Print  Print This Page

Prevention Council Meeting: December 4, 2014

  • Issued: December 2014
  • Content last reviewed: February 2015

Prevention council members present:

  • Colin Grieve, Ontario Professional Firefighters Association
  • Graeme Norval, Department of Chemical Engineering, University of Toronto
  • Mike Oxley, DuPont Canada Company
  • Patrick Dillon, Provincial Building & Construction Trades Council of Ontario
  • Roy Slack, Cementation Canada
  • Derek Johnstone, United Food and Commercial Workers Canada
  • David Musyj, Windsor Regional Hospital
  • Nancy Hutchison, Ontario Federation of Labour

Other:

  • George Gritziotis, Ministry of Labour
  • John Vander Doelen, Ministry of Labour
  • Brian Lewis, Ministry of Labour
  • Cordelia Clarke Julien, Ministry of Labour
  • Ayumi Bailly, Ministry of Labour
  • Ana Matos Clark, Ministry of Labour
  • Ameer Subhan, Ministry of Labour
  • Richard Prial, Ministry of Labour
  • John O’Grady, Prism Economics and Analysis
  • Fernando Traficante, Prism Economics and Analysis
  • Andy Potter, Deloitte
  • John Sibley, Deloitte

Prevention council members regrets:

  • Linda Vannucci, Health & Safety Legal Clinic
  • Dawn Tattle, Anchor Shoring & Caissons Ltd.
  • Susanna Zagar, Workplace Safety & Insurance Board

1. Welcome

The chair welcomed members and opened the meeting.

2. Prevention Council Chair and Alternate Chair Elections

Members elected Colin Grieve as Chair and Graeme Norval as Alternate Chair by acclamation.

3. September 11, 2014 Meeting Notes

Members approved the September 11, 2014 meeting notes.

4. OHS Market Assessment and Service Delivery

(A) Market Metrics Project

The Chief Prevention Officer (CPO) spoke about the purpose and brief history for the Market Metrics Project, highlighting the need for a better understanding of the occupational health and safety (OHS) marketplace, its needs, and system partner service delivery.

John O’Grady, Prism Economics and Analysis, presented a summary of results from the Market Metrics study. The study aims to estimate what health and safety, and prevention services are delivered and to whom; identify and estimate the gaps in types of prevention services and their delivery; and consider why those gaps appear to exist. Highlights of surveys of employers and workers, as well as other research were presented.

Members took the opportunity to discuss the preliminary findings of the study, as well as implications of findings for managing the prevention system. One of the key findings was a clear need for strengthening the Internal Responsibility System (IRS) in many provincial workplaces. The multiple sources of Prevention services were highlighted, with the market coverage of the Health and Safety Associations (HSAs) put in context to the other supports available to workplace parties. Members commented on the need to focus on health and safety outcomes in the workplace.

(B) Report on the Collaborative Service Delivery

The CPO introduced the report and noted that it was developed with close collaboration with the HSAs. It was further noted that the results had been shared with the HSAs whose responses ranged from potential interest to outright opposition. Andy Potter and John Sibley provided an overview of the Collaborative Service Delivery Project completed by Deloitte, including the project background, delivery models, and findings. Deloitte described potential collaborative service delivery models across a number of functional domains to help identify opportunities for further collaboration across the HSAs.

Members discussed ideas for how HSAs could be transformed to more effectively develop occupational health and safety (OHS) products and services adapted to suit the needs of their particular client base. In addition, Members also commented on organizational and governance structures that could potentially either help or hinder efficiencies and service delivery in the OHS system. Members also raised concern over the competition among the HSAs and how it can shift focus away from health and safety outcomes. Further, Members highlighted that cost savings from collaborative service delivery be re-invested into the OHS system, and that funding for the system should accurately reflect the ongoing needs and demands of the OHS market. The CPO clarified that savings would translate into investment into the areas identified as in greatest need and where gaps exist in the OHS system. Further, Council Members emphasized that service delivery must safeguard against and be responsive to workplace fatalities, and must recognize the change in demographics and industry over the years They also noted that current successes should be shared among HSAs and other system partners for shared learning and to realize better service delivery, highlighting positive effects of collaboration over competition.

Action Item: Prevention Council requested that the Prevention Office further review this work and to consider alternative delivery approaches, and to report back to the Council options for alternative service delivery approaches.

5. Designation Standards

The CPO briefly updated members on the development and roll-out of proposed new standards for designated entities. Highlights of the key changes being proposed to current designation standards were covered and Members reviewed the proposed new standards. In addition, the CPO conveyed initial feedback from the Health and Safety Associations and identified areas that were well received and those where work remains to address concerns.

