Print Print This Page

Alert: Sweep Augers in Silos on Farms

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

Many incidents involving machinery at farm operations have been reported to the Ministry of Labour. Sweep auger equipment in silos can be extremely dangerous unless safety precautions are followed. Some farm workers – while installing, servicing and repairing sweep augers in silos – have been drawn into the auger mechanisms. Recently, while cleaning out and dislodging corn silage in a silo on a farm with the sweeper auger, two farmers came into contact with the energized moving parts of the sweep auger. This resulted in severe injuries to both farmers.

Background

On farms, employers who are installing, servicing and repairing a sweep auger in a silo should provide a worker with training and ensure supervision is provided. The employer must take every reasonable precaution in the circumstances to protect a worker. This would include protecting workers from coming into contact with the moving parts of the sweep auger. An employer must also take every precaution reasonable in the circumstances to protect workers from other potential hazards associated with entering silos.

Locations and sectors

Sweep augers are used extensively in the farming sector.

Hazards

All augers can present several safety risks for workers, including entanglement with the auger’s moving parts. An auger can quickly entangle an operator’s arms, hand or foot unless precautions are taken to prevent entanglement. Most injuries can involve amputation of fingers, hands, arms and feet. In some situations, injuries sustained may be fatal. The manufacturer’s specifications and recommendations of various types of augers should be followed by the employer.

Suggested precautions

  • Signage – The employer shall under clause 25(2)(h) of the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) take every precaution reasonable in the circumstances for the protection of any worker, which may include posting a clearly legible and visible warning sign at the entrance to the silo that warns workers of the entanglement hazards.
  • Lockout – The employer shall under clause 25(2)(h) of the OHSA take every precaution reasonable in the circumstances for the protection of any worker from accidental start up through the use of lockout when installing, servicing or repairing a sweep auger.
  • Work procedures – The employer shall under clause 25(2)(h) of the OHSA take every precaution reasonable in the circumstances for the protection of any worker, which may include developing safe work procedures when servicing or repairing the sweep auger for workers who may enter a silo and may be exposed to any potential hazards. Interlocks should not be made ineffective and/or defeated prior to entry into the silo.
  • Manufacturers' instructions – The employer shall under clause 25(2)(h) of the OHSA take every precaution reasonable in the circumstances for the protection of any worker, which may include following instructions from the manufacturers of silos and sweep augers on measures and procedures for safe entry into a silo in which a sweep auger is present. Any manufacturers' recommendations and/or specifications relating to safe entry and to protecting the health and safety of a worker should be followed. The employer should ensure that the guards supplied by the manufacturer are in place.

Relevant legislation requirements

The Ontario Occupational Health and Safety Act applies, with some limitations and conditions, to all farming operations (O. Reg. 414/05) that have paid workers under the Act. It does not apply to a farming operation operated by a self-employed person who does not have paid workers.

Under section 25 of the OHSA

The employer shall:

  • take every precaution reasonable in the circumstances for the protection of a worker [clause 25(2)h]
  • provide information, instruction and supervision to a worker to protect the health or safety of the worker [clause 25(2)a]

Under section 27 of the OHSA

The supervisor shall:

  • ensure that a worker works in the manner and with the protective devices, measures and procedures required by the Act and the regulations [clause 27(1)a]
  • ensure that a worker uses or wears the equipment, protective devices or clothing that the worker’s employer requires to be used or worn [clause 27(1)b]
  • advise a worker of the existence of any potential or actual danger to the health or safety of the worker of which the supervisor is aware [clause 27(2)a]

Under section 28 of the OHSA

A worker shall:

  • work in compliance with the provisions of this Act and the regulations [clause 28(1)a]
  • use or wear the equipment, protective devices or clothing that the worker’s employer requires to be used or worn [clause 28(1)b]
  • report to his or her employer or supervisor the absence of or defect in any equipment or protective device of which the worker is aware and which may endanger himself, herself or another worker [clause 28(1)c]
  • not use or operate any equipment, machine, device or thing or work in a manner that may endanger himself, herself or any other worker [clause 28(1)d]
  • not remove or make ineffective any protective device required by regulations or by his or her employer, without providing an adequate temporary protective device and when the need for removing or making ineffective the protective device has ceased, the protective device shall be replaced immediately [clause 28(2)a]

For more information

Workplace Safety & Prevention Services
http://wsps.ca/Home.aspx

Ministry of Labour
ontario.ca/labour

ServiceOntario e-laws
www.e-laws.gov.on.ca

Or contact the Ministry of Labour Health & Safety Contact Centre at 1-877-202-0008.

