Print Print This Page

Alert: Diver Critically Injured When Suit Over Inflates

Diver's harness activates suit inflator causing uncontrolled blow-up in sewer pipe

  • ISSN: 1195-5228
  • Issued: December 2004
  • Revised: March 1, 2014
  • Content last reviewed: March 2014

Hazard Summary

A 40 year-old diver was critically injured when his diving suit over-inflated while working inside an opening of a sewer pipe.

The victim was vacuuming the inside of a flooded storm sewer when his suit unexpectedly began to inflate causing him to blow up against the roof of the pipe. The victim was wearing a dry suit and was using a surface-supplied diving helmet.

The investigation has shown that the diving harness interfered with the operation of the diver's suit. Specifically, the design of the particular harness inadvertently activated the suit inflation valve when the diver crouched in the sewer pipe, causing an uncontrolled blow-up and trapping him against the top of the sewer pipe. The harness is a type that crossed across the chest. When the diver crouched inside the pipe the harness strap slid over the inflator of his dry suit causing an uncontrolled over-inflation. The inflator valve on this suit was found to have a high profile activator that rises above the protective shroud of the valve. As the suit began to inflate the diver could not raise his arm to discharge the overpressure through the exhaust valve.

Hazard Location

This hazard may occur whenever a cross-chest type of diving harness is worn. This type of harness must be avoided if there is a possibility that a harness strap can accidentally activate the suit inflator valve.

Photo of a cross-chest type diving harness      Detailed photo of a cross-chest type diving harness

Precautions

  • Ensure during pre-dive checks that suit inflator valve cannot be activated by harness straps.
  • Relocate suit inflation valve to an area on the suit that will not allow the diving harness straps to interfere with the suit inflation valve.

Legal Requirements

The Occupational Health and Safety Act describes responsibilities that constructors, employers, and supervisors have in protecting the health and safety of workers, (refer to sections 25 -28 of the Act). Clause 16(3)(d) of the Regulation for Diving Operations (O. Reg. 629/94) requires the diver and the diving supervisor to ensure that the diver is equipped with a five-point diving harness that meets the requirements of Clause 8.3.5 of CSA Standard Z275.2-11, "Occupational Safety Code for Diving Operations".

For further information or assistance, please call the Ministry of Labour Health & Safety Contact Centre, or contact the Industrial Accident Prevention Association, the Infrastructure Health & Safety Association or other safe workplace associations.

This Ministry of Labour Alert has no legal effect and does not constitute and is not a substitute for legal advice. If you require specific assistance with respect to the interpretation of a legislative provision and its potential application to you please contact your legal counsel.

Remember that while complying with occupational health and safety laws, you are also required to comply with applicable environmental laws.

Please photocopy Ministry of Labour Alerts, distribute them widely and post them where people will see them.

Imprimer  Imprimer cette page

Alerte : Gonflement non maîtrisé d'un vétement de plongée : un plongeur est griévement blessé

Le harnais a provoqué le gonflage non maîtrisé de son vêtement de plongée dans une canalisation d'égout

  • ISBN : 1198-8770
  • Diffusion : décembre 2004
  • Révision : 1 mars 2014
  • Dernière mise à jour : mars 2014

Brève description du danger

Un plongeur de 40 ans a été grièvement blessé lorsque son vêtement de plongée s'est mis à gonfler quand il travaillait dans le puits de visite d'une canalisation d'égout.

Le plongeur aspirait des eaux dans un égout pluvial inondé lorsque son vêtement de plongée s'est subitement mis à gonfler, le projetant violemment contre la paroi supérieure de la canalisation. Il portait une combinaison isotherme et un casque alimenté en air à partir de la surface.

L'enquête a révélé que le harnais de plongée avait accidentellement enclenché la commande de l'insufflateur lorsque le plongeur s'était accroupi dans la canalisation d'égout. Le plongeur n'a pas pu maîtriser le gonflement. Le harnais est du genre qui forme une croix sur la poitrine. Lorsque le plongeur s'est accroupi, la courroie du harnais a glissé sur la commande de l'insufflateur, provoquant le gonflage non maîtrisé de la combinaison isotherme. La commande de l'insufflateur avait un profil haut. Elle s'élevait au-dessus du protecteur de contact du robinet de gonflage. Lorsque la combinaison s'est mise à gonfler, le plongeur ne pouvait pas hausser les bras pour libérer la surpression par la soupape d'échappement.

Présence du danger

Ce danger est présent chaque fois qu'un plongeur porte un harnais se croisant sur la poitrine. Il faut éviter de porter ce genre de harnais si une courroie risque d'enclencher accidentellement l'insufflateur.

Photo d'un harnais se croisant sur la poitrine      Photo détaillée d'un harnais se croisant sur la poitrine

Précautions

  • Lorsqu'on fait la vérification d'avant-plongée, il faut veiller à ce que les courroies du harnais ne puissent pas enclencher l'insufflateur.
  • Il faut déplacer l'insufflateur à un endroit sur le vêtement de plongée où il ne pourra pas entrer en contact avec les courroies du harnais.

Obligations juridiques

La Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail décrit les obligations qui incombent aux constructeurs, aux employeurs et aux superviseurs pour garantir la sécurité des travailleurs et protéger leur santé (voir les articles 25, 26, 27 et 28). Conformément à l'alinéa 16 (3) d) du Règlement concernant les opérations de plongée de l’Ontario (Règl. de l’Ont. 629/94) le plongeur et le superviseur de plongée doivent veiller à ce que le plongeur porte un harnais de plongée sécuritaire à cinq points qui répond aux exigence de la clause 8.3.5 de la norme Z275.2-F11 de la CSA intitulée Règles de sécurité pour les travailleurs en plongée.

Pour obtenir de l'aide ou de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec l’InfoCentre de santé et de sécurité au travail du ministère du Travail, l'Association pour la prévention des accidents industriels (disponible en anglais seulement), l'Association de santé et sécurité dans les infrastructures (disponible en anglais seulement) ou d'autres associations vouées à la sécurité au travail.

La présente Alerte du ministère du Travail n’a aucun effet légal. Elle ne constitue pas des conseils juridiques ni ne les remplace. Si vous avez besoin d’assistance pour interpréter une disposition législative et son application à votre situation, veuillez communiquer avec un avocat.

N'oubliez pas qu'en plus de vous conformer aux mesures législatives sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, vous devez vous conformer aux lois applicables en matière d'environnement.

Veuillez faire des photocopies des bulletins Alerte, puis les distribuer en grand nombre et les afficher dans des endroits bien en vue.