• Issued: December 16, 2010
  • Content last reviewed: December 2010

Workplaces in Ontario are responsible for ensuring that they are in compliance with both the OHSA and WSIA, but minimum compliance alone will not allow us to realize Ontario’s vision of zero workplace injuries, illnesses, and fatalities. Workplaces therefore need encouragement to go beyond minimum compliance in order for the province to build a strong health and safety culture.

To achieve this goal, the OHS system should provide appropriate incentives and disincentives to employers and, where appropriate, other workplace parties. Currently, the MOL applies enforcement-based disincentives to motivate behaviour, while the WSIB administers direct financial incentives (rebates, premium rate reductions) and disincentives (surcharges, withholding of rebates). In addition, some HSAs are involved with incentives, either in co-operation with WSIB, or through offering their own sector-specific recognition programs for superior performers.

Exclusive reliance on the OHS system’s financial incentive and disincentive programs, however, will not sufficiently motivate every workplace to improve its health and safety performance. In addition to providing these direct incentives, the system can adopt or promote other strategies to motivate health and safety performance, such as:

  • Accreditation: Currently, the Workplace Safety and Insurance Act, 1997 gives the WSIB the authority “[t]o develop standards for the accreditation of employers who adopt health and safety policies and operate successful health and safety programs.”
  • Supply chain relationships: Some employers take the initiative to link health and safety performance to preferential supply chain relationships. Employers may require potential bidders to incorporate health and safety into the design stage of a project or, alternatively, may make eligibility conditional on meeting minimum standards of health and safety performance.
  • Non-monetary recognition: Some stakeholders have indicated that meaningful recognition of health and safety leaders can motivate employers to improve health and safety, and several stakeholder submissions included proposals for non-monetary incentives. The Panel did not reach consensus on what constitutes meaningful non-monetary recognition, but acknowledges that there is an opportunity for the OHS system to work with stakeholders to define and establish a meaningful recognition program.

Financial Incentives

The WSIB currently administers two types of financial incentives:

  • Practice programs, which include the Safe Communities Incentive Program (SCIP) and the Safety Groups Program, are voluntary; participants must implement prescribed health and safety improvements in their workplaces to receive a rebate.
  • Performance programs, which apply to employers that pay a minimum of $1,000 in annual premiums; rebates or surcharges are issued based on an employer’s “experience rating” (a calculation of claims costs and/or frequency over a specified period). Performance programs include the New Experimental Experience Rating (NEER) program, the Council Amended Draft 7 (CAD-7) plan for large construction employers, and the Merit Adjusted Premium (MAP) program for small employers.

With the exception of SCIP, all of the current programs are either partially or entirely based on claims experience, with particular emphasis on lost-time injury (LTI) claims. This reliance on LTI figures has resulted in criticism from stakeholders who suggest that experience rating does not contribute to positive health and safety outcomes. A 2008 Morneau Sobeco report commissioned by the WSIB echoes this criticism, suggesting that experience rating programs can encourage cost-minimizing behaviours and claims management practices, rather than promoting investment in long-term health and safety in the workplace.

The WSIB has, in recent years, been reviewing its experience rating programs with a view to better aligning incentives with demonstrated improvement in workplace health and safety practices. With that in mind, the Panel strongly believes that financial incentives should not simply be tied to claims experience. An ideal incentive program should reduce emphasis on measures such as LTI by taking into account evidence of OHS practice improvements in the workplace, and reward employers for those improvements.

The Panel also supports the development of appropriate incentives for self-insuring Schedule 2 employers. Since Schedule 2 employers are charged for every dollar of every claim (plus an administration charge), self-insurance does act as an incentive to reduce claims and costs. However, the limitations of relying on LTI and costs as an incentive apply equally for Schedule 2 employers.

Recommendation 22

The Workplace Safety and Insurance Board, in conjunction with the new prevention organization and stakeholders, should review and revise existing financial incentive programs, with a particular focus on reducing their emphasis on claims costs and frequency.

In view of the Panel’s recommendation to shift the prevention function out of the WSIB, it must be noted that the WSIB will retain the responsibility to calculate and evaluate claims costs, and set or adjust premium rates accordingly. To that end, the WSIB recently initiated a comprehensive funding review, the scope of which will include a review of existing employer incentive programs. Nonetheless, the Panel also recognizes that the new prevention organization and the WSIB must collaborate on the administration of future incentive programs. Co-operation between the two authorities will be necessary to ensure that these programs consider evidence of health and safety improvements in the workplace, as opposed to strict reliance on claims experience alone.

Accreditation

The Panel was advised of the WSIB's efforts in the past two years to develop a pilot accreditation program based on the Canadian Standards Association’s Z1000 standard for health and safety management systems. Prior to the current WSIB initiative, a multi-stakeholder working group developed an accreditation framework in June 2006 for the WSIB consideration.

Though the Panel does not explicitly endorse either of these programs, it does recognize that accreditation should be a responsibility of the new prevention organization, and that an accreditation program should be developed — with participation of both employer and labour stakeholders — to reward employers who implement successful occupational health and safety management systems. Consideration should include how accreditation might apply to small business.