Reference material

Alert: Augers on Farms

Occupational Health and Safety Guidelines for Farming Operations in Ontario

Confined Spaces Guideline

Ministry of Agriculture and Food
Ontario.ca/agriculture

Remember that while complying with occupational health and safety laws, you are also required to comply with applicable environmental laws.

Please photocopy Ministry of Labour Alerts, distribute them widely and post them where people will see them.

ISSN 1195-5228

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Alerte : Vis de balayage des silos de fermes

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

De nombreux incidents mettant en cause des machines agricoles ont été signalés au ministère du Travail. Les vis de balayage des silos peuvent être extrêmement dangereuses si on ne prend pas de mesures de sécurité. Certains travailleurs agricoles ont été entraînés par les mécanismes des vis de balayage de silos en cours d'installation, d'entretien ou de réparation. Récemment, en nettoyant et en délogeant de l'ensilage de maïs dans un silo de ferme doté d'une vis de balayage, deux agriculteurs sont entrés en contact avec des pièces en mouvement de la vis de balayage. Tous deux ont subi des blessures graves.

Contexte

Dans les exploitations agricoles, les employeurs qui font installer, entretenir et réparer une vis de balayage dans un silo doivent former le travailleur et assurer sa supervision. L'employeur doit prendre toutes les précautions raisonnables dans les circonstances pour protéger le travailleur. Il doit notamment empêcher le travailleur d'entrer en contact avec les pièces en mouvement de la vis de balayage. Un employeur doit également prendre toutes les précautions raisonnables dans les circonstances pour protéger les travailleurs des autres dangers potentiels liés à l'entrée dans un silo.

Lieux et secteurs

Les vis de balayage sont largement utilisées dans le secteur agricole.

Dangers

Toutes les vis de balayage peuvent présenter plusieurs risques pour les travailleurs, y compris l'enchevêtrement avec les pièces en mouvement de la vis de balayage. Une vis de balayage peut rapidement coincer le bras, la main ou le pied d'un travailleur si ce dernier ne prend pas de précautions pour empêcher que cela se produise. La plupart des blessures peuvent causer l'amputation des doigts, des mains, des bras et des pieds. Dans certaines situations, les blessures subies peuvent être mortelles. L'employeur doit respecter les spécifications et les recommandations du fabricant des divers types de vis de balayage.

Précautions suggérées

  • Affichage – L'employeur doit, en vertu de l'alinéa 25 (2) h) de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST), prendre toutes les précautions raisonnables dans les circonstances pour assurer la protection du travailleur, ce qui peut inclure l'affichage d'une mise en garde parfaitement lisible et visible à l'entrée du silo afin d'avertir les travailleurs des risques d'enchevêtrement.
  • Verrouillage – L'employeur doit, en vertu de l'alinéa 25 (2) h) de la LSST, prendre toutes les précautions raisonnables dans les circonstances pour assurer la protection du travailleur contre une mise en marche accidentelle au moyen d'un dispositif de verrouillage pendant l'installation, l'entretien ou la réparation d'une vis de balayage.
  • Méthodes de travail – L'employeur doit, en vertu de l'alinéa 25 (2) h) de la LSST, prendre toutes les précautions raisonnables dans les circonstances pour assurer la protection du travailleur, ce qui peut inclure l'élaboration de méthodes de travail sécuritaires relatives à l'entretien ou à la réparation de la vis de balayage à l'intention des travailleurs qui peuvent pénétrer dans un silo et être exposés à des risques potentiels. Les dispositifs de verrouillage ne doivent pas être rendus inefficaces et (ou) inopérants avant l'entrée dans le silo.
  • Directives du fabricant – L'employeur doit, en vertu de l'alinéa 25 (2) h) de la LSST, prendre toutes les précautions raisonnables dans les circonstances pour assurer la protection du travailleur, ce qui peut inclure le respect des directives des fabricants de silos et de vis de balayage concernant les mesures et les méthodes d'entrée sécuritaire dans un silo doté d'une vis de balayage. Il faut suivre toutes les recommandations et (ou) spécifications des fabricants relatives à l'entrée sécuritaire et à la protection de la santé et la sécurité du travailleur. L'employeur doit s'assurer que tous les dispositifs de protection fournis par le fabricant sont en place.

