Table of Contents | Print This Page

Combating the Underground Economy

  • Issued: December 16, 2010
  • Content last reviewed: December 2010

In 2004, the Ontario government first committed to targeting the underground economy in the construction industry. To fulfil this commitment, many ministries and agencies have worked together to identify underground activity and address the many aspects of non-compliance that go along with it. In spite of these efforts, the underground economy remains a serious challenge. It is a major source of revenue loss to both government and the workers’ compensation system, it threatens the competitiveness of legitimate businesses, it compromises the health and safety of workers and the public, and it undermines employment standards and apprenticeship programs.

A number of specific initiatives to combat the underground economy in construction are currently underway or being planned. Some key participants in these activities include the Ministries of Labour; Revenue; Training, Colleges and Universities; Municipal Affairs and Housing; Government Services; the Canada Revenue Agency; the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board; Tarion Warranty Corporation; and the Electrical Safety Authority. A concern expressed to the Panel was that the government’s efforts to reduce the underground economy, although promising, are proceeding without a central point of oversight, and without co-ordination.

A common element of the current initiatives is the sharing of information among regulators about the compliance of employers with laws related to taxation, occupational health and safety, business registration, employment standards, workers’ compensation and trades’ qualifications. Such information sharing is critical to the identification and deterrence of underground operators, but there are challenges related to data compatibility, protection of privacy and co-ordinating efforts.

In 2007, the Ontario government passed the Regulatory Modernization Act (RMA) to make it easier for regulators to share and publish compliance-related information; to collaborate on enforcement activities; and, for officers and inspectors enforcing provincial legislation to share field observations (give one another a “heads up”). The RMA generally applies to provincial legislation that has been prescribed in the Designations Regulation. The Panel believes that regulators should identify additional opportunities to share information, carry out multi-ministry/agency enforcement activities, and make better use of the “heads up” provision.

The Panel heard of the importance of legitimate employers becoming further engaged in combating underground business practices. In the Incentives section of this report, the Panel recommends financial rewards for employers who qualify suppliers on the basis of their health and safety performance. If such rewards were also tied to doing business with suppliers who operate legitimate companies, it would be seen as an important contributor to reducing underground activity.

The Panel’s recommendations focus on establishing dedicated leadership of the government’s current multi-agency strategy, better intelligence gathering and sharing, and targeted interventions designed to disrupt illegal and unsafe activities.

Recommendation 18

The government should make a single provincial entity responsible for overseeing and co ordinating a province-wide strategy to address the underground economy. This strategy could include links to federal and municipal initiatives.

Dedicated leadership and the co-ordination of a province-wide strategy to address the underground economy would maximize the effectiveness of individual initiatives currently underway, as well as their collective impact. The transition from local pilot projects to province-wide activities would be easier, as would the building of new partnerships for future initiatives, within Ontario and across jurisdictions and other levels of government.

Under a province-wide strategy, regulators would use the experience gained from current multi-ministry/agency compliance initiatives to collectively develop and carry out new ones. In the short term, these initiatives would continue to focus on the underground economy in the construction sector. In the longer term, enforcement campaigns would also target other sectors. Stakeholders have reported underground activity, including the presence of undocumented workers, in other industries, for example, restaurant, transportation, building cleaning services, farming and the garment trade.

From the Panel’s perspective, another important means of fighting the underground economy lies in influencing consumer behaviour. The Panel recommends periodic, province-wide campaigns to raise public awareness of the negative impact of the underground economy in the home renovation industry and the personal liability risks of hiring an underground contractor. The government could approach local homebuilders’ associations, home renovators’ councils and the building supply industry to help promote the message. Municipalities could be engaged to provide applicants for building permits, especially homeowners, an information package about underground contractors, and about general health and safety obligations.

Recommendation 19

The entity overseeing a province-wide strategy on the underground economy should consult regulators and the Ministry of Economic Development and Trade on expansion of the Designations Regulation under the Regulatory Modernization Act, 2007 in order to enhance the capacity of regulators to detect and combat underground activity.

