Table of Contents | Print This Page

Opportunities for Government Ministries and Agencies to Cultivate Health and Safety in Ontario Culture and Workplaces

  • Issued: December 16, 2010
  • Content last reviewed: December 2010

Much of this report has focused on the improvement of worker safety through actions and activities under the leadership of the Ministry of Labour and the proposed prevention organization. As previously discussed, there are many levers for change and opportunities to increase education and awareness. One such lever for change is to align government decisions with improving and supporting occupational health and safety in Ontario. The following recommendations focus on other government ministries that have key roles to play in cultivating and supporting a health and safety culture in the province.

Education and Training

A prevailing view in submissions to the Panel holds that attitudes toward safety are established very early in life. While many stakeholders were aware of the health and safety content added to primary and secondary school curriculum in Ontario in recent years, they were concerned that it is not consistently taught across schools and school boards. In addition, those familiar with the content believed that it needed to be updated and expanded. Updating and increasing the availability of teacher resource material to support teaching health and safety was seen as necessary to improving the quality and consistency of the education that students receive in this area. The Panel heard that while the current teacher resource material has been made available through the public school system, private schools have not received this material.

Primary and secondary education

Recommendation 39

The Ministry of Education should work with school boards, private schools and teacher organizations to expand the health and safety content of primary and secondary school curricula and update teacher resource material to allow them to effectively teach these curricula.

It is also recognized that health and safety expertise does not necessarily reside within the Ministry of Education; partnering with the MOL or the new prevention organization to facilitate the sharing of expertise and resources would expedite the development and updating of resource materials.

Recommendation 40

The Ministry of Education should make high school graduation dependent upon demonstration of knowledge of occupational health and safety.

The Ministry of Education should consider enhancing health and safety curricula by introducing a mandatory graduating course or health and safety awareness test similar to the literacy test diploma requirement.

Post-secondary and vocational trades programs

Many stakeholders also felt that more needs to be done to incorporate health and safety into post-secondary and trade school training. While some gains have been made in incorporating health and safety material into engineering programs, more needs to be done. The Minerva organization is a leader in this area. Graduates from other programs, such as business and the sciences, will be our future workers, supervisors and employers and it is essential that their education and training also include occupational health and safety to prepare them for their leadership positions. At the same time, workers graduating from trades programs are often exposed to some of the highest-risk workplaces. Their education and training must prepare them for working safely as well as competently.

The leadership of the Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities (MTCU) could prompt broader opportunities in post-secondary education to build occupational health and safety into the curricula of diploma and degree programs in engineering, commerce, business, and so on.

Recommendation 41

The Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities should work with post-secondary institutions and trade schools to incorporate health and safety content into their programs for both future workers and employers/senior executives.

As MTCU programs and services are primarily focused on employment and skills training, it is appropriate for them to ensure that clients are aware of their rights and responsibilities as workers and trainees in relation to occupational health and safety.

There are two key areas for the MTCU to become involved in OHS processes: first, by instituting workplace-based (apprenticeship and modular) training standards that respond to the goals of occupational health and safety; and secondly, by enhancing OHS awareness and training that takes place at MTCU employment and training programs, such as Employment Services, Second Career, Job Creation Partnerships, Targeted Initiative For Older Workers, Summer Jobs Service, Literacy and Basic Skills, Workplace Literacy, Ontario Youth Apprenticeship Program, Co-op Diploma Apprenticeship Program, Pre-Apprenticeship Training Program, and Apprenticeship In-School Training.

Government Contracts and Grants as a Means to Support Health and Safety

Government can significantly influence support for health and safety in the manner that it awards contracts and grants to public and private sector organizations. Two significant examples have been identified by the Panel.

Supply chain relationships

The Ontario Government and its agencies are some of the largest purchasers of supplies and services in Ontario. The Panel was presented with examples of private sector employers who have established supply chain relationships that require the vendor have a high standard of health and safety performance. These requirements appear most prevalent for construction-related services. Some stakeholders indicated that the supply of services is most often relatively local and therefore it is more feasible to evaluate suppliers of services than suppliers of goods, where suppliers could be from around the globe. The issue of complying with trade agreements may also be more complex for goods than services.

Recommendation 42

The Ontario Government should develop procurement policies that consider the occupational health and safety performance of suppliers in order to motivate a high level of performance. The initial focus could be on the purchasing of services.

Furthermore, to demonstrate its commitment to enhancing health and safety performance throughout the supply chain, the government must ensure that such provisions are included in the procurement policies and procedures of the Health and Safety Associations that the new prevention organization will oversee.

