Table of Contents | Print This Page

Better Protection for Vulnerable Workers

  • Issued: December 16, 2010
  • Content last reviewed: December 2010

Vulnerable workers, in the context of the OHS system review, are those who have a greater exposure than most workers to conditions hazardous to health or safety and who lack the power to alter those conditions. During the course of this review, stakeholders identified a number of subgroups of the general workforce as being vulnerable. The Panel heard most often about young workers; recent immigrants; workers new to their jobs or in new firms; foreign workers hired to address temporary or seasonal labour shortages, and employed primarily in agriculture, the hotel/hospitality and construction sectors; workers with very low wages holding multiple part-time jobs; and workers in the temporary staffing industry.

Worker vulnerability arises for various reasons: not knowing one’s rights under the OHSA, such as the right to refuse unsafe work; having no work experience or training that is job- or hazard-specific; and being unable to exercise rights or raise health and safety concerns for fear of losing one’s job, or in some cases, being deported.

Several of the Panel’s recommendations in other sections of this report would improve the health and safety of all workers but especially those who are vulnerable. If implemented, recommendations for mandatory health and safety awareness training before starting work and for hazard-specific training would help address the higher rate of injuries known to occur among new workers, and also benefit young workers and recent immigrants who tend to be disproportionately employed in physically demanding or hazardous jobs. Requiring that supervisors be trained would help ensure that they understand their additional responsibilities regarding workers in hazardous jobs, especially those who are young, new or temporary. Similarly, recommendations to strengthen protection from reprisals are critical to enabling vulnerable workers to exercise their rights and speak up about health and safety concerns.

In 2000, the OHS system made young workers a priority. Since then, efforts to protect them (including education, aggressive public awareness campaigns and targeted enforcement) have brought about significant and measurable improvements: a 45 per cent decline in the lost-time injury rate for teenagers by 2008. In general, however, protecting vulnerable workers, especially those who do not have English as a first language, presents challenges to the OHS system. These challenges relate to outreach, identifying where they work, providing meaningful information and services and enforcing legislation. There are many public and private organizations that support vulnerable members of society and that the OHS system could use as valuable points of access or influence.

In this section of the report, the Panel makes recommendations on advising the Minister of Labour of issues pertaining to vulnerable workers, targeted enforcement, raising awareness and protecting farm workers. Some other issues regarding vulnerable workers, which are not the subject of recommendations, are described in a later section, Additional Issues, for future consideration.

Recommendation 29

The Minister of Labour should appoint a committee under Section 21 of the Occupational Health and Safety Act to provide advice on matters related to the occupational health and safety of vulnerable workers.

An advisory committee appointed under Section 21 of the OHSA would improve the OHS system’s ability to respond to the needs of vulnerable workers. It would be a standing forum for consulting parties who are knowledgeable about vulnerable workers and have a role in protecting them. Such a committee could include representatives of labour and employer groups from sectors with precarious employment; immigrant and refugee support agencies; community and social service agencies; legal clinics; other ministries; and federal and municipal programs. Specific matters about which the committee could provide advice include implementing the Panel’s recommendations, improving enforcement strategies and developing and distributing awareness materials.

Recommendation 30

The Ministry of Labour should carry out more proactive inspections and periodic enforcement campaigns at workplaces and in sectors where vulnerable workers are concentrated.

To be effective, outreach and awareness initiatives must be supported by proactive follow-up or enforcement. Successful implementation of this recommendation will depend upon the MOL having access to current and reliable information on vulnerable workers. To inform its enforcement strategies regarding workplaces and sectors where vulnerable workers are concentrated, the MOL should solicit the advice of the Section 21 committee, if established, and should consult stakeholders and cultivate potential sources of information outside the OHS system.

Recommendation 31

The occupational health and safety system should develop information products in multiple languages and formats for distribution through various media and organizations to raise awareness of occupational health and safety among vulnerable workers.

To raise awareness of occupational health and safety among vulnerable workers, information products could be aimed at the workplace, the community and at specific subgroups of the general workforce.

The Panel notes that Section 25(2)(i) of the OHSA requires the employer to post a copy of the Act in the workplace and “any explanatory material prepared by the Ministry, both in English and the majority language of the workplace, outlining the rights, responsibilities and duties of workers.” The Panel recommends that the MOL develop explanatory material in the form of a poster translated into multiple languages and available at no or low cost (further described in the Information and Resources section of this report). Mandatory posting would raise awareness of the OHSA among all workers but would benefit vulnerable workers in particular.

