Print Print This Page

Alert: Loading and Unloading Logging Trucks

  • ISSN: 1195-5228
  • Issued: February 1995
  • Content last reviewed: June 2009

Hazard Summary:

While a logging truck driver was removing tie-down cables from his load, a big log that had been loaded above the tops of the stakes fell and killed him. Either the log was unstable and ready to fall as soon as a tie-down was removed or it was dislodged from a stable position by the movement of a cable.

Location(s) and Sector(s):

  • Logging, forestry, pulp and paper
  • Arborists
  • Construction
  • Land clearing operations at mine sites, quarries and exploration sites

Suggested Precautions:

The Regulations for Industrial Establishments (R.R.O. 1990, Reg. 851, s. 45(b)(ii)) state that "material, articles or things shall be transported, placed or stored so that [they] can be removed or withdrawn without endangering the safety of any worker."

The Regulations also state (R.R.O. 1990, Reg. 851, s. 116) that:

"A vehicle used for hauling logs shall,
(b) be so loaded that no log extends,
(i) outside the stakes, or
(ii) farther than one-half its diameter above the stakes."

No log in a load should be more than one-half its diameter above the stakes at any point between the tops of the stakes.

Workers loading and unloading logs and other materials should be instructed in safe procedures appropriate to the material they handle. These procedures should be designed to ensure that whenever there is a possibility that part of a load will fall no worker will be in its path.

This Ministry of Labour Alert has no legal effect and does not constitute and is not a substitute for legal advice. If you require specific assistance with respect to the interpretation of a legislative provision and its potential application to you please contact your legal counsel.

Remember that while complying with occupational health and safety laws, you are also required to comply with applicable environmental laws.

Please photocopy Ministry of Labour Alerts, distribute them widely and post them where people will see them.

Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Alerte : Chargement et déchargement des grumiers

  • ISSN : 1998-8770
  • Diffusion : février 1995
  • Dernière mise à jour : juin 2009

Résumé du danger :

Alors qu'un chauffeur de grumier enlevait les câbles d'arrimage de la charge, une grosse grume, chargée au-dessus des ridelles, est tombée et l'a tué. La grume était instable et prête à tomber après détachement du câble qui la tenait alors qu'elle était en position stable; la grume a été délogée par le déplacement d'une fixation.

Lieu(x) et secteur(s) :

  • Exploitation forestière, pâtes et papiers
  • Arboriculteurs
  • Construction
  • Travaux de dégagement du terrain dans les mines, les carrières et l'exploration

Recommandations :

L'article 45 b) (ii) du Règlement sur les établissements industriels (R.R.O. 851/90) précise que «les matériaux, les articles ou les objets doivent être transportés, placés ou rangés de façon à pouvoir les enlever ou les retirer sans risquer la sécurité de tout travailleur».

L'article 116 stipule qu'un véhicule utilisé pour le transport des billes de bois doit être chargé de façon qu'aucune bille ne dépasse des ridelles ou plus de la moitié de son diamètre au-dessus des ridelles.

On doit charger les billes de façon qu'aucune d'elles ne dépassent de plus de la moitié de son diamètre au-dessus des ridelles, en tout point, entre le haut desdites ridelles.

Les travailleurs qui chargent et déchargent les billes de bois et d'autres matériaux doivent être au courant des méthodes sécuritaires convenant aux matériaux à manipuler. Ces méthodes doivent être établies de façon à assurer que si une partie d'une charge peut tomber, aucun travailleur ne doit être dans le passage.

La présente Alerte du ministère du Travail n’a aucun effet légal. Elle ne constitue pas des conseils juridiques ni ne les remplace. Si vous avez besoin d’assistance pour interpréter une disposition législative et son application à votre situation, veuillez communiquer avec un avocat.

N'oubliez pas qu'en plus de vous conformer aux mesures législatives sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, vous devez vous conformer aux lois applicables en matière d'environnement.

Veuillez faire des photocopies des bulletins Alerte, puis les distribuer en grand nombre et les afficher dans des endroits bien en vue.