Stimulating innovation

The Ministry of Economic Development and Trade and the Ontario Centres for Excellence support Ontario business with innovation and financial incentives. Proposals for such funding are not currently reviewed against OHS criteria or benefit. There is an opportunity for these organizations to work more closely with the OHS system to promote the inclusion of a health and safety component in the evaluation criteria of funding applications. The Danish government has developed one such cross-ministry collaboration to stimulate innovation. MindLab, a cross-ministerial innovation unit, involves citizens and businesses in creating new solutions for society. MindLab works with three government departments: the Ministry of Economic and Business Affairs, the Ministry of Taxation and the Ministry of Employment. It acts as a catalyst for innovative thinking across its parent government departments and has worked on a diverse range of issues — from understanding and reducing the red tape businesses face to reducing workplace injuries. The program has received attention from a number of countries including France, China, Australia, the United States and the United Kingdom.

Recommendation 43

The Ministry of Economic Development and Trade and the Ontario Centres for Excellence should work with the Ministry of Labour and the new prevention organization to develop health and safety criteria for inclusion in funding considerations related to innovation.

Making Health and Safety Information Available to New Business Owners

Stakeholders consistently expressed the view that they believe business owners want to provide healthy and safe working conditions for their workers. To do this, owners require helpful information on compliance expectations. Sections of this report focus on what is needed and how it can be provided by the health and safety partners. However, one means of creating greater awareness of health and safety would be to make more information available to businesses during their start-up. Consultations reinforced this approach. Information should be actively supplied to everyone registering a business.

The Ministry of Government Services/Service Ontario currently provides online business registration. Health and safety information is available through the same portal but is not actively linked to the registration process. In fact, the health and safety information is difficult to locate. Some have suggested that upon registering a business, owners should receive a prompt asking whether they will be employing workers. Where this is the case, they would be linked to information on occupational health and safety, workers’ compensation and employment standards. Prospective owners would be encouraged to review or bookmark the information for future use and then they could proceed with the business registration. A second, more active approach would be to automatically e-mail this information to the prospective owner upon completing the registration. Basic health and safety information could be supplemented with sector- or hazard-specific information if the business registration includes information related to the nature of the business or sector.

Recommendation 44

The Ministry of Government Services/Service Ontario should amend the business registration process to include an active link to health and safety information, and should work with the occupational health and safety system to provide relevant information for new business owners.

Recommendation 45

The Workplace Safety and Insurance Board should amend its registration process to include an active link to health and safety information, and should continue to work with the occupational health and safety system to provide relevant information for new business owners.

Previous | Next

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Possibilités pour les ministères et les agences gouvernementales de promouvoir la santé et la sécurité dans la culture et le milieu de travail en Ontario

  • Diffusion : 16 décembre 2010
  • Dernière mise à jour : décembre 2010

Une grande partie de ce rapport portait sur l’amélioration de la sécurité des travailleurs par des mesures et des activités sous la gouverne du ministère du Travail et de l’organisme de prévention proposé. Comme il a déjà été mentionné, il existe plusieurs mesures de changement et possibilités d’éduquer et de sensibiliser. L’harmonisation des décisions gouvernementales avec l’amélioration et le soutien de la santé et sécurité au travail en Ontario fait partie de ces mesures. Les recommandations suivantes portent sur d’autres ministères qui jouent des rôles cruciaux dans la promotion et le soutien de la santé et sécurité au travail dans la province.

Éducation et formation

Dans une grande partie des mémoires présentés au Comité, il est dit que les comportements en matière de sécurité sont appris tôt dans la vie. De nombreux intervenants étaient conscients des ajouts en matière de santé et sécurité au programme des écoles primaires et secondaires en Ontario au cours des dernières années, mais doutaient que l’enseignement de cette matière ne soit pas constant dans l’ensemble des écoles et des conseils scolaires. De plus, ceux qui connaissaient cette matière croyaient qu’elle devait être améliorée et mise à jour. On jugeait qu’il était nécessaire de mettre à jour les ressources documentaires des enseignements et d’augmenter leur accessibilité pour soutenir l’enseignement en la matière afin d’améliorer la qualité et la constance de l’éducation des élèves à ce sujet. Le Comité a appris que, bien que les ressources documentaires actuelles aux enseignements aient été transmises dans le système d’écoles publiques, les écoles privées ne les avaient pas reçues.

Enseignement primaire et secondaire

Recommandation 39

Le ministère de l’Éducation devrait travailler en collaboration avec les conseils scolaires, les écoles privées et les organisations d’enseignants pour améliorer le contenu du programme d’enseignement en matière de santé et sécurité des écoles primaires et secondaires et mettre à jour les ressources documents des enseignants afin de leur permettre de donner efficacement ce programme.

