Print Print This Page

Alert: Flammable Vapours from Polyethylene (Packing) Foam

  • ISSN: 1195-5228
  • Revised: July 2009
  • Content last reviewed: July 2009

Hazard Summary:

A worker was killed after entering an unventilated trailer that was filled with polyethylene foam and stored over a warm weekend. The worker entered the trailer and reportedly lit a match. The worker received severe and extensive burns following an intense fire from within the trailer.

As part of the manufacturing process, isobutane (2-methylpropane) is used as a "blowing agent" to expand solid plastic into polyethylene foam. The isobutane initially fills the airspaces within the foam but, over time, it leaks out and dissipates into the atmosphere. This is most rapid immediately after manufacturing. Before being shipped, the product should be cured in a ventilated warehouse to allow for the safe escape of gases. Also, experts should be consulted to establish the specific time period required for this to be considered complete.

If stored in an environment that is unventilated, the gas will accumulate. Furthermore, if temperatures are elevated, the rate at which the gas escapes from the foam will increase.

Isobutane gas is flammable at concentrations in air between 1.9 per cent and 8.5 per cent.

Locations and Sectors:

This type of hazard can be found in any industrial establishment involved in the manufacturing of polyethylene packing foam and in any workplaces that use, handle or store it, e.g., in warehousing, loading/unloading areas, during transportation, etc.

Legal Requirements:

The Regulation for Industrial Establishments [R.R.O. 1990, Regulation 851] under the Occupational Health and Safety Act requires that any process likely to produce a gas, vapour, dust or fume that can accumulate to form an explosive mixture, be situated in an area separate from other operations and have adequate ventilation. No potential sources of ignition, including smoking, are permitted in areas of an industrial establishment where there are potentially explosive concentrations of a gas, vapour, dust or fume.

The Workplace Hazardous Materials Information System (WHMIS) Regulation [R.R.O. 1990, Regulation 860] applies to any controlled products used, handled or stored within a workplace to which a worker is likely to be exposed.

Under the Occupational Health and Safety Act, employers are required to develop and post a workplace health and safety policy and develop a workplace program to implement the policy. Good practices for employers to implement in order to address the hazards as part of a workplace health and safety program, include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Adequate and unobstructed ventilation for the storage of products manufactured with flammable agents such as isobutane which may build up in the surrounding air as by-products.
  • Storage in environments where temperatures are kept as cool and constant as possible.
  • Written notification to carriers alerting them to the potential hazards associated with the load they are to haul.
  • Pre-qualification of carriers with respect to their health and safety policy and program; e.g., carrier program that trains and informs all workers and subcontractors about potential hazards, monitors adherence to procedures to avoid sources of ignition and to provide adequate ventilation, ensures identification of hazards on bills of lading and trucks/trailers, driver cautions, etc.

Reference for flammable concentration in air:

Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials, 11th Edition, Vol. III, N. Irving Sax and Richard J. Lewis, Sr., 2004, Wiley Interscience, New Jersey

This Ministry of Labour Alert has no legal effect and does not constitute and is not a substitute for legal advice. If you require specific assistance with respect to the interpretation of a legislative provision and its potential application to you please contact your legal counsel.

Remember that while complying with occupational health and safety laws, you are also required to comply with applicable environmental laws.

Please photocopy Ministry of Labour Alerts, distribute them widely and post them where people will see them.

Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Alerte : Vapeurs inflammables provenant de la mousse de polyéthylène (emballage)

  • ISBN : 1198-8770
  • Révision : juillet 2009
  • Dernière mise à jour : janvier 2009

Résumé du danger

En 1997, un travailleur a été tué après être entré dans une remorque non ventilée qui avait été remplie de mousse de polyéthylène, entreposée au cours d'une chaude fin de semaine. Le travailleur est entré dans la remorque et aurait gratté une allumette. Il a reçu des brûlures graves et d'envergure à la suite d'un incendie intense qui s'est déclaré à l'intérieur de la remorque.

