Print  Print This Page

Prevention Council Meeting: December 4, 2012

  • Issued: December 2012
  • Content last reviewed: December 2012

PREVENTION COUNCIL MEMBERS PRESENT:

  • Colin Grieve, Ontario Professional Firefighters Association
  • Bryan Neath, United Food & Commercial Workers of Canada
  • Gloria Rajkumar, SIMAC
  • Graeme Norval, Department of Chemical Engineering, University of Toronto
  • Linda Vannuci, Health & Safety Legal Clinic
  • Mike Oxley, DuPont Canada Company
  • Nancy Hutchison, Ontario Federation of Labour
  • Roy Slack, Cementation Canada
  • Susanna Zagar, Workplace Safety & Insurance Board
  • John Sauger, Bruce Power (via teleconference)

OTHER:

  • George Gritziotis, Ministry of Labour
  • David Zurawel, Ministry of Labour
  • Brian Lewis, Ministry of Labour
  • Cordelia Clarke Julien, Ministry of Labour
  • Ana Matos-Clark, Ministry of Labour

PREVENTION COUNCIL MEMBERS REGRETS:

  • Patrick Dillon, Provincial Building & Construction Trades Council of Ontario

1. WELCOME AND MEETING NOTES

The Chief Prevention Officer welcomed the Prevention Council Members to their second meeting and received unanimous approval on the September 28, 2012 Meeting Notes.

Prevention Council Members agreed to forward any agenda items for discussion at future meetings to the Prevention Office. It was also noted that the Prevention Office will work with the Communications Branch at the Ministry of Labour to develop a Prevention Council web portal on the ministry’s website. Moving forward, Prevention Council Members will agree on materials to be posted on the Prevention Council web portal.

Minister Linda Jeffrey attended and expressed her appreciation to members for their dedication in helping improve health and safety across Ontario.

2. CHAIR SELECTION

The Prevention Council selected Colin Grieve, Occupational Disease Worker Advocate, Hamilton and Ontario Professional Firefighters Association, as its first Prevention Council Chair. The Council also selected Graeme Norval, Associate Chair and Undergraduate Coordinator, Department of Chemical Engineering, University of Toronto, as Prevention Council Alternate Chair. Both terms will be held for a one-year period.

3. PREVENTION COUNCIL: OPERATING FRAMEWORK AND CONFIDENTIALITY AGREEMENT

Prevention Council Members were presented with a draft Prevention Council Operating Framework at the September 24, 2012 meeting. The Prevention Council provided feedback and agreed to minor amendments to the Operating Framework and Confidentiality Agreement. Specifically, under the Decision Making the phrase “…with thoughtfulness and urgency” was added to describe the Prevention Council’s approach to consensus decision-making.

Prevention Council also agreed to post the Operating Framework and Confidentiality Agreement on the Ministry of Labour’s website.

Action Item: The Prevention Office to make minor amendments to the Prevention Council Operating Framework and Confidentiality Agreement and also post on the Ministry of Labour’s website.

4. STAKEHOLDER ENGAGEMENT

The Chief Prevention Officer highlighted the importance of Prevention Council Members engaging a broad range of stakeholders. Prevention Council Members communicated the need to strengthen and create new relationships, allowing them to provide comprehensive advice to the Chief Prevention Officer. It was noted that the Prevention Office will provide support to Prevention Council Members when reaching out to their stakeholders. Prevention Council Members approved the media messaging and stakeholder engagement letter that was provided to them for review on October 20, 2012. Prevention Council Members suggested changes to the Prevention Council brochure, which included replacing language in the brochure with preferred language in the Operating Framework and removing content which members deemed to be unnecessary (a version with track-changes will be provided).

Action Item: The Prevention Office to revise the Prevention Council Brochure and resubmit for Prevention Council approval.

Action Item: Prevention Office staff to provide Prevention Council Members with materials for use when interacting with their stakeholders.

5. INTEGRATED STRATEGY DEVELOPMENT PROCESS

The Prevention Council Members were presented with an integrated strategy development process which outlined the ministry’s current activities, an overview of proposed strategic priorities and a proposed consultation approach. Accompanying this, Prevention Council Members were also provided with a draft discussion paper to inform the Occupational Health and Safety Strategy. The Chief Prevention Officer communicated the need to reach out to small business, vulnerable workers and those who do not have attachments to the OHS system.

Action Item: Prevention Office to provide Prevention Council Members with materials illustrating the health and safety system in Ontario and an overview of Deloitte’s Analysis (to be discussed with Prevention Council Members during teleconferences scheduled on December 7 and 10, 2012).

Action item: Prevention Council Members to provide feedback on the draft discussion paper to inform the Occupational Health and Safety Strategy to the Prevention Office by December 14, 2012 and to be discussed further at the next meeting.

