Print Print This Page

Alert: Equipment Blocking

  • Issued: June 2002
  • Revised: January 6, 2014
  • Content last reviewed: January 2014

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

Hazard summary

Anyone who operates, cleans, services, adjusts or repairs machinery or equipment must be aware of the hazards associated with that machinery. Every year workers die or are critically injured because the equipment they are working on does not have adequate blocking installed. In addition to properly locking out control mechanisms, it is critical to block all forms of hazardous energy including: potential energy due to gravity, hydraulic pressure, or any stored energy that may cause equipment to move or drift, such as electrical or mechanical energy. The lack of blocking allows equipment to move or drop, striking workers, which could lead to fatal and critical injuries.

These events involve:

  • raised blades of bulldozers;
  • raised buckets of backhoes;
  • raised boxes of dump trucks;
  • raised forks of forklifts;
  • punch presses;
  • hoisting equipment.

Hazard location and sectors

All sectors: construction, healthcare, industrial, and mining.

Legal requirements and recommendations

Construction – Section 108 of Ontario Regulation 213/91 (Regulations for Construction Projects) under Ontario's Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) requires that blocking be installed to prevent the collapse or movement of part or all of a piece of equipment that is being dismantled, altered or repaired if its collapse or movement may endanger a worker.

Section 37 of Ontario Regulation 213/91 requires that materials or equipment at a project be stored and moved in a manner that does not endanger a worker.

Section 38 of Ontario Regulation 213/91 requires specifically that blocking, support chains, metal bands, wire ropes and rigging components be removed from material or equipment in a manner that does not endanger a worker.

Healthcare – Section 53 of Ontario Regulation 67/93 (Regulations for Healthcare and Residential Facilities) under the OHSA requires that “If machinery or equipment is being dismantled, serviced or repaired and the collapse of any part of it may injure a worker, blocking shall be installed to prevent its collapse.”

Section 54 of Ontario Regulation 67/93 requires “If a worker may pass or work under machinery, equipment or material that is temporarily elevated, it shall be securely and solidly blocked to prevent it from falling or moving.”

Industrial – Section 74 of Regulation 851 (Regulations for Industrial Establishments) under the OHSA requires that, “Machinery, equipment or material that is temporarily elevated and under which a worker may pass or work shall be securely and solidly blocked to prevent the machinery, equipment or material from falling or moving.”

Section 75 of Regulation 851 requires that a part of a machine, transmission machinery, device or thing that has been stopped and that may subsequently move and endanger a worker must be blocked to prevent its movement before maintenance or repair work is conducted on the equipment.

Section 58 of Regulation 851 requires that no powered equipment be left unattended unless forks, buckets, blades or similar parts are in the lowered position or solidly supported.

Mining – Section 108(2) of Regulation 854 (Regulations for Mines and Mining Plants) under the OHSA requires that any part of a motor vehicle or other equipment, including the blade or bucket or dump box of a truck, must be blocked so as to prevent it from being lowered accidentally if the lowering could endanger a worker.

In addition to the regulations referenced above, clauses 25(2)(h) and 25(2)(a) of the Occupational Health and Safety Act require that all Ontario employers, regardless of the type of work, take every precaution reasonable in the circumstances and provide information, instruction and supervision to a worker to protect the worker’s health and safety.

Given the seriousness of this hazard, it is advisable to have in place an additional control such as connecting the blocking to a mechanical, electrical or other type of device (interlock) that causes the power to be shut off until the block is removed and the power reactivated manually.

It is also important that safety-blocking devices are rated to support the total weight of the equipment components they are used to support. They should also display the permitted tonnage for workers to reference and must be able to bridge the entire vertical space they are blocking to prevent any hazardous movement.

For more information

Health and Safety Ontario
www.healthandsafetyontario.ca

Ministry of Labour
ontario.ca/labour

ServiceOntario e-laws
www.e-laws.gov.on.ca

Or contact the local Ministry of Labour office.

ISSN 1195-5228 (HTML)

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Alerte : Blocage des machines

  • Diffusion : juin 2002
  • Révision : le 06 janvier 2014
  • Dernière mise à jour : janvier 2014

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

Résumé du danger

Quiconque utilise, nettoie, entretient, règle ou répare une machine ou un appareil doit connaître les dangers qui y sont associés. Chaque année, des travailleurs meurent ou sont grièvement blessées parce que l’appareil qu’ils utilisent n’est pas muni d’un dispositif de blocage adéquat. En plus de verrouiller de façon appropriée les mécanismes de commande, il est essentiel de bloquer toute forme d’énergie dangereuse : l’énergie potentielle liée à la gravité, à la pression hydraulique ou toute énergie emmagasinée qui peut faire bouger l’appareil, comme l’énergie électrique ou mécanique. L’absence de blocage permet à l’appareil de bouger ou de tomber en frappant un travailleur, ce qui peut entraîner des blessures mortelles ou graves.

