Print Print This Page

Alert: Asbestos Hazard in Vehicle Brake Repair

  • Issued: April 10, 2013
  • Content last reviewed: April 2013

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

Hazard summary

Asbestos in aftermarket replacement brake pads poses an increased risk of asbestos-related disease for auto brake mechanics.

Background

Asbestos was historically used as a friction material in brake linings, disc brake pads and clutch facings in vehicles because of its unique fire resistance and wear properties. With an increase in the awareness of the health risks associated with asbestos and introduction of specific occupational health and safety legislation to address these hazards in the early 1980s, the manufacturing of asbestos-containing friction materials, such as brake pads, in Ontario ceased, as did the use of the asbestos-containing products generally.

For many years the use of asbestos-containing friction products was mostly considered to be phased out in Ontario's automotive industry. This however has changed with recent reports of aftermarket brake pads containing asbestos being imported into Canada. According to Statistics Canada reports, more than $2.6 million worth of brake pads containing asbestos entered Canada in 2011, with more than half imported into Ontario.

The presence of asbestos in aftermarket brake pads poses an increased risk of exposure to hazardous concentrations of asbestos dust during the maintenance and repair of asbestos-containing friction materials for auto brake mechanics. Principal sources of asbestos exposure occur during the removal of dust from brake drums and assemblies and when linings are machined before installation.

Health effects

Asbestos is dangerous to work with and can cause occupational diseases, including respiratory problems, mesothelioma and lung cancer.

For many years asbestos has been recognized as a health hazard for workers performing work in asbestos mining, processing and installation of asbestos products. Several serious, debilitating diseases that often end in death have been linked to the inhalation of fine asbestos fibres. For each disease, there is a period of latency, from 10 to 40 or more years, between first exposure to asbestos and the appearance of the disease.

Auto brake mechanics are known to be especially at risk of developing asbestos-related diseases. For more information on asbestos-related diseases refer to the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board's fact sheet on asbestos-related disease (PDF).

Hazard locations

All automotive and truck repair garages and brake repair shops.

Legislative/regulatory requirements

The Ministry of Labour (MOL) considers all potential worker exposures to asbestos to be a serious workplace hazard.

As a general workplace practice, MOL encourages the substitution of hazardous products by those that are less hazardous whenever possible.

Asbestos is a designated substance under Ontario's Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA).

Under OHSA, there are three regulations addressing occupational exposures to asbestos:

  1. O. Reg. 490/09 – Designated Substances
  2. O. Reg. 278/05 Designated Substance – Asbestos on Construction Projects and in Buildings and Repair Operations.
  3. Regulation 833 – Control of Exposure to Biological or Chemical Agents.

The Regulation respecting Asbestos on Construction Projects and in Buildings and Repair Operations (O. Reg. 278/05) made under the OHSA sets out the requirements for repair operations involving vehicles, which likely includes brake repair operations. Unless the owner of the repair shop definitively knows that the brake pads do not contain asbestos or has an examination carried out pursuant to section 10(2) of O. Reg. 278/05 before the vehicle repair work is done then the pads must be assumed to contain asbestos.

For the purposes of O. Reg. 278/05, most brake repair operations will likely be classified as Type 1 or Type 2 operations. In addition to complying with all other applicable requirements of the Regulation, employers of a worker working in Type 2 operations must complete an asbestos work report in accordance with section 21 of O. Reg. 278/05 and submit it to the Provincial Physician at the Ministry. The asbestos work report is completed in a form obtained from the Ministry and includes the name of the worker performing the Type 2 operation and the number of hours of work which may expose the worker to asbestos containing material.

Examples of brake repair operations that may be classified as Type 1 operations are:

  1. The installation and removal of brake pads where they are installed or removed without being broken, cut, drilled, abraded, ground or sanded.
  2. The breaking, cutting, drilling, abrading, grinding or sanding of brake pads where they are wetted to control the spread of dust or fibres, and the work is done only by means of non-powered hand-held tools.