6. PROGRAM REVIEW

Prevention Council Members were provided with draft prevention Program Review Framework illustrating a review of province-wide prevention programs which includes, but is not limited to: Safety Groups Program (SGP), Workwell, and Safe Communities Incentive Program (SCIP). Consultations will be held prior to approvals and implementation. In addition, consultations on transition programs, OHS standards, new integrated programs and accreditation will occur. A Prevention Program Review Group (PPRG) comprised of labour, industry, MOL, and WSIB will be established to advise on the review.

Action item: Prevention Council Members to provide feedback on the Program Review, specifically, Stream A, B, C and D to the Prevention Office by December 14, 2012.

7. STANDARDS

Prevention Council Members were provided with an update on the creation and implementation of training standards that will apply to training required by the Occupational Health and Safety Act and its regulations. Prevention Office staff provided an update on the High-Hazard Working Group that has been providing advice on the Expert Advisory Panel recommendations over the last year. The Chief Prevention Officer communicated the need to reach out to those workers in high-hazard occupations. Prevention Council Members were also given an overview of the province-wide OHS training standards, which include, JHSC Certification Training Program Standard, Training Provider Standard, Working from Heights Training Program Standard, and Mandatory Entry Level Training for Construction (MELT) Training Program Standard.

Action Item: Prevention Council Members to provide feedback on Training Standards to the Prevention Office by December 14, 2012.

8. MEETING DATES

Prevention Council Members and Chief Prevention Officer confirmed upcoming Prevention Council Meeting dates for 2013.

Imprimer  Imprimer cette page

Réunion de conseil de la prévention : 28 septembre 2012

  • Diffusion : décembre 2012
  • Dernière mise à jour : décembre 2012

MEMBRES DU CONSEIL DE LA PRÉVENTION PRÉSENTS :

  • Colin Grieve, Ontario Professional Firefighters Association
  • Bryan Neath, Union internationale des travailleurs et travailleuses unis de l’alimentation et du commerce - Canada
  • Gloria Rajkumar, SIMAC
  • Graeme Norval, département du génie chimique, Université de Toronto
  • Linda Vannuci, Health & Safety Legal Clinic
  • Mike Oxley, DuPont Canada Company
  • Nancy Hutchison, Fédération du travail de l’Ontario
  • Roy Slack, Cementation Canada
  • Susanna Zagar, Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l'assurance contre les accidents du travail
  • John Sauger, Bruce Power

AUTRES :

  • George Gritziotis, ministère du Travail
  • David Zurawel, ministère du Travail
  • Brian Lewis, ministère du Travail
  • John VanderDoelen, ministère du Travail
  • Ana Matos-Clark, ministère du Travail

MEMBRE ABSENT :

  • Patrick Dillon, Conseil des métiers de l’Ontario

1. ACCUEIL ET PROCÈS-VERBAL DE LA RÉUNION

Le directeur général de la prévention ouvre la deuxième réunion des membres du Conseil de la prévention et recueille l’approbation unanime du procès-verbal de la réunion du 28 septembre 2012.

Les membres du Conseil de la prévention conviennent de dorénavant faire parvenir au Bureau de la prévention les points à mettre à l’ordre du jour des réunions. Il est également convenu que le Bureau de la prévention collaborera avec la Direction des communications du ministère du Travail pour élaborer un portail Web pour le Conseil, sur le site Web du Ministère. Les membres du Conseil de la prévention conviendront ensemble du matériel à afficher sur le site.

La ministre Linda Jeffrey est présente et remercie les membres de s’engager dans l’amélioration de la santé et de la sécurité au travail de l’Ontario.

2. CHOIX DU PRÉSIDENT

Le Conseil de la prévention choisit son premier président, Colin Grieve, représentant des travailleurs en maladies professionnelles, Professional Firefighters Association d’Hamilton et de l’Ontario. Le conseil élit aussi Graeme Norval, doyen associé et coordonnateur des programmes de premier cycle, département du génie chimique, Université de Toronto, comme président suppléant. Les deux titulaires sont nommés pour une période d’un an.

3. CONSEIL DE LA PRÉVENTION — CADRE DE FONCTIONNEMENT ET ENTENTE DE CONFIDENTIALITÉ

À la réunion du 24 septembre 2012, on avait présenté aux membres du Conseil de la prévention une ébauche de cadre du fonctionnement du Conseil. Les membres du Conseil formulent leurs commentaires et conviennent de modifications mineures à apporter au cadre de fonctionnement et à l’entente de confidentialité. Plus particulièrement, on ajoute la mention « …with thoughtfulness and urgency » à la section portant sur la prise de décision pour bien indiquer que la prise de décisions se fera par consensus.

Les membres du Conseil de la prévention conviennent aussi d’afficher le cadre de fonctionnement et l’entente de confidentialité sur le site Web du ministère du Travail.

