Print  Print This Page

Prevention Council Meeting: June 11, 2015

  • Content last reviewed: September 2016

Prevention council members present:

  • Colin Grieve, Hamilton Professional Firefighters Association Local 288 IAFF
  • Graeme Norval, Department of Chemical Engineering, University of Toronto
  • Mike Oxley, DuPont Canada Company
  • Roy Slack, Cementation Canada
  • Derek Johnstone, United Food and Commercial Workers Canada
  • Nancy Hutchison, Ontario Federation of Labour
  • Linda Vannucci, Health & Safety Legal Clinic
  • Dawn Tattle, Anchor Shoring & Caissons Ltd.
  • Susanna Zagar, Workplace Safety & Insurance Board

Other:

  • George Gritziotis, Ministry of Labour
  • John Vander Doelen, Ministry of Labour
  • Richard Burton, Ministry of Labour
  • Ayumi Bailly, Ministry of Labour
  • Ana Matos-Clark, Ministry of Labour
  • Ameer Subhan, Ministry of Labour
  • Don Embuldeniya, Ministry of Labour
  • Rene Hepburn, Ministry of Labour
  • Jules-Arntz-Gray, Ministry of Labour
  • Paul Andre, Ministry of Labour
  • Lella Conte, Workplace Safety & Insurance Board
  • Janet Murphy, Workplace Safety & Insurance Board

Regrets:

  • Patrick Dillon, Provincial Building and Construction Trades Council of Ontario

1. Welcome

The chair welcomed members and opened the meeting.

2. April 16, 2015 Meeting Notes

Members approved the February 26, 2015 meeting notes.

3. By The Numbers WSIB Statistical Support

The Director of Analytics, Workplace Safety and Insurance Board (WSIB), provided an overview of the By The Numbers: WSIB Statistical Report and online tool. The Director highlighted new features of the latest version of the tool, the availability of the data to the public, and how to navigate the website.

A member noted that noise-induced hearing loss in construction could be an area for future consideration in the report. Members asked about abandoned and denied claims, and the WSIB Director explained that the By The Numbers: WSIB Statistical Reports do not include this information. The CPO requested that additional information on worker injuries be shared so that WSIB and MOL can work together to build a risk profile for workers.

Action Item: The WSIB to share additional worker injury information with Prevention Office during upcoming data meetings.

The Director of Analytics took the opportunity to clarify that data on new workers is not currently part of the By The Numbers tool. The Director also explained that information is available on the return to work timeline for injured workers; however, data is not available on length of employment after return.

4. Annual Report

The acting Director of the Strategy and Integration Branch outlined the development process for the second system-wide annual report, including overview of timelines, proposed content outline and key data, as well as next steps. Members were invited to provide feedback on the structure and process for this upcoming report. The CPO also noted that Market Metrics Project material would be included in the 2015 report.

5. Occupational Health and Safety Prevention and Innovation Program (OHSPIP) Initiatives and Health and Safety Association (HSA) Business Planning

A) 2016-17 OHSPIP: Proposed Program Modifications

The acting Director of the Strategy and Integration Branch provided an overview of the program, which was recently launched and concluded its first open call. Members took the opportunity to discuss the purpose of the program, as well as options for program enhancements and modifications, and expressed additional interest in the themes of the OHSPIP program. Council also engaged in a discussion on the implementation of the program and evaluation of applications. Members requested program results to be brought back at a future meeting for Council review. They clarified that program results would be brought back to Council for review.

Action Item: Prevention Office to provide Council with the top themes for the OHSPIP program.

Action Item: Prevention Office to bring forward as a future agenda item results of the OHSPIP for Council review.

B) Advisory Options for Prevention Initiatives

The acting Director of the Strategy and Integration Branch provided an overview of governance options for the OHSPIP advisory panel, and invited Members to explore the proposals and provide advice on next steps for the advisory panel. The CPO also clarified that the ministry will be accepting applications to serve on the advisory panel as well as nominations of potential candidates.

Action Item: Prevention Office to investigate a hybrid of term lengths in structuring the advisory group.

C) HSA Business Planning Process for 2016-17

The acting Director of the Strategy and Integration Branch provided a brief overview of HSA Business planning and upcoming phases. The acting Director also outlined proposed changes to the annual process, including strengthening support for ministry priorities.