To further raise awareness of workplace health and safety issues, the Panel recommends that the OHS system develop basic information on both the OHSA and the WSIA in multiple languages and formats and distribute it in ways that will reach vulnerable workers at the community level. Many options exist for distribution through public and private organizations: at settlement and service agencies for newcomers; on government websites aimed at prospective immigrants; through federal administrators and offshore recruiters of temporary foreign workers; at consulates; in ethnic newspaper, radio and television ads; in public places like libraries, buses/subways and community centres; at legal aid clinics; as part of the curriculum in English or French as a Second Language courses; and through the school system, recognizing that children will take information home to their parents. Such efforts would be an effective way to reach people with poor language or literacy skills as well as those who may be reluctant to visit government offices.

Recommendation 32

The Ministry of Labour should develop regulations in consultation with stakeholders in the farming community to control the key hazards associated with farm work.

Farming is generally recognized as a dangerous occupation. A recent report from the Canadian Agricultural Injury Surveillance Program (CAISP) stated that agriculture ranks as the third most hazardous industry in Canada with respect to fatality rates. CAISP data show recurrent patterns of agricultural injury; for example, between 1990 and 2005, about 71 per cent of fatalities on farms involved some type of machinery.

In Ontario, the OHSA was extended to farms in 2006, with some conditions. One of these conditions is that farms are exempt from most of the regulations under the OHSA, including the regulations that automatically apply to any workplace covered by the OHSA. Instead, guidelines developed by the OHS system are used to address specific hazards related to tractors, mechanical equipment, animal handling, hazardous atmospheres, confined spaces, falls, lockout procedures and occupational disease. These guidelines can be enforced under the general duty of employers to take all reasonable precautions for the protection of workers.

The Panel supports stronger health and safety protection for farm workers. This could be achieved by extending some existing regulations under the OHSA — for example, the Workplace Hazardous Materials Information System (WHMIS) Regulation — to farms and/or by developing new regulatory provisions specific to farms to govern key hazards that are currently the subject of guidelines. Any new regulations to require mandatory training for workers and supervisors, as recommended in this report, should also apply to farms.

Previous | Next

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Une protection plus adéquate des travailleurs vulnérables

  • Diffusion : 16 décembre 2010
  • Dernière mise à jour : décembre 2010

Dans le contexte de l’examen du système de santé et de sécurité au travail, les travailleurs vulnérables sont plus exposés que la plupart des travailleurs à des conditions dangereuses pour la santé et la sécurité, et ne disposent d’aucun pouvoir pour les changer. Au cours de cet examen, les intervenants ont identifié plusieurs sous-groupes dans la main-d’œuvre générale comme étant vulnérables. Le Comité a été le plus souvent mis au fait de la situation des jeunes travailleurs; des immigrants récents; des travailleurs novices ou embauchés par de nouvelles entreprises; des travailleurs étrangers employés pour remplir un poste temporaire ou combler une pénurie de main-d’œuvre saisonnière, surtout en agriculture; des secteurs hôtelier et du tourisme d’accueil ainsi que de la construction; des travailleurs qui gagnent de très bas salaires et détiennent plusieurs emplois à temps partiel; et des travailleurs temporaires.

La vulnérabilité des travailleurs découle de plusieurs facteurs : l’ignorance de leurs droits en vertu de la LSST, comme le droit de refuser de faire un travail risqué, l’absence d’expérience ou de formation liée à un emploi particulier ou au danger qu’il représente, et l’incapacité d’exercer leurs droits ou de soulever des questions portant sur la santé et la sécurité, par crainte de perdre leur emploi ou, dans certains cas, d’être déportés.