6. Construction Action Plan

John Vander Doelen, MOL, offered an overview of the work underway in support of the Construction Action Plan, along with the context and proposed process of the Action Plan development. Highlights from a recent stakeholder workshop for identification of priority actions within the construction sector were also presented. Members took the opportunity to discuss initial themes and topics that emerged from the stakeholder workshop. The CPO noted the need to consider feedback against data so that the Action Plan addresses areas of greatest need as supported by evidence.

7. Risk Assessment Project

Richard Prial, MOL, provided an overview of the Risk Assessment Project, which was established to enable the identification and prioritization of the risks to health and safety in workplaces on a sector by sector basis. Results of the first two risk assessment workshops for the underground mining and the low-rise residential construction industries were also presented.

A discussion took place on how the OHS delivery system can apply the insights from the risk assessment workshops to inform system strategy, reduce injury and illness, and improve system performance. Discussions also touched on how risk assessments can support better decision-making by workplace parties. Members noted value in highlighting intrinsic hazards in risk assessments. They also acknowledged the need for balance when assessing risks/hazards with respect to actions by employers and workers, with a Member noting that risk assessment should account for the different rights and responsibilities of workplace parties.

8. Leading Indicators Update

Brian Lewis, MOL, reviewed the project undertaken in collaboration with the Institute for Work and Health and the Centre for Spatial Economics. The result was an OHS outlook for Ontario from 2014 to 2026 of injury rates by sector driven largely by employment projections. Results for the Safe Workplace Associations and ministry programs were provided based on sector-specific information. The conclusion was that the composition of employment and injuries had shifted significantly over the past 10 years, and is likely to continue to change in the future, while resources in the OHS system have likely not shifted to meet these changes.

9. Training and Safety Programs

Cordelia Clarke Julien, MOL, presented an overview of key developments related to training programs. An update on the Working at Heights (WAH) standards included proposed next steps and key dates, recent consultations and proposed regulatory amendments. The update on Joint Health and Safety Committee (JHSC) certification training standards included updates on key next steps and proposed dates, a review of part one and two JHSC certification training, and an overview of the JHSC implementation focus groups underway. Members took the opportunity to clarify timelines and the process related to JHSC certification. They also noted that standards represent minimum training requirements for workplace parties who are encouraged to surpass these standards and champion health and safety.

Action Item: Prevention Office to provide Council members with supporting materials when the Working at Heights Training Standard is released.

10. Mandatory Entry Level Construction (MELC) Training Standards

John Vander Doelen, MOL, updated Members about the progress to date on the MELC training standards, including project milestones and process undertaken to develop the standards, proposed timelines for consultation and next steps beyond. Members took the opportunity to discuss the proposed next steps, considered a phased-in approach for the standards, and discussed the value of lessons learned from Coroner’s Jury Recommendations in helping to inform training standards in construction and other sectors.

11. Written Information Updates

Members clarified several points related to recent occupational health and safety injury and illness data.

12. Other Business

A Member took the opportunity to clarify information related to recent Coroner’s Jury Report analysis, and expressed interest in additional breakdowns of data for shift workers.

Imprimer  Imprimer cette page

Réunion de conseil de la prévention : 4 décembre 2014

  • Diffusion : décembre 2014
  • Dernière mise à jour : février 2015

Membres du conseil de la prévention présents :

  • Colin Grieve, Ontario Professional Firefighters Association
  • Graeme Norval, département du génie chimique, Université de Toronto
  • Mike Oxley, société DuPont Canada
  • Patrick Dillon, Conseil des métiers de l'Ontario
  • Roy Slack, Cementation Canada
  • Derek Johnstone, Travailleurs et travailleuses unis de l’alimentation et du commerce Canada
  • David Musyj, Hôpital régional de Windsor
  • Nancy Hutchison, Fédération du travail de l’Ontario

Excusés :

  • Linda Vannucci, Health & Safety Legal Clinic
  • Dawn Tattle, Anchor Shoring & Caissons Ltd.
  • Susanna Zagar, Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l'assurance contre les accidents du travail

Autres :

  • George Gritziotis, ministère du Travail
  • John Vander Doelen, ministère du Travail
  • Brian Lewis, ministère du Travail
  • Cordelia Clarke Julien, ministère du Travail
  • Ayumi Bailly, ministère du Travail
  • Ana Matos Clark, ministère du Travail
  • Ameer Subhan, ministère du Travail
  • Richard Prial, ministère du Travail
  • John O’Grady, Prism Economics and Analysis
  • Fernando Traficante, Prism Economics and Analysis
  • Andy Potter, Deloitte
  • John Sibley, Deloitte

1. Mot d’ouverture

Le président ouvre la réunion et souhaite la bienvenue aux membres.

2. Élection du président et du président suppléant du Conseil de la prévention

Les membres élisent par acclamation Colin Grieve à titre de président et Graeme Norval à titre de président suppléant.