6. Developments in Training and Safety Programs/Update on Joint Health and Safety Committee (JHSC) Certification

The Manager of the Health and Safety Program Administration and Certification Unit reviewed stakeholder feedback to date regarding the JHSC Certification Part 2 model and outlined the corresponding proposed implementation plan. The Manager also took the opportunity to review progress to date related to review and approval of Working at Heights (WAH) training programs and trainers and quality control protocols during the assessment stage.

Some Members recommended that field assessments be required for all employers to ensure the quality of training programs. Members also raised concerns about a single approach for assessing all employers. Discussion highlighted the success of programs, such as Common Core, and the need to avoid administrative burdens and using resources to target underperformers and high risk areas. In addition, a Member noted concerns around the JHSC Certification timelines and modifications to its administrative framework. The CPO noted that timeline and administration are under review to allow for the most strategic implementation.

Action Item: Prevention Office to bring forward at a future meeting a Council discussion on the JHSC Certification in advance of the next scheduled Council meeting in September 2015.

7. Occupational Health Clinics For Ontario Workers (OHCOW): Eastern Ontario Clinic Proposal

The CPO briefly highlighted a business case submitted by OHCOW to establish a new clinic in Eastern Ontario. Members briefly reviewed the proposal, including the sharing of administrative resources with an existing clinic and data demonstrating the need for a clinic in this area.

Imprimer  Imprimer cette page

Réunion de conseil de la prévention : 11 juin 2015

  • Dernière mise à jour : septembre 2016

Membres du conseil du la prévention présents :

  • Colin Grieve, Hamilton Professional Firefighters Association, section locale 288 IAFF
  • Graeme Norval, département de génie chimique, Université de Toronto
  • Mike Oxley, DuPont Canada
  • Roy Slack, Cementation Canada
  • Derek Johnstone, Travailleurs et travailleuses unis de l’alimentation et du commerce Canada
  • Nancy Hutchison, Fédération du travail de l’Ontario
  • Linda Vannucci, Health & Safety Legal Clinic
  • Dawn Tattle, Anchor Shoring & Caissons Ltd.
  • Susanna Zagar, Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l'assurance contre les accidents du travail

Autres :

  • George Gritziotis, ministère du Travail
  • John Vander Doelen, ministère du Travail
  • Richard Burton, ministère du Travail
  • Ayumi Bailly, ministère du Travail
  • Ana Matos-Clark, ministère du Travail
  • Ameer Subhan, ministère du Travail
  • Don Embuldeniya, ministère du Travail
  • Rene Hepburn, ministère du Travail
  • Jules-Arntz-Gray, ministère du Travail
  • Paul Andre, ministère du Travail
  • Lella Conte, Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l’assurance contre les accidents du travail
  • Janet Murphy, Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l’assurance contre les accidents du travail

Absents :

  • Patrick Dillon, Conseil des métiers de la construction de l’Ontario

1. Mot de bienvenue

Le président souhaite la bienvenue aux membres et ouvre la réunion.

2. Procès-verbal de la réunion du 16 avril 2015

Le procès-verbal de la réunion du 16 avril 2015 est adopté.

3. Les chiffres : rapport statistique (CSPAAT)

La directrice, Méthodes analytiques, Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l’assurance contre les accidents du travail (CSPAAT), livre un aperçu de Les chiffres : Rapport statistique de la CSPAAT et de l’outil en ligne. Elle présente les nouvelles caractéristiques de la plus récente version de l’outil et parle de la disponibilité des données pour le public ainsi que de la navigation dans le site Web.

Un membre indique que la perte auditive due au bruit dans le milieu de travail pourrait être un élément à inclure ultérieurement dans le rapport. Des membres s’informent des réclamations abandonnées et refusées. La directrice de la CSPAAT explique que Les chiffres : Rapport statistique de la CSPAAT n’inclut pas cette information. Le DGP demande qu’un complément d’information sur les blessures au travail soit communiqué afin que la CSPAAT et le ministère du Travail puissent élaborer ensemble un profil de risque pour les travailleurs.

Mesure à prendre : La CSPAAT transmettra au Bureau de la prévention un complément d’information sur les blessures au travail à l’occasion des prochaines réunions sur les données.

La directrice, Méthodes analytiques, profite de l’occasion pour préciser que les données sur les nouveaux travailleurs ne font pas actuellement partie de l’outil Les chiffres. Elle explique aussi que bien que de l’information sur le calendrier de retour au travail des travailleurs blessés existe, il n’y a pas de données disponibles sur la durée de l’emploi après le retour.

