Print  Print This Page

Alert: Snow Loading and Roof Failures

  • ISSN: 1195-5228
  • Issued: February 1996
  • Content last reviewed: June 2009

Hazard Summary:

Recently, heavy snow has caused roof failures at a department store in Thunder Bay, a mall and an industrial building in Sault Ste. Marie and a greenhouse in Wawa. Also, structural faults due to snow have been found in two schools and a paper mill in Northern Ontario. The roofs of many other buildings in Ontario may be carrying a greater weight of snow than is allowed for in their structural designs.

A cubic foot of snow can weigh from seven pounds for snow that is new and dry to 30 pounds for old, compacted snow. Rain falling on accumulated snow will add even more weight. Drifting snow may put excessive loads on the areas where it piles up, for example against equipment or penthouses or at walls between roof levels.

When snow removal is necessary, it should be remembered that unsafe procedures may cause a collapse. It should also be remembered that workers on a roof must have adequate fall protection and that workers and others nearby can be injured by snow being dumped from a roof.

Locations and Sectors:

All areas where snow has been accumulating. All sectors.

Recommended Precautions:

The Occupational Health and Safety Act requires an employer to ensure that a roof "is capable of supporting all loads to which it may be subjected without causing the materials therein to be stressed beyond the allowable unit stresses established under the Building Code Act" [s. 25(1)(e)]. The Regulations for Industrial Establishments require that materials be moved in such a way and with such precautions and safeguards that the safety of workers is not endangered [R.R.O. 1990, Reg. 851, s. 45].

The Ministry of Labour makes the following recommendations:

  • Owners of workplaces and/or employers at workplaces where there is snow on the roof of buildings should have the roofs assessed by a professional engineer to determine whether
    • the snow load is significant, or
    • there are any visible signs of structural distress, for example, twisting, bending or cracking.
  • If snow is excessive or a roof shows signs of distress, the owner or employer should implement a safe snow removal procedure.
  • A snow removal operation should avoid producing any uneven or concentrated loading on the roof.
  • Areas onto which snow will be dumped from a roof should be secured to prevent access.

Also, workers on a roof must use fall-arrest or travel-restraint equipment in accordance with the fall-protection requirements of the Regulations for Industrial Establishments [R.R.O. 1990, Reg. 851, s. 85].

A civil or structural engineer should be consulted: (1) to determine whether snow loads are excessive; (2) to determine whether there are signs of structural distress; (3) to obtain a removal procedure that will not cause more structural problems; or (4) to reinforce a structure that is overstressed.

This Ministry of Labour Alert has no legal effect and does not constitute and is not a substitute for legal advice. If you require specific assistance with respect to the interpretation of a legislative provision and its potential application to you please contact your legal counsel.

Remember that while complying with occupational health and safety laws, you are also required to comply with applicable environmental laws.

Please photocopy Ministry of Labour Alerts, distribute them widely and post them where people will see them.

Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Alerte : Accumulation de neige et effondrements de toits

  • ISSN : 1198-8770
  • Diffusion : février 1996
  • Dernière mise à jour : juin 2009
  • Réalisé par les Services professionels et spécialisés en collaboration avec le Programme de santé et de sécurité dans l'industrie

Résumé du danger :

Récemment, des chutes de neige abondantes ont causé l'effondrement des toits d'un grand magasin à Thunder Bay, d'un centre commercial et d'un bâtiment industriel à Sault Ste. Marie et d'une serre à Wawa. On a également trouvé des défaillances de structure à cause de la neige dans les toits de deux écoles et d'une usine de papier dans le nord de l'Ontario. Il se peut que les toits de bien d'autres bâtiments en Ontario supportent des charges de neige plus lourdes que leur structure le permet.

Un pied cube de neige peut peser entre sept livres, pour de la neige fraîche et sèche, et 30 livres pour de la neige vieille et compact. La neige mêlée à de la pluie est encore plus lourde. De la neige soufflée risque de causer des accumulations excessives de neige aux endroits où elle s'empile, par exemple près de matériel, de penthouses ou des façades entre les niveaux de toits.

Quand il devient nécessaire d'enlever la neige, il ne faut pas oublier que des méthodes non sécuritaires sont susceptibles de causer des effondrements. Il ne faut également pas oublier que les travailleurs sur les toits doivent être munis d'une protection anti-chute appropriée et que les personnes qui se trouvent dans les environs risquent d'être blessées par de la neige déversée d'un toit.

Lieux et secteurs

Tous les endroits où la neige s'accumule. Tous les secteurs.

Précautions recommandées

La Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail exige d'un employeur qu'il veille à ce que les toits soient « en état de supporter les charges auxquelles ils peuvent être exposés sans que les matériaux dont ils se composent soient soumis à une tension supérieure au taux de contrainte admissible déterminé en vertu de la Loi sur le code du bâtiment » [s. 25(1)(e)] (anglais seulement). Le règlement sur les établissements industriels exige que les matériaux soient enlevés en procédant avec précaution et en utilisant du matériel de protection de façon à ce que la sécurité des travailleurs ne soit pas mise en danger [R.R.O. 1990, Reg. 851, s. 45].

Le ministère du Travail émet les recommandations suivantes:

  • Les propriétaires de lieux de travail et les employeurs dans des lieux de travail dont les toits sont remplis de neige devraient les faire examiner par un ingénieur professionnel pour déterminer
    • si la charge de neige est importante, ou
    • s'il y a des signes de tension sur la structure, telles que des déformations, des courbures ou des craquements.
  • Si les accumulations de neige sont excessives ou si le toit montre des signes de tension, le propriétaire ou l'employeur devrait mettre en oeuvre un programme sécuritaire pour enlever la neige.
  • En enlevant la neige, on doit chercher à éviter de créer des accumulations inégales ou concentrées de neige sur les toits.
  • Il faut protéger l'accès aux endroits où la neige est déversée des toits.

De même, les travailleurs sur les toits doivent être munis de matériel anti-chute ou d'un système de restriction des déplacements conformément aux exigences anti-chute du Règlement sur les établissements industriels [R.R.O. 1990, Reg. 851, s. 85].

Il faudrait consulter un ingénieur civil ou de structure dans les buts suivants : (1) déterminer si les charges de neige sont excessives; (2) déterminer si la structure du toit montre des signes de tension; (3) obtenir un moyen d'enlever la neige qui n'aggravera pas les problèmes de structure; ou (4) renforcer une structure qui montre des signes de tension.

La présente Alerte du ministère du Travail n’a aucun effet légal. Elle ne constitue pas des conseils juridiques ni ne les remplace. Si vous avez besoin d’assistance pour interpréter une disposition législative et son application à votre situation, veuillez communiquer avec un avocat.

N'oubliez pas qu'en plus de vous conformer aux mesures législatives sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, vous devez vous conformer aux lois applicables en matière d'environnement.

Veuillez faire des photocopies des bulletins Alerte, puis les distribuer en grand nombre et les afficher dans des endroits bien en vue.