Print  Print This Page

Prevention Council Meeting: February 13, 2013

  • Issued: February 2013
  • Content last reviewed: February 2013

PREVENTION COUNCIL MEMBERS PRESENT:

  • Colin Grieve, Ontario Professional Firefighters Association
  • Bryan Neath, United Food & Commercial Workers of Canada
  • Graeme Norval, Department of Chemical Engineering, University of Toronto
  • Linda Vannuci, Health & Safety Legal Clinic
  • Mike Oxley, DuPont Canada Company
  • Nancy Hutchison, Ontario Federation of Labour
  • Roy Slack, Cementation Canada
  • Susanna Zagar, Workplace Safety & Insurance Board
  • Patrick Dillon, Provincial Building & Construction Trades Council of Ontario

OTHER:

  • George Gritziotis, Ministry of Labour
  • John VanderDoelen, Ministry of Labour
  • Brian Lewis, Ministry of Labour
  • Cordelia Clarke Julien, Ministry of Labour
  • Ana Matos-Clark, Ministry of Labour
  • Jessica Harper, Ministry of Labour

PREVENTION COUNCIL MEMBERS REGRETS:

  • John Sauger, Bruce Power
  • Gloria Rajkumar, SIMAC

1. OPENING REMARKS

The Chair welcomed the Prevention Council Members to their third meeting. The Chair informed Prevention Council Members that John VanderDoelen will on an interim basis take on the position of Director for Stakeholder and Partner Relations at the Prevention Office.

Newly appointed Minister of Labour, Yasir Naqvi, briefly attended the meeting to meet the Prevention Council Members. He expressed interest in working with the Council and appreciation for their dedication in helping improve occupational health and safety across Ontario.

2. MEETING NOTES

The December 4, 2012 meeting notes were approved. Prevention Council Members requested that the meeting notes be made available shortly after each meeting, and that materials for upcoming meetings be made available to members at least seven days prior to the subsequent meeting.

3. PREVENTION COUNCIL COMMUNICATION SUPPORT

Prevention Council was provided draft communication materials to be used by members to support their efforts in engaging stakeholders and increasing the involvement of the workplace partners in our occupational health and safety efforts.

Council Members were presented with a revised Prevention Council brochure that incorporated their feedback from the December 4 meeting. It was noted that the brochure will be printed on cardstock and 250 copies would be mailed to each member for their use. Some members indicated the need for additional copies, along with a final electronic version of the brochure.

Action Item: Prevention Council Members to communicate required numbers of copies of the brochure to the Prevention Office by February 20, 2013.

Action Item: Prevention Office to mail the brochures to all members and provide them with an electronic copy.

Action Item: Prevention Council Members to provide final approval of the speaking points to the Prevention Office by February 20, 2013.

Prevention Council Members were also presented with draft speaking points and a PowerPoint presentation that they may wish to use to engage their stakeholders. Members expressed their gratitude and interest in using this presentation when communicating with internal and external stakeholders. Some members indicated the need to balance the message of acknowledging the current fiscal realities, but at the same time highlighting the importance of expanding the OHS system’s capacity to meet future needs.

Chief Prevention Officer noted that the Occupational Health and Safety Strategy will go beyond the Dean Report and the PowerPoint presentation will be updated once the strategy is finalized. Prevention Council Members requested that an update of the Dean Panel recommendations be included in the presentation, and that a final and/or closing statement be included in the presentation.

Action Item: Prevention Council Members to provide any additional feedback to the Prevention Office by February 20, 2013.

Action Item: Prevention Office to revise the PowerPoint presentation, including an update on the dean recommendations. The revised presentation will be distributed to the Prevention Council.

4. UPDATE ON PROPOSED STRATEGY AND PREVENTION REVIEW CONSULTATION APPROACH

The Chief Prevention Officer invited members to attend the consultation sessions and asked for their feedback and suggestions regarding future consultation processes. The Chief Prevention Officer also indicated that the Prevention Office is currently developing a stakeholder engagement strategy that will standardize processes and map out consultations for the following year.

Prevention Council Members were provided with an updated stakeholder invitation list. The Chief Prevention Officer also encouraged members to reach out to their stakeholders through invitations to Greater Toronto Area and regional consultation sessions. It was also noted that the Prevention Office will be consulting with MOL inspectors and ministry-wide staff.

Action Item: Prevention Office to provide Prevention Council Members with an updated list of sessions throughout the province, particularly in Eastern Region.