3. Procès-verbal de la réunion du 11 septembre 2014

Le procès-verbal de la réunion du 11 septembre 2014 est adopté par les membres.

4. Évaluation du marché relativement à la SST et prestation de services

A) Projet d’évaluation du marché

Le directeur général de la prévention prend la parole. Il précise l’objectif et fait un bref survol du projet d’évaluation du marché relativement à la santé et sécurité au travail (SST) en soulignant la nécessité d’avoir une meilleure compréhension du marché relativement à la SST, de ses besoins et de la prestation de services des partenaires du système.

John O’Grady, de Prism Economics and Analysis, présente un sommaire des conclusions tirées de l’étude sur l’évaluation du marché. Le but de cette étude est de déterminer quels sont les services fournis en santé et sécurité et en prévention et à qui ils sont fournis; de relever et d’évaluer les écarts existant entre les types de services de prévention et leur prestation; d’analyser pourquoi il semble y avoir ces écarts. On présente les points saillants de sondages effectués auprès d’employeurs et de travailleurs de même qu’une autre recherche.

Les membres profitent de l’occasion pour discuter des conclusions préliminaires de l’étude, de même que des répercussions de ces conclusions sur la gestion du système de prévention. L’une des constatations clés est qu’il est manifestement nécessaire de renforcer le Système de responsabilité interne (SRI) dans un grand nombre de lieux de travail de la province. On souligne les multiples sources de services de prévention avec une mise en contexte du champ d'application du marché des six associations de santé et de sécurité (ASS) en regard des autres ressources accessibles pour les parties au travail. Les membres font part de leurs commentaires sur le besoin de se pencher sur les résultats en matière de santé et sécurité dans le lieu du travail.

B) Rapport sur la prestation concertée de services

Le directeur général de la prévention présente le rapport et mentionne qu’il a été rédigé en étroite collaboration avec les ASS. Il fait également savoir que les conclusions ont été communiquées aux ASS et que leurs réactions allaient de l’intérêt possible à une opposition catégorique. Andy Potter et John Sibley font un bref survol du projet de prestation concertée de services élaboré par Deloitte, notamment du contexte du projet, des modèles de prestation et des conclusions. Deloitte décrit les modèles possibles de prestation concertée de services dans un grand nombre de domaines fonctionnels afin d’aider à dégager des occasions de collaboration future entre les ASS.

Les membres émettent des idées sur la façon de transformer les ASS pour pouvoir élaborer plus efficacement des produits et des services de santé et de sécurité au travail (SST) adaptés pour répondre aux besoins de leur clientèle en particulier. En outre, les membres émettent des commentaires sur les structures organisationnelles et de gouvernance susceptibles d’aider ou de nuire à la réalisation d’économies et à la prestation de services dans le système de SST. Les membres soulèvent également des inquiétudes en regard de la concurrence entre les ASS et de la façon dont elle peut amener à délaisser l’attention accordée aux résultats en matière de santé et sécurité. De plus, les membres proposent que les économies de coût générées par la prestation concertée de services soient réinvesties dans le système de SST et soulignent que le financement du système devrait refléter fidèlement les besoins actuels et les demandes du marché relativement à la SST. Le directeur général de la prévention explique que les économies se traduiront par un investissement dans les secteurs désignés comme ayant les plus grands besoins et où des lacunes existent dans le système de SST. De plus, les membres du Conseil insistent sur le fait que la prestation de services doit comporter des mesures de protection contre les décès sur les lieux de travail et tenir compte de ces décès et qu’elle doit reconnaître les changements d’ordre démographique et industriel au fil des ans. Ils mentionnent également qu’il faudrait faire connaître les réalisations actuelles aux ASS et aux autres partenaires du système afin d’assurer un apprentissage partagé et une prestation de services améliorée, mettant en lumière les effets positifs de la collaboration par rapport à la concurrence.

Mesure à prendre : Le Conseil de la prévention demande que le Bureau de la prévention examine ce document plus en profondeur et envisage des modes de prestation différents, et qu’il présente au Conseil des options relatives à d’autres modes de prestation de services.

5. Normes relatives à la désignation

Le directeur général de la prévention fait une brève mise au point aux membres sur l’élaboration et la mise en application des nouvelles normes proposées pour les entités désignées. La mise au point porte les modifications clés proposées aux normes actuelles relatives à la désignation et les membres passent en revue les nouvelles normes proposées. De plus, le directeur général de la prévention transmet les premières observations émises par les associations de santé et de sécurité et précise les points qui ont été bien reçus et ceux qui nécessitent plus de travail en vue de répondre aux préoccupations.

