Print Print This Page

Alert: Davit Arm System Failure

  • ISSN 1195-5228

Hazard Summary:

This is an alert to building owners, employers and workers who use a davit arm system to support suspended work platforms.

This davit system is part of the “supporting structure” for boatswain’s chairs and elevating/suspended work platforms and their attachments, which are used extensively in window washing and building facade repair work operations.

The Ministry of Labour is aware of an incident where an aluminium davit arm collapsed while the system was hoisting a suspended work platform with two workers. The platform was only four feet above ground level at the time of the collapse. None of the workers sustained injury.

This davit arm system that failed in this situation was manufactured in 1990. It was installed on the roof of the building for the purpose of window cleaning operations. A competent person visually inspected the system during the annual anchor inspection, as required by Section 41 of Ontario Regulation 859 for Window Cleaning. The inspection report did not identify any deficiency in the davit arm system.

The Ministry of Labour’s incident investigation found that the welds which connected the beams to the shoulder collar were the likely cause of this accident. A further investigation by welding specialists found the existing welds to be deficient and that they failed to support the structural loads applied to the system during hoisting of the suspended work platform.

Other Incidents

The Ministry of Labour’s investigation team also learned that a similar davit arm failure contributed in the death of a worker in the City of Montreal. The cause of that failure was due to "deficient welds".

Hazard Locations

All buildings where window-washing operations and building facade repair are carried out using elevating/suspended work platforms and boatswain’s chairs that are suspended by a davit system.

Recommendations:

It is recommended that owners of buildings where davit systems are installed on the roof conduct the following before commencing window washing or building facade repair work.
  1. Have the davit arm system inspected and verified by a competent person or a professional engineer to ensure that the system can support the loads applied to it;
  2. Have the welds inspected to ensure structural integrity and conformance with CSA Standards Z271-98 Article 5.4.1 (welding of steel) and Z271-98 Article 5.4.2 (welding of aluminium).
  3. If the welds or other component of the system is defective, withdraw the system from service and do not use it until the appropriate corrective action is taken.

Legal Requirements

All workplace parties, including the building owner, should be aware of the requirements under Ontario Regulation 859 with regard to window cleaning. The following provisions in the regulation have particular relevance to this situation:

41. (1) The owner of a building mentioned in section 39 or 40 shall cause all anchor points and permanently-installed suspended scaffolds to be inspected by a competent person,

   (a) before being used for the first time;

   (b) thereafter as often as necessary but not less frequently than recommended by the manufacturer of the anchor points or the suspended scaffolds, as the case may be and, in any case, at least once a year; and

   (c) when informed under section 43.

(2) Maintenance and repairs of a permanently-installed suspended scaffold shall be performed in accordance with the manufacturer's instructions.

(3) The competent person making the inspection required by subsection (1) shall immediately upon completion of the inspection report to the building owner any defects or hazardous conditions detected in the anchor points and any permanently-installed suspended scaffold.

(4) A building owner shall ensure that any faulty anchor point is repaired and is suitable for use for window cleaning and sill work before being used.

(5) A building owner shall keep a record of the inspections of any anchor points and any permanently-installed suspended scaffold at a building in a log book to be maintained and retained as long as the anchor points and suspended scaffold are used, showing,

   (a) the date on which each inspection is made;

   (b) the name and signature of the person making the inspection; and

   (c) any modifications or repairs made to an anchor point or a suspended scaffold, including the date they are made and the name and signature of the person making the modifications or repairs.

43. If an employer, supervisor or worker believes that any anchor point or related structure that is used to support a suspended scaffold, suspended work platform, boatswain's chair, similar single-point suspension equipment or lifeline is defective or inadequate, the employer, supervisor or worker shall inform the building owner of this fact immediately.

This Ministry of Labour Alert has no legal effect and does not constitute and is not a substitute for legal advice. If you require specific assistance with respect to the interpretation of a legislative provision and its potential application to you please contact your legal counsel.

Remember that while complying with occupational health and safety laws, you are also required to comply with applicable environmental laws.

Please photocopy Ministry of Labour Alerts, distribute them widely and post them where people will see them.

Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Alerte : Bossoirs Défectueux

  • ISSN : 1198-8770
  • Révision : août 2003
  • Dernière mise à jour : juin 2009
  • Réalisé par le Programme de santé et de sécurité dans l'industrie de la construction

Résumé du danger

Les propriétaires d’immeubles, les employeurs et les travailleurs qui utilisent des bossoirs pour retenir des plates-formes de travail suspendues sont avisés de l’alerte suivante.

Le système de bossoirs fait partie de la « structure de soutien » des sellettes et des plates-formes d’élévation/suspendues et de leurs accessoires qui sont largement utilisés pour le nettoyage des vitres et les ravalements de façade.

Le ministère du Travail a été avisé d’un incident au cours duquel un bossoir en aluminium s’est effondré pendant que le système soulevait une plate-forme de travail sur laquelle deux travailleurs prenaient place. La plate-forme n’était alors qu’à quatre pieds du sol et aucun travailleur n’a subi de blessure.