Il est également reconnu que l’expertise en matière de santé et sécurité n’appartient pas uniquement au ministère de l’Éducation. Le fait de s’associer au ministère du Travail ou au nouvel organisme de prévention pour faciliter le partage de l’expertise et des ressources accélèrerait l’élaboration et la mise à jour des ressources documentaires.

Recommandation 40

Le ministère de l’Éducation devrait rendre l’obtention du diplôme d’études secondaires conditionnelle à la démonstration des connaissances en matière de santé et sécurité au travail.

Le ministère de l’Éducation devrait évaluer la possibilité d’améliorer le programme en matière de santé et sécurité en ajoutant un cours obligatoire ou un examen sur la santé et la sécurité semblable aux exigences de test d’aptitude à lire et à écrire.

Programmes postsecondaires et formation professionnelle

Plusieurs intervenants étaient également d’avis que plus d’efforts devaient être déployés pour ajouter du contenu à la formation postsecondaire et professionnelle en matière de santé et sécurité. Bien qu’il y ait eu des progrès par l’ajout de matière en santé et sécurité dans les programmes d’ingénierie, il est nécessaire d’en faire plus. L’organisme Minerva est un chef de file dans ce domaine. Les diplômés d’autres programmes, comme les affaires et les sciences, seront plus tard nos travailleurs, nos superviseurs et nos employeurs, et il est essentiel que leur éducation et leur formation comprennent également de la matière en santé et sécurité pour les préparer à leurs postes de cadre. Parallèlement, les travailleurs qui terminent les programmes de formation professionnelle sont souvent exposés aux milieux de travail les plus risqués. Il est essentiel que leur éducation et leur formation les préparent à travailler de façon sécuritaire et compétente.

L’autorité du ministère de la Formation et des Collèges et Universités (MFCU) devrait offrir de plus grandes possibilités en formation postsecondaire et permettre d’ajouter la matière en santé et sécurité aux programmes menant à un diplôme ou à un grade, notamment en ingénierie, en commerce et en affaires.

Recommandation 41

Le ministère de la Formation et des Collèges et Universités devrait collaborer avec les institutions d’enseignement postsecondaire et professionnel pour intégrer la matière en santé et sécurité à leurs programmes visant les futurs travailleurs et employeurs/cadres.</p>

Comme les programmes et les services du MFCU portent principalement sur l’emploi et la formation axée sur les compétences, il est pertinent qu’ils s’assurent que les clients connaissent leurs droits et leurs responsabilités à titre de travailleurs et d’apprentis relativement à la santé et sécurité au travail.

Le MFCU peut participer à deux aspects principaux du processus de santé et sécurité au travail. D’abord, en adoptant des normes de formation fondées sur le milieu de travail (formation d’apprenti et par modules) répondant aux objectifs en matière de santé et sécurité au travail. Ensuite, en augmentant la sensibilisation et la formation en matière de santé et sécurité au travail dans les programmes d’emploi et de formation du MFCU : Services d’emploi; Deuxième carrière; Partenariats pour la création d’emplois de l’Ontario; Initiative ciblée pour les travailleurs âgés; Service d’emplois d’été; Alphabétisation et formation de base; Alphabétisation en milieu de travail; Programme d’apprentissage pour les jeunes de l’Ontario; Programme apprentissage-diplôme; Programme de préapprentissage; et la formation scolaire d’apprenti.

Contrats et octrois gouvernementaux pour soutenir la santé et la sécurité

Le gouvernement peut avoir une grande influence sur la santé et la sécurité en raison des contrats et des octrois qu’il accorde aux organisations des secteurs publics et privés. Le Comité a signalé deux exemples importants.

Relations de chaîne d’approvisionnement

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario et ses agences figurent parmi les plus grands acheteurs de produits et services en Ontario. Le Comité a reçu des exemples d’employeurs du secteur privé qui ont établi des relations de chaîne d’approvisionnement obligeant le vendeur à adopter des normes strictes en matière de santé et sécurité. Ces exigences se présentent davantage dans le cas des services liés à la construction. Certains intervenants ont indiqué que la prestation de services est habituellement plutôt locale et qu’il est donc plus facile d’évaluer les fournisseurs de services que les fournisseurs de biens, qui peuvent provenir de partout dans monde. Le problème du respect des accords commerciaux peut également être plus complexe pour les biens que pour les services.