4. Rapport annuel

Le directeur intérimaire, Stratégies et intégration, expose le processus d’élaboration du deuxième rapport annuel pour tout le système. Il donne un aperçu du calendrier, du contenu proposé ainsi que des données clés et décrit les prochaines étapes. Les membres sont invités à commenter la structure et le processus du prochain rapport. Le DGP indique également que l’information du Projet d’évaluation du marché sera incluse dans le rapport de 2015.

5. Initiatives du programme de prévention et d'innovation pour la santé et la sécurité au travail (PPISST) et planification opérationnelle des associations de santé et de sécurité

A) PPISST 2016-2017 : Propositions de modifications au programme

Le directeur intérimaire, Stratégies et intégration, livre un aperçu du programme, mis en place récemment et qui a procédé à son premier appel ouvert. Les membres en profitent pour discuter de l’objet du programme, ainsi que des pistes d’améliorations et de modifications, et se disent aussi intéressés par les thèmes du PPISST. Le Conseil discute également de la mise en œuvre du programme et de l’évaluation des demandes. Les membres demandent que les résultats du programme soient présentés à une réunion ultérieure, afin que le Conseil puisse les étudier. Il est précisé que les résultats du programme vont être soumis au Conseil.

Mesure à prendre : Le Bureau de la prévention communiquera au Conseil les principaux thèmes pour le PPISST.

Mesure à prendre : Le Bureau de la prévention inclura les résultats du PPISST à un prochain ordre du jour, pour examen du Conseil.

B) Options en matière de consultation pour les initiatives de prévention

Le directeur intérimaire, Stratégies et intégration, livre un aperçu des options de gestion pour le comité consultatif du PPISST et invite les membres à étudier les propositions et à commenter les prochaines étapes pour le groupe consultatif. Le DGP précise que le ministère recevra les demandes de participation au comité consultatif ainsi que les mises en candidature.

Mesure à prendre : Le Bureau de la prévention étudiera une combinaison de durées de mandat dans la structure du comité consultatif.

C) Planification opérationnelle des ASS pour 2016-2017

Le directeur intérimaire, Stratégies et intégration, livre un aperçu de la planification opérationnelle des ASS et des prochaines phases. Il présente aussi les changements proposés pour le processus annuel, notamment un soutien accru aux priorités ministérielles.

6. Développements dans les programmes de formation et de sécurité/le point sur l'agrément des membres des comités mixtes de santé et de sécurité au travail (CMSST)

Le gestionnaire de l’Unité de l’administration et de l’agrément en matière de santé et de sécurité passe en revue les avis reçus à ce jour des parties intéressées au sujet du modèle de la partie 2 de la formation à l’agrément pour les membres des CMSST et expose le projet de plan de mise en œuvre correspondant. Il profite aussi de l’occasion pour revoir les progrès accomplis à ce jour dans l’examen et l’approbation des programmes de formation sur le travail en hauteur, des formateurs et des protocoles de contrôle de la qualité à l’étape de l’évaluation.

Des membres recommandent que des évaluations sur le terrain soient exigées de tous les employeurs afin de garantir la qualité des programmes de formation. Des membres ont aussi exprimé des réserves au sujet d’une approche unique pour l’évaluation de tous les employeurs. Une discussion s’ensuit sur la réussite des programmes, comme le Tronc commun, et la nécessité d’éviter d’imposer des fardeaux administratifs et d’utiliser des ressources dans des secteurs à faible rendement et à risque élevé. Un membre exprime des préoccupations au sujet du calendrier d’agrément des membres des CMSST et des modifications à son cadre administratif. Le DGP indique que le calendrier et l’administration sont à l’étude, afin que la mise en œuvre soit le plus stratégique possible.

Mesure à prendre : Le Bureau de la prévention proposera une discussion sur le processus d’agrément des membres des CMSST à une prochaine réunion du Conseil, avant la réunion du Conseil prévue pour septembre 2015.

7. Centre de santé des travailleurs et travailleuses de l'Ontario : projet d'un centre de santé dans l'est de l'Ontario

Le DGP expose brièvement un dossier d’analyse relatif à l’établissement d’un nouveau centre dans l’est de l’Ontario, présenté par le Centre de santé des travailleurs et travailleuses de l’Ontario. Les membres examinent brièvement la proposition, qui prévoit notamment le partage de ressources administratives avec un centre existant et inclut des données démontrant la nécessité d’établir un centre dans cette région.