Table of Contents | Print This Page

The Foundation: Occupational Health and Safety in Ontario Workplaces

  • Issued: December 16, 2013
  • Content last reviewed: December 2013

All workplace parties have a role to play in preventing workplace related illnesses, injuries and fatalities in their workplaces. To ensure a healthy and safe environment, each workplace must have a well-functioning Internal Responsibility System (IRS) 3, appropriate policies and programs, and other protective measures.

Workplaces with over five workers are required by law to have a Health and Safety Representative. Workplaces with 20 or more workers or where a Designated Substance Regulation applies are required to have a Joint Health and Safety Committee. These formal mechanisms help ensure that all workplace parties can actively contribute to an effective IRS.

However, workplace commitment to implementing occupational health and safety policies, practices and programs varies. Some workplaces take the “watch me” approach. They exhibit excellent occupational health and safety practices and often serve as occupational health and safety champions for other workplaces. Some workplaces take the “show me” approach. These workplaces are unaware of their occupational health and safety responsibilities, but are willing to learn and comply. Some workplaces take a “make me” approach. They are willfully non-compliant and must be made to meet the requirements of the law. One factor that influences a workplace’s approach to occupational health and safety is its awareness of occupational health and safety rights and responsibilities, and the consequences of not meeting legal requirements.

Awareness Materials to Support Occupational Health and Safety in Every Workplace

Awareness of occupational health and safety rights and responsibilities is a fundamental first step in ensuring workplaces are healthy and safe. The Expert Advisory Panel highlighted the importance of awareness in recommendations that have been implemented by the Ministry of Labour.

  • Since October 1, 2012, employers must display a new workplace “Health & Safety at Work: Prevention Starts Here” poster. The poster summarizes workers’ health and safety rights and responsibilities, and the responsibilities of employers and supervisors.
  • On November 15, 2013, the ministry announced new mandatory occupational health and safety awareness training for supervisors and workers. This training comes into effect July 1, 2014 and is supported by free on-line e-learning tutorials and hard copy workbooks.

Ontario’s occupational health and safety system works to influence the level of commitment (or occupational health and safety foundation) within each workplace by providing the appropriate services. These services can include enforcing the law, where required, and/or providing support, such as training and awareness, for those who need it.

[ 3 ] IRS means that everyone in the workplace has a role to play in keeping workplaces safe and healthy. Workers in the workplace who see a health and safety problem such as a hazard or contravention of the Occupational Health and Safety Act have a duty to report the situation to the employer or a supervisor. Employers and supervisors are, in turn, required to acquaint workers with any hazard in the work they do.

Previous | Next

ISBN 978-1-4606-3282-6 (HTML)
ISBN 978-1-4606-3281-9 (PRINT)

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Les assises : La santé et la sécurité au travail dans les lieux de travail de l'Ontario

  • Diffusion : 16 décembre 2013
  • Dernière mise à jour : décembre 2013

Toutes les parties du lieu de travail ont un rôle à jouer afin de prévenir les maladies, les blessures et les décès liés au travail. Pour s'assurer qu'il est sain et sécuritaire, chaque lieu de travail doit posséder un bon système de responsabilité interne (SRI) 3, des politiques et des programmes pertinents ainsi que d'autres mesures de prévention.

Les lieux de travail qui ont plus de cinq travailleurs doivent, en vertu de la loi, avoir un représentant de santé et de sécurité. Les lieux de travail qui ont 20 travailleurs ou plus où s'applique le règlement concernant des substances désignées doivent avoir un comité mixte sur la santé et la sécurité. Ces mécanismes officiels aident à assurer que toutes les parties des lieux de travail contribuent activement à un SRI efficace.

Toutefois, l'engagement du lieu de travail envers la mise en œuvre des politiques, des pratiques et des programmes en matière de santé et de sécurité au travail est variable. Certains lieux de travail ont adopté une philosophie proactive : ils font preuve d'excellentes pratiques en matière de santé et de sécurité au travail et ils servent souvent de champions de la santé et sécurité au travail pour les autres lieux de travail. Certains lieux de travail ont quant à eux adopté une philosophie passive : ils ne connaissent pas leurs responsabilités en matière de santé et sécurité au travail, mais ils veulent bien les apprendre et se conformer. Certains lieux de travail ont plutôt adopté une philosophie négative : ils sont consciemment non conformes et il faut les forcer à respecter les exigences de la loi. La connaissance de ses droits et de ses responsabilités en matière de santé et de sécurité au travail et des conséquences associées au non-respect des exigences prévues par la loi est un facteur qui influence la philosophie à l'égard de la santé et de la sécurité d'un lieu de travail.

Matériel de sensibilisation visant à appuyer la santé et la sécurité au travail dans tous les lieux de travail

La sensibilisation aux droits et aux responsabilités en matière de santé et de sécurité au travail est une première étape fondamentale pour veiller à ce que les lieux de travail soient sains et sécuritaires. Le Comité consultatif d'experts de la santé et de la sécurité au travail a souligné l'importance de la sensibilisation dans des recommandations mises en œuvre par le ministère du Travail.

Le système de santé et de sécurité de l'Ontario vise à influencer le niveau d'engagement (ou les assises de la santé et sécurité au travail) au sein de chaque lieu de travail en fournissant les services appropriés qui peuvent inclure l'application de la loi, au besoin, et (ou) des services de soutien, par exemple des activités de formation et de sensibilisation, pour les lieux qui en ont besoin.

[ 3 ] Posséder un SRI signifie que tout le monde a un rôle à jouer pour assurer la santé et la santé au travail. Les travailleurs qui constatent un problème de santé et de sécurité sur leur lieu de travail, comme un risque ou une infraction à la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail de l'Ontario (LSST), ont l'obligation d'en faire rapport à leur employeur ou à leur superviseur. Les employeurs et les superviseurs sont pour leur part tenus d'informer les travailleurs de tout danger inhérent au travail qu'ils effectuent.

précédent | suivant

ISBN 978-1-4606-3285-7 (HTML)
ISBN 978-1-4606-3284-0 (Version imprimé)