5. INTEGRATED OCCUPATIONAL HEALTH AND SAFETY STRATEGY DEVELOPMENT

Prevention Council Members were reminded of the various consultation products:

  1. A draft discussion/consultation paper, which incorporated their feedback from the previous meeting. This paper is intended for an audience with a strong familiarity and interest in occupation health and safety. The plan is to post it on the MOL website.
  2. In addition, the Chief Prevention Officer indicated that elements of the consultation paper will be integrated into MOL’s annual Safe At Work Ontario (SAWO) PowerPoint deck to be used for the ministry’s enforcement strategy. This was done to leverage these annual stakeholder consultations.
  3. Prevention Council Members were provided with a brief plain language outreach document, which is based on the Consultation Paper and is aimed at a broader audience, most notably small businesses and vulnerable workers.

It was noted that all these consultations will occur over 60 days at minimum, and that social media (e.g., twitter) may be utilized to reach out to youth and vulnerable workers. The Chief Prevention Officer indicated that the ministry will also be consulting with the Small Business and Vulnerable Workers Task Groups.

Action Item: Prevention Council Members to provide final feedback on the Consultation Paper and the plain language document by Friday, February 15, 2013.

Action item: Prevention Office to provide members with a schematic on consultations lead by the Prevention Office over the next several months.

6. PREVENTION PROGRAM REVIEW

As a follow up from the previous Prevention Council meeting, members were provided with an updated PowerPoint presentation outlining the approach being taken to review the prevention components of current WSIB programs and any other prevention programs. The Prevention Office will establish a Prevention Program Review Group (PPRG) to provide advice on the review and development of future prevention programs. A key deliverable of the group will include a prevention program Options Paper for consultation, which will outline design and program principles. It was noted that the Prevention Office will be reviewing timelines for all stages of the review.

Action item: Prevention Council Members to submit PPRG nominees to the Prevention Office by Tuesday, February 19, 2013.

7. TRAINING AND SAFETY PROGRAMS

The Prevention Office has been working on the creation and implementation of training standards that will apply to training requirements of the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA). Prevention Council Members were provided with a PowerPoint presentation outlining updates related to the various training standards and safety programs. Prevention Council Members were also provided with a list of members sitting on the Working at Heights Working Group.

Some members voiced concerns with sharing Joint Health and Safety Committee (JHSC) information with MOL. It was noted that there is no requirement to share a JHSC report with MOL; however, under OHSA, MOL Inspectors can request JHSC information during a routine inspection.

8. RENEWING OH&S RESEARCH - FEBRUARY 14 RESEARCH DAY

The Prevention Office discussed their upcoming Research Day. The objective of this event is to obtain Ontario health and safety system partners’ views about the future of research in order to strengthen the alignment of research with the ministry’s prevention priorities and mandate. Members requested that future meetings be brought to their attention well in advance, allowing them to reach out to their networks to attend.

Action item: Prevention Council Members to submit PPRG nominees to the Prevention Office by Tuesday, February 19, 2013.

9. OTHER BUSINESS - FOR DISCUSSION

Prevention Council Members approved the MOL Prevention Council website with no further changes.

Prevention Council Members were presented with a letter from the Business Council on Occupational Health and Safety (BCOHS), which requested clarification on “who is a supervisor.” It was noted that the MOL is currently reviewing this issue and will need to develop some resource materials.

Action item: Prevention Office to include the definition of “who is a supervisor” issue on the agenda of the next Prevention council meeting for their discussion and feedback.

Imprimer  Imprimer cette page

Réunion de conseil de la prévention : 13 février 2013

  • Diffusion : février 2013
  • Dernière mise à jour : mai 2013

MEMBRES DU CONSEIL DE LA PRÉVENTION PRÉSENTS :

  • Colin Grieve, Ontario Professional Firefighters Association
  • Bryan Neath, Union internationale des travailleurs et travailleuses unis de l’alimentation et du commerce - Canada
  • Graeme Norval, département du génie chimique, Université de Toronto
  • Linda Vannuci, Health & Safety Legal Clinic
  • Mike Oxley, DuPont Canada Company
  • Nancy Hutchison, Fédération du travail de l’Ontario
  • Roy Slack, Cementation Canada
  • Susanna Zagar, Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l'assurance contre les accidents du travail
  • Patrick Dillon, Conseil des métiers de l’Ontario

AUTRES :

  • George Gritziotis, ministère du Travail
  • Cordelia Clarke Julien, ministère du Travail
  • Brian Lewis, ministère du Travail
  • John VanderDoelen, ministère du Travail
  • Ana Matos-Clark, ministère du Travail
  • Jessica Harper, ministère du Travail

MEMBRES ABSENT :

  • John Sauger, Bruce Power
  • Gloria Rajkumar, SIMAC

1. MOT D’OUVERTURE

Le président souhaite la bienvenue aux membres du Conseil de la prévention à la troisième réunion. Il les avise que John VanderDoelen occupera, à titre intérimaire, le poste de directeur des relations avec les intervenants et les partenaires au Bureau de la prévention.