Plusieurs des recommandations du Comité trouvées dans d’autres sections de ce rapport amélioreraient la santé et la sécurité de tous les travailleurs, mais surtout de ceux qui sont vulnérables. Si elles étaient appliquées, les recommandations pour une formation obligatoire en matière de sensibilisation à la santé et la sécurité avant l’entrée en fonction, pour une formation adaptée aux risques potentiels contribueraient à remédier au problème du taux de blessures plus élevé chez les nouveaux travailleurs; la mise en place de ces recommandations profiterait aussi au nombre disproportionné de jeunes travailleurs et d’immigrants récents qui tendent à exercer des tâches exigeantes au plan physique ou encore dangereuses. Si les superviseurs étaient tenus d’avoir la formation requise, ils comprendraient plus facilement leurs responsabilités supplémentaires à l’égard des travailleurs occupant des postes à risques élevés, surtout si ceux-ci sont jeunes, nouveaux ou temporaires. De même, des recommandations quant au renforcement de la protection contre les représailles sont essentielles pour permettre aux travailleurs vulnérables d’exercer leurs droits et de ne pas avoir peur d’exprimer leurs préoccupations en matière de santé et de sécurité.

En 2000, le système de santé et de sécurité au travail a accordé la priorité aux jeunes travailleurs. Depuis, les efforts déployés pour les protéger (y compris l’éducation, des campagnes énergiques de sensibilisation du public et une mise en application ciblée) se sont soldés par des améliorations importantes et mesurables : une diminution de 45 % du taux d’absences résultant de blessure chez les adolescents en 2008. En général, cependant, la protection des travailleurs vulnérables, et plus particulièrement ceux dont la langue maternelle n’est pas l’anglais, présente des défis au système de santé et de sécurité au travail. Ces défis portent sur la sensibilisation, la détermination du lieu de travail, la distribution de renseignements et de services pertinents et l’application de la réglementation. Il existe de nombreux organismes publics et privés qui appuient les membres vulnérables de la société, et que le système de santé et de sécurité au travail pourrait utiliser comme précieux points d’accès ou pour profiter de leur influence.

Dans cette section, le Comité formule des recommandations au ministère du Travail sur des questions touchant les travailleurs vulnérables, l’application ciblée de la Loi ainsi que la sensibilisation et la protection des travailleurs agricoles. D’autres enjeux portant sur les travailleurs vulnérables, qui ne font pas l’objet de recommandations, sont décrits dans la section intitulée Enjeux supplémentaires, que nous aborderons plus tard.

Recommandation 29

Le ministre du Travail devrait nommer un comité en vertu de l’article 21 de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, qui prodiguera des conseils sur des questions liées à la santé et à la sécurité des travailleurs vulnérables.

Un comité consultatif nommé en vertu de l’article 21 de la LSST améliorerait la capacité du système de santé et de sécurité au travail de répondre aux besoins des travailleurs vulnérables. Il s’agirait d’un forum permanent pour les parties consultantes qui ont de bonnes connaissances concernant les travailleurs vulnérables et qui sont chargées de les protéger. Un tel comité pourrait comprendre des représentants des milieux de travail et des groupes d’employeurs provenant de secteurs où les emplois sont précaires; des agences d’appui aux immigrants et aux réfugiés; des organismes communautaires et des agences de services sociaux; des cliniques juridiques communautaires; d’autres ministères; et, enfin, des programmes fédéraux et municipaux. Des questions précises au sujet desquelles le comité pourrait donner des conseils comprennent l’application des recommandations du Comité, l’amélioration des stratégies d’application de la loi ainsi que l’élaboration et la distribution de matériel de sensibilisation.

Recommandation 30

Que le ministère du Travail devrait effectuer un plus grand nombre de visites proactives et accroître la fréquence des campagnes périodiques d’application de la loi dans les milieux de travail et dans les secteurs où les travailleurs vulnérables sont concentrés.

Pour être efficaces, les projets d’approche et de sensibilisation doivent être soutenus par un suivi ou l’application de la Loi en amont. Le succès de l’application de cette recommandation dépendra du fait que l’information courante et fiable sur les travailleurs vulnérables est accessible au ministère du Travail. Pour orienter sa stratégie d’application visant les milieux de travail et les secteurs d’activité où les travailleurs vulnérables sont concentrés, le ministère du Travail devrait solliciter les conseils du comité nommé en vertu de l’article 21 si celui-ci est déjà établi; il devrait aussi consulter les intervenants et cultiver des sources potentielles d’information à l’extérieur du système de santé et de sécurité au travail.

Recommandation 31

Le système de santé et de sécurité au travail devrait développer des produits d’information dans des langues et des formats multiples et les distribuer par l’entremise de divers médias et organismes, afin de sensibiliser le public à la question de la santé et de la sécurité des travailleurs vulnérables.