The measures and procedures that apply to Type 1 operations are set out in section 14 of O. Reg. 278/05. These required measures and procedures include:

  • The removal of any visible dust on the pad or drum with a damp cloth or a vacuum equipped with a HEPA (High Efficiency Particulate Aerosol) filter before beginning the repair work.
  • Controlling the spread of asbestos dust by using measures that are appropriate to the repair work, including using a drop sheet that is impervious to asbestos (e.g., polyethylene) or other suitable material, which must not be reused and must be disposed of in an appropriate manner.
  • Not using compressed air to clean up or remove dust from any surface.
  • Not permitting eating, drinking, chewing or smoking in the work area.
  • The provision of an air-purifying half mask respirator with an N-100, R-100 or P-100 particulate filter where requested by a worker.

Brake repair operations which may be classified as Type 2 operations include:

  1. The breaking, cutting, drilling, abrading, grinding or sanding of the brake pads where they are not wetted to control the spread of dust or fibres, and the work is done only by means of non-powered hand-held tools.
  2. The breaking, cutting, drilling, abrading, grinding or sanding of the brake shoes where the work is done by means of power tools that are attached to dust-collecting devices equipped with HEPA filters.

The measures and procedures that apply to Type 2 operations are set out in sections 15 and 16 of O. Reg. 278/05. In general, the measures and procedures include those required for Type 1 operations plus additional controls, such as: the posting of signs warning of the dust hazard, the use of wetting agents to control the spread of dust and the mandatory wearing of respirators.

Under the Occupational Health and Safety Act employers have specified duties, such as a duty to ensure that workers and any person in authority over the worker (e.g., their supervisors) are aware of any work hazards and hazards in the handling, storage, use, disposal and transport of any article, device, equipment, or biological, chemical or physical agents (section 25(2)(d)).

Employers are also required to ensure that a worker has received information and instruction and supervision to protect their health and safety (section 25(2)(a) of the OHSA). For brake maintenance and repair the information and instruction may include, but is not limited to, some or all of the following elements:

  • the hazards of asbestos exposure through inhalation and ingestion
  • the measures and procedures to be followed to control exposure to asbestos
  • the use, care and disposal of personal protective clothing and equipment.

Section 25(2)(h) of OHSA requires employers to take every precaution reasonable in the circumstances for the protection of a worker. Depending on the specific factual circumstances in a workplace, it may be a reasonable precaution for an employer to establish written procedures to be followed when a worker is required to carry out brake maintenance and repair.

Recommended precautions for employers

Only use brake pads that do not contain asbestos. When ordering aftermarket replacement brake pads, check to confirm that the product identifies or confirms that it does not contain asbestos. Never assume a product is asbestos free unless it is stated either on the box/container or purchase invoice.

Resources

Remember that while complying with occupational health and safety laws, you are also required to comply with applicable environmental laws.

Permission is granted to photocopy Ministry of Labour alerts. Please distribute them widely and post them where people will see them.

ISSN: 1195-5228

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Alerte : Danger lié à l'amiante dans le cadre de la réparation de freins de véhicules

  • Diffusion : 10 avril 2013
  • Dernière mise à jour : avril 2013

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

Description du danger

L'amiante utilisé dans les plaquettes de frein de rechange du marché secondaire présente un risque accru de maladies liées à l'amiante pour les mécaniciens de freins d'automobiles.

Contexte

L'amiante était utilisé à l'origine comme matériau de friction dans les garnitures de frein, les plaquettes de frein à disque et les garnitures de disque d'embrayage des véhicules en raison de ses propriétés uniques de résistance au feu et à l'usure. Grâce à une sensibilisation accrue à l'égard des risques pour la santé associés à l'amiante et à l'adoption de lois particulières sur la santé et la sécurité au travail visant à éliminer ces dangers au début des années 1980, la fabrication de matériaux de friction contenant de l'amiante, comme les garnitures de frein, a cessé en Ontario, tout comme l'utilisation de produits contenant de l'amiante de façon générale.

Pendant de nombreuses années, on a considéré que l'utilisation de matériaux de friction contenant de l'amiante avait pratiquement disparu dans l'industrie automobile de l'Ontario. Cependant, cela a changé à la suite de la publication de récents rapports sur l'importation au Canada de plaquettes de frein du marché secondaire contenant de l'amiante. Selon les rapports de Statistique Canada, plus de 2,6 millions de dollars en plaquettes de frein contenant de l'amiante sont entrées au Canada en 2011, dont plus de la moitié ont été importées en Ontario.

