Print Print This Page

Alert: Fire and Explosion Hazard – Opening Oxygen Cylinder Valves

  • Issued: February 13, 2015
  • Content last reviewed: February 2015

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

Hazard summary

This alert is to raise awareness about the potential for serious injuries if oxygen cylinder valves are opened in an unsafe manner. Opening the valve on a compressed oxygen cylinder or within an oxygen system too quickly can cause an explosion or fire, particularly if any contamination is present in the system (e.g. grease, oil, tape, particulate).

Background

On May 20, 2014 a worker was preparing to weld and went outside to turn on the oxygen supply from a 100-lb compressed oxygen cylinder. While the worker was in the process of opening the valve between the cylinder and oxygen system, the oxygen cylinder exploded, resulting in serious burns to the worker.

An oxygen cylinder is a storage vessel that contains compressed oxygen. The oxygen cylinder then forms part of the oxygen system when it is attached to valves, piping, manifolds, torches, oxygen masks, etc. which transport the oxygen for its intended use.

Oxygen behaves differently from air, compressed air, nitrogen and other inert gases. It is very reactive and a very efficient oxidizer. Pure oxygen at high pressure (e.g. in compressed gas cylinders) can react violently with common materials such as oil and grease. Many materials including textiles, rubber and even metals will burn vigorously in oxygen.

Hazard location

This alert applies to all workplaces where compressed oxygen cylinders are used.

Recommended precautions and control measures

Precautions and control measures to protect against fire or explosion hazards from the use of compressed oxygen cylinders/systems may include the following:

  • Follow manufacturer recommendations to ensure only suitable materials and safe components are used as part of a compressed oxygen system.
  • Employers must only use appropriate types of metals with the compressed oxygen system (e.g. piping), as approved for use by the system designer/manufacturer.
  • All material used/introduced into the compressed oxygen system must be cleaned and kept clean to prevent contamination with flammable or non-oxygen compatible substances.
  • Only approved lubricants should be used and in the smallest possible amounts.
  • The system should be designed to protect operators from hazards by installing shields (panels) in front of valves and other components or by installing remote-controlled valves that can be operated from a safe distance.
  • Good design may effectively reduce the risk of fire. Oxygen systems should be designed according to applicable standards.

Administrative and work practices

It is essential to open the valves slowly. Rapid opening of oxygen cylinder valves can result in high oxygen velocities which will generate frictional heat and create a potential ignition source. Alternatively, if the system has a dead end, such as where a pressure regulator is connected to an oxygen cylinder, heat can be generated through compression of the oxygen. Both cases can result in a fire or explosion.

Legal requirements under the Occupational Health and Safety Act

Requirements under the Occupational Health and Act (OHSA) and its regulations that may be applicable include:

Occupational Health and Safety Act – general duties:

  • Employers must take every precaution reasonable in the circumstances to protect against fire or explosion hazards from the use of compressed oxygen cylinders/systems.
  • Sections 25 to 28 of the OHSA set out the roles and responsibilities of employers, supervisors and workers to protect the health and safety of workers. These requirements apply to all activities in the workplace, including when workers are required to use compressed oxygen cylinders independently or integrated into an oxygen system.

The following sector specific regulations under the OHSA prescribe requirements for the use of compressed gas cylinders, including oxygen.

Resources

Occupational Health and Safety Act and Regulations
www.e-laws.gov.on.ca

ASTM G88-13 Standard Guide for Designing Oxygen Systems
www.astm.org

National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) 51: Design and Installation of Oxygen-Fuel Gas Systems for Welding, Cutting, and Allied Processes

NFPA 50: Standard for Bulk Oxygen Systems at Consumer Sites
www.nfpa.org/

Related standards may also be available from the Canadian Standards Association and the International Organization for Standardization.
http://shop.csa.ca/
www.iso.org

For more information, contact the Ministry of Labour Health & Safety Contact Centre toll free at 1-877-202-0008.

Remember that while complying with occupational health and safety laws, you are also required to comply with applicable environmental laws.

Permission is granted to photocopy Ministry of Labour alerts. Please distribute them widely and post them where people will see them.

ISSN: 1195-5228

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Alerte : Danger d'explosion et d'incendie – Ouverture des robinets des bouteilles d'oxygène

  • Diffusion : 13 février 2015
  • Dernière mise à jour : février 2015

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

Description du danger

Le présent bulletin Alerte vise à sensibiliser les gens au risque de blessures graves pouvant résulter de l'ouverture non sécuritaire des robinets de bouteilles d'oxygène. L'ouverture trop rapide du robinet d'une bouteille d'oxygène comprimé ou d'un système d'alimentation en oxygène peut causer une explosion ou un incendie, en particulier si un contaminant est présent dans le système (p. ex., graisse, huile, ruban, particules).

Contexte

Le 20 mai 2014, un travailleur se préparait à effectuer une soudure et est sorti pour ouvrir le robinet de la source d'alimentation en oxygène, soit une bouteille d'oxygène comprimé de 100 lb. Pendant qu'il procédait à l'ouverture du robinet situé entre la bouteille et le système d'alimentation en oxygène, la bouteille a explosé et le travailleur a subi de graves brûlures.

