Print Print This Page

Alert: Brew-On-Premise Wine Making Establishments
Hazardous Carbon Dioxide Concentrations

  • Issued: September 26, 2013
  • Content last reviewed: September 2013

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

Hazard summary

The owner of a small brew-on-premise wine making establishment died of asphyxiation in a carbon dioxide (CO2) enriched, oxygen deficient atmosphere. The CO2 was produced by the fermentation of wine in the tightly closed, non-ventilated basement. The store did not have any natural or mechanical ventilation and was closed at the time of the incident. Fermentation of a large number of batches of wine had begun during the previous week. Two responding paramedics were also affected by the high level of CO2 in the stairwell leading to the basement.

Background

Wine fermentation is carried out in vented glass or plastic carboys or in buckets and the CO2 produced in the process is released into the workplace. CO2 release is greatest early in the fermentation process when fermentation is most active. In the absence of adequate ventilation CO2 can accumulate, displace oxygen and reach dangerous concentrations well in excess of the time-weighted average occupational exposure limit of 5,000 parts CO2 per million parts of air (ppm). The accumulation of CO2 can occur even in shops located on the ground floor with access to the outdoors.

Health effects

CO2 is a colourless, odourless gas that occurs naturally in air at concentrations of about 350 ppm, or about 0.04%. The primary fermentation process that produces wine also produces CO2. The volume of CO2 produced varies according to the type of wine, the composition of the juice, room temperature and the stage of fermentation. At peak fermentation the volume of CO2 produced per day may be 10 to 15 times greater than that which occurs naturally in air. Without adequate ventilation, CO2 can displace oxygen and produce an atmosphere that is both high in CO2 and low in oxygen.

CO2 is considered a simple asphyxiant, although at high concentrations it also acts as a strong central nervous system depressant. Workers exposed to CO2 concentrations greater than 2-3% (20,000-30,000 ppm) may experience rapid breathing and shortness of breath. Exposure to CO2 in concentrations greater than 4% (40,000 ppm) poses an immediate or delayed threat to life or health and can interfere with the worker's ability to escape. Exposure to CO2 in concentrations greater than 10% (100,000 ppm) can cause death within minutes.

At oxygen concentrations of 10-16% workers may experience rapid heart rate, rapid breathing, and exercise intolerance. As the concentration of oxygen decreases to 6-10%, the worker may experience nausea, collapse, and coma. Workers exposed to oxygen concentrations of less than 6% can be expected to become unconscious and die within a short period of time [ 1 ].

Hazard locations

The risk of oxygen depletion and elevated CO2 concentrations as a result of fermentation in brew-on-premise wine making establishments is generally not well known. When first responders entered the shop where the fatality occurred they found the oxygen concentration to be approximately 16%. This oxygen reading was taken after mechanical ventilation had begun. The oxygen concentration may have been lower at the time of the fatality. The CO2 concentration could not be measured because it exceeded the maximum detection limit of the available monitoring equipment.

In 2002, two British Columbia winery workers died after entering a fermentation vessel. The oxygen concentration in the vessel was about 16%, and the CO2 concentration was over 100,000 parts per million, or 10% [ 2 ]. At these concentrations either the reduced oxygen concentration or the elevated CO2 concentration would impede the ability to escape the environment and quickly cause unconsciousness and death.

Requirements under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and its regulations