Dans le cadre du processus de fabrication, l'isobutane (méthyl-2 propanol) est utilisé comme un " gonflant " pour l'expansion du plastique solide dans la mousse de polyéthylène. L'isobutane remplit initialement les espaces d'air dans la mousse mais, avec le temps, il fuit et se dissipe dans l'atmosphère. Cette opération a lieu très rapidement et immédiatement après la fabrication. Avant son expédition, le produit devrait être polymérisé dans un entrepôt aéré pour permettre la fuite en toute sécurité des gaz. En outre, il faut consulter les experts pour établir la période de temps spécifique pour que cette opération soit considérée comme complète.

Si le gaz est entreposé dans un endroit qui n'est pas aéré, il s'accumulera. Par ailleurs, si les températures sont élevées, il y aura une augmentation du taux de fuite du gaz de la mousse.

Le gaz isobutane est inflammable à des concentrations dans l'air variant entre 1,9 % et 8,5 %.

Lieux et secteurs

On peut trouver ce genre de danger dans tout établissement industriel qui s'occupe d'emballage de mousse de polyéthylène et dans tout lieu de travail où l'on utilise, manipule ou entrepose ce produit, à savoir les entrepôts, les points de chargement et de déchargement, durant le transport, etc.

Exigences légales

Le règlement régissant les établissements industriels [R.R.O. 1990, Reg. 851], pris en application de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, exige que tout processus susceptible de produire un gaz, une vapeur, de la poussière ou de la fumée pouvant s'accumuler pour former un mélange explosif soit situé dans un endroit séparé des autres opérations et qu'une ventilation adéquate soit prévue. Aucune source potentielle d'inflammation, y compris la fumée, n'est permise dans les endroits d'un établissement industriel où il y a eu une concentration potentiellement explosive de gaz, de vapeur, de poussière ou de fumée.

Le règlement sur le système d'information sur les matériaux dangereux utilisés au travail (SIMDUT) [R.R.O. 1990, Règl. 860] s'applique à tout produit contrôlé qui est utilisé, manipulé ou entreposé dans un lieu de travail auquel serait probablement exposé un travailleur.

En vertu de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, les employeurs sont tenus d'élaborer et d'afficher une politique en matière de santé et de sécurité au travail et d'élaborer un programme en milieu de travail pour mettre en oeuvre la politique. Voici certaines des bonnes pratiques que les employeurs pourront mettre en oeuvre pour tenter de régler les problèmes de dangers dans le cadre d'un programme de santé et de sécurité en milieu de travail :

  • Ventilation adéquate et libre pour l'entreposage des produits fabriqués avec des agents inflammables comme l'isobutane qui pourrait s'accumuler dans l'air ambiant comme sous-produit.
  • Entreposage dans des endroits où la température est gardée aussi fraîche et constante que possible.
  • Notification écrite aux transporteurs les alertant aux dangers potentiels reliés au chargement qu'ils transportent.
  • Qualification préalable des transporteurs relativement à leur politique et programme en matière de santé et sécurité au travail; par exemple, le programme de transporteurs qui forme et informe tous les travailleurs et sous-traitants au sujet des dangers potentiels, qui surveille la conformité aux procédures pour éviter les sources d'inflammation et fournir une ventilation adéquate, qui assure l'identification des dangers sur les connaissements et les camions/remorques, avertissements aux conducteurs, etc.

Référence pour la concentration des agents inflammables dans l'air :

Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials, 11th Edition, Vol. III, N. Irving Sax and Richard J. Lewis, Sr., 2004, Wiley Interscience, New Jersey

La présente Alerte du ministère du Travail n’a aucun effet légal. Elle ne constitue pas des conseils juridiques ni ne les remplace. Si vous avez besoin d’assistance pour interpréter une disposition législative et son application à votre situation, veuillez communiquer avec un avocat.

N'oubliez pas qu'en plus de vous conformer aux mesures législatives sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, vous devez vous conformer aux lois applicables en matière d'environnement.

Veuillez faire des photocopies des bulletins Alerte, puis les distribuer en grand nombre et les afficher dans des endroits bien en vue.