• Issued: December 16, 2010
  • Content last reviewed: December 2010

On January 27, 2010, the Minister of Labour appointed Tony Dean as Chair of the Expert Advisory Panel on Occupational Health and Safety (the Panel) to conduct a review of Ontario’s OHS system. With the support of a panel of health and safety experts from labour groups, employers and academic institutes, the Chair was asked to recommend structural, operational and policy improvements to the occupational health and safety OHS system.

Mandate of the Review

The Chair was to deliver recommendations to the Minister of Labour on how the OHS system partners and their activities could be best aligned and supported to achieve the common goal of safe and healthy workplaces. This goal is to achieve improved compliance and zero workplace injuries, illnesses, and fatalities.

Recommendations arising from the review should focus on potential areas of improvement that will help Ontario build upon its current position as a leader in workplace health and safety.

Scope of the Review

The review’s aim was to generate recommendations that would strengthen Ontario’s OHS system, with the goal of improving compliance and eliminating workplace injuries, illnesses and fatalities.

The Panel

The membership of the Panel was announced on March 18, 2010. The Panel’s role was to assist the Chair in identifying issues, provide input on the stakeholder consultation process and discuss findings and potential policy options that would inform the Chair’s final recommendations.

The Panel met eight times during the year, joined meetings with stakeholders and, where their schedules permitted, attended the public consultation meetings held around the province.

Academic Employers Labour
Joan Eakin
Professor, Dalla Lana School of Public Health
University of Toronto
Jattinder Dhillon
VP Health, Safety, Wellness and Business Continuity
Loblaw Companies Limited, Canada
Bud Calligan
Retired Secretary-Treasurer
Carpenters District Council of Ontario
H. Allan Hunt
Senior Economist
W.E. Upjohn Institute for Employment Research
Michigan, U.S.
John A. Macnamara
VP Health, Safety and Environment
Hydro One
Vernon Edwards
Director of Occupational Health, Safety and Environment
Ontario Federation of Labour
Carolyn Tuohy
Senior Fellow
School of Public Policy & Governance
University of Toronto
Domenic Mattina
VP Sales and Estimates
Mattina Mechanical Ltd.
Carmine Tiano
Director, WSIB Advocacy & Occupational Services
Provincial Building and Construction Trades Council of Ontario

Process

Five key principles guided the review: a focus on improving workplace health and safety, broad engagement of stakeholders, reliance on evidence-based research, collaboration and transparency.

The Occupational Health and Safety System Review Consultation Paper was released in April 2010. The paper identified the stakeholders to be consulted and some of the issues the Panel would include in its review:

  • The roles and responsibilities of the OHS system partners – Ministry of Labour (MOL), Workplace Safety and Insurance Board (WSIB) and the Health and Safety Associations (HSAs)
  • The impact of the underground economy on workplace health and safety
  • The protection of vulnerable workers
  • The use of incentives to motivate superior health and safety performance
  • Linking the procurement of goods and services to health and safety performance
  • The role of joint health and safety committees
  • The impact of advancements in technology/innovation on health and safety
  • Mandatory entry-level health and safety training

Stakeholders and interested parties responded to the questions posed in the consultation paper. Approximately 250 electronic responses were received.

Seven regional consultation meetings were held in London, Windsor, Ottawa, Sudbury, Thunder Bay and two in Toronto. The Chair and members of the Panel attended and heard over 80 verbal presentations. Everyone who registered to speak at the meetings was heard. More than 200 individuals were also present at these meetings and, with the exception of the heavily attended final meeting in Toronto, everyone attending was given an opportunity to share their experience and ideas, and many did.

Over 100 formal written submissions were received from various stakeholders, professional organizations and individuals. The Chair and/or the Policy Secretariat staff attended approximately 50 bilateral meetings.

The Panel and its Chair are very appreciative of all those stakeholders who contributed their time and ideas to this review. We’d like to express particular appreciation to the:

  • Ontario Federation of Labour and its affiliates
  • Business Council on Occupational Health and Safety
  • Ontario Chamber of Commerce
  • Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters
  • Ontario General Contractors Association
  • Provincial Building and Construction Trades Council of Ontario
  • Ontario Mining Association
  • Council of Ontario Construction Associations
  • Canadian Federation of Independent Business
  • Ministry of Labour
  • Workplace Safety and Insurance Board Prevention Division
  • Health and Safety Associations

Without the insight their input provided, the Panel would not be as well informed to be able to confidently make its recommendations.