Mesure à prendre : le Bureau de la prévention apportera les modifications mineures convenues au cadre de fonctionnement et à l’entente de confidentialité qu’il affichera sur le site web du ministère du Travail.

4. PARTICIPATION DES INTERVENANTS

Le directeur général de la prévention souligne l’importance de la sollicitation d’un large éventail d’intervenants par les membres du Conseil. Les membres expriment le besoin de renforcer les relations existantes et d’en créer de nouvelles, pour parvenir à formuler des conseils éclairés au directeur général de la prévention. On indique que le Bureau de la prévention appuiera les membres du Conseil de la prévention dans leurs communications avec les intervenants. Les membres du Conseil approuvent la lettre de sollicitation des intervenants et de communications aux médias qui a été soumise à leur examen le 20 octobre 2012. Ils proposent des modifications à la brochure sur le Conseil de la prévention, notamment le fait de remplacer langue par langue préférée dans le cadre de fonctionnement et d’enlever une partie du contenu qu’ils estiment inutile (une version avec suivi des modifications sera produite).

Mesure à prendre : le Bureau de la prévention reverra la brochure sur le Conseil de la prévention et la soumettra de nouveau à l’approbation des membres.

Mesure à prendre : le personnel du Bureau de la prévention fournira aux membres du Conseil de la prévention du matériel à utiliser pour leurs communications avec les intervenants.

5. ÉLABORATION DE LA STRATÉGIE INTÉGRÉE

On présente aux membres du Conseil des modalités d’élaboration de la stratégie intégrée qui donnent un aperçu des activités courantes du Ministère, des priorités stratégiques proposées et qui contiennent une ébauche d’approche de consultation. On leur remet également une ébauche de document de travail servant à constituer la stratégie sur la santé et la sécurité au travail. Le directeur général de la prévente mentionne la nécessité de tenir compte des petites entreprises, des travailleurs vulnérables et de ceux qui ne sont pas liés au système de santé et sécurité au travail (SST).

Mesure à prendre : le Bureau de la prévention fournira aux membres du Conseil de la prévention du matériel expliquant le système ontarien de la santé et sécurité au travail et un résumé d’une analyse de Deloitte (que les membres du Conseil examineront lors d’une téléconférence qui aura lieu les 7 et 10 décembre 2012).

Mesure à prendre : les membres du conseil de la prévention formuleront des commentaires sur l’ébauche du document de travail servant à constituer la stratégie sur la santé et la sécurité au travail qu’ils présenteront au Bureau de la prévention au plus tard le 14 décembre 2012, lesquels seront examinés lors de la réunion qui suivra.

6. EXAMEN DE PROGRAMMES

On remet aux membres du Conseil de la prévention une ébauche de cadre d’examen des programmes de prévention de la province, soit entre autres, le Programme Groupes de sécurité, Sécurité avant tout, et le Programme d’encouragement à la sécurité dans les collectivités (PESC). Des consultations se tiendront avant leur approbation et leur mise en œuvre. De plus, des consultations se tiendront sur les programmes de transition, les normes de santé et sécurité au travail, les nouveaux programmes intégrés et la reconnaissance professionnelle. Il est prévu de constituer un groupe d’examen des programmes de prévention composé de représentants du travail, de l’industrie, du ministère du Travail, et de la CSPAAT; le groupe formulera des recommandations sur l’examen.

Mesure à prendre : les membres du Conseil de la prévention doivent formuler des commentaires sur l’examen des programmes, et plus particulièrement sur les volets A, B, C et D et les remettre au Bureau de la prévention au plus tard le 14 décembre 2012.

7. NORMES

On remet aux membres du Conseil de la prévention une mise à jour sur la création et la mise en œuvre de normes de formation qui s’appliqueront en vertu de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et son règlement. Le personnel du Bureau de la prévention présente une mise à jour du groupe de travail sur les occupations à grands risques (High-Hazard Working Group) qui a fourni des conseils sur les recommandations du comité consultatif d’experts au cours de la dernière année. Le directeur général de la prévention mentionne la nécessité de tenir compte des travailleurs qui occupent des emplois à grands risques. On présente également aux membres du Conseil de la prévention un aperçu des normes de formation en santé et sécurité dans l’ensemble de la province, lesquelles incluent les normes du programme de formation menant à l’agrément des membres de comités mixtes en santé et sécurité, les normes s’appliquant aux fournisseurs de formation, les normes du programme de formation pour le travail en hauteur et les normes du programme de formation de débutants obligatoire pour les travailleurs de la construction.

Mesure à prendre : les membres du Conseil doivent remettre leurs commentaires au Bureau de la prévention au plus tard le 14 décembre 2012.

8. DATES DES RÉUNIONS

Les membres du Conseil de la prévention et le directeur général de la prévention conviennent des dates de réunion du Conseil de 2013.