Print Print This Page

Alert: Mould in Workplace Buildings

  • ISSN: 1195-5228
  • Issued: December 2000
  • Content last reviewed: May 2015

Hazard summary

Workers and the public may be exposed to mould on water-damaged building materials inside buildings, and during building maintenance and repair operations. The most common types of mould are generally not hazardous to healthy individuals–but some moulds may be hazardous to certain individuals.

People who have asthma, bronchitis, hay fever, other allergies, or have weakened immune systems are more likely to react to mould. The most common symptoms are runny nose, eye irritation, skin rash, cough, congestion and aggravation of asthma. Symptoms usually disappear after mould exposure stops. Most often, there are no known long-term consequences to workplace exposures.

Hazard locations

Moulds (fungi) are present everywhere–indoors and outdoors.

Any building may have mould. However, buildings with a history of water leaks, floods, fires and problems with indoor air quality (e.g. poor humidity control, lack of fresh air) should be considered at greater risk of mould growth. Water-damaged drywall, wood materials, jute, wallpaper, and cardboard are prone to fungal growth.

All moulds need water to grow. Mould can grow anywhere there is water damage, high humidity or dampness. Most often moulds are confined to areas near the source of water. When mouldy material becomes damaged or disturbed, mould spores can be released into the air. Exposure occurs if people inhale the spores.

Precautions

The sustained and/or extensive growth of any visible mould on the interior surfaces of a building is unacceptable. Mould growth on the interior surfaces of buildings is a risk factor for health problems.

Moisture problems (flooding, leaks, water intrusion, condensation, etc.) in buildings are the primary reason for mould growth. These moisture problems should be the focus of assessment and control efforts, followed by clean-up, remediation of contaminated materials, periodic inspections, and preventive and remedial maintenance. The Internet resources below contain detailed information. If mould contamination is extensive, the employer should seek professional assistance from private sector consultants who specialize in mould and mould remediation.

Occupants of buildings contaminated with mould should be advised of the presence of the mould and given information on the health effects of mould.

Legal requirements

Employers are required by section 25(2)(h) of the Occupational Health and Safety Act to take every precaution reasonable in the circumstances for the protection of workers.

The Occupational Health and Safety Act places a responsibility on constructors (section 23), employers (section 25), and supervisors (section 27) to ensure the health and safety of workers. This includes protecting workers from mould in workplace buildings. Various sections of the Industrial, Construction, Mining or Health Care regulations may also apply to maintenance and remediation activities.

Resources on corrective measures, mould remediation and worker training are listed below.

Resources

Health Canada
www.hc-sc.gc.ca

Environmental Abatement Council of Ontario (EACO)
www.eacoontario.com

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
www.epa.gov

U.S. Centers for Disease Control (CDC)
www.cdc.gov

This Ministry of Labour Alert has no legal effect and does not constitute and is not a substitute for legal advice. If you require specific assistance with respect to the interpretation of a legislative provision and its potential application to you please contact your legal counsel.

Remember that while complying with occupational health and safety laws, you are also required to comply with applicable environmental laws.

Please photocopy Ministry of Labour Alerts, distribute them widely and post them where people will see them.

Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Alerte : Moisissures dans les lieux de travail

  • ISBN : 1198-8770
  • Diffusion : décembre 2000
  • Dernière mise à jour : mai 2015

Aperçu des risques

Les travailleurs et le public peuvent être exposés aux moisissures sur les matériaux de construction abîmés par l'eau à l'intérieur des bâtiments, de même qu'au cours de l'entretien et de la réfection des bâtiments. Les types de moisissure les plus communs ne sont généralement pas nuisibles aux personnes en santé, mais il y a des moisissures qui peuvent être dangereuses pour certaines personnes.

Les personnes atteintes d'asthme, de bronchite, de rhume des foins ou d'autres allergies, ou dont le système immunitaire est affaibli, sont plus enclines à réagir aux moisissures. Les symptômes les plus fréquents sont un écoulement nasal, une irritation des yeux, une éruption cutanée, une toux, une congestion et une aggravation de l'asthme. Ces symptômes disparaissent habituellement après la cessation de l'exposition aux moisissures. Le plus souvent, il n'y a aucune conséquence à long terme connue à l'exposition aux moisissures en milieu de travail.

Où sont les risques

Les moisissures (fongus) sont présentes partout, à l'intérieur comme à l'extérieur.

N'importe quel bâtiment peut renfermer des moisissures. Toutefois, ceux où se sont produits une fuite d'eau, une inondation, un incendie ou des problèmes de qualité de l'air à l'intérieur (p. ex. mauvais contrôle de l'humidité, manque d'air frais) présentent le plus grand risque de formation de moisissures. Les cloisons sèches, les matériaux de bois, le jute, le papier peint et le carton abîmés par l'eau sont propices à la croissance fongique.

Toutes les moisissures ont besoin d'eau pour croître. Elles peuvent croître en tout lieu abîmé par l'eau, humide ou moite. Le plus souvent, les moisissures se limitent aux aires à proximité de la source d'eau. Lorsque le matériau moisi est endommagé ou déplacé, les spores de moisissure sont libérées dans l'air. Il y a exposition quand les gens respirent ces spores.

Précautions

La formation durable ou extensive de toute moisissure visible sur les surfaces intérieures d'un bâtiment est inacceptable. La formation de moisissures sur les surfaces intérieures constitue un facteur de risque de problème sanitaire.

Un problème d'humidité (inondation, fuite, pénétration d'eau, condensation, etc.) est la principale cause de formation de moisissures dans un bâtiment. Ces problèmes d'humidité doivent être l'objectif principal des démarches d'évaluation et de contrôle, suivies du nettoyage, de l'élimination des matériaux contaminés, d'inspections périodiques, de maintenance et d'entretien correctif. Les ressources Internet ci-après contiennent des renseignements détaillés à ce sujet. Si la contamination aux moisissures est extensive, l'employeur doit obtenir l'aide de consultants privés spécialisés dans les moisissures et leur élimination.

Les occupants d'édifices contaminés aux moisissures doivent être informés de la présence de ces dernières et de leurs effets sur la santé.

Exigences légales

En vertu de l'alinéa 25 (2) h) de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, l'employeur est tenu de prendre toutes les précautions raisonnables dans les circonstances pour assurer la protection des travailleurs.

La Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail attribue au constructeur (article 23), à l'employeur (article 25) et au superviseur (article 27) la responsabilité d'assurer la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs. Ceci comprend leur protection contre les moisissures dans les édifices où ils travaillent. Divers articles des règlements sur l'industrie, la construction, l'exploitation minière ou les soins de santé peuvent également s'appliquer aux activités d'entretien et de correction.

Voici des ressources sur les mesures correctives, l'élimination des moisissures et la formation des travailleurs :

Ressources

Santé Canada
www.sc-hc.gc.ca

Environmental Abatement Council of Ontario (EACO) (en anglais seulement)
www.eacoontario.com

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) (en anglais seulement)
www.epa.gov

U.S. Centers for Disease Control (CDC) (en anglais seulement)
www.cdc.gov

La présente Alerte du ministère du Travail n’a aucun effet légal. Elle ne constitue pas des conseils juridiques ni ne les remplace. Si vous avez besoin d’assistance pour interpréter une disposition législative et son application à votre situation, veuillez communiquer avec un avocat.

N'oubliez pas qu'en plus de vous conformer aux mesures législatives sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, vous devez vous conformer aux lois applicables en matière d'environnement.

Veuillez faire des photocopies des bulletins Alerte, puis les distribuer en grand nombre et les afficher dans des endroits bien en vue.