Support to the Panel

A Policy Secretariat made up of a Director, four Policy Advisors (from the MOL, the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board WSIB and HSAs) and a part-time Administrative Assistant provided support to the Panel in all aspects of its work. They co-ordinated issue-specific working groups and analysed stakeholder input.

Eight working groups composed of staff from the Policy Secretariat, the MOL, the WSIB, HSAs and other ministries/agencies (Ministries of Revenue; Citizenship and Immigration; Government Services; Training, Colleges and Universities; Institute for Work and Health) conducted research, sought input from stakeholders and prepared reports on the specific issues being examined in the Review. The working group findings, including options and recommendations, were presented to the Panel for their review and consideration.

The Panel formed a subcommittee in response to stakeholder concerns regarding issues affecting small business. The subcommittee reviewed scientific research as well as health and safety programs targeted at small business in Ontario and presented a report to the Panel.

The Institute for Work and Health (IWH) examined both Canadian and international occupational health and safety organizations, programs, service delivery and best practices in jurisdictions relevant to the Ontario experience. Their findings were reported to the Panel and were made public on the review website. The IWH also supported the information-gathering activities of the working groups and made presentations on key research findings to several working groups.

Previous | Next

• Diffusion : 16 décembre 2010
  • Dernière mise à jour : décembre 2010

Le 27 janvier 2010, le ministre du Travail a nommé Tony Dean au poste de président du Comité consultatif d’experts de la santé et de la sécurité au travail (le « Comité ») afin qu’il procède à un examen du système de santé et de sécurité au travail de l’Ontario. Avec l'aide d'un comité d’experts de la santé et de la sécurité au travail constitué de travailleurs, d'employeurs et d'universitaires, on lui a demandé de recommander des améliorations à apporter au système de santé et de sécurité au travail au plan des structures, des activités et des politiques.

Mandat de l'examen

Le président devait présenter des recommandations au ministre du Travail sur la façon d’harmoniser et de soutenir les partenaires du système de santé et de sécurité au travail ainsi que leurs activités pour atteindre l'objectif commun d’établir des lieux de travail sains et sécuritaires. Il s'agit d'améliorer la conformité et de réduire à zéro le nombre d'accidents, de maladies et de décès liés au travail.

Les recommandations émanant de cet examen doivent porter sur des aspects pouvant être améliorés et qui permettront à l'Ontario de poursuivre son rôle actuel de chef de file dans le domaine de la santé et de la sécurité au travail.

Portée de l'examen

Cet examen visait à élaborer des recommandations qui renforceront le système de santé et de sécurité au travail de l’Ontario, avec l'objectif d'améliorer la conformité et de réduire à zéro le nombre d'accidents, de maladies et de décès liés au travail.

Le Comité

La constitution du Comité a été annoncée le 18 mars 2010. Les tâches des membres du Comité consistaient à aider le président à cerner les problèmes, à lui faire part de leurs réactions sur le processus de consultation auprès des intervenants et, enfin, à discuter des conclusions et des options de politiques qui lui permettraient de faire ses recommandations finales.

Le Comité s'est réuni huit fois au cours de l'année pour participer à des rencontres avec des intervenants et, lorsque son calendrier le lui permettait, il a assisté à des réunions de consultation publique à l'échelle de la province.

Universitaires Employeurs Travailleurs
Joan Eakin,
professeure,
faculté de médecine de l’école de santé publique Dalla Lana,
Université de Toronto
Jattinder Dhillon,
vice-président du service de santé, de sécurité, de bien-être et de continuité des opérations
Les Compagnies Loblaw limitée, Canada
Bud Calligan,
secrétaire-trésorier à la retraite,
Carpenter’s District Council of Ontario
H. Allan Hunt,
Économiste principal,
W.E. Upjohn Institute for Employment Research,
Michigan, É.-U.
John A. Macnamara,
vice-président du service de santé, de sécurité et de l’environnement,
Hydro One
Vernon Edwards,
directeur du service de la santé et de la sécurité au travail et de l’environnement
Fédération ontarienne du travail
Carolyn Tuohy,
agrégée supérieure,
école de politiques publiques et de gouvernance,
Université de Toronto
Domenic Mattina,
vice-président, Ventes et estimations,
Mattina Mechanical Ltd.
Carmine Tiano,
directeur des services de défense des droits et des services professionnels liés à la CSPAAT,
Provincial Building and Construction Trades Council of Ontario

Processus

Cinq paramètres de base ont guidé ledit examen : amélioration de la santé et de la sécurité au travail, participation à grande échelle des intervenants, recherche fondée sur des données probantes, la collaboration et la transparence.

