Print  Print This Page

Alert: Abrasive Blaster Dies of Carbon Monoxide Poisoning

  • ISSN: 1195-5228
  • Revised: August 2009
  • Content last reviewed: January 2011

Proper maintenance and use of compressor might have prevented this death

Hazard Summary:

A 43-year old, self-employed male sandblaster died of carbon monoxide poisoning at his outdoor work station.

The victim was working alone and wearing personal protective equipment that included a NIOSH-approved Type CE sandblasting helmet. The helmet was supplied with breathing air by a manifold from a diesel-powered, oil-lubricated rotary screw compressor. This compressor also provided the sandblasting air. The equipment was old (circa 1970) and in very poor condition. Between the manifold and helmet were an in-line lubricator, a polycarbonate particulate filter, and a freestanding carbon filter. There was no aftercooler and no carbon monoxide removal or detection/alarm equipment in the system.

Testing of the breathing air produced from this system showed that it contained in excess of 960 ppm of carbon monoxide. The CSA standard Z180.1- 00 "Compressed Breathing Air and Systems" recommends a maximum concentration of 5 ppm carbon monoxide. Also present were more than 3900 ppm of carbon dioxide, 55.5 ppm of methane, various hydrocarbons, and an unacceptable odour. The recommended maximum levels of carbon dioxide and methane are 500 ppm and 10 ppm, respectively. The oxygen content of the sample was deficient as well.

Hazard Locations:

This hazard may occur whenever breathing air is supplied from an air compressor.

There are two potential sources of carbon monoxide in breathing air from this type of system.

  • Oil lubricants in air compressors may break down at high temperatures and produce dangerous carbon monoxide levels.
  • The compressor intake may draw air that is contaminated by exhaust emissions from the diesel engine or another nearby source.

In this case, the compressor and air purification system used were not designed to produce breathing air meeting the quality specifications of the CSA standard. The equipment was so poorly maintained that both sources of carbon monoxide might have been involved. The hydrocarbon contaminants and low oxygen level in the breathing air sample indicate that overheating of the lubricant was the principal carbon monoxide source.

Precautions:

Where an oil-lubricated compressor is used to supply breathing air:

  • the compressor must be designed for safe use with supplied-air respirators,
  • the intake air must be drawn from a clean outdoor source,
  • the compressor equipment must be maintained according to the manufacturer's instructions,
  • the carbon monoxide level of the breathing air must be monitored with a properly calibrated and maintained continuous carbon monoxide monitor equipped with an alarm, and
  • the breathing air from the system must be tested by a qualified laboratory, at least twice per year, for compliance with the quality specifications of the CSA standard.

A safe source of breathing air can also be provided by:

  1. using an oil-free breathing air system with the air intake located in accordance with Appendix B of CSA Z180.1-00, and is maintained according to the manufacturer's instructions, or
  2. using a compressed breathing air cylinder source certified by the supplier as meeting the quality specifications of CSA Standard Z180.1-00.

Legal Requirements:

The Occupational Health and Safety Act places a responsibility on constructors, employers, and supervisors to ensure the health and safety of workers, and to provide workers with appropriate training. Suppliers of rental or leasing equipment used in a workplace have a responsibility to ensure that the equipment supplied is in good condition and complies with the Occupational Health and Safety Act. Refer to sections 25(1)(b), 25(2)(h), and 31 of the Occupational Health and Safety Act.

For further information or assistance, please call the Ministry of Labour Health & Safety Contact Centre, the Industrial Accident Prevention Association, the Infrastructure Health & Safety Association or other safe workplace associations.

This Ministry of Labour Alert has no legal effect and does not constitute and is not a substitute for legal advice. If you require specific assistance with respect to the interpretation of a legislative provision and its potential application to you please contact your legal counsel.

Remember that while complying with occupational health and safety laws, you are also required to comply with applicable environmental laws.

Please photocopy Ministry of Labour Alerts, distribute them widely and post them where people will see them.

Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Alerte : Un sableur meurt d'un empoisonnement par l'oxyde de carbone

  • ISSN : 1198-8770
  • Révision : août 2009
  • Dernière mise à jour : janvier 2011

Cet accident mortel aurait pu être évité par le bon emploi et le bon entretien du compresseur.

Résumé du danger

Un sableur indépendant âgé de 43 ans est mort d'un empoisonnement par l'oxyde de carbone alors qu'il travaillait à l'extérieur.