  • An employer shall provide information, instruction and supervision to a worker to protect the health or safety of the worker (OHSA Clause 25(2)(a)). For example, information and instruction may include:
    • the health effects of CO2
    • the circumstances under which CO2 can accumulate in high concentrations
    • the limitations of mechanical and natural ventilation
    • the use, care, and maintenance of monitoring equipment, and
    • emergency measures and procedures.
  • An employer shall acquaint a worker or person having authority over a worker with any hazard in the work and in the handling, storage, use, disposal and transport of any article, device, equipment, or a biological, chemical or physical agent (OHSA Clause 25(2)(d)). For example, workers should be acquainted with the hazard of elevated levels of CO2 and the potential for a reduced oxygen/elevated CO2 atmosphere caused by consumption and displacement of oxygen during the fermentation process.
  • An employer shall take all measures reasonably necessary in the circumstances to protect workers from exposure to CO2 because of the storage, handling, processing or use of CO2 in the workplace (Section 3 of Regulation 833, Control of Exposure to Biological or Chemical Agents).
  • An employer shall restrict the amount and duration of a worker's exposure to CO2 in accordance with the following limits (Section 4 of Regulation 833, Control of Exposure to Biological or Chemical Agents).
    • The TWA or time-weighted average limit to which a worker may be exposed for an eight hour work day or a forty hour work week is 5,000 ppm.
    • The STEL or short term exposure limit to which a worker may be exposed in any 15 minute period is 30,000 ppm.
  • An industrial establishment shall be adequately ventilated by either natural or mechanical means such that the atmosphere does not endanger the health and safety of workers (Section 127 of Regulation 851, Industrial Establishments).
  • Replacement air shall be provided to replace air exhausted. The replacement air shall,
    1. be heated, when necessary, to maintain at least the minimum temperature in the workplace specified in section 129 of Regulation 851, Industrial Establishments;
    2. be free from contamination with any hazardous dust, vapour, smoke, fume, mist or gas; and
    3. enter in such a manner so as,
      1. to prevent blowing of settled dust into the workplace
      2. to prevent interference with any exhaust system, and
      3. not to cause undue drafts. (Section 128 of Regulation 851, Industrial Establishments).
  • The discharge of air from any exhaust system shall be in such a manner so as to prevent the return of contaminants to any workplace (Section 128 of Regulation 851, Industrial Establishments).
  • Where a worker is likely to be exposed to an atmosphere at atmospheric pressure with an oxygen content of less than 18%, the worker shall be protected by mechanical ventilation so that the worker's safety and health is not endangered (Section 138 of Regulation 851, Industrial Establishments).

Recommended precautions and control measures

  • CO2 monitors equipped with audible alarms should be installed in all fermentation areas. Monitors should be set to alarm at or below the TWA. Monitors should be inspected and maintained on a regular basis as per the manufacturer's recommendations. Sensors may require frequent calibration and regular replacement.
  • CO2 concentrations in some wine making operations may exceed the maximum detection range of CO2 monitors used in indoor air quality and occupational exposure limit assessments. Some direct reading CO2 detector tubes can be used, but extreme caution should be used when approaching and assessing the environment which may have the potential to be immediately dangerous to life and health.
  • Fermentation should be conducted in areas of the workplace that are mechanically ventilated to the outdoors with provisions for replacement air.
  • First responders (police, fire, emergency medical services) should be made aware of the potential for CO2 enriched and oxygen deficient atmospheres in brew-on-premise wine making establishments, and of the need for appropriate monitoring equipment and protective equipment when dealing with emergencies in these workplaces.

References

[ 1 ] Ladou, Joseph; Current Occupational & Environmental Medicine, 4th edition, 2007, McGraw Hill.

[ 2 ] Youakim, Sami; Occupational health risks of wine industry workers; BCMJ, Vol. 48, No. 8, 2006; pages 386-391.

For more information contact the Ministry of Labour at 1-877-202-0008.

Remember that while complying with occupational health and safety laws, you are also required to comply with applicable environmental laws.

Permission is granted to photocopy Ministry of Labour alerts. Please distribute them widely and post them where people will see them.

ISSN: 1195-5228

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Alerte : Centres de fermentation libre-service
Concentrations de dioxyde de carbone dangereuses

  • Diffusion : 26 septembre 2013
  • Dernière mise à jour : septembre 2013

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

Description du danger

Le propriétaire d'un petit centre de fermentation libre-service est mort asphyxié dans une atmosphère riche en dioxyde de carbone (CO2) et appauvrie en oxygène. Le CO2 a été produit par la fermentation du vin dans le sous-sol bien fermé et non ventilé. Le magasin n'était doté d'aucune ventilation naturelle ou mécanique et était fermé au moment de l'incident. La fermentation d'un grand nombre de cuvées avait commencé au cours de la semaine précédente. Deux ambulanciers paramédicaux appelés sur les lieux ont été également incommodés par la concentration élevée de CO2 dans l'escalier menant au sous-sol.

Contexte

La fermentation du vin est produite dans des touries en verre ou en plastique ou dans des seaux et le processus dégage du CO2 qui se répand dans le lieu de travail. Le dégagement de CO2 est plus important au début du processus, quand la fermentation est la plus active. Sans ventilation adéquate, le CO2 peut s'accumuler, remplacer l'oxygène et atteindre des concentrations dangereuses dépassant de beaucoup la limite d'exposition moyenne pondérée selon la durée au travail, qui est de 5 000 parties de CO2 par million de parties d'air (ppm). L'accumulation de CO2 peut se produire même dans des ateliers situés au niveau du sol avec accès à l'extérieur.