Implementing this recommendation would involve a collective review by regulatory ministries to identify relevant statutes, provisions of statutes, or regulations that could be designated under the RMA. The Panel supports maximizing the potential of the RMA and proposes that government consider designating selected provisions of the Workplace Safety and Insurance Act, 1997 for the purposes of the “information sharing” and “multiple authorizations” provisions.

Recommendation 20

The Ministry of Labour, in collaboration with other regulators and levels of government, should take steps to acquire information and data that health and safety inspectors would use to identify and reduce underground economic activity.

The Panel supports making more information about construction projects and contractors available to the MOL, other regulators and the public. Specific steps the MOL could take include, for example, making amendments to the Regulation for Construction Projects that would require a constructor to:

  • post the Notice of Project (NOP) in a conspicuous place at the project;
  • file the registration form (Form 1000) describing subcontractors at a project electronically with the MOL, and keep it up to date;
  • in a place visible to the general public, if the project is a home renovation, post the name and WSIB registration number of the constructor, and the hotline number (1-877-202-0008) to report concerns to the MOL.

Requiring that the NOP be posted would ensure that specific information about the constructor (for example, master business licence number; WSIB account number) is visible to all parties on site, including enforcement staff of other regulators likely to be at the project from time to time, such as municipal building inspectors or Electrical Safety Authority staff. This, in turn, makes it easier to ensure that a constructor is complying with requirements to notify the MOL of a project, and is operating a legitimate business.

Mandatory electronic filing of registration information (Form 1000) with the MOL would permit inspectors to verify company registrations under other statutes, such as the WSIA, and then alert other regulators to violations that could be linked to underground practices or that otherwise compromise health and safety. (Full implementation would depend upon the MOL having the capacity to maintain an appropriate database.) Engaging the public would increase the likelihood of detecting unregistered and unsafe residential construction work, and reinforce efforts to change societal attitudes about workplace accidents and underground business practices.

The Panel recognizes that to effectively enforce the proposed amendments to the Regulation for Construction Projects, MOL inspectors need to be able to do more than issue orders. Therefore, the Panel recommends that inspectors have the ability to issue tickets to a constructor for non-compliance with requirements to post and/or submit the NOP to the MOL; registration requirements; and requirements to post other information at a project, as prescribed.

The ability of MOL inspectors to enforce occupational health and safety requirements on construction projects and to detect underground practices may also be strengthened by giving them access to information recorded on building permits issued by municipal authorities. Inspectors have advised the Panel that underground operators often do obtain a building permit but fail to submit the required notice of a project to the MOL. The MOL and Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing are currently developing a pilot project under which a few large municipalities would share such information with the MOL.

Following completion of the pilot project, if an evaluation reveals that building permit data are of significant value to MOL inspectors, and that information-sharing agreements with municipalities are not an effective means of giving inspectors this data, the Panel would support amendments to the Building Code Act as a way to ensure consistent, province-wide access to building permit information for the MOL.

Recommendation 21

The Ministry of Labour should target workplaces and sectors operating in the underground economy for proactive inspections after normal working hours.

The Panel heard much about underground work being conducted on evenings and weekends to avoid detection by inspectors. The MOL’s current policies and procedures to enforce the OHSA should include proactive inspections on evenings and weekends. This would increase the probability of detecting employers operating in the underground economy, and is also likely to be one of the few ways to directly improve working conditions for vulnerable workers, especially those who are undocumented or refugees, and generally known to work in the underground economy. Identifying specific workplaces may be a challenge, but could be achieved, at least in part, through active outreach to organizations that support vulnerable subgroups of the general workforce.