6. Plan d’action sur la construction

John Vander Doelen, du ministère du Travail, offre une vue d’ensemble des travaux en cours en appui au Plan d’action sur la construction, de même que le contexte et le processus proposé d’élaboration du plan d’action. Il présente également les faits saillants d’un atelier d’intervenants chargé de déterminer les actions prioritaires dans le secteur de la construction qui a eu lieu récemment. Les membres profitent de l’occasion pour discuter des thèmes et sujets initiaux qui découlent de l’atelier des intervenants. Le directeur général de la prévention mentionne le besoin d’examiner les observations en fonction des données afin que le Plan d’action cible les secteurs présentant les plus grands besoins comme en témoignent les données fournies.

7. Projet d’évaluation des risques

Richard Prial, du ministère du Travail, donne un aperçu du Projet d’évaluation des risques qui a été mis en place pour faciliter la détermination et l’établissement du niveau de priorité des risques pour la santé et la sécurité dans les milieux de travail en fonction de chaque secteur. Les conclusions des deux premiers ateliers sur l’évaluation des risques, pour les secteurs de l’exploitation minière souterraine et de la construction résidentielle de faible hauteur, sont également présentées.

Une discussion s’engage sur la façon dont le système de prestation de SST peut appliquer les indications obtenues dans le cadre des ateliers sur l’évaluation des risques pour contribuer à une stratégie à l’échelle du système, réduire les blessures et les maladies professionnelles et améliorer le rendement du système. Les discussions portent également sur la façon dont les évaluations des risques sont en mesure d’appuyer une meilleure prise de décision par les parties du lieu de travail. Les membres notent l’utilité de mettre en évidence les dangers intrinsèques dans les évaluations de risques. Ils reconnaissent également la nécessité d’un équilibre au moment d’évaluer les risques et les dangers en regard des mesures prises par les employeurs et les travailleurs. Un membre mentionne qu’une évaluation des risques devrait tenir compte des différents droits et responsabilités des parties du lieu de travail.

8. Le point sur les indicateurs avancés

Brian Lewis, du ministère du Travail, passe en revue le projet entrepris en collaboration avec l’Institut de recherche sur le travail et la santé et le Centre for Spatial Economics. Le résultat obtenu est un aperçu de la SST pour l’Ontario quant aux taux de blessures par secteur de 2014 à 2026 dictés en grande partie par des projections sur l’emploi. Les résultats fournis pour les associations pour la sécurité au travail et les programmes ministériels sont fondés sur des données spécifiques à chaque secteur. La conclusion est que la composition de l’emploi et des blessures a changé de façon importante au cours des dix dernières années, et ce changement se poursuivra probablement à l’avenir, alors que les ressources intégrées dans le système de SST n’ont pas subi les mêmes variations afin de faire face à ces changements.

9. Programmes de formation et sécurité

Cordelia Clarke Julien, du ministère du Travail, présente un survol des développements clés afférents aux programmes de formation. Une mise à jour sur les normes relatives au travail en hauteur comprend les prochaines étapes proposées et les dates importantes, des consultations tenues récemment et les propositions de modifications réglementaires. La mise à jour sur les normes relatives à la formation à l’agrément des membres des comités mixtes de santé et de sécurité au travail (CMSST) comprend des mises à jour sur les prochaines étapes clés et les dates proposées, un examen des parties un et deux de la formation à l’agrément des membres du CMSST, et un aperçu des groupes de discussion en cours sur la mise en œuvre. Les membres profitent de l’occasion pour préciser le calendrier et le processus afférent à l’agrément des membres du CMSST. Ils font également observer que les normes représentent des exigences minimales pour les parties du lieu de travail qui sont encouragées à surpasser ces normes et à être les défenseurs de la santé et la sécurité.

Mesure à prendre : Le Bureau de la prévention fournira aux membres du Conseil les documents pertinents lorsque la Norme relative au programme de formation pour le travail en hauteur sera publiée.

10. Normes de formation obligatoire de niveau débutant à l'intention des travailleurs de la construction

John Vander Doelen, du ministère du Travail, fournit aux membres une mise à jour sur les progrès réalisés en regard des Normes de formation obligatoire de niveau débutant à l'intention des travailleurs de la construction, notamment les jalons du projet et le processus entrepris en vue de l’élaboration des normes, le calendrier proposé pour les consultations et les prochaines étapes. Les membres profitent de l’occasion pour discuter des prochaines étapes proposées, prennent en considération une mise en œuvre graduelle des normes et discutent de l’utilité des leçons tirées des recommandations du jury du coroner qui contribuent à documenter les normes relatives à la formation dans le secteur de la construction et d’autres secteurs.

11. Mises à jour sur l’information écrite

Les membres précisent plusieurs points relatifs aux données récentes de santé et sécurité au travail sur les blessures et les maladies professionnelles.

12. Autres points

Un membre profite de l’occasion pour préciser les renseignements afférents à une analyse récente du rapport du jury du coroner et faire part de son intérêt à avoir une ventilation supplémentaire des données pour les travailleurs de quarts.