Print Print This Page

Alert: Extending Boom of an Articulating Boom Crane While in Stowed / Travel Position

  • Issued: January 14, 2014
  • Content last reviewed: January 2014

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

Background

An articulating boom crane truck (“crane truck”), similar to that in Fig. 1, was brought into a mechanical garage to undergo repair of a hydraulic leak in an extension cylinder. The articulating boom, also known as a knuckle boom, was mounted at the back of a flatbed of a crane truck and had a lifting capacity of 6000 kg. The articulating boom consisted of an inner boom and an outer boom with a boom extension, which could extend out of, and retract into, the outer boom.

Picture of an articulating boom crane truck.

Fig. 1: Articulating boom crane truck

In order to verify that the leak had been repaired, a worker at the garage extended the boom extension out of the outer boom while the articulating boom was in the stowed / travel position (Fig. 2). This action caused the inner boom to come out of its rest position and move upward causing the outer boom and extension to suddenly drop approximately eight feet, due to a cantilever effect from the weight shift (Fig. 3).

Picture of the articulating crane boom truck before the incident.  The boom is in the normal stowed / travel position with the boom extension retracted. The outer boom is at a 45 degree angle.

Fig. 2: Before incident
Boom in normal stowed / travel position (with boom extension retracted)

Picture of the articulating crane boom truck after the incident. The outer boom and the boom extension have dropped. The outer boom is now at a 90 degree angle and the boom extension is no longer retracted.

Fig. 3: After incident
Position of outer boom and extension after dropping


A worker, working on a vehicle adjacent to the crane truck, was injured when the outer boom and boom extension dropped striking the worker on the side of the head and shoulder.

Hazard summary

The boom extension was extended while the articulating boom was still in its stowed / travel position (Fig. 2) which destabilized the articulating boom, causing the boom to come out of its stowed position and the outer boom and extension to drop onto the flatbed of the truck (Fig. 3).

The operator’s manual for this crane truck does instruct the operator on how to unfold the articulating boom crane prior to use; however, there is no notice in the manual or on the equipment that identifies or warns operators of the hazard that the boom arm can become destabilized and drop suddenly if the boom extension is extended while the articulating boom crane is in the stowed / travel position.

Locations and sectors

Crane trucks are primarily used to deliver material and equipment in the industrial and construction sectors. However, they can also be found in mechanical garages while undergoing maintenance and repair work where the potential to operate the crane in a manner similar to that of the above scenario may be more likely. This hazard alert addresses the safe handling and operation of the cranes while they are undergoing maintenance and repair work in a mechanical garage.

Precautions

Cranes with articulating booms should be operated in accordance with the manufacturer’s instructions and operating manual.

In addition, even if it is not stated in the manual, articulating boom cranes should always be unfolded (removed from the stowed position), prior to extending any of the boom extensions.

Employers must ensure that any worker operating a lifting device is competent or is a worker who is being instructed and accompanied by a competent person. Employers must ensure all operators, including shop mechanics that may operate the equipment for testing purposes, are provided with appropriate information, instruction and supervision. In addition, employers should ensure that workers operate the equipment as per the manufacturer’s operating manual, their training, and the employer’s safe operating policies and procedures.

Employers should ensure that workers stay clear of the danger zone around crane trucks and their loads at all times. No part of a load of a crane must ever pass over a worker. Employers must take any other precautions reasonable in the circumstances to protect the health and safety of their workers.

Applicable legislation

Clause 25(2)(a) of the Occupational Health and Safety Act states that,

    …an employer shall,

    (a) provide information, instruction and supervision to a worker to protect the health or safety of the worker.

Clause 25(2)(h) of the Occupational Health and Safety Act states that,

    …an employer shall,

    (h) take every precaution reasonable in the circumstances for the protection of a worker;

Clauses 51(2)(a) and 51(2)(b)(i) of Revised Regulations of Ontario 1990, Regulation 851 (the “Industrial Establishments Regulation”) state that,

    A lifting device shall be operated,

    51(2)(a) only by

    1. a competent person, or
    2. a worker being instructed who is accompanied by a competent person; and

    (b) in such a way that,

    1. no part of the load passes over any worker…

Remember that while complying with occupational health and safety laws, you are also required to comply with applicable environmental laws.

Permission is granted to photocopy Ministry of Labour alerts. Please distribute them widely and post them where people will see them.

ISSN 1195-5228 (HTML)

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Alerte : Déploiement de la flèche d'une grue à flèche articulée en position repliée ou de déplacement

  • Diffusion : le 14 janvier 2014
  • Dernière mise à jour : janvier 2014

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

Contexte

On a conduit un camion-grue à flèche articulée (« camion-grue »), semblable à celui de la figure 1, dans un atelier de mécanique pour faire réparer une fuite hydraulique dans un vérin télescopique. La flèche articulée, ou flèche double déport, d'une capacité de levage de 6 000 kg, était montée à l'arrière de la plate-forme d'un camion-grue. La flèche articulée se composait d'une flèche intérieure et d'une flèche extérieure avec rallonge pouvant sortir de la flèche extérieure et se rétracter dans cette dernière.

Image d'un camion-grue à flèche articulée.