Le système de bossoirs en question a été fabriqué en 1990. Il a été installé sur le toit de l’immeuble pour le nettoyage des vitres. Une personne compétente avait inspecté visuellement le système au cours de l’inspection annuelle des points de fixation exigée à l’article 41 du règlement de l’Ontario 859 sur le nettoyage des vitres. Le rapport d’inspection ne fait mention d’aucune anomalie du système de bossoirs.

L’enquête du ministère du Travail sur l’incident a permis de découvrir que les soudures qui reliaient les poutres à la bague de l’épaulement sont probablement à l’origine de cet accident. Une enquête plus poussée par des spécialistes en soudage a révélé que les soudures existantes présentaient une faiblesse et qu’elles n’ont pas pu supporter les charges structurelles appliquées au système durant le levage de la plate-forme de travail suspendue.

Autres incidents

L’équipe du ministère du Travail qui a procédé à l’enquête a aussi appris qu’une défaillance similaire d’un système de bossoirs avait coûté la vie à un travailleur à Montréal. La défaillance avait été causée par des « soudures défectueuses ».

Emplacements dangereux

Tous les immeubles où l’on effectue le nettoyage des vitres et des ravalements de façade en utilisant des plates-formes d’élévation et des sellettes suspendues à un système de bossoirs.

Recommandations

Nous recommandons aux propriétaires d’immeubles sur le toit desquels des systèmes de bossoirs sont installés de procéder aux opérations ci-dessous avant de commencer le lavage des vitres ou un ravalement de façade

  1. Faire inspecter et vérifier le système de bossoirs par une personne compétente ou un ingénieur professionnel afin de s’assurer que le système peut supporter les charges qu’on y appliquera.
  2. Faire inspecter les soudures afin de s’assurer de leur intégrité structurelle et de leur conformité à la norme CAN/CSA Z271-98 Article 5.4.1 (soudage de l’acier) et Article 5.4.2 (soudage de l’aluminium).
  3. Si les soudures ou d’autres composants du système sont défectueux, mettre le système hors service et ne pas l’utiliser avant que les mesures correctives appropriées aient été prises.

Exigences légales

Toutes les parties en cause, y compris le propriétaire de l’immeuble, doivent être au fait des exigences du règlement de l’Ontario 859 ayant trait au nettoyage des vitres. Les dispositions suivantes du règlement s’appliquent tout particulièrement à cette situation :

41. (1) Le propriétaire d'un immeuble visé à l'article 39 ou 40 fait inspecter tous les points de fixation et les échafaudages suspendus installés à demeure par une personne compétente :

   (a) avant leur première utilisation ;

   (b) par la suite, aussi souvent que nécessaire, mais pas moins fréquemment que ne le recommande le fabricant des points de fixation ou des échafaudages suspendus, selon le cas, et, en tout état de cause, au moins une fois par an;

   (c) quand il est informé aux termes de l'article 43.

(2) L'entretien et les réparations d'un échafaudage suspendu installé à demeure sont faits conformément aux instructions du fabricant.

(3) Immédiatement après l'inspection, la personne compétente procédant à l'inspection requise au paragraphe (1) signale au propriétaire de l'immeuble les conditions dangereuses ou les défauts détectés aux points de fixation et à tout échafaudage suspendu installé à demeure.

(4) Le propriétaire d'un immeuble s'assure que tout point de fixation défectueux est réparé et convient à l'utilisation pour le nettoyage des vitres et le travail à partir d'appuis de fenêtre avant d'être utilisé.

(5) Le propriétaire d'un immeuble conserve le dossier des inspections des points de fixation et des échafaudages suspendus installés à demeure dans un immeuble dans un journal qui est mis à jour et conservé tant que les points de fixation et l'échafaudage suspendu sont utilisés et il y indique :

   (a) la date de chaque inspection ;

   (b) le nom et la signature de la personne procédant à l'inspection;

   (c) les modifications ou les réparations apportées à un point de fixation ou à un échafaudage suspendu, y compris leur date et le nom et la signature de la personne qui a apporté les modifications ou les réparations.

43. Si l'employeur, le superviseur ou le travailleur estime qu'un point de fixation ou une structure connexe utilisé pour soutenir un échafaudage suspendu, une plate-forme de travail suspendue, une sellette, un matériel similaire à un seul point de suspension ou une corde de sauvetage est défectueux ou inadéquat, il en informe immédiatement le propriétaire de l'immeuble.

La présente Alerte du ministère du Travail n’a aucun effet légal. Elle ne constitue pas des conseils juridiques ni ne les remplace. Si vous avez besoin d’assistance pour interpréter une disposition législative et son application à votre situation, veuillez communiquer avec un avocat.

N'oubliez pas qu'en plus de vous conformer aux mesures législatives sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, vous devez vous conformer aux lois applicables en matière d'environnement.

Veuillez faire des photocopies des bulletins Alerte, puis les distribuer en grand nombre et les afficher dans des endroits bien en vue.