Le sableur travaillait seul au moment de l'accident. Il portait des dispositifs de protection individuelle, y compris un casque de sablage (type CE) homologué par le NIOSH. Le casque était alimenté en air au moyen d'un distributeur relié à un compresseur rotatif à vis fonctionnant au diesel. Le compresseur fournissait aussi l'air utilisé pour projeter le sable. L'appareil était vieux (il avait été fabriqué vers 1970) et en très mauvais état. Entre le distributeur d'air et le casque se trouvaient un graisseur en continu, un filtre de particules en polycarbonate et un filtre à charbon autonome. L'appareil n'était pas pourvu d'un refroidisseur, d'un filtre d'oxyde de carbone ou d'un dispositif d'alerte.

D'après les analyses, l'air respirable que fournissait l'appareil contenait plus de 960 ppm d'oxyde de carbone. Selon la norme CSA Z180.1-M85 (Air comprimé respirable et systèmes connexes), la teneur en oxyde de carbone ne devrait pas dépasser 5 ppm. L'air que fournissait l'appareil renfermait aussi plus de 3 900 ppm de dioxyde de carbone, 55,5 ppm de méthane, divers hydrocarbures et une odeur inacceptable. La teneur maximale admissible du dioxyde de carbone dans l'air est établie à 500 ppm et celle du méthane à 10 ppm. La teneur en oxygène était également insuffisante.

Origines du danger

L'adduction d'air respirable grâce à un compresseur présente toujours des risques. Ce genre d'appareil comprend deux sources possibles d'oxyde de carbone :

  • l'huile de graissage peut se dégrader à haute température et donner une teneur dangereusement élevée en oxyde de carbone;
  • l'air qu'aspire le compresseur peut être contaminé par les gaz d'échappement du moteur diesel ou de ceux d'un autre appareil.

En ce qui concerne cet accident, le compresseur et le dispositif de purification d'air n'étaient pas conçus pour fournir de l'air respirable conforme à la norme CSA. L'appareil était en si piètre état que les deux sources d'oxyde de carbone auraient pu être en cause. Les hydrocarbures présents dans l'air respirable et l'insuffisance d'oxygène révèlent toutefois que la surchauffe du lubrifiant aurait été la principale source d'oxyde de carbone.

Précautions à prendre

Voici les précautions à prendre lorsqu'un compresseur lubrifié à l'huile sert à fournir de l'air respirable :

  • le compresseur doit pouvoir être utilisé sans danger avec un appareil respiratoire à adduction d'air;
  • l'air admis dans le compresseur doit provenir de l'extérieur et être sain;
  • le compresseur doit être entretenu conformément aux prescriptions du fabricant;
  • la concentration d'oxyde de carbone dans l'air respirable doit être mesurée au moyen d'un appareil de mesure du monoxyde de carbone en continu (correctement réglé et entretenu), muni d'une alarme;
  • l'air respirable doit être analysé deux fois par année par un laboratoire qualifié et satisfaire à la norme de qualité de la CSA.

On peut aussi obtenir de l'air de bonne qualité au moyen des appareils suivants :

  1. un compresseur lubrifié à sec dont l’emplacement de l’alimentation en air est conforme à l’annexe A de la norme CSA Z180.1-00 et qui est entretenu conformément aux prescriptions du fabricant;
  2. une bouteille d'air comprimé, si le fabricant garantit que l'air fourni est conforme à la norme CSA Z180.1-M85.

Obligations à l'égard de la loi

La Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail oblige constructeurs, employeurs et superviseurs à garantir la sécurité des travailleurs et à leur donner une formation appropriée. Les fournisseurs d'appareils de location utilisés dans un lieu de travail doivent garantir que leurs appareils sont en bon état, conformément aux prescriptions de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (se reporter à l'article 31 et aux alinéas 25[1]b] et 25[2]h] de la Loi).

Pour obtenir de l'aide ou de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec l’InfoCentre de santé et de sécurité au travail du ministère du Travail, l’Association pour la prévention des accidents industriels, l’Association de santé et sécurité dans les infrastructures ou d'autres associations vouées à la sécurité au travail.

La présente Alerte du ministère du Travail n’a aucun effet légal. Elle ne constitue pas des conseils juridiques ni ne les remplace. Si vous avez besoin d’assistance pour interpréter une disposition législative et son application à votre situation, veuillez communiquer avec un avocat.

N'oubliez pas qu'en plus de vous conformer aux mesures législatives sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, vous devez vous conformer aux lois applicables en matière d'environnement.

Veuillez faire des photocopies des bulletins Alerte, puis les distribuer en grand nombre et les afficher dans des endroits bien en vue.