La présence d'amiante dans des plaquettes de frein du marché secondaire présente un risque accru d'exposition à des concentrations dangereuses de poussière d'amiante pendant l'entretien et la réparation des matériaux de friction contenant de l'amiante utilisés par les mécaniciens de freins d'automobiles. On est principalement exposé à l'amiante durant l'élimination de la poussière des tambours de frein et des ensembles de freinage et lorsque les garnitures sont usinées avant l'installation.

Effets sur la santé

Il est dangereux de travailler avec de l'amiante, qui peut causer des maladies professionnelles, notamment des problèmes respiratoires, le mésothéliome et le cancer du poumon.

Pendant de nombreuses années, l'amiante a été reconnu comme un danger pour la santé des travailleurs qui œuvrent dans les mines d'amiante, qui transforment l'amiante et qui installent des produits en amiante. Plusieurs maladies graves débilitantes entraînant souvent la mort ont été associées à l'inhalation de fines fibres d'amiante. Chaque maladie a une période de latence, variant de 10 à plus de 40 ans, entre la première exposition à l'amiante et l'apparition de la maladie.

Les mécaniciens de freins d'automobiles sont reconnus comme étant particulièrement vulnérables aux maladies liées à l'amiante. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les maladies liées à l'amiante, veuillez consulter la feuille d'information sur les maladies reliées à l'amiante (PDF) de la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l'assurance contre les accidents du travail.

Lieux présentant un danger

Tous les garages de réparation de véhicules automobiles et de camions ainsi que tous les ateliers de réparation de freins.

Exigences législatives et réglementaires

Le ministère du Travail (MTR) considère que toutes les expositions potentielles des travailleurs à l'amiante constituent un grave danger sur le lieu de travail.

Comme pratique générale en milieu de travail, le MTR encourage le remplacement, dans la mesure du possible, des produits dangereux par ceux qui le sont moins.

L'amiante est une substance désignée en vertu de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST) de l'Ontario.

Il y a trois règlements pris en application de la LSST qui traitent de l'exposition professionnelle à l'amiante :

  1. Règlement de l'Ontario 490/09 – Substances désignées;
  2. Règlement de l'Ontario 278/05 – Substance désignée – Amiante dans les chantiers de construction, les édifices et les travaux de réparation;
  3. Règlement 833 – Contrôle de l'exposition à des agents biologiques ou chimiques.

Le Règlement sur l'amiante dans les chantiers de construction, les édifices et les travaux de réparation (Règlement de l'Ontario 278/05) pris en application de la LSST énonce les exigences liées aux travaux de réparation de véhicules, qui comprennent probablement des travaux de réparation de freins. À moins que le propriétaire de l'atelier de réparation sache précisément que les plaquettes de frein sont exemptes d'amiante ou qu'il fasse effectuer un examen conformément au paragraphe 10 (2) du Règlement de l'Ontario 278/05 avant les travaux de réparation du véhicule, on présume donc que les plaquettes contiennent de l'amiante.

Pour l'application du Règlement de l'Ontario 278/05, la plupart des travaux de réparation de freins sont susceptibles d'être classés comme des opérations de type 1 ou de type 2. En plus de se conformer à l'ensemble des autres exigences applicables du Règlement, les employeurs de travailleurs participant à des opérations de type 2 dressent un rapport sur le travail avec l'amiante conformément à l'article 21 du Règlement de l'Ontario 278/05 et en envoient une copie au médecin provincial du ministère. Le rapport sur le travail avec l'amiante, qui est dressé à l'aide du formulaire obtenu du ministère, contient le nom du travailleur qui participe à une opération de type 2 ainsi que le nombre d'heures de travail pendant lesquelles le travailleur pourrait être exposé à des matériaux contenant de l'amiante.

Voici des exemples de travaux de réparation de freins qui pourraient être classés comme des opérations de type 1 :

  1. l'installation et l'enlèvement des plaquettes de frein si elles sont installées ou enlevées sans être fragmentées, coupées, percées, abrasées, meulées ou poncées;
  2. la fragmentation, la coupe, le perçage, l'abrasion, le meulage ou le ponçage des plaquettes de frein si elles sont mouillées afin de contrôler la propagation de poussières ou de fibres et que le travail est exécuté uniquement au moyen d'outils à main non motorisés.