Le document de consultation de l'examen du système de santé et de sécurité au travail a été rendu public en avril 2010. Ce document énumérait les intervenants à consulter et signalait certaines des questions que le Comité traiterait dans son examen, notamment :

  • les rôles et les responsabilités des partenaires du système de santé et de sécurité au travail (ministère du Travail, Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l'assurance contre les accidents du travail (CSPAAT) et associations de santé et de sécurité);
  • l’incidence de l’économie clandestine sur la santé et la sécurité au travail;
  • la protection des travailleurs vulnérables;
  • l’utilisation de mesures incitatives afin d’encourager un rendement supérieur en matière de santé et de sécurité;
  • l’établissement de liens entre l’approvisionnement en biens et services, et le rendement au plan de la santé et de la sécurité;
  • le rôle des comités mixtes de santé et de sécurité;
  • l’incidence des progrès de la technologie et de l’innovation sur la santé et la sécurité;
  • la formation en santé et sécurité obligatoire pour les emplois de premier niveau.

Les intervenants et les parties intéressées ont répondu aux questions dans le document de consultation. Environ 250 réponses électroniques ont été reçues.

Sept réunions de consultation régionales ont été tenues à London, Windsor, Ottawa, Sudbury et Thunder Bay, et deux à Toronto. Le président et les membres du Comité ont assisté à plus de 80 présentations. Toutes les personnes inscrites ont été entendues. Plus de 200 personnes ont également assisté à ces réunions et, à l’exception de la dernière réunion, à Toronto, à laquelle un très grand nombre de personnes ont assisté, tous ont eu l'occasion de faire part de leurs expériences et de leurs idées et plusieurs ont profité de cette initiative.

Plus de 100 propositions écrites officielles ont été présentées par divers intervenants, organismes professionnels et personnes. Le président ou le personnel du Secrétariat des politiques ont assisté à environ 50 réunions bilatérales.

Le Comité et son président sont très reconnaissants à l'égard de tous ces intervenants qui ont contribué, par leur temps et par leurs idées, à cet examen. Nous aimerions tout particulièrement exprimer notre reconnaissance aux intervenants suivants :

  • Fédération ontarienne du travail et ses groupes affiliés
  • Business Council on Occupational Health and Safety
  • Chambre de commerce de l'Ontario
  • Manufacturiers et Exportateurs du Canada
  • Ontario General Contractors Association
  • Provincial Building and Construction Trades Council of Ontario
  • Ontario Mining Association
  • Council of Ontario Construction Associations
  • Fédération canadienne de l'entreprise indépendante
  • Ministère du Travail
  • Division de prévention de la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l'assurance contre les accidents du travail
  • Organismes de santé et de sécurité au travail

Sans leur participation, le Comité n'aurait pas été en mesure de faire part en toute connaissance de cause de ses recommandations.

Appui au Comité

Le Secrétariat des politiques, constitué d'un directeur, de quatre conseillers en politique (du MTO, de la CSPAAT, d'associations de santé et de sécurité) et d'un adjoint administratif à temps partiel, a appuyé le Comité dans toutes les facettes de son travail. Il a coordonné des groupes de travail sur des questions spécifiques et a analysé les commentaires des intervenants.

Huit groupes de travail constitués de personnel du Secrétariat des politiques, du ministère du Travail, de la CSPAAT, d'associations de santé et de sécurité et d'autres ministères et organismes (ministères du Revenu, des Affaires civiques et de l'Immigration, des Services gouvernementaux et de la Formation et des Collèges et Universités et Institut de recherche sur le travail et la santé) ont effectué des recherches, sollicité des commentaires des intervenants et préparé des rapports sur les questions traitées dans cet examen. Les conclusions du groupe de travail, y compris les options envisagées et les recommandations, ont été présentées au Comité afin qu'il les examine.

Le Comité a mis sur pied un sous-comité en réponse aux préoccupations des intervenants concernant les questions touchant les petites entreprises. Le sous-comité a examiné les résultats de recherches scientifiques, de même que les programmes en santé et sécurité visant les petites entreprises en Ontario et a présenté un rapport au Comité.

L'Institut de recherche sur le travail et la santé a examiné les organismes et les programmes de santé et de sécurité au travail, la prestation des services et les pratiques exemplaires dans des territoires de compétence, au Canada et à l'étranger, semblables à l'Ontario. Les conclusions, transmises au Comité, ont été rendues publiques sur le site Web du Comité. L'Institut a également fourni son appui aux activités de collecte d'information des groupes de travail et a fait des présentations sur les conclusions de recherches clés à plusieurs d’entre eux.

précédent | suivant