Recommandation 42

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario devrait élaborer des politiques d’approvisionnement évaluant le rendement des fournisseurs en matière de santé et sécurité au travail afin de les inciter à offrir un haut rendement. L’accent devrait d’abord être mis sur l’achat de services.

De plus, pour montrer son engagement envers l’amélioration du rendement en matière de santé et sécurité dans la chaîne d’approvisionnement, le gouvernement doit s’assurer que de telles dispositions figurent dans les politiques et les procédures d’approvisionnement des associations de santé et de sécurité supervisées par le nouvel organisme de prévention.

Stimulation de l’innovation

Le ministère du Développement économique et du Commerce et les centres d’excellence de l’Ontario soutiennent les entreprises ontariennes grâce à des innovations et des primes financières. Actuellement, les propositions de financement ne sont pas examinées en fonction des critères ou des avantages en matière de santé et sécurité au travail. Ces organismes pourraient travailler plus étroitement avec le système de santé et sécurité au travail dans le but de promouvoir l’ajout d’un élément de santé et sécurité aux critères d’évaluation des demandes de financement. Le gouvernement danois a élaboré une telle collaboration entre ministères dans le but d’encourager l’innovation. MindLab, une unité d’innovation entre ministères, fonctionne avec la participation des citoyens et des entreprises pour créer de nouvelles solutions pour la société. MindLab travaille avec trois ministères : le ministère de l’Économie et des Affaires commerciales, le ministère de l’Impôt et le ministère de l’Emploi. Elle agit comme un catalyseur d’innovation au sein de ces ministères et a travaillé sur divers problèmes, de la compréhension et la réduction de la bureaucratie à la réduction des blessures en milieu de travail. Ce programme a attiré l’attention de bon nombre de pays, notamment le Canada, la Chine, l’Australie et les États-Unis.

Recommandation 43

Le ministère du Développement économique et du Commerce et les centres d’excellence de l’Ontario devraient collaborer avec le ministère du Travail et le nouvel organisme de prévention pour élaborer des critères en matière de santé et sécurité pour les évaluations de financement à l’innovation.

Rendre accessibles des renseignements en matière de santé et sécurité pour les nouveaux propriétaires d’entreprises.

Les intervenants ont mentionné souvent qu’ils croyaient que les propriétaires d’entreprise souhaitaient offrir des conditions saines et sécuritaires à leurs employés. Pour ce faire, les propriétaires d’entreprise ont besoin de renseignements utiles sur les attentes en matière de conformité. Des parties de ce rapport portent sur ce dont ils ont besoin et sur la façon dont les partenaires en santé et sécurité peuvent fournir ces services. Toutefois, une des façons de sensibiliser davantage est de fournir plus de renseignements aux entreprises à ce sujet au moment de leur démarrage. Les consultations renforcent cette approche. Les renseignements devraient être donnés à toute personne qui enregistre une entreprise.

Le ministère des Services gouvernementaux/ServiceOntario offre actuellement l’enregistrement d’entreprises en ligne. Ce portail offre également des renseignements en matière de santé et sécurité, mais ils ne sont pas liés au processus d’enregistrement et sont plutôt difficiles à trouver. Certains ont suggéré que, lors de l’enregistrement d’une entreprise, on demande au propriétaire s’il aura des employés. Le cas échéant, des liens vers des renseignements sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, la rémunération des travailleurs et les normes d’emploi pourraient s’afficher. On encouragerait les propriétaires potentiels à lire ou à retenir ces renseignements pour une utilisation future, et ils pourraient ensuite poursuivre l’enregistrement de leur entreprise. On pourrait également envoyer automatiquement ces renseignements par courriel au propriétaire potentiel lorsqu’il a terminé l’enregistrement. Les renseignements de base en matière de santé et sécurité pourraient être complétés par des renseignements particuliers pour le secteur ou la question des dangers si l’enregistrement de l’entreprise comprend des renseignements sur la nature des activités ou le secteur.

Recommandation 44

Le ministère des Services gouvernementaux/ServiceOntario devrait modifier le processus d’enregistrement pour ajouter un lien actif vers des renseignements en matière de santé et sécurité et collaborer avec le système de santé et sécurité au travail pour offrir des renseignements pertinents aux nouveaux propriétaires d’entreprise.

Recommandation 45

La CSPAAT devrait modifier le processus d’enregistrement pour ajouter un lien actif vers des renseignements en matière de santé et sécurité et continuer de collaborer avec le système de santé et de sécurité au travail pour fournir des renseignements pertinents aux nouveaux propriétaires d’entreprises.

précédent | suivant