Previous | Next

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Lutte contre l’économie clandestine

  • Diffusion : 16 décembre 2010
  • Dernière mise à jour : décembre 2010

En 2004, le gouvernement de l’Ontario s'est engagé à lutter contre l’économie clandestine dans le secteur de la construction. Dans le cadre de cet engagement, bon nombre de ministères et d’organismes ont collaboré pour cerner les activités clandestines et se pencher sur les éléments de non-conformité qui en découlent. Malgré ces efforts, l’économie clandestine demeure un défi de taille. Elle entraîne une perte de revenu importante pour le gouvernement et le régime d’indemnisation des travailleurs, elle menace la concurrence entre les entreprises honnêtes, elle compromet la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs et du public et, enfin, elle ébranle les normes en matière d'emploi et de programmes d’apprentissage.

De nombreuses initiatives particulières visant à lutter contre l’économie clandestine dans le secteur de la construction sont actuellement en œuvre ou en cours d’élaboration. Parmi les principaux participants à ces initiatives se trouvent les ministères du Travail, du Revenu, de la Formation et des Collèges et Universités, des Affaires municipales et du Logement, les Services gouvernementaux, l’Agence du revenu du Canada, la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l'assurance contre les accidents du travail, la Tarion Warranty Corporation et l’Office de la sécurité des installations électriques. L’une des préoccupations soumises au Comité concernait les efforts du gouvernement pour lutter contre l’économie clandestine qui, même s’ils sont prometteurs, sont déployés sans supervision et sans coordination.

L’un des éléments communs aux initiatives actuelles est la diffusion d’information entre organismes de réglementation sur la conformité des employeurs aux lois relatives à la fiscalité, à la santé et à la sécurité au travail, à l’inscription des entreprises, aux normes en matière d’emploi, à la rémunération des travailleurs et aux titres professionnels. Ce type de diffusion d’information est essentiel lorsqu’il s’agit de repérer et de dissuader les responsables, mais la compatibilité des données, la protection de la vie privée et les efforts de coordination comportent des défis.

En 2007, le gouvernement de l’Ontario a adopté la Loi sur la modernisation de la réglementation pour faciliter la diffusion et la publication d’information relative à la conformité par les organismes de réglementation, pour collaborer aux activités d’application de la loi et pour que les agents et les inspecteurs veillant à l’application des lois provinciales puissent communiquer leurs observations sur le terrain (pour faire part des enjeux). La Loi sur la modernisation de la réglementation concerne généralement la législation provinciale prévue dans le règlement sur les désignations. Le Comité considère que les organismes de réglementation devraient cerner d’autres occasions de diffusion d’information, mener des activités multiministérielles et multiorganisationnelles visant l’application de la loi et tirer davantage parti de la communication des observations sur le terrain.

Parmi les observations soumises au Comité se trouvait l’importance de l'engagement accru des employeurs honnêtes dans la lutte contre les pratiques commerciales clandestines. Dans la section « Mesures incitatives » de ce rapport, le Comité recommande des primes financières pour les employeurs qui classent leurs fournisseurs en fonction de leur rendement en matière de santé et de sécurité. Si ces primes sont également liées au fait de faire des affaires avec des fournisseurs qui exploitent des entreprises honnêtes, cela serait perçu comme un élément important de la lutte contre les activités clandestines.

Les recommandations du Comité mettent l’accent sur l’établissement d’un leadership dévoué pour la stratégie multiorganisationnelle actuelle du gouvernement, l’amélioration de la collecte et de la diffusion des renseignements et la mise en œuvre d’interventions ciblées conçues pour perturber les activités illégales et dangereuses.

Recommandation 18

Le gouvernement devrait nommer une entité provinciale responsable de superviser et de coordonner une stratégie à l’échelle de la province visant l’économie clandestine. Cette stratégie pourrait être liée à certaines initiatives fédérales ou municipales.

Un leadership dévoué et une stratégie coordonnée à l’échelle de la province visant l’économie clandestine permettraient de maximiser l’efficacité des initiatives individuelles en cours, ainsi que leur incidence collective. La transition des projets pilotes aux activités à l’échelle de la province serait plus facile, tout comme la création de nouveaux partenariats en vue des initiatives futures en Ontario, dans les autres territoires et provinces et aux autres paliers de gouvernement.