Le nouveau ministre du Travail, Yasir Naqvi, assiste à la réunion pendant quelques minutes pour rencontrer les membres du Conseil de la prévention. Il exprime son désir de collaborer avec le Conseil et remercie les membres pour leur détermination à améliorer la santé et la sécurité au travail partout en Ontario.

2. PROCÈS-VERBAL DE LA RÉUNION

Le procès-verbal de la réunion du 4 décembre 2012 est adopté. Les membres demandent que le procès-verbal soit distribué rapidement après chaque réunion. Ils souhaitent également avoir accès à la documentation pour les prochaines réunions au moins sept jours à l’avance.

3. SOUTIEN AUX COMMUNICATIONS DU CONSEIL DE LA PRÉVENTION

On remet au Conseil de la prévention des documents de communication provisoires que les membres utiliseront dans leurs efforts pour mettre à contribution les intervenants et accroître la participation des partenaires du milieu de travail aux démarches liées à la santé et à la sécurité au travail.

On présente aux membres la version révisée de la brochure sur le Conseil de la prévention, qui tient compte des commentaires formulés à la réunion du 4 décembre. On signale que la brochure sera imprimée sur du papier cartonné et que 250 exemplaires seront envoyés par la poste à chaque membre pour leur propre usage. Des membres disent avoir besoin d’un plus grand nombre d’exemplaires ainsi que de la version électronique définitive de la brochure.

Mesure à prendre : Les membres du Conseil de la prévention communiqueront d’ici le 20 février 2013 au Bureau de la prévention le nombre d’exemplaires de la brochure dont ils ont besoin.

Mesure à prendre : Le Bureau de la prévention enverra les brochures par la poste à tous les membres et leur fournira la version électronique.

Mesure à prendre : Les membres du Conseil de la prévention donneront au Bureau de la prévention d’ici le 20 février 2013 leur approbation finale pour les points à faire valoir.

Par ailleurs, on présente aux membres la version provisoire des points à faire valoir et une présentation en PowerPoint qu’ils pourraient utiliser pour solliciter la participation des intervenants. Les membres expriment leurs remerciements et leur désir d’utiliser la présentation pour leurs communications avec les intervenants tant internes qu’externes. Des membres soulignent qu’il faut trouver un équilibre de manière à montrer qu’on est conscient des difficultés financières actuelles, mais qu’il demeure important d’accroître la capacité du système de santé et sécurité au travail afin de répondre aux besoins à venir.

Le directeur général de la prévention signale que la stratégie sur la santé et la sécurité au travail ira au-delà du rapport Dean et que la présentation en PowerPoint sera mise à jour une fois que la stratégie sera prête. Les membres du Conseil demandent que les recommandations à jour du comité consultatif Dean soient incluses dans la présentation, avec des conclusions ou des observations finales.

Mesure à prendre : Les membres du Conseil de la prévention feront plus de commentaires au Bureau de la prévention d’ici le 20 février 2013.

Mesure à prendre : Le Bureau de la prévention révisera la présentation en PowerPoint, en tenant compte notamment des recommandations du rapport Dean. La version révisée sera distribuée aux membres du Conseil de la prévention.

4. LE POINT SUR LA STRATÉGIE PROPOSÉE ET APPROCHE POUR LES CONSULTATIONS SUR L’EXAMEN DES PROGRAMMES DE PRÉVENTION

Le directeur général de la prévention invite les membres à participer aux séances de consultation et demande des commentaires et suggestions concernant les futurs processus de consultation. Il ajoute que le Bureau de la prévention est en train de mettre au point une stratégie sur l’engagement des intervenants qui servira à normaliser les processus et à planifier les consultations pour l’année à venir.

Les membres du Conseil de la prévention reçoivent une liste d’invitation des intervenants à jour. Le directeur général de la prévention encourage les membres à inviter leurs intervenants pour les consultations dans le Grand Toronto et les consultations régionales. À signaler que le Bureau de la prévention consultera les inspecteurs du ministère du Travail et le personnel de l’ensemble du ministère.

Mesure à prendre : Le Bureau de la prévention fournira aux membres une liste à jour des séances pour toute la province, en particulier la région de l’Est.