Une bouteille d'oxygène est un récipient de stockage qui contient de l'oxygène comprimé. La bouteille d'oxygène fait partie d'un système d'alimentation en oxygène quand elle est reliée à des robinets, des tuyaux, des collecteurs, des chalumeaux, des masques à oxygène, etc., qui transportent l'oxygène pour l'usage auquel il est destiné.

L'oxygène se comporte différemment de l'air, de l'air comprimé, de l'azote et des autres gaz inertes. Il est très réactif et s'avère un agent oxydant très puissant. À pression élevée, l'oxygène pur (p. ex., contenu dans des bouteilles de gaz comprimé) peut réagir violemment avec des matières courantes comme l'huile et la graisse. Un grand nombre de matériaux, notamment les textiles, le caoutchouc et même les métaux, brûleront avec intensité en présence d'oxygène.

Endroits présentant un danger

Le présent bulletin Alerte s'applique à tous les lieux de travail où des bouteilles d'oxygène comprimé sont utilisées.

Précautions recommandées et mesures de contrôle

Voici des exemples de précautions et de mesures de contrôle qui peuvent être prises pour se protéger contre les dangers d'incendie ou d'explosion découlant de l'utilisation de bouteilles d'oxygène comprimé ou de systèmes d'alimentation.

  • Suivre les recommandations du fabricant afin de veiller à ce que seuls les matériaux appropriés et les éléments sûrs soient utilisés comme composants d'un système d'alimentation en oxygène comprimé.
  • Les employeurs doivent utiliser uniquement les types de métaux convenant au système d'alimentation en oxygène comprimé (p. ex., les tuyaux), approuvés par le concepteur/fabricant du système.
  • Nettoyer et garder propre tout le matériel utilisé avec le système d'alimentation en oxygène comprimé ou introduit dans un tel système afin de prévenir la contamination par des substances inflammables ou non compatibles avec l'oxygène.
  • Utiliser uniquement seuls les lubrifiants approuvés, en quantité infime.
  • Le système devrait être conçu pour protéger les utilisateurs des dangers par l'installation d'écrans (panneaux) devant les robinets et les autres composants ou de robinets télécommandés pouvant être réglés à une distance sécuritaire.
  • Une bonne conception peut réduire efficacement le danger d'incendie. Les systèmes d'alimentation en oxygène devraient être conçus selon les normes applicables.

Pratiques administratives et méthodes de travail

Il est essentiel d'ouvrir les robinets lentement. L'ouverture rapide des robinets des bouteilles d'oxygène peut entraîner des vitesses élevées de circulation de l'oxygène qui généreront une chaleur de frottement et créeront une source d'inflammation potentielle. Par ailleurs, si le système présente un cul-de-sac, notamment la jonction du régulateur de pression et d'une bouteille d'oxygène, la compression de l'oxygène peut générer de la chaleur. Dans les deux cas, un incendie ou une explosion peut se produire.

Exigences de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail

Voici les exigences applicables de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST) et de ses règlements

Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail – devoirs généraux

  • L'employeur prend toutes les précautions raisonnables dans les circonstances pour assurer la protection du travailleur contre les dangers d'incendie ou d'explosion associés à l'utilisation de bouteilles d'oxygène comprimé / systèmes d'alimentation en oxygène.
  • Les articles 25 à 28 de la LSST énoncent les rôles et les responsabilités des employeurs, des superviseurs et des travailleurs en ce qui a trait à la protection de la santé et à la sécurité des travailleurs. Ces exigences visent toutes les activités pratiquées sur le lieu de travail, y compris lorsque les travailleurs doivent utiliser des bouteilles d'oxygène comprimé seules ou intégrées à un système d'alimentation.

Les règlements propres aux secteurs ci-dessous, pris en application de la LSST, prescrivent les exigences relatives à l'utilisation de bouteilles de gaz comprimé, y compris l'oxygène.

Ressources

Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et règlements
www.e-laws.gov.on.ca

ASTM G88-13 Standard Guide for Designing Oxygen Systems (en anglais seulement)
www.astm.org

Norme 51 de la National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) : Standard for the Design and Installation of Oxygen-Fuel Gas Systems for Welding, Cutting, and Allied Processes (en anglais seulement)

Norme 50 de la NFPA : Standard for Bulk Oxygen Systems at Consumer Sites
www.nfpa.org(en anglais seulement)

Des normes connexes sont également accessibles auprès de l'Association canadienne de normalisation et de l'Organisation internationale de normalisation
http://shop.csa.ca
www.iso.org

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec l'InfoCentre provincial de santé et de sécurité au travail du ministère du Travail, au 1 877 202-0008.

Rappelez-vous qu'en plus de vous conformer aux lois en matière de santé et de sécurité au travail, vous devez aussi vous confirmer aux lois applicables sur l'environnement.

Il est permis de photocopier les bulletins Alerte du ministère du Travail. Veuillez les distribuer en grand nombre et les afficher dans des endroits bien en vue.

ISSN : 1198-8770

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.