Print Print This Page

Alert: Fan Blades in Positive-Pressure Blowers

  • ISSN: 1195-5228
  • Issued: March 1994
  • Content last reviewed: June 2009

Hazard Summary:

Positive-pressure fans or blowers are used in the fire service to ventilate smoke and heat. Recently, a few minutes after a firefighter started a gas-powered positive-pressure fan to ventilate a room, parts of the fan blade assembly broke apart. Several pieces penetrated the protective screen on the front of the fan housing and lodged in the ceiling.

Affected Fans:

Positive-pressure fans manufactured by Super Vacuum Manufacturing Company, Inc., Model 720G4, delivered before August 1992. These have 20 inch (51 cm) fan blades made of aluminum.

Locations and Sector(s):

Municipal and industrial fire services

Suggested Precautions:

Section 25(1)(b) of the Occupational Health and Safety Act requires the employer to ensure that "equipment, materials and protective devices provided by the employer are maintained in good condition."

All fans of this type should be inspected on a regular basis as recommended by the manufacturer. Fan assemblies that show cracks or other defects should immediately be taken out of service and returned to the manufacturer for repair.

This Ministry of Labour Alert has no legal effect and does not constitute and is not a substitute for legal advice. If you require specific assistance with respect to the interpretation of a legislative provision and its potential application to you please contact your legal counsel.

Remember that while complying with occupational health and safety laws, you are also required to comply with applicable environmental laws.

Please photocopy Ministry of Labour Alerts, distribute them widely and post them where people will see them.

Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Alerte : Ailettes de ventilateurs soufflants à pression positive

  • ISSN : 1198-8770
  • Diffusion : mars 1994
  • Dernière mise à jour : juin 2009

Résumé du danger :

Les ventilateurs soufflants à pression positive sont utilisés dans les services d'incendie pour évacuer la fumée et éliminer la chaleur. Récemment, quelques minutes après qu'un pompier a mis en marche un ventilateur à pression positive actionné au gaz pour aérer une pièce, des pièces des composantes du ventilateur se sont brisées. Plusieurs pièces ont pénétré l'écran protecteur devant le boîtier du ventilateur et se sont logées dans le plafond.

Ventilateurs défectueux :

Les ventilateurs à pression positive fabriqués par Super Vacuum Manufacturing Company Inc., modèle 720G4, livrés avant août 1992. Ces ventilateurs ont des ailettes d'aluminium de 20 pouces (51 cm).

Lieu(x) et secteur(s) :

Les services d'incendie municipaux et industriels.

Recommandations :

L'alinéa 25 (1) b) de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail exige de l'employeur qu'il veille à ce que «le matériel, les matériaux et les appareils de protection qu'il fournit soient maintenus en bon état».

Tous les ventilateurs de ce type devraient être régulièrement inspectés, comme le recommande le fabricant. Les composantes de ventilateur qui présentent des fissures ou d'autres défectuosités devraient sans délai être mis hors d'usage et retournés au fabricant pour réparation.

La présente Alerte du ministère du Travail n’a aucun effet légal. Elle ne constitue pas des conseils juridiques ni ne les remplace. Si vous avez besoin d’assistance pour interpréter une disposition législative et son application à votre situation, veuillez communiquer avec un avocat.

N'oubliez pas qu'en plus de vous conformer aux mesures législatives sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, vous devez vous conformer aux lois applicables en matière d'environnement.

Veuillez faire des photocopies des bulletins Alerte, puis les distribuer en grand nombre et les afficher dans des endroits bien en vue.