement et qu'ils sont équipés d'ensembles de frotteurs à double bras, l'ensemble de frotteurs à double bras du pont roulant en service risque de créer un pont entre la section principale de la barre omnibus sous tension et la section isolée.

Cela s'est produit lorsque le pont roulant en service a été déplacé dans une position où le second jeu de semelles de contact de l'ensemble de frotteurs à double bras est entré en contact avec la section principale de la barre omnibus et le premier jeu de semelles de contact de l'ensemble de frotteurs à double bras est entré en contact avec la section d'isolation, comblant ainsi l'intervalle d'isolation. L'ensemble de frotteurs à double bras est conçu et construit de manière que le premier jeu de semelles de contact soit relié électriquement au second jeu en tout temps.

De façon générale, il y a danger lorsque deux ponts roulants partagent la même voie de roulement (et que le pont roulant en service est muni d'un ensemble de frotteurs à double bras), que le deuxième pont roulant demeure en service (sous tension) et que le premier jeu de semelles de contact de ce pont roulant empiète sur la section d'isolation pendant que le second jeu de semelles de contact demeure dans la section principale sous tension. Ainsi, le courant vient combler l'intervalle d'isolation, même si le premier pont roulant a été placé dans la section isolée (hors tension).

Un travailleur effectuant des travaux sur l'ensemble de frotteurs à double bras du premier pont roulant immobilisé dans la section initialement mise hors tension pourrait donc, par inadvertance, entrer en contact avec des pièces électriques mises subséquemment sous tension qu'il croit avoir été mis hors tension de façon sécuritaire. Ce danger résulte de la mise sous tension de la section d'isolation par suite du déplacement et de l'empiétement du deuxième pont roulant en service dans la section isolée.

Lieux et secteurs

Tout établissement qui utilise deux ponts roulants ou plus sur la même voie de roulement. Il pourrait s'agir d'aciéries, d'usines de production ou de montage d'équipement lourd, d'installations d'usinage de grosses pièces, d'ateliers de refendage d'acier, d'usines de traitement de pièces lourdes et de manutention de matériaux.

Précautions

L'article 42 du Règlement 851 requiert que l’alimentation électrique des installations, du matériel ou des conducteurs électriques soit coupée, verrouillée hors service et étiquetée avant que ne soit effectué un travail [...] ou pendant le travail. Toutefois, s'il y a plus d'un pont roulant sur la même voie de roulement, des précautions additionnelles pourraient être nécessaires. Si les ponts roulants en service sur la voie de roulement sont équipés d'un ensemble de frotteurs à double bras, toute la voie de roulement doit alors être mise hors tension, verrouillée hos service et étiquetée avant d'effectuer des travaux.

Exigences juridiques

Article 42 du règlement relatif aux établissements industriels (Règlement 851) :

  • Paragraphe 42 (1) – L’alimentation électrique des installations, du matériel ou des conducteurs électriques est coupée, verrouillée hors service et étiquetée avant que ne soit effectué un travail [...] ou pendant le travail.
  • Paragraphe 42 (7) – L’employeur établit et met en œuvre des procédures écrites permettant de se conformer au présent article.
En vertu de l'article 25 de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST), l’employeur doit :
  • alinéa 25 (2) h) – prendre toutes les précautions raisonnables dans les circonstances pour assurer la protection du travailleur;
  • alinéa 25 (2) a) – fournir au travailleur les renseignements, les directives et la surveillance nécessaires à la protection de sa santé et de sa sécurité;
  • alinéa 25 (2) c) – veiller à ce que les mesures et les méthodes prescrites soient observées dans le lieu de travail.

En vertu de l'article 27 de la LSST, le superviseur doit :

  • alinéa 27 (1) a) – veiller à ce que le travailleur travaille de la façon et en utilisant les appareils de protection qu’exigent la présente loi et les règlements et respecte les mesures à prendre et les méthodes à suivre qu’ils exigent;
  • alinéa 27 (2) a) – informer le travailleur de l’existence de tout danger éventuel ou réel dont il a connaissance et qui menace la santé ou la sécurité du travailleur;
  • alinéa 27 (2) b) – si cela est prescrit, fournir au travailleur des directives écrites sur les mesures à prendre et les méthodes à suivre pour assurer sa protection;
  • alinéa 27 (2) c) – prendre toutes les précautions raisonnables dans les circonstances pour assurer la protection du travailleur.

En vertu de l'article 28 de la LSST, un travailleur doit :

  • alinéa 28 (1) a) – travailler conformément aux dispositions de la présente loi et des règlements;
  • alinéa 28 (1) b) – employer ou porter le matériel et les appareils ou vêtements de protection exigés par l’employeur;
  • alinéa 28 (1) c) – signaler à l’employeur ou au superviseur l’absence de matériel ou d’appareil de protection ou, si ceux-ci existent, les défectuosités dont il a connaissance et qui peuvent le mettre en danger ou mettre un autre travailleur en danger.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements

Services de prévention et de sécurité au travail (en anglais seulement)
www.wsps.ca

Lois-en-ligne de ServiceOntario
www.e-laws.gov.on.ca

Ou communiquer avec l'InfoCentre provincial de santé et de sécurité au travail du ministère du Travail, au 1 877 202-0008.

Rappel : Vous devez vous conformer aux lois en matière de santé et de sécurité au travail ainsi qu’aux lois applicables sur l’environnement.

Il est permis de photocopier les bulletins Alerte du ministère du Travail. Veuillez les distribuer en grand nombre et les afficher dans des endroits bien en vue.

ISSN 1198-8770

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.