Recommendation 23

The new prevention organization, in conjunction with stakeholders, should develop an accreditation program that recognizes employers who successfully implement health and safety management systems.

Supply Chain

The Panel recognizes that while larger employers may be better equipped to evaluate the health and safety of suppliers, smaller employers may be precluded from doing so. Therefore, the new prevention organization, in conjunction with stakeholders, should develop appropriate standards and guidance material to encourage employers to incorporate health and safety qualification into their supply chain relationships. Employers that incorporate such a process could then be eligible for a financial incentive from the WSIB.

Recommendation 24

Concurrent with the proposed review of financial incentives, the new prevention organization should work with the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board to develop appropriate financial incentives that reward employers who qualify suppliers based on their health and safety performance.

Previous | Next

<

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Mesures incitatives

  • Diffusion : 16 décembre 2010
  • Dernière mise à jour : décembre 2010

Les différents milieux de travail en Ontario doivent se conformer à la LSST et à la Loi de 1997 sur la sécurité professionnelle et l'assurance contre les accidents du travail. Or, la conformité minimale ne permettra pas à l’Ontario de relever son défi, à savoir l’élimination des accidents de travail, des maladies professionnelles et des décès au travail. C’est pourquoi les milieux de travail doivent être encouragés à dépasser le seuil minimum de conformité afin que la culture de la sécurité règne dans la province.

Pour atteindre cet objectif, le système de santé et de sécurité au travail devrait offrir des incitatifs et imposer des moyens de dissuasion pertinents aux employeurs et aux autres parties du lieu de travail, s’il y a lieu. À l’heure actuelle, le ministère du Travail impose des moyens de dissuasion pour motiver les employeurs à se conformer, alors que la CSPAAT offre des incitatifs financiers directs (escomptes, réductions des taux de cotisation) et impose des moyens de dissuasion (frais supplémentaires, retenue des escomptes). Certaines associations de santé et de sécurité participent également aux mesures incitatives, que ce soit en coopération avec la CSPAAT ou en offrant leurs propres programmes de reconnaissance du rendement supérieur dans un secteur donné.

Quoi qu’il en soit, les programmes d’incitatifs financiers et de mesures de dissuasion du système de santé et de sécurité au travail ne permettront pas à eux seuls de motiver tous les milieux de travail à améliorer leurs résultats en matière de santé et de sécurité. Cependant, en plus d’offrir ces incitatifs directs, le système peut adopter ou promouvoir d’autres stratégies, dont les suivantes, pour motiver les parties intéressées à améliorer leurs résultats.

  • Accréditation : À l’heure actuelle, la Loi de 1997 sur la sécurité professionnelle et l'assurance contre les accidents du travail autorise la CSPAAT à « élaborer des normes relatives à l'accréditation des employeurs qui adoptent des politiques de santé et de sécurité et qui ont un programme de santé et de sécurité qui a fait ses preuves ».
  • Relations au sein de la chaîne logistique : Certains employeurs prennent l’initiative d’associer le rendement sur le plan de la sécurité aux relations privilégiées au sein de la chaîne logistique. Les employeurs peuvent exiger que les soumissionnaires éventuels incluent la santé et la sécurité lors de la conception de leur projet ou exiger que des normes minimales de rendement en santé et sécurité soient respectées pour que le soumissionnaire soit admissible.
  • Reconnaissance non financière : Certains intervenants ont affirmé qu’il suffirait d’une reconnaissance significative de la part des leaders de la santé et de la sécurité pour motiver les employeurs à améliorer leurs résultats dans ce domaine et bon nombre de mémoires d’intervenants comportaient des propositions d’incitatifs non financiers. Le Comité n’a pas réussi à obtenir un consensus sur ce qui constitue une mesure non financière significative, mais il reconnaît que le système de santé et de sécurité au travail a l’occasion de collaborer avec les intervenants pour définir et mettre en place un programme de reconnaissance significatif.

Incitatifs financiers

La CSPAAT gère actuellement deux types d’incitatifs financiers :

  • Les programmes axés sur les pratiques, dont le Programme d'encouragement à la sécurité dans les collectivités et le Programme Groupes de sécurité. La participation à ces programmes est volontaire. Dans le cadre de ces programmes, les participants doivent apporter des améliorations prescrites au plan de la santé et de la sécurité dans leur milieu de travail pour avoir droit à un escompte.
  • Les programmes axés sur le rendement, lesquels concernent les employeurs qui versent un minimum de 1000 $ en primes annuelles. Des escomptes sur les frais supplémentaires sont accordés en fonction de l’évaluation de la tarification par incidence (calcul du montant des indemnités et(ou) de la fréquence des réclamations au cours d’une période donnée). Les programmes axés sur le rendement comprennent le programme de la Nouvelle méthode expérimentale de tarification par incidence, le programme de tarification par incidence CAD-7 visant les grandes entreprises du secteur de la construction et le Programme de primes rajustées selon le mérite à l’intention des petites entreprises.