Les mesures et les procédures qui s'appliquent aux opérations de type 1 sont énoncées à l'article 14 du Règlement de l'Ontario 278/05. Les mesures et les procédures requises comprennent les suivantes :

  • avant de commencer les travaux de réparation, enlever toute poussière visible sur la plaquette ou le tambour au moyen d'un chiffon humide ou d'un aspirateur équipé d'un filtre HEPA (haute efficacité pour les particules de l'air);
  • contrôler la propagation de la poussière d'amiante en prenant des mesures qui sont appropriées pour les travaux de réparation, notamment utiliser une toile de protection étanche à l'amiante (p. ex., en polyéthylène) ou un autre matériau adéquat qui ne doit pas être réutilisé et qui doit être jeté d'une manière appropriée;
  • ne pas utiliser de l'air comprimé pour nettoyer ou enlever les poussières d'une surface quelconque;
  • interdire de manger, de boire, de mâcher ou de fumer dans la zone de travail;
  • fournir un demi-masque respiratoire filtrant avec filtre à particules N-100, R-100 ou P-100 si un travailleur en fait la demande.

Les travaux de réparation de freins qui pourraient être classés comme des opérations de type 2 comprennent les suivants :

  1. la fragmentation, la coupe, le perçage, l'abrasion, le meulage ou le ponçage des plaquettes de frein si elles ne sont pas mouillées afin de contrôler la dispersion de poussières ou de fibres et que le travail est exécuté uniquement au moyen d'outils à main non motorisés;
  2. la fragmentation, la coupe, le perçage, l'abrasion, le meulage ou le ponçage de segments de frein au moyen d'outils à moteur raccordés à des dispositifs capteurs de poussières munis de filtres HEPA.

Les mesures et les procédures qui s'appliquent aux opérations de type 2 sont énoncées aux articles 15 et 16 du Règlement de l'Ontario 278/05. En règle générale, les mesures et les procédures comprennent celles qui sont requises pour les opérations de type 1, en plus de mesures de contrôle supplémentaires comme l'installation de panneaux avertissant d'un danger lié aux poussières, l'utilisation d'agents mouillants pour contrôler la propagation des poussières et le port obligatoire de respirateurs.

En vertu de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, les employeurs s'acquittent de devoirs précis, comme s'assurer que les travailleurs et toute personne qui exerce son autorité sur ceux-ci (p. ex., leur superviseur) sont informés des risques que comportent le travail et la manipulation, l'entreposage, l'utilisation, l'élimination et le transport de tout objet, appareil, matériel ou agent biologique, chimique ou physique (alinéa 25 [2] d]).

Les employeurs sont également tenus de fournir au travailleur les renseignements, les directives et la surveillance nécessaires à la protection de sa santé et de sa sécurité (alinéa 25 [2] a] de la LSST). En ce qui concerne l'entretien et la réparation des freins, les renseignements et les directives peuvent comprendre, sans toutefois s'y limiter, certains ou la totalité des éléments suivants :

  • les dangers de l'exposition à l'amiante par inhalation ou ingestion;
  • les mesures et les procédures à suivre pour contrôler l'exposition à l'amiante;
  • l'utilisation, l'entretien et l'élimination des vêtements et de l'équipement de protection individuelle.

L'alinéa 25 (2) h) de la LSST exige que l'employeur prenne toutes les précautions raisonnables dans les circonstances pour assurer la protection du travailleur. Selon les circonstances de fait particulières à un lieu de travail, l'employeur peut adopter une précaution raisonnable consistant à consigner par écrit une procédure de travail lorsqu'un travailleur est tenu d'effectuer l'entretien et la réparation de freins.

Précautions recommandées à l'intention des employeurs

N'utiliser que des plaquettes de frein exemptes d'amiante. Au moment de la commande de plaquettes de frein de rechange du marché secondaire, vérifier si le produit indique ou confirme qu'il est exempt d'amiante. Ne jamais présumer qu'un produit est exempt d'amiante, sauf si cela est indiqué sur la boîte/le contenant ou sur la facture d'achat.

Ressources

Rappelez-vous qu'en plus de vous conformer aux lois en matière de santé et de sécurité au travail, vous devez aussi vous confirmer aux lois applicables sur l'environnement.

Il est permis de photocopier les bulletins Alerte du ministère du Travail. Veuillez les distribuer en grand nombre et les afficher dans des endroits bien en vue.

ISSN : 1198-8770

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.