Print Print This Page

Alert: Clark Model ECS and GCS Forklift Trucks

Hazard Summary:

A recent incident at an automobile assembly plant revealed an area in the mast assemblies of Clark Model ECS and GCS Series Forklift trucks where cracking and failure may occur. The web of the channel in one or both masts was found to be cracking near the rear corner where the lower rail is welded to the mast channel. It is likely that the cracking occurs when the manufacturer's preventive maintenance requirements have not been strictly adhered to.

Locations and Sectors:

Manufacturing; warehouses

Recommendations:

It is extremely important with all models of forklift trucks that the manufacturer's maintenance and inspection procedures be rigorously followed.

Clark Model ECS and GCS Series Forklift Trucks should be examined for cracks, as follows:

  1. Elevate the forks to about 12 feet.
  2. Clean residual grease from the area of the mast channel where the lower rail is welded to it to about eight inches above the rail.
  3. With a flashlight, examine the area closely for cracking or any other sign of stress.

Any forklift that has cracks in this area should be taken out of service immediately. Complete failure in this section of the mast assembly can result in catastrophic loss of load.

The Occupational Health and Safety Act (s. 25(1)(b)) requires an employer to ensure that equipment is maintained in good condition. The Regulations for Industrial Establishments (R.R.O.1990, Reg. 851, s. 51(1)(b)) state that a lifting device shall

"be thoroughly examined by a competent person to determine its capability of handling the maximum load as rated,
  1. prior to being used the first time, and
  2. thereafter as often as necessary but not less frequently than recommended by the manufacturer and in any case, at least once a year and a permanent record shall be kept, signed by the competent person doing the examination."

Glossary

Mast/mast channels:
On a forklift truck, the forklift moves up and down inside the channels of the two masts, which are the vertical components that hold the forklift and its load above the rest of truck. The web (in this case) is the area of steel at the back of the channel.
Rails or crossties:
These extend from the main body of the truck to the two front wheel assemblies. They are essential for stability, especially when the forklift is carrying a load. In these models, there are two on each side, upper and lower.

This Ministry of Labour Alert has no legal effect and does not constitute and is not a substitute for legal advice. If you require specific assistance with respect to the interpretation of a legislative provision and its potential application to you please contact your legal counsel.

Remember that while complying with occupational health and safety laws, you are also required to comply with applicable environmental laws.

Please photocopy Ministry of Labour Alerts, distribute them widely and post them where people will see them.

Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Alerte : Chariots élévateurs Clark, modèles ECS et GCS

Résumé du danger :

Dernièrement, un incident dans une usine de montage automobile a révélé qu'un point des ensembles de mât des chariots élévateurs Clark, modèles ECS et GCS, se fissurait et présentait un risque de défaillance. On a découvert que le corps de la glissière, dans l'un des mâts, se fissurait près du coin arrière, où le rail inférieur est soudé à la glissière de mât. Il se peut que les fissures se produisent quand les conditions d'entretien préventif du fabricant n'ont pas été strictement respectées.

Lieu(x) et secteur(s) :

Fabrication; entrepôts

Recommandations :

Avec tous les modèles de chariot élévateur, il faut absolument et rigoureusement respecter les méthodes d'entretien et d'inspection du fabricant.

Dans les chariots élévateurs Clark, modèles ECS et GCS, on doit chercher les fissures en procédant comme suit :

  1. Lever les fourches à environ 12 pieds.
  2. Nettoyer les restes de graisse près de la glissière de mât, où le rail inférieur est soudé, jusqu'à environ 8 po au-dessus du mât.
  3. Examiner attentivement la surface, à l'aide d'une lampe de poche, pour déterminer s'il y a des fissures ou d'autres signes de fatigue.

Un chariot élévateur avec des fissures à cet endroit doit être immédiatement retiré du service. La défaillance complète à cet endroit de l'ensemble de mât peut se traduire par une chute catastrophique de la charge.

L'alinéa 25 (1) b) de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail exige qu'un employeur s'assure que le matériel est maintenu en bon état. L'alinéa 51 (1) b) des Règlements sur les établissements industriels (R.R.O. 851/1990) précise qu'un dispositif de levage doit «être attentivement examiné par une personne compétente pour déterminer sa capacité à manipuler la charge maximale nominale,

  1. avant la première mise en service
  2. et, par la suite, aussi souvent que nécessaire, mais pas moins souvent que ne le recommande le fabricant et, en tout cas, au moins une fois par an,

et tenir un dossier permanent, signé de la personne compétente qui procède à l'examen.»

Glossaire :

Mât/glissières de mât :
Dans un chariot élévateur, les fourches montent et descendent dans les glissières des deux mâts, qui sont les éléments verticaux qui tiennent les fourches et la charge au-dessus du reste du chariot. Dans ce cas, le corps est la partie en acier à l'arrière de la glissière.
Rails ou traverses :
Ils vont du corps principal du chariot aux deux roues avant. Ils sont essentiels à la stabilité, en particulier quand le chariot est chargé. Dans ces modèles, il y a deux traverses de chaque côté, une supérieure et une inférieure.

La présente Alerte du ministère du Travail n’a aucun effet légal. Elle ne constitue pas des conseils juridiques ni ne les remplace. Si vous avez besoin d’assistance pour interpréter une disposition législative et son application à votre situation, veuillez communiquer avec un avocat.

N'oubliez pas qu'en plus de vous conformer aux mesures législatives sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, vous devez vous conformer aux lois applicables en matière d'environnement.

Veuillez faire des photocopies des bulletins Alerte, puis les distribuer en grand nombre et les afficher dans des endroits bien en vue.