Sauf le Programme d'encouragement à la sécurité dans les collectivités, tous les programmes actuels sont, soit partiellement, soit entièrement fondés sur la tarification par incidence en matière de réclamations, une attention particulière étant accordée aux absences résultant d’une blessure. Le fait de se fonder sur les absences résultant d’une blessure est critiqué par les intervenants, qui ne considèrent pas que la tarification par incidence contribue à l’amélioration des résultats. Le rapport Morneau Sobeco de 2008 exécuté à la demande de la CSPAAT fait écho à cette critique. Plus précisément, ce rapport suggère que les programmes fondés sur la tarification par incidence peuvent favoriser l’adoption de méthodes et de pratiques de gestion des réclamations dont le but serait de réduire les coûts au minimum plutôt que de promouvoir l’investissement à long terme dans la santé et la sécurité en milieu de travail.

Au cours des dernières années, la CSPAAT a entrepris l’examen de ses programmes de tarification par incidence dans le but de mieux aligner les incitatifs avec les améliorations réelles des pratiques de santé et de sécurité en milieu de travail. Cela étant, le Conseil croit fermement que les incitatifs financiers ne devraient pas dépendre uniquement de la tarification par incidence. Le programme incitatif idéal accorderait moins d’importance aux mesures comme les absences résultant d’une blessure et tiendrait compte de l’amélioration des pratiques de santé et de sécurité au travail en récompensant les employeurs dont le milieu de travail a connu des améliorations.

Le Comité appuie également la création d’incitatifs pertinents pour les employeurs de l'annexe 2 qui sont autoassurés. Puisque les employeurs de l'annexe 2 doivent débourser chaque dollar de chaque indemnité (plus les frais d’administration), l’autoassurance agit comme incitatif pour la réduction des réclamations et des coûts. Cependant, les limites que présentent les absences résultant d’une blessure et les coûts comme incitatifs s’appliquent également aux employeurs de l'annexe 2.

Recommandation 22

De concert avec le nouvel organisme de prévention et les intervenants, la CSPAAT devrait examiner et réviser les programmes d’encouragement financier existants et s’employer surtout à réduire l’importance que ceux-ci accordent aux coûts et à la fréquence des demandes d’indemnisation.

À la lumière des recommandations du Comité voulant que la fonction de prévention n’incombe plus à la CSPAAT, notons cependant que celle-ci continuera d’être chargée du calcul et de l’évaluation des coûts des demandes d’indemnisation, et d’établir ou ajuster le taux des primes en conséquence. Dans cette optique, la CSPAAT a récemment entrepris un examen détaillé du financement, qui englobera l’étude des programmes d’encouragement existants destinés aux employeurs. Néanmoins, le Comité reconnaît aussi que le nouvel organisme de prévention et la CSPAAT doivent collaborer à l’administration des programmes d’encouragement futurs. Cette collaboration entre les deux organisations sera nécessaire pour faire en sorte que ces programmes tiennent compte des signes d’amélioration de la santé et de la sécurité au travail, plutôt que de s’appuyer uniquement sur les données relatives aux demandes d’indemnisation.

Accréditation

Le Comité a été informé des efforts déployés par la CSPAAT au cours des deux dernières années pour développer un programme pilote d’accréditation des lieux de travail fondé sur la norme Z1000 de l’Association canadienne de normalisation sur les systèmes de gestion en santé et sécurité. Avant l’initiative actuelle de la CSPAAT, en juin 2006, un groupe de travail à intervenants multiples avait élaboré un cadre d’accréditation qu’il avait proposé à la CSPAAT.

Bien que le Comité n’ait approuvé explicitement aucun de ces programmes, il reconnaît que l’accréditation devrait incomber au nouvel organisme de prévention, et qu’un programme d’accréditation devrait être élaboré – et mettre à contribution les employeurs et les intervenants du monde travail – afin de récompenser les employeurs qui mettent en œuvre des systèmes de gestion en santé et sécurité au travail. Il serait pertinent d’étudier la façon dont l’accréditation s’appliquerait aux petites entreprises.

Recommandation 23

De concert avec les intervenants, le nouvel organisme de prévention devrait élaborer un programme d’accréditation reconnaissant les employeurs qui mettent en œuvre avec succès des systèmes de gestion en santé et sécurité.

Chaîne d’approvisionnement

Le Comité reconnaît que les employeurs de grande taille sont mieux armés pour évaluer le rendement des fournisseurs en matière de santé et de sécurité que les plus petits, qui pourraient se heurter à des obstacles à cet égard. Ainsi, de concert avec les intervenants, le nouvel organisme de prévention devrait établir des normes et du matériel d’orientation pertinents afin d’encourager les employeurs à sélectionner leur chaîne d’approvisionnement en fonction de son rendement en matière de santé et de sécurité. Les employeurs qui adoptent un tel processus pourraient alors avoir droit à un incitatif financier de la CSPAAT.

Recommandation 24

Parallèlement à l’examen proposé des incitatifs financiers, le nouvel organisme de prévention devrait collaborer avec la CSPAAT à l’élaboration de programmes d’aide financière appropriés visant à récompenser les employeurs qui sélectionnent des fournisseurs en fonction de leur rendement en matière de santé et de sécurité.

précédent | suivant