Dans le cadre d’une stratégie provinciale, les organismes de réglementation se fonderaient sur l’expérience acquise grâce aux initiatives actuelles de conformité multiministérielles et multiorganisationnelles pour élaborer et mettre en œuvre de nouvelles propositions. À court terme, ces initiatives continueraient de viser l’économie clandestine dans le secteur de la construction, mais, à long terme, les campagnes de lutte s'attaqueraient à d’autres secteurs. Certains intervenants ont signalé des activités clandestines, y compris la présence de travailleurs sans papiers dans d’autres secteurs, par exemple en restauration, dans les transports, dans les services de nettoyage des immeubles, en agriculture et dans la confection de vêtements.

Selon le Comité, un autre moyen de lutter contre l’économie clandestine est d’influencer le comportement du consommateur. Le Comité recommande la diffusion de campagnes périodiques à l’échelle de la province pour sensibiliser le public au sujet des conséquences de l’économie clandestine dans le domaine de la rénovation résidentielle et des risques liés à l’embauche d’un entrepreneur clandestin sur le plan de la responsabilité civile. Le gouvernement pourrait s’adresser aux associations locales d’entrepreneurs d’habitations, aux conseils de rénovateurs de résidences et aux vendeurs de matériaux de construction pour qu’ils aident à diffuser ce message. Les municipalités pourraient participer en remettant aux demandeurs de permis de construction, surtout aux propriétaires de maisons, une trousse d’information sur les entrepreneurs clandestins et sur les obligations générales en matière de santé et de sécurité.

Recommandation 19

L'entité supervisant la stratégie provinciale sur l’économie clandestine devrait consulter les organismes de réglementation et le ministère du Développement économique et du Commerce au sujet du développement du règlement sur les désignations en vertu de la Loi de 2007 sur la modernisation de la réglementation afin d’accroître la capacité des organismes de réglementation de déceler les activités clandestines et de les combattre.

L’application de cette recommandation sous-entendrait un examen collectif par les ministères chargés de la réglementation pour déterminer les lois pertinentes, les dispositions de lois ou les règlements qui pourraient être désignés en vertu de la Loi sur la modernisation de la réglementation. Le Comité appuie la maximisation du potentiel de la Loi sur la modernisation de la réglementation et propose au gouvernement de songer à désigner des dispositions particulières de la Loi de 1997 sur la sécurité professionnelle et l'assurance contre les accidents du travail aux fins de la diffusion d’information et de l’obtention des multiples autorisations.

Recommandation 20

Le ministère du Travail, en collaboration avec d’autres organismes de réglementation et paliers de gouvernement, devrait prendre des mesures pour obtenir des renseignements et des données que les inspecteurs de la santé et de la sécurité utiliseraient pour cerner les activités de l’économie clandestine et lutter à cet égard.

Le Comité estime que le ministère du Travail, d'autres organismes de réglementation et le public devraient avoir accès à une quantité supérieure de renseignements sur les projets de construction et les entrepreneurs. L’une des mesures que le ministère du Travail pourrait prendre serait d'amender les règlements relatifs aux chantiers de constructions pour obliger les entrepreneurs à :

  • afficher clairement sur le site l’avis relatif au chantier de construction;
  • soumettre le formulaire d’inscription (Formulaire 1000) électronique décrivant les sous-traitants du projet au ministère du Travail et assurer sa mise à jour;
  • si le projet est une rénovation résidentielle, afficher le nom et le numéro d’enregistrement de la CSPAAT de l’entrepreneur et le numéro de la ligne d’information (1 877 202-0008) pour signaler toute préoccupation au ministère du Travail dans un endroit bien en vue du grand public.