Exigences des lois pertinentes

La Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail de l'Ontario s'applique, sous réserve de certaines restrictions et conditions, à toutes les exploitations agricoles qui rémunèrent des travailleurs (Règlement de l'Ontario 414/05). Elle ne s'applique pas à une entreprise agricole exploitée par une personne travaillant à son propre compte et qui n'emploie pas de personnel rémunéré.

En vertu de l'article 25 de la LSST,

L'employeur :

  • prend toutes les précautions raisonnables dans les circonstances pour assurer la protection du travailleur (alinéa 25 [2] h);
  • fournit au travailleur les renseignements, les directives et la surveillance nécessaires à la protection de sa santé et de sa sécurité (alinéa 25 [2] a).

En vertu de l'article 27 de la LSST,

Le superviseur :

  • veille à ce que le travailleur travaille de la façon et en utilisant les appareils de protection qu’exigent la présente loi et les règlements et respecte les mesures à prendre et les méthodes à suivre qu’ils exigent (alinéa 27 [1] a);
  • veille à ce que le travailleur emploie ou porte le matériel et les appareils ou vêtements de protection exigés par l’employeur (alinéa 27 [1] b);
  • informe le travailleur de l’existence de tout danger éventuel ou réel dont il a connaissance et qui menace la santé ou la sécurité du travailleur (alinéa 27 [2] a).

En vertu de l'article 28 de la LSST,

Le travailleur :

  • travaille conformément aux dispositions de la présente loi et des règlements (alinéa 28 [1] a);
  • emploie ou porte le matériel et les appareils ou vêtements de protection exigés par l’employeur (alinéa 28 [1] b);
  • signale à l’employeur ou au superviseur l’absence de matériel ou d’appareil de protection ou, si ceux-ci existent, les défectuosités dont il a connaissance et qui peuvent le mettre en danger ou mettre un autre travailleur en danger (alinéa 28 [1] c);
  • ne doit pas utiliser ou faire fonctionner du matériel, une machine, un appareil, un objet ou un ouvrage d’une façon qui peut le mettre en danger ou mettre un autre travailleur en danger (alinéa 28 [1] d);
  • ne doit pas enlever un appareil de protection exigé par les règlements ou par l’employeur ou empêcher son fonctionnement sans le remplacer par un appareil temporaire de protection qui est convenable, et lorsque le besoin d’une telle mesure n’existe plus, le premier appareil doit être remplacé immédiatement (alinéa 28 [2] a).

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements :

Services de prévention et de sécurité au travail (en anglais seulement)
http://wsps.ca/Home.aspx

Ministère du Travail
ontario.ca/travail

Lois-en-ligne de ServiceOntario
www.e-laws.gov.on.ca

Ou communiquer avec l'InfoCentre provincial de santé et de sécurité au travail du ministère du Travail, au 1 877 202-0008.

Documents de référence

Alerte : Vis à grain dans les opérations agricoles

Directives concernant la santé et la sécurité au travail à l'intention des opérations agricoles en Ontario

Lignes directrices relatives aux espaces clos

Ministère de l'Agriculture et de l'Alimentation
Ontario.ca/agriculture

Rappelez-vous qu'en plus de vous conformer aux lois en matière de santé et de sécurité au travail, vous devez aussi vous confirmer aux lois applicables sur l'environnement.

Il est permis de photocopier les bulletins Alerte du ministère du Travail. Veuillez les distribuer en grand nombre et les afficher dans des endroits bien en vue.

ISSN 1198-8770

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.