Exemples de situations de ce genre :

  • la lame relevée d’un bulldozer;
  • le godet relevé d’une rétrochargeuse;
  • la benne relevée d’un camion à benne basculante;
  • la fourche relevée d’un chariot élévateur;
  • les presses à poinçonner ou à découper;
  • les appareils de levage.

Lieux et secteurs

Tous les secteurs : construction, soins de santé, industrie et exploitation minière.

Exigences légales et recommandations

Construction - L'article 108 du Règlement de l'Ontario 213/91 (chantiers de construction - en anglais seulement), pris en application de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST) de l’Ontario exige l’installation d’un dispositif de blocage empêchant l’affaissement ou le mouvement de l’ensemble ou d’une pièce d’un appareil que l’on démantèle, modifie ou répare, si son affaissement ou son mouvement peut mettre un travailleur en danger.

L’article 37 du Règlement de l’Ontario 213/91 exige que les matériaux ou les appareils d’un chantier de construction soient rangés et déplacés d’une façon qui ne met aucun travailleur en danger.

L’article 38 du Règlement de l’Ontario 213/91 exige explicitement que les dispositifs de blocage, les chaînes de fixation, les bandes métalliques, les câbles d’acier et les pièces de gréement soient retirés d’un matériau ou d’un appareil d’une façon qui ne met aucun travailleur en danger.

Soins de santé – L’article 53 du Règlement de l’Ontario 67/93 (Établissements d’hébergement et de soins de santé) pris en application de la LSST exige que « si le démontage, l’entretien ou la réparation d’une machine ou d’un appareil comporte un risque d’affaissement qui pourrait blesser un travailleur, des blocages » soient « installés pour éviter un tel affaissement ».

L’article 54 du Règlement de l’Ontario 67/93 exige que « les machines, les appareils ou les matériaux qui sont temporairement soulevés et sous lesquels des travailleurs peuvent avoir à passer ou à travailler » soient « solidement calés pour les empêcher de tomber ou de se déplacer ».

Industrie – L’article 74 du Règlement 851 (Établissements industriels) pris en application de la LSST exige que « les machines, les appareils ou les matériaux qui sont temporairement soulevés et sous lesquels des travailleurs peuvent avoir à passer ou à travailler » soient « solidement calés pour les empêcher de tomber ou de se déplacer ».

L’article 75 du Règlement 851 exige qu’une pièce de machine, un mécanisme de transmission, un appareil ou une chose qui a été arrêté et qui pourrait se remettre en mouvement et mettre un travailleur en danger soit calé de façon à en empêcher tout mouvement avant l’entretien ou la réparation de l’appareil.

L’article 58 du Règlement 851 exige qu’aucun matériel motorisé ne soit laissé sans surveillance à moins que les fourches, les bennes, les lames et les pièces similaires soient abaissées ou solidement soutenues.

Exploitation minière – L’article 108 (2) du Règlement 854 (mines et installations minières - en anglais seulement) pris en application de la LSST exige que toute partie d’un véhicule automobile ou d’une autre machine, y compris la lame d’un bulldozer, le godet d’une rétrochargeuse ou la benne d’un camion, soit bloquée afin d’empêcher qu’elle s’abaisse accidentellement si l’abaissement peut mettre un travailleur en danger.

Outre les règlements mentionnés ci-dessus, les alinéas 25 (2) a) et h) de la LSST exigent que tous les employeurs de l’Ontario, peu importe le type de travail, prennent toutes les précautions raisonnables dans les circonstances et fournissent de l’information, des directives et une supervision au travailleur afin de protéger sa santé et sa sécurité.

Étant donné la gravité de ce danger, il est recommandé de doter le dispositif de blocage d’une commande supplémentaire, entre autres en reliant le dispositif de blocage à un dispositif mécanique, électrique ou autre (p. ex., un dispositif d’interverrouillage) qui interrompt l’alimentation jusqu’à ce qu’on enlève le dispositif de blocage et qu’on rétablisse manuellement l’alimentation.

En outre, les dispositifs de blocage doivent pouvoir supporter le poids total des pièces qu’ils sont censés supporter. Ils doivent également porter une indication du poids permis que les travailleurs peuvent consulter, et être capables de couvrir tout l’espace vertical qu’ils bloquent afin de prévenir tout mouvement dangereux.

Pour en savoir plus

Santé et sécurité Ontario (en anglais seulement)
www.healthandsafetyontario.ca

Ministère du Travail
ontario.ca/travail

Lois-en-ligne de ServiceOntario
www.e-laws.gov.on.ca

Ou communiquez avec le bureau local du ministère du Travail.

ISSN 1198-8770 (HTML)

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.