Grâce à l’affichage de l’avis relatif au chantier de construction, l’information précise sur l’entrepreneur (par exemple le numéro de permis principal d’entreprise et le numéro de compte de la CSPAAT) seraient bien en vue sur le site, non seulement pour le personnel mais aussi pour le personnel responsable de l’application de la loi et d’autres organismes de réglementation susceptibles de fréquenter le chantier de temps à autre, comme les inspecteurs en bâtiment de la ville et le personnel de l’Office de la sécurité des installations électriques. Cette mesure permettrait de vérifier plus facilement si l’entrepreneur se conforme aux exigences, s’il a déclaré le projet au ministère du Travail et s’il exploite une entreprise honnête.

La soumission obligatoire du formulaire d’inscription (formulaire 1000) électronique au ministère du Travail permettrait aux inspecteurs de vérifier l’inscription des entreprises en vertu d’autres actes législatifs, comme la Loi sur la sécurité professionnelle et l'assurance contre les accidents du travail, et de signaler d’autres infractions susceptibles d’être liées aux pratiques clandestines ou de compromettre la santé et la sécurité aux organismes de réglementation. Cependant, la mise en œuvre de cette mesure dépendrait de la capacité du ministère du Travail de maintenir une base de données adéquate. Solliciter la participation du public permettrait d’accroître les chances de repérer les chantiers de construction résidentiels non inscrits ou dangereux et de miser sur le changement de la perception que la société a des accidents de travail et des pratiques commerciales clandestines.

Le Comité reconnaît que pour faire appliquer les amendements proposés aux règlements relatifs aux projets de construction, les inspecteurs du ministère du Travail doivent pouvoir faire autre chose que décerner des ordonnances. Par conséquent, le Conseil recommande d’autoriser les inspecteurs à émettre des contraventions aux entrepreneurs qui n’auraient pas affiché l’avis relatif au chantier de construction ou qui ne l’auraient pas soumis au ministère du Travail, qui ne se seraient pas conformés aux exigences en matière d’inscription ou qui auraient omis l’affichage de renseignements prescrits par la loi sur le site du projet.

La capacité des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail de veiller au respect des exigences en matière de santé et de sécurité sur les chantiers de construction et de déceler les pratiques clandestines pourrait également être accrue s’ils avaient accès à l’information consignée sur les permis de construction émis par les autorités municipales. Les inspecteurs ont signalé au Conseil que les entrepreneurs clandestins ont souvent un permis de construction, mais ils omettent de soumettre l’avis relatif au chantier de construction au ministère du Travail. Le ministère du Travail et le ministère des Affaires municipales et du Logement élaborent actuellement un projet pilote dans le cadre duquel quelques grandes municipalités communiqueraient ce type d’information au ministère du Travail.

Une fois ce projet pilote terminé, si une évaluation révèle que les données sur les permis de construction sont très utiles aux inspecteurs du ministère du Travail et que les ententes visant la communication de l’information entre municipalités ne favorisent pas la transmission de ces données aux inspecteurs, le Conseil appuiera l’amendement de la Loi sur le code du bâtiment afin de veiller à ce que le ministère du Travail ait toujours accès à l’information sur les permis de construction partout dans la province.

Recommandation 21

Le ministère du Travail devrait cibler les milieux de travail et les secteurs touchés par l’économie clandestine et faire des inspections proactives après les heures normales de travail.

De nombreuses observations ont été soumises au Comité sur les activités clandestines effectuées le soir et les fins de semaine dans le but d’éviter la détection par les inspecteurs. Les politiques et les procédures actuelles du ministère du Travail visant l’application de la LSST devraient comprendre des inspections proactives le soir et les fins de semaine. Cette mesure favoriserait la détection des employeurs œuvrant dans l’économie clandestine et serait probablement l’une des seules façons d'améliorer directement les conditions de travail des travailleurs vulnérables, surtout les sans-papiers et les réfugiés, dont la présence dans l’économie clandestine est bien connue. Repérer ces lieux de travail peut être difficile, mais cet objectif peut être atteint, du moins en partie, en collaborant avec des organismes qui appuient les sous-groupes vulnérables de la population active.

précédent | suivant