• Issued: December 16, 2013
  • Content last reviewed: December 2013

Our vision: All Ontario workplaces are healthy and safe. We want to ensure that all 1 workplaces in Ontario provide a secure environment from which workers return home healthy, safe and sound, every day.

Workplace health and safety affects the wellbeing, success and prosperity of individuals, families, businesses, communities and our province.

The purpose of this strategy is to guide the occupational health and safety system partners – including the Ministry of Labour, the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board, and Ontario’s six Health and Safety Associations – and describe how we can achieve our vision. The strategy also aims to guide workplaces across the province, the broader community of health and safety practitioners, and organizations with interests in occupational health and safety. Healthy and Safe Ontario Workplaces sets out a roadmap that organizations can use to align their policies, programs and initiatives with our collective strategic priorities.

The ministry has gone to great lengths to develop a strategy that will have a significant positive impact on occupational health and safety across Ontario, including consulting extensively with the public and our stakeholders about what matters most to them. Hundreds of voices participated in this process. We heard from more than 1,250 consultation participants and received 220 responses to the consultation paper released on March 18, 2013. The strategy was guided by input from the 11-member Prevention Council. The council provided thoughtful advice to help create a strategy that represents Ontario’s health and safety needs. The input from all our stakeholders is reflected throughout the strategy, providing insight on our vision, how we can achieve the vision and why it is important for us to act now.

An 11-member Prevention Council advises the Chief Prevention Officer


Labour representatives:

  • Patrick Dillon, Provincial Building and Construction Trades of Ontario
  • Colin Grieve, Hamilton and Ontario Professional Firefighters
  • Nancy Hutchison, Ontario Federation of Labour
  • Bryan Neath, Ontario Food and Commercial Workers Canada

Occupational health and safety representative:

  • Graeme Norval, University of Toronto

Employer representatives:

  • Michael Oxley, DuPont Canada
  • Roy Slack, Cementation Canada
  • Dawn Tattle, Anchor Shoring & Caissons Ltd.

Non-union worker representative:

  • Linda Vannucci, Toronto Workers’ Health and Safety Clinic

WSIB representative:

  • Susanna Zagar, WSIB

One employer representative position was recently vacated. The process for filling the position is under way.

[ 1 ] “All workplaces” refers to those under provincial jurisdiction; this does not include: work done by the owner or occupant or a servant in a private residence or on the connected land; or workplaces under federal jurisdiction.

Previous | Next

ISBN 978-1-4606-3282-6 (HTML)
ISBN 978-1-4606-3281-9 (PRINT)

• Diffusion : 16 décembre 2013
  • Dernière mise à jour : décembre 2013

Notre vision : Tous les lieux de travail en Ontario sont sains et sécuritaires. Nous voulons nous assurer que tous 1 les lieux de travail en Ontario offrent un milieu sécuritaire qui permet aux travailleurs de retourner à la maison sains et saufs tous les jours.

La santé et la sécurité au travail ont une incidence sur le bien-être, le succès et la prospérité des personnes, des familles, des entreprises, des collectivités et de l'Ontario.

La stratégie vise à orienter les partenaires du système de santé et de sécurité au travail (le « système ») – y compris le ministère du Travail, la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l'assurance contre les accidents du travail et les six associations de santé et de sécurité au travail de l'Ontario – et à décrire la manière de réaliser la vision du gouvernement de l'Ontario. La stratégie a également pour but d'orienter les lieux de travail partout dans la province, l'ensemble des intervenants du milieu de la santé et de la sécurité au travail et les organismes qui s'intéressent à la santé et à la sécurité au travail. Le document Des lieux de travail sains et sécuritaires en Ontario établit une feuille de route sur laquelle les organismes peuvent se fonder pour harmoniser leurs politiques, leurs programmes et leurs initiatives avec l'ensemble des priorités stratégiques de l'Ontario.

Le ministère du Travail a déployé beaucoup d'efforts afin d'élaborer une stratégie qui aura une grande incidence positive sur la santé et la sécurité au travail en Ontario. Il a même mené des consultations auprès du public et des intervenants sur les questions qui les intéressent le plus. Des centaines de voix ont pu être entendues au cours de ce processus. Le ministère a consulté plus de 1 250 participants et a reçu 220 réponses au document de consultation rendu public le 18 mars 2013. La stratégie s'inspire des observations des onze membres du Conseil de la prévention. Le Conseil a livré de judicieux conseils pour aider à mettre sur pied une stratégie qui représente les besoins en matière de santé de l'Ontario. Il a intégré les commentaires de tous les intervenants au sein de la stratégie. Ces commentaires lui ont permis d'obtenir un aperçu intéressant de sa vision, de la manière de réaliser cette vision et de la raison pour laquelle il est important d'agir maintenant.

Un Conseil de la prévention composé de 11 membres conseille le directeur général de la prévention.

Représentants des travailleurs :

  • Patrick Dillon, Provincial Building and Construction Trades Council of Ontario
  • Colin Grieve, Hamilton and Ontario Professional Firefighters
  • Nancy Hutchison, Fédération du travail de l'Ontario
  • Bryan Neath, Ontario, Travailleurs et travailleuses unis de l’alimentation et du commerce Canada

Représentant de santé et de sécurité au travail :

  • Graeme Norval, Université de Toronto

Représentants des employeurs :

  • Michael Oxley, DuPont Canada
  • Roy Slack, Cementation Canada Inc.
  • Dawn Tattle, Anchor Shoring & Caissons Ltd.

Représentante des travailleurs non syndiqués :

  • Linda Vannucci, Centre de santé et sécurité des travailleurs et travailleuses de Toronto

Représentante de la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l’assurance contre les accidents du travail (CSPAAT) :

  • Susanna Zagar, CSPAAT

Un poste de représentant des employeurs est vacant depuis peu. Le processus visant à pourvoir à ce poste est en cours.

[ 1 ] L'expression « tous les lieux de travail » désigne les lieux de travail qui relèvent de la compétence de la province; sont exclus : les lieux où le propriétaire ou l’occupant d’une résidence privée ou leur employé exécute le travail à l’intérieur ou à l’extérieur de la résidence ou sur les biens-fonds et dans les dépendances qui s’y rattachent ou les lieux de travail qui relèvent de la compétence fédérale.

précédent | suivant

ISBN 978-1-4606-3285-7 (HTML)
ISBN 978-1-4606-3284-0 (Version imprimé)