Fig. 1 : Camion-grue à flèche articulée

Pour vérifier si la fuite avait été réparée, un travailleur de l'atelier a déployé la rallonge hors de la flèche extérieure pendant que la flèche articulée était en position repliée ou de déplacement (figure 2). Sous l'effet du déploiement, la flèche intérieure est sortie de sa position repliée et s'est déplacée vers le haut, provoquant la chute soudaine, d'une hauteur d'environ huit pieds, de la flèche extérieure et de la rallonge en raison de l'effet de porte-à-faux dû au déplacement de poids (figure 3).

Image du camion-grue à flèche articulée avant l'incident. La flèche est en position repliée ou de déplacement normale, rallonge de flèche rétractée. La flèche extérieure fait un angle de 45 degrés.

Fig. 2 : Avant l'incident
Flèche en position repliée ou de déplacement normale (rallonge de flèche rétractée)

Image du camion-grue à flèche articulée après l'incident. La flèche extérieure et la rallonge de flèche sont tombées. La flèche extérieure fait maintenant un angle de 90 degrés et la rallonge de flèche n'est plus rétractée.

Fig. 3 : Après l'incident
Position de la flèche extérieure et de la rallonge après la chute


Un travailleur à l'œuvre sur un véhicule se trouvant à proximité du camion-grue a été blessé au côté de la tête et à l'épaule par la chute de la flèche extérieure et de la rallonge de flèche.

Description du danger

La rallonge de flèche a été déployée alors que la flèche articulée était en position repliée ou de déplacement (figure 2); cela a déstabilisé la flèche articulée qui est alors sortie de sa position repliée et a causé la chute de la flèche extérieure et de la rallonge sur la plate-forme du camion (figure 3).

Le manuel d'utilisation du camion-grue informe le conducteur de la manière de déployer la flèche articulée avant son utilisation. Toutefois, aucun avis, dans le manuel ou sur le matériel, n'avertit les conducteurs du danger éventuel de déstabilisation et de chute soudaine de la flèche si l'on déploie la rallonge lorsque la flèche articulée est en position repliée ou de déplacement.

Lieux et secteurs

Les camions-grues servent avant tout à livrer des matériaux et du matériel dans les secteurs de l'industrie et de la construction. Mais on en trouve également dans les ateliers de mécanique aux fins d'entretien et de réparation où l'on peut vraisemblablement manœuvrer la grue de la manière décrite plus haut. Le présent avertissement porte sur la manipulation et l'utilisation des grues pendant leur entretien et leur réparation dans un atelier de mécanique.

Précautions

Il faut utiliser les grues à flèche articulée conformément aux directives du fabricant et au manuel d'utilisation.

De plus, même si le manuel est muet à ce sujet, il faut toujours déployer les grues à flèche articulée (les sortir de leur position repliée) avant d'allonger la rallonge de flèche.

Les employeurs doivent s'assurer que tout utilisateur d'appareil de levage est compétent ou suit une formation en compagnie d'une personne compétente. Les employeurs doivent s'assurer que tous les utilisateurs, y compris les mécaniciens d'atelier qui font l'essai du matériel, reçoivent des renseignements, des directives et une supervision adéquates. Les employeurs devraient en outre s'assurer que les travailleurs utilisent le matériel conformément au manuel d'utilisation du fabricant, à leur formation et aux politiques et méthodes d'utilisation sécuritaire de l'employeur.

Les employeurs devraient s'assurer que les travailleurs se tiennent toujours à l'écart de la zone de danger entourant les camions-grues et leur chargement. Aucune partie de la charge d'une grue ne doit passer au-dessus d'un travailleur. Les employeurs doivent prendre toute autre précaution raisonnable selon les circonstances pour protéger la santé et la sécurité de leurs travailleurs.

Lois applicables

L'alinéa 25 (2) a) de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail précise que

    « ...l'employeur :

    (a) fournit au travailleur les renseignements, les directives et la surveillance nécessaires à la protection de sa santé et de sa sécurité ».

L'alinéa 25 (2) h) de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail précise que

    « ...l'employeur :

    (h) prend toutes les précautions raisonnables dans les circonstances pour assurer la protection du travailleur ».

L'alinéa 51 (2) a) et le sous-alinéa 51 (2) b) (i) du Règlement 851 des Règlements refondus de l'Ontario de 1990 (le « règlement sur les établissements industriels ») précise ce qui suit :

    « L’appareil de levage est utilisé :

    51 (2) a) d’une part, uniquement par :

    1. soit une personne compétente,
    2. soit un travailleur en cours de formation accompagné d’une personne compétente;

    (b) d’autre part, de façon à satisfaire aux exigences suivantes :

    1. aucune partie de la charge ne passe au-dessus d’un travailleur... »

Rappelez-vous qu'en plus de vous conformer aux lois en matière de santé et de sécurité au travail, vous devez aussi vous confirmer aux lois applicables sur l'environnement.

Il est permis de photocopier les bulletins Alerte du ministère du Travail. Veuillez les distribuer en grand nombre et les afficher dans des endroits bien en vue.

ISBN 1198-8770 (HTML)

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.