Print Print This Page

Alert: Explosion - Sewer Construction Using a Laser Device

  • ISSN: 1195-5228
  • Issued: September 1993
  • Content last reviewed: June 2009

Hazard Summary:

During the investigation of an explosion at a sewer repair project the ignition source was found to be the battery connection for the project's laser alignment device. Both laser and battery had been located in a manhole. Natural gas, seeping through the soil from a damaged temporary plastic gas line, was ignited by a spark from the battery connection. In the resulting explosion a worker was badly burned.

A battery inside a manhole, and not remote from it, may be a hazard. The laser manufacturer's written instructions apparently do not address battery location.

Location(s) and Sector(s):

Construction of underground piping systems. Also work in existing sewer manholes when tying into existing sewer lines which are considered a confined space.

Suggested Precautions:

The battery for a laser device should be located far enough from the manhole or sewer pipe to ensure that it will not act as an ignition source for explosive hazards originating in the excavation or in existing sewer lines. Extra-length conductors may be required and are available.

Legislative Requirements:

The Confined spaces requirements outlined in the Regulations for Construction Projects, Ontario Regulation 213/91, require an employer on a project including a confined space that workers may enter to perform work, to develop and maintain a written confined space program, to have a competent worker carry out an adequate assessment of the hazards related to the confined space before it is entered by a worker, and to have a corresponding adequate written plan, identifying the controls to be implemented for each one of the identified hazards (respectively sections 221.5. 221.6 and 221.7). Other confined space requirements, including an entry permit need to be implemented as well.

Even in those instances where no confined space exists, the employer must “take every reasonable precaution in the circumstances, for the protection of a worker” (Occupational Health and Safety Act, section 25(2)(h). This includes evaluating the hazards in the workplace and establishing adequate controls and a health and safety program implemented in the workplace.

This Ministry of Labour Alert has no legal effect and does not constitute and is not a substitute for legal advice. If you require specific assistance with respect to the interpretation of a legislative provision and its potential application to you please contact your legal counsel.

Remember that while complying with occupational health and safety laws, you are also required to comply with applicable environmental laws.

Please photocopy Ministry of Labour Alerts, distribute them widely and post them where people will see them.

Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Alerte : Explosion - construction d'un égout à l'aide d'un dispositif à laser

  • ISBN : 1198-8770
  • Diffusion : septembre 1993
  • Dernière mise à jour : juin 2009

Résumé du danger :

Pendant l'enquête relative à une explosion dans un chantier de réparation d'égout, on a découvert qu'elle avait été déclenchée par le branchement de la batterie du dispositif d'alignement à laser du chantier. Le dispositif à laser et la batterie se trouvaient dans un trou de visite. L'étincelle du branchement de la batterie a enflammé le gaz naturel, filtrant dans le sol depuis une canalisation temporaire endommagée en plastique. L'explosion a gravement brûlé un travailleur.

Si elle est placée dans un trou de visite plutôt qu'à distance, la batterie peut constituer un danger. Les instructions écrites du fabricant du dispositif à laser ne parlent apparemment pas de l'emplacement de la batterie.

Lieu(x) et secteur(s) :

Construction de systèmes souterrains de canalisation. Travaux dans les trous de visite d'égout, dans les conduites d'égout considérées comme espace confiné.

Recommandations :

On doit placer la batterie d'un dispositif à laser suffisamment loin du trou de visite ou de la conduite d'égout de façon qu'elle ne serve pas de source d'allumage de gaz explosifs dégagés dans l'excavation ou les conduites existantes. On peut devoir se procurer des conducteurs de grande longueur, disponibles dans le commerce.

Exigences législatives :

Les dispositions concernant les espaces confinés des règlements sur les chantiers de construction, Règlement de l'Ontario 213/91, stipulent qu’un employeur qui entreprend un projet dans un espace clos où des travailleurs effectuent des tâches, doit élaborer et conserver un programme écrit d’espaces confinés, affecter un travailleur qualifié à l’évaluation des dangers associés à un espace confiné avant que les travailleurs y pénètrent et dresser un plan connexe qui prévoit des mesures de maîtrise de chaque danger détecté (articles 221.5. 221.6 et 221.7 respectivement). D’autres mesures relatives aux espaces clos, par exemple l’exigence d’un permis d’entrée, doivent également être mises en œuvre.

Même en l’absence de tout espace confiné, l’employeur a l’obligation de prendre toutes les précautions raisonnables dans les circonstances pour assurer la protection des travailleuses et des travailleurs (Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, article 25(2)(h)). Cette obligation comprend la détermination des dangers au travail, l’établissement de mesures de prévention connexes et la mise en œuvre d’un programme de promotion de la santé et de la sécurité au travail.

N'oubliez pas qu'en plus de vous conformer aux mesures législatives sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, vous devez vous conformer aux lois applicables en matière d'environnement.

Veuillez faire des photocopies des bulletins Alerte, puis les distribuer en grand nombre et les afficher dans des endroits bien en vue.