Print Print This Page

Alert: Crane Controls on Crane Trucks

  • Issued: May 2012
  • Content last reviewed: May 2012

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. FOR FURTHER INFORMATION PLEASE SEE FULL DISCLAIMER

As the result of a fatality involving a worker on a crane truck, the Ministry of Labour was alerted to a potential hazard involving exposed crane controls on crane trucks. Crane trucks may be equipped with one or more crane control stations behind the driver’s compartment of the truck on which the crane is mounted. If the crane controls are not shielded or other precautions are not otherwise taken to prevent unintended contact with the controls, there is a possibility that the crane will be put into inadvertent operation and pose a hazard to the worker or to other workers in the vicinity.

The unshielded controls station on the driver's side.

The unshielded controls station on the driver's side.

Hazard Summary

Workers may unintentionally contact unshielded crane controls, causing a crane or some of its parts to move. This can create a hazardous situation where the worker making the unintentional contact, or other workers in the area, can be hit by the movement of the crane or pinned by its moving parts.

Hazard Locations

This hazard may exist on any make and model of cranes and trucks. For cranes with multiple operating control panels, the hazard may exist on one or all panels.

Legal Requirements

The Occupational Health and Safety Act places a responsibility on employers to take every precaution reasonable in the circumstances for the protection of workers, as per section 25(2)(h) of the Act.


Reasonable precautions to protect the safety of workers may include such things as shielding the controls or some other measure that prevents inadvertent operation of the crane. Whatever precautions are taken they must be adequate to provide the necessary protection and not introduce a new hazard.

For further information or assistance, please contact the Ministry’s Health and Safety Contact Centre at 1 877 202 0008 or Health and Safety Ontario which includes the Infrastructure Health & Safety Association (IHSA) 1-800-263-5024, Public Services Health & Safety Association (PSHSA) 1-877-250-7444, Workplace Safety North (WSN), 1-888-730-7821 and Workplace Safety & Prevention Services (WSPS) 1-877-494-9777.

Remember that while complying with occupational health and safety laws, you are also required to comply with applicable environmental laws.

Please photocopy Ministry of Labour Alerts, distribute them widely and post them where people will see them.

ISSN 1195-5228

Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Alerte : Commandes des camions-grues

  • Diffusion : mai 2012
  • Dernière mise à jour : mai 2012

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santè et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. POUR OBTENIR DE PLUS AMPLES RENSEIGNEMENTS, VOIR L'AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ INTÉGRAL

À la suite du décès d’un travailleur mettant en cause un camion-grue, le ministère du Travail a été avisé de l’existence du danger potentiel que présentent les commandes des camions-grues lorsqu’elles ne sont pas couvertes. Les camions-grues peuvent avoir un ou plusieurs postes de commande situés derrière le poste de conduite du camion sur lequel est fixée la grue. Si les commandes de la grue ne sont pas couvertes ou si d’autres précautions ne sont pas prises pour éviter que quelqu’un ne touche les commandes sans le vouloir, la grue risque d’être actionnée par inadvertance et de mettre en danger le travailleur ou d’autres travailleurs se trouvant à proximité.

Le poste de commande non couvert du côté du conducteur.

Le poste de commande non couvert du côté du conducteur.

Résumé du danger

Un travailleur peut, sans le vouloir, toucher les commandes non couvertes de la grue, ce qui peut faire bouger la grue ou des parties de celle-ci. Cela peut créer un danger puisque le travailleur en question ou d’autres travailleurs se trouvant à proximité peuvent être heurtés par la grue en mouvement ou coincés par des parties mobiles de la grue.

Présence du danger

Toutes les marques et tous les modèles de grues et de camions peuvent présenter un danger. Dans le cas des grues qui ont plusieurs panneaux de commande, un ou plusieurs panneaux peuvent constituer un danger.

Exigences prévues par la loi

En vertu de l’alinéa 25 (2) h) de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, il incombe à l’employeur de prendre toutes les précautions raisonnables dans les circonstances pour assurer la protection du travailleur.

Précautions

Les précautions raisonnables pour protéger le travailleur peuvent consister notamment à couvrir les commandes ou à prendre une autre mesure visant à éviter que la grue soit actionnée par inadvertance. Quelles que soient les précautions prises, elles doivent être suffisantes pour assurer une bonne protection sans créer un nouveau danger.

Pour obtenir d’autres renseignements ou de l’aide, veuillez communiquer avec l’InfoCentre de santé et de sécurité au travail du ministère du Travail, au 1 877 202 0008, ou avec Santé et sécurité Ontario, (en anglais seulement), qui comprend l’Association de santé et sécurité dans les infrastructures (en anglais seulement), ou 1 800 263 5024, l’Association de santé et sécurité des services publics, (en anglais seulement) ou 1 877 250 7444, Sécurité au travail du Nord (en anglais seulement), ou 1 888 730 7821, et Services de prévention et de sécurité au travail (en anglais seulement), ou 1 877 494 9777.

N'oubliez pas qu'en plus de vous conformer aux mesures législatives sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, vous devez vous conformer aux lois applicables en matière d'environnement.

Veuillez faire des photocopies des bulletins Alerte, puis les distribuer en grand nombre et les afficher dans des endroits bien en vue.

ISSN 1198-8770