Pour sensibiliser le public aux questions de santé et de sécurité au travail parmi les travailleurs vulnérables, les produits d’information pourraient s’adresser au milieu du travail, à la collectivité et à des sous-groupes précis de la main-d’œuvre générale.

Le Comité note qu’en vertu de l’article 25(2)i) de la LSST, l’employeur « affiche dans le lieu de travail, en anglais et dans la langue de la majorité des travailleurs à cet endroit, une copie de la présente loi et des documents explicatifs préparés par le ministère sur les droits, responsabilités et devoirs des travailleurs »; le Comité recommande que le ministère du Travail élabore ces documents explicatifs (décrits plus en détail dans la section Ressources de ce rapport) sous forme d’affiche traduite en langues multiples, sans frais ou à peu près. L’affichage obligatoire de tels documents sensibiliserait tous les travailleurs à la LSST, mais ce serait surtout les travailleurs vulnérables qui en tireraient parti.

Pour sensibiliser davantage le milieu de travail aux questions de santé et de sécurité, le Comité recommande que le système de santé et de sécurité au travail élabore des renseignements fondamentaux sur la LSST et sur la Loi de 1997 sur la sécurité professionnelle et l’assurance contre les accidents du travail, rédigés en langues et en formats multiples, et qu’il les distribue de sorte qu’ils puissent atteindre les travailleurs vulnérables à l’échelle de la collectivité. Il existe de nombreuses options de distribution, notamment par le truchement d’organismes publics et privés : dans les organismes d’aide à l’établissement pour les nouveaux arrivants; sur les sites Web gouvernementaux axés vers les immigrants potentiels; par l’intermédiaire d’administrateurs fédéraux et d’agences de recrutement de travailleurs étrangers temporaires; dans les consulats; dans les annonces de journaux et de stations de radio et de télévision ethniques; dans les endroits publics comme les bibliothèques, les autobus, le métro et les centres communautaires; dans des cliniques juridiques communautaires; dans le cadre d’un cours de français ou d’anglais langue seconde; et par l’entremise du système scolaire, en présumant qu’une fois de retour à la maison, les enfants transmettront l’information à leurs parents. De tels efforts devraient constituer un moyen efficace d’atteindre les gens possédant des capacités limitées de lecture et d’écriture ainsi que ceux qui hésitent à se rendre aux bureaux du gouvernement.

Recommandation 32

Le ministère du Travail devrait élaborer une réglementation en consultant les intervenants de la collectivité agricole afin de contrôler les principaux dangers associés au travail agricole.

Le métier d’agriculteur est habituellement reconnu comme une occupation dangereuse. Selon un récent rapport du Programme canadien de surveillance des traumatismes à la ferme (PCSTF), l’agriculture se classe au troisième rang parmi les industries les plus dangereuses au Canada au plan du taux d’accidents mortels. Les données du PCSFT indiquent une tendance récurrente de blessures subies en milieu agricole; par exemple, de 1990 à 2005, environ 71 % des décès à la ferme mettaient en cause de la machinerie.

En Ontario, la portée de la LSST s’est élargie pour comprendre les fermes en 2006, selon certaines conditions. L’une d’elles est que les fermes sont exemptes de la plupart des règlements de la LSST, y compris ceux qui s’appliquent automatiquement à tout milieu de travail couvert par la LSST. Les lignes de conduite établies par le système de santé et de sécurité au travail visent plutôt des dangers précis liés à la conduite de tracteurs, à l’opération d’équipement mécanique, à la manipulation d’animaux, aux atmosphères dangereuses, aux espaces exigus, aux chutes, aux procédures de verrouillage et aux maladies professionnelles. Ces lignes de conduite peuvent être appliquées à titre d’obligation générale de l’employeur de prendre toutes les précautions raisonnables pour assurer la protection des travailleurs.

Le Comité est favorable au renforcement de la protection de la santé et de la sécurité des travailleurs agricoles. Pour ce faire, la portée des règlements existants de la LSST – par exemple, le Système d’information sur les matières dangereuses utilisées au travail (SIMDUT) – pourrait être élargie pour comprendre les fermes, et d’autres règlements axés sur les fermes pourraient être élaborés afin de mettre en évidence les principaux dangers qui font l’objet des principes directeurs actuels. Tout nouveau règlement exigeant la formation obligatoire des travailleurs et des superviseurs, tel qu’il est recommandé dans ce rapport, devrait aussi s’appliquer aux fermes.

précédent | suivant