5. ÉLABORATION DE LA STRATÉGIE INTÉGRÉE

On rappelle aux membres qu’il existe différents produits de consultation :

  1. une ébauche de document de travail, qui tient compte des commentaires qu’ils ont faits à la réunion précédente, qui s’adresse à des personnes qui connaissent bien la santé et la sécurité au travail et s’y intéressent de près et qui sera affiché dans le site Web du ministère du Travail;
  2. la présentation en PowerPoint du ministère du Travail sur l’initiative annuelle Sécurité au travail Ontario devant servir à la stratégie d’exécution du ministère et à laquelle seront intégrés des éléments du document de travail, comme l’a signalé le directeur général de la prévention; elle viendra appuyer les consultations annuelles auprès des intervenants;
  3. un bref document de promotion dans un langage simple qui est basé sur le document de travail et qui s’adresse à un public plus vaste, notamment les petites entreprises et les travailleurs vulnérables.

On précise que toutes les consultations seront d’une durée minimale de 60 jours et que des médias sociaux (comme Twitter) pourront être utilisés pour atteindre les jeunes et les travailleurs vulnérables. Le directeur général de la prévention ajoute que le ministère consultera également les groupes de travail sur les petites entreprises et les travailleurs vulnérables.

Mesure à prendre : Les membres doivent faire part de leurs commentaires définitifs sur le document de travail et le document dans un langage simple d’ici le vendredi 15 février 2013.

Mesure à prendre : Le Bureau de la prévention fournira aux membres un schéma sur les consultations menées par lui durant les prochains mois.

6. EXAMEN DES PROGRAMMES DE PRÉVENTION

À la suite de la dernière réunion du Conseil, les membres reçoivent une présentation en PowerPoint expliquant l’approche adoptée pour examiner les volets de prévention des programmes actuels de la CSPAAT et des autres programmes de prévention. Le Bureau de la prévention créera un groupe d’examen des programmes de prévention qui aura pour mandat de donner des conseils sur l’examen et l’élaboration de futurs programmes de prévention et, en particulier, de présenter un document sur les options relatives aux programmes de prévention pour les besoins des consultations. Ce document indiquera la forme que prendront les programmes et les principes sur lesquels ils seront basés. On signale que le Bureau de la prévention prendra connaissance du calendrier pour toutes les étapes de l’examen.

Mesure à prendre : Les membres du Conseil de la prévention proposeront des candidats pour le nouveau groupe d’examen au Bureau de la prévention d’ici le mardi 19 février 2013.

7. FORMATION ET PROGRAMMES DE SÉCURITÉ

Le Bureau de la prévention a entrepris de créer et de mettre en œuvre des normes de formation pour les exigences de formation prévues par la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail. Les membres assistent à une présentation en PowerPoint qui explique les mises à jour faites aux divers programmes de sécurité et normes de formation. Ils reçoivent également la liste des membres qui composent le Groupe d'élaboration des normes relatives au programme de formation pour le travail en hauteur.

Des membres trouvent que les comités mixtes en santé et sécurité ne devraient pas communiquer d’information au ministère du Travail. Quelqu’un signale qu’il n’est pas obligatoire de transmettre au ministère les rapports de ces comités, mais que, en vertu de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, les inspecteurs du ministère du Travail peuvent demander des renseignements à un comité dans le cadre d’une inspection ordinaire.

8. RENOUVELLEMENT DES RECHERCHES EN MATIÈRE DE SANTÉ ET SÉCURITÉ AU TRAVAIL – LE 14 FÉVRIER, JOUR DE LA RECHERCHE

Le Bureau de la prévention parle du jour de la recherche, qui approche. L’objectif de cette journée est de recueillir l’opinion des partenaires du système de santé et sécurité de l’Ontario sur les futures recherches de manière à mieux aligner la recherche sur les priorités et le mandat du ministère en matière de prévention. Les membres demandent à ce que les prochaines réunions leur soient annoncées longtemps à l’avance pour qu’ils puissent inciter les personnes faisant partie de leur réseau à y assister.

Mesure à prendre : Le Bureau de la prévention fera un compte rendu des résultats du jour de la recherche et tiendra les membres au courant des progrès relatifs au dossier sur la recherche.

9. DIVERS

Les membres du Conseil approuvent le site Web du ministère du Travail pour le Conseil de la prévention sans y apporter aucun autre changement.

Les membres prennent connaissance d’une lettre émanant du Business Council on Occupational Health and Safety (BCOHS), qui demande des précisions sur ce qui fait qu’une personne est considérée comme un superviseur. On signale que le ministère du Travail se penche actuellement sur la question et qu’il devra élaborer de la documentation à ce sujet.

Mesure à prendre : Le Bureau de la prévention présentera une définition de superviseur à la prochaine réunion du Conseil de la prévention pour que les membres en discutent et fassent des commentaires.