Effets sur la santé

Le CO2 est un gaz incolore et inodore naturellement présent dans l'air à des concentrations d'environ 350 ppm, soit environ 0,04 %. Le processus de fermentation primaire qui produit le vin produit également du CO2. Le volume de CO2 produit varie selon le type de vin, la composition du moût, la température ambiante et l'étape de la fermentation. À l'étape la plus active de la fermentation, le volume de CO2 produit chaque jour peut dépasser de 10 à 15 fois le volume naturellement présent dans l'air. Sans ventilation adéquate, le CO2 peut remplacer l'oxygène, de sorte que l'atmosphère contienne beaucoup de CO2 et peu d'oxygène.

On considère le CO2 comme un simple asphyxiant, bien qu'à des concentrations élevées, il agisse également comme un puissant dépresseur du système nerveux central. Les travailleurs exposés à des concentrations de CO2 supérieures à 2 à 3 % (20 000 à 30 000 ppm) peuvent éprouver une respiration rapide et de l'essoufflement. L'exposition à des concentrations de CO2 supérieures à 4 % (40 000 ppm) présente un danger immédiat ou reporté pour la vie et la santé du travailleur et peut interférer avec sa capacité d'évacuation. L'exposition à des concentrations de CO2 supérieures à 10 % (100 000 ppm) peut causer la mort en quelques minutes.

Lorsque la concentration d'oxygène se situe entre 10 et 16 %, le travailleur peut ressentir une fréquence cardiaque rapide, une respiration rapide et de l'intolérance à l'exercice. Au fur et à mesure que la concentration d'oxygène diminue entre 6 et 10 %, il peut avoir la nausée, s'effondrer et tomber dans le coma. Exposé à une concentration d'oxygène inférieure à 6 %, il peut perdre connaissance et mourir dans un court laps de temps [ 1 ].

Lieu présentant un danger

De manière générale, on ne connaît pas bien le risque d'appauvrissement en oxygène et d'élévation de la concentration de CO2 résultant de la fermentation dans les centres de fermentation libre-service. Lorsque les premiers intervenants ont pénétré dans l'atelier où le décès est survenu, la concentration d'oxygène était de 16 % environ. Cette lecture du niveau d'oxygène a été prise après qu'on eut mis en marche la ventilation mécanique. La concentration d'oxygène peut avoir été inférieure au moment du décès. La concentration de CO2 n'a pas pu être mesurée parce qu'elle dépassait la limite de détection maximale du matériel de détection disponible.

En 2002, deux travailleurs d'un établissement vinicole de Colombie-Britannique sont morts après être entrés dans une cuve de fermentation. La concentration en oxygène dans la cuve était d'environ 16 % et la concentration de CO2 dépassait 100 000 parties par million, ou 10 % [ 2 ]. Dans un tel environnement, la concentration d'oxygène réduite – ou la concentration de CO2 élevée –, gêne la capacité d'évacuation et cause la perte de conscience et la mort.

Exigences de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST) et de ses règlements

