Table of Contents | Print This Page

Supporting a Health and Safety Culture in Ontario

  • Issued: December 16, 2010
  • Content last reviewed: December 2010

Many of the submissions the Panel received support the view that improved workplace health and safety requires strong societal support. Beliefs, attitudes and behaviours about the value and protection of human life apply equally to family, community, school and the workplace. The perceptions and values of managers and workers can result in actions that promote health and reduce injuries. A culture of safety is complex and influenced in many ways throughout society.

Effective leadership clearly contributes to the positive health of an organization. Throughout the consultations, participants stressed the importance of the attitudes and behaviours of owners, employers, managers and supervisors in defining the safety culture of a company. Preparing the next generation to be good leaders is an important responsibility. The Chair of the Panel met with a number of individuals extensively involved in influencing the future generation of citizens, workers and workplace leaders. The Panel is particularly appreciative of this work and of the specific suggestions made by Paul Kells, Rob Ellis and Shirley Hickman regarding community awareness of injury prevention, health and safety education in schools and training for employers, workers and supervisors. Entities such as Safe Communities Canada, My Safe Work / Our Youth At Work and Threads of Life are non-government organizations working to create awareness and sustainable change in society.

The role of government organizations is also a crucial one, particularly in terms of education. The continuum of education and training begins in the education system, where a foundation of knowledge is provided, and flows into the workplace, where training and learning continue. Cultivating positive community norms around health and safety — whether at home, in the community or in the workplace — establishes a safety culture in Ontario.

Another key role of government in society lies in crafting and enforcing legislation. Enforcing the Occupational Health and Safety Act is a vital element of a comprehensive approach to setting and supporting acceptable societal behaviour and norms.

As Ontario continues to experience significant population growth from immigration, many new immigrants and new workers have not had the benefit of emerging from the Ontario education system. As a result, we need to ensure that information is available at literacy levels and in languages that can be understood by our emerging workforce. Community leaders and community linkages through social, religious and private organizations become even more important. Through these channels, health and safety values and information can be shared with new immigrants, increasing their knowledge and employability.

A number of recommendations described later in the report are framed in the context of fostering and supporting a culture of health and safety in Ontario at the societal and workplace levels. This can be achieved in the school systems; through community organizations; by government policies, practices and programs; and by reinforcing health and safety in workplaces through legislation and enforcement. In this way, the Ministry of Labour and workplace health and safety organizations are not alone in contributing to the creation of safer and healthier workplaces.

Previous | Next

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Promouvoir une culture de santé et de sécurité en Ontario

  • Diffusion : 16 décembre 2010
  • Dernière mise à jour : décembre 2010

Bon nombre des personnes, ainsi que l’indiquent leurs commentaires transmis au Comité, considèrent que l'amélioration de la santé et de la sécurité au travail exige un appui sociétal important. Les croyances, l'attitude et la conduite à l'égard de la valeur et de la protection de la vie se répercutent autant sur la famille que sur la collectivité, l'école et le lieu de travail. Les perceptions et les valeurs des gestionnaires et des travailleurs peuvent se traduire par des actions qui promeuvent la santé et réduisent les blessures. Une culture de la sécurité est une question complexe influencée de nombre de façons dans la société.

Un leadership efficace dans une entreprise contribue clairement à un bilan positif en matière de santé. Tout au long des consultations, les participants ont souligné l'importance de l'attitude et du comportement des propriétaires d'entreprise, des employeurs, des gestionnaires et des superviseurs lorsqu'il s'agit d'établir une culture de sécurité dans une entreprise. Préparer les individus de la prochaine génération à devenir de bons leaders représente une importante responsabilité. Le président du Comité a rencontré de nombreuses personnes dont les activités influent de façon importante sur la future génération de citoyens, de travailleurs et de leaders dans les lieux de travail. Le Comité est particulièrement sensible à leur dévouement et les suggestions spécifiques de Paul Kells, Rob Ellis et Shirley Hickman concernant le travail de sensibilisation dans la collectivité à l'égard de la prévention des accidents et de la formation en santé et sécurité des étudiants, des employeurs, des travailleurs et des superviseurs. Des entités comme Safe Communities Canada, My Safe Work/Our Youth at Work et Au fil de la vie sont des organismes non gouvernementaux œuvrant à transmettre l'information et à apporter des changements durables dans la société.

Le rôle des organismes gouvernementaux est également crucial, surtout en éducation. L'éducation et la formation commencent à l'école, où les connaissances de base sont transmises, et se poursuivent dans le milieu de travail. Promouvoir la santé et la sécurité à la maison, dans la collectivité et au travail permet d'établir une culture de la sécurité en Ontario.

Adopter des lois et les appliquer constitue un autre rôle important que doit jouer le gouvernement dans la société. Appliquer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail est un élément essentiel d'une approche globale pour instaurer et promouvoir des comportements acceptables et des normes dans la société.

L’Ontario continue de connaître une croissance démographique importante étant donné l’immigration. De nombreux nouveaux immigrants et travailleurs n'ont pas fait leurs études en Ontario. Nous devons donc veiller à ce que les renseignements soient à la disposition de la main-d'œuvre émergente en tenant compte de son niveau de littératie et de ses langues. Le rôle joué par les leaders des collectivités et les liens établis dans les collectivités par l'entremise d'organismes sociaux, religieux et privés devient encore plus important. Ces voies de transmission permettent de partager les valeurs de santé et de sécurité avec les nouveaux immigrants et d'accroître leurs connaissances et leur employabilité.

Nombre de recommandations décrites ci-après dans ce rapport visent à promouvoir et à appuyer une culture de santé et de sécurité dans les collectivités et les lieux de travail en Ontario. Le système d'éducation peut être mis à contribution, tout comme les organismes communautaires et les politiques, pratiques et programmes du gouvernement. Les lois et leur application peuvent augmenter la santé et la sécurité au travail. Ainsi, le ministère du Travail et les organismes de santé et de sécurité au travail ne seront pas les seuls à contribuer à l'amélioration de la santé et de la sécurité au travail.

précédent | suivant