  • L'employeur fournit au travailleur les renseignements, les directives et la surveillance nécessaires à la protection de sa santé et de sa sécurité (alinéa 25 [2] a] de la LSST). Par exemple, les renseignements et les directives peuvent comprendre :
    • les effets sur la santé du CO2;
    • les circonstances dans lesquelles le CO2 peut s'accumuler en concentration élevée;
    • les limites de la ventilation mécanique et naturelle;
    • l'utilisation, le soin et l'entretien de matériel de détection;
    • les mesures et procédures d'urgence.
  • L'employeur informe le travailleur, ou la personne qui exerce son autorité sur celui-ci, des risques que comportent le travail et la manipulation, l'entreposage, l'utilisation, l'élimination et le transport de tout objet, appareil, matériel ou agent biologique, chimique ou physique (alinéa 25 [2] d] de la LSST). Par exemple, le travailleur doit connaître le danger des niveaux élevés de CO2 et la possibilité que la consommation et le remplacement de l'oxygène durant le processus de fermentation aient appauvri l'oxygène/élevé le CO2 de l'atmosphère.
  • L'employeur prend toutes les mesures raisonnablement nécessaires dans les circonstances pour protéger les travailleurs contre l'exposition au CO2 résultant du stockage, de la manipulation, de la transformation ou de l'utilisation du CO2 dans le lieu de travail (article 3 du règlement 833, Contrôle de l'exposition à des agents biologiques ou chimiques).
  • L'employeur prend les mesures afin de limiter l'exposition des travailleurs au CO2 conformément aux limites suivantes (article 4 du règlement 833, Contrôle de l'exposition à des agents biologiques ou chimiques).
    • La limite d'exposition moyenne pondérée selon la durée pour un travailleur pendant une journée de travail de huit heures ou une semaine de quarante heures est 5 000 ppm.
    • La limite d'exposition de courte durée d'un travailleur pendant une période de 15 minutes est 30 000 ppm.
  • Les établissements industriels sont adéquatement ventilés par des moyens mécaniques ou naturels de façon que l'atmosphère ne mette pas en danger la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs (article 127 du règlement 851, Établissements industriels).
  • Tout air évacué à l'extérieur doit être remplacé. L'air de remplacement réunit les conditions suivantes :
    1. il est chauffé, s'il y a lieu, pour maintenir dans le lieu de travail la température minimale mentionnée à l'article 129 [du règlement 851, Établissements industriels];
    2. il est exempt de toute contamination par des poussières, vapeurs, fumées, brouillards ou gaz dangereux;
    3. il est dirigé de façon :
      1. à ne pas soulever de poussière dans le lieu de travail,
      2. à ne pas gêner le fonctionnement de tout système d'évacuation de l'air,
      3. à ne pas provoquer de courants d'air excessifs (article 128 du règlement 851, Établissements industriels).
  • Le rejet de l'air à l'extérieur par un système d'évacuation se fait de manière à empêcher la reprise des contaminants et leur envoi dans le lieu de travail (article 128 du règlement 851, Établissements industriels).
  • Les travailleurs susceptibles d'être exposés à une atmosphère dont la teneur en oxygène est inférieure à 18 pour cent, mesurée à la pression atmosphérique, sont protégés par un système de ventilation mécanique de façon à ne pas mettre leur santé et leur sécurité en danger (article 138 du règlement 851, Établissements industriels).

Précautions recommandées et mesures de contrôle

  • On devrait installer des détecteurs de CO2 équipés d'alarmes sonores dans toutes les zones de fermentation. Les détecteurs doivent être réglés pour se déclencher à la valeur limite d'exposition moyenne pondérée selon la durée ou sous celle-ci. Les détecteurs doivent être inspectés et faire l'objet d'un entretien régulier selon les recommandations du fabricant. Les capteurs peuvent devoir être étalonnés fréquemment et remplacés régulièrement.
  • La concentration de CO2 de certains établissements vinicoles peut dépasser le seuil de détection maximal des détecteurs de CO2 utilisés pour l'évaluation de la qualité de l'air intérieur et des limites d'exposition professionnelle. On peut utiliser certains tubes de détection de CO2 à lecture directe, mais il faut faire extrêmement attention en approchant et en évaluant le secteur, qui peut présenter un danger immédiat pour la vie et la santé.
  • On devrait effectuer la fermentation dans des secteurs du lieu de travail ventilés mécaniquement vers l'extérieur et approvisionnés en air neuf.
  • Les premiers répondants (policiers, pompiers, ambulanciers paramédicaux des services médicaux) doivent être au courant que l'atmosphère des centres de fermentation libre-service peut être élevée en CO2 et déficiente en oxygène, et qu'il faut se munir de matériel de détection et de matériel de protection individuelle approprié pour répondre aux urgences dans ces lieux de travail.

Références

[ 1 ] LADOU, JOSEPH. « Current Occupational & Environmental Medicine », McGraw Hill, 4e édition, 2007.

[ 2 ] YOUAKIM, SAMI. « Occupational health risks of wine industry workers », British Columbia Medical Journal, vol. 48, no 8 (2006), pages 386 à 391.

Pour obtenir davantage de renseignements, communiquez avec le ministère du Travail, au 1 877 202-0008.

Rappelez-vous qu'en plus de vous conformer aux lois en matière de santé et de sécurité au travail, vous devez aussi vous confirmer aux lois applicables sur l'environnement.

Il est permis de photocopier les bulletins Alerte du ministère du Travail. Veuillez les distribuer en grand nombre et les afficher dans des endroits bien en vue.

ISSN : 1198-8770

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.