Print  Print This Page

Prevention Council Meeting: April 11, 2013

  • Issued: April 2013
  • Content last reviewed: April 2013

PREVENTION COUNCIL MEMBERS PRESENT:

  • Colin Grieve, Ontario Professional Firefighters Association
  • Bryan Neath, United Food & Commercial Workers of Canada
  • Graeme Norval, Department of Chemical Engineering, University of Toronto
  • Linda Vannuci, Health & Safety Legal Clinic
  • Mike Oxley, DuPont Canada Company
  • Nancy Hutchison, Ontario Federation of Labour
  • Roy Slack, Cementation Canada
  • Susanna Zagar, Workplace Safety & Insurance Board
  • Patrick Dillon, Provincial Building & Construction Trades Council of Ontario
  • Gloria Rajkumar, SIMAC

OTHER:

  • George Gritziotis, Ministry of Labour
  • John VanderDoelen, Ministry of Labour
  • Brian Lewis, Ministry of Labour
  • Cordelia Clarke Julien, Ministry of Labour
  • Alex Alwin, Ministry of Labour
  • Jessica Harper, Ministry of Labour

1. OPENING REMARKS

The Chair, Alternate-Chair and Chief Prevention Officer (CPO) welcomed the Prevention Council (PC) members to their fourth meeting. The Alternate-Chair was asked to chair the meeting.

2. MEETING NOTES

The February 13, 2013 meeting notes were approved.

3. CHAIR SELECTION PROCESS - FUTURE

Members discussed the process for selecting a Prevention Council Chair in the future. Alternative language was proposed and approved by the members, which would limit the respective re-appointments of the Chair and Alternate-Chair to maximums of two one-year terms.

Council Members were presented with a revised Prevention Council brochure that incorporated their feedback from the December 4 meeting. It was noted that the brochure will be printed on cardstock and 250 copies would be mailed to each member for their use. Some members indicated the need for additional copies, along with a final electronic version of the brochure.

4. INTEGRATED OCCUPATIONAL HEALTH AND SAFETY STRATEGY DEVELOPMENT

Prevention Council was updated on the development of the integrated occupational health and safety (OHS) strategy. Feedback on the consultation papers has been coming in, and is expected to continue until May 17, 2013. Consultation sessions held to date have been a success and several more are scheduled over the next month. PC Members were invited to attend any of the upcoming consultation sessions. The Prevention Office is attempting to reach out to stakeholders who have not been engaged with the ministry in the past. Two members of the Prevention Council who are professional engineers expressed an interest in engaging Professional Engineers Ontario (PEO) to raise awareness about the integrated occupational health and safety strategy.

Prevention Council was updated on the development of the integrated occupational health and safety (OHS) strategy. Feedback on the consultation papers has been coming in, and is expected to continue until May 17, 2013. Consultation sessions held to date have been a success and several more are scheduled over the next month. PC Members were invited to attend any of the upcoming consultation sessions. The Prevention Office is attempting to reach out to stakeholders who have not been engaged with the ministry in the past. Two members of the Prevention Council who are professional engineers expressed an interest in engaging Professional Engineers Ontario (PEO) to raise awareness about the integrated occupational health and safety strategy.

Action Item: Prevention Office to provide PC Members with information regarding the upcoming Partners in Prevention Conference and Trade Show.

Action Item: Prevention Office to provide PC Members with list of opportunities to attend upcoming consultation sessions across the province.

Action Item: The two PEO members of the Prevention Council will consider ways to engage the PEO, and the Prevention Office will support them as needed.

5. OHS RESEARCH PRINCIPLES AND PRIORITIES

Prevention Council Members were invited to provide advice about future principles, policies and priorities related to oversight and funding of occupational health and safety (OHS) research by the Prevention Office. PC Members were largely supportive of the principles, policies and priorities tabled by the Prevention Office, with a number of suggestions for improved language around these. PC Members agreed that there should be transparency about the types of OHS research funded, availability of OHS research to the public, cross-jurisdictional sharing of information and post-research evaluations to ensure application of OHS knowledge.

Members indicated that they would benefit from hearing about what types of OHS research were funded in the past by the WSIB, and whether/how any of those findings have been implemented to the benefit of workplace health and safety. Members requested additional background information about past OHS research principles, experience of the Research Advisory Council and lessons learned by the WSIB in order to provide constructive feedback about proposed future OHS research principles and priorities.

Members were updated about the Prevention Office holding a ‘Research Day’ in February 2013, and that a report is under development.

Action Item: Prevention Office to provide members with information on research projects and resources devoted to research, and share information about the interim Prevention Office transition structure in place for current OHS research call.

Action item: Prevention Office to forward the OHS ‘Research Day’ report to members.

Action item: Prevention Office to bring forward as an agenda item at the next PC meeting a discussion about the design and scope of a research program once members have a chance to review background materials.

6. JOINT HEALTH AND SAFETY COMMITTEE CERTIFICATION TRAINING STANDARD UPDATE

Prevention Council was updated about key developments related to a new Joint Health and Safety Committee (JHSC) Certification Training Standard, including review of key changes in the new standard, preparations underway to launch the new standard in the near future, and future consultations about its implementation. Members took the opportunity to ask questions and provide comments on the recent developments and next steps related to the JHSC standard, as well as other safety training in small workplaces, in the construction sector and Health and Safety Representative training.

7. WORKING AT HEIGHTS TRAINING PROGRAM STANDARD UPDATE

Prevention Office has been working on a training program standard that will set out the requirements that must be met by working at heights training programs in order to be approved for delivery to Ontario workers. Members were updated on developments related to work on the draft standard by the cross-industry development group, planned future public consultations on the standard, and the need for future regulatory support. Members took the opportunity to ask questions and provide comments about identifying and tracking new workplace hazards, about training providers, training content and quality, as well as modern and accessible training delivery methods. PC Members also indicated interest in the consultation process going forward, including discussions about appropriate length of time for training.

8. TRAINING AND SAFETY PROGRAMS UPDATE

Prevention Council Members were updated about a number of training and safety program developments. These include the successful migration of JHSC certified member training program administration to the Ministry of Labour (MOL); a recent Infrastructure Ontario procurement pilot; development and consultation about awareness training programs, resources and consultations. Members took the opportunity to ask questions and provide comments about these developments, including those related to evaluating health and safety performance during procurement.

Action item: Once beta version of e-learning module for worker and supervisor awareness training is ready, Prevention Council Members will be invited to participate in pilot testing of the e-modules.

9. PREVENTION PROGRAM REVIEW

Prevention Council Members were provided with a status update of the Prevention Program Review Group (PPRG) work, Terms of Reference, review timelines and meetings-to-date. Current and proposed PPRG membership was reviewed and discussed, and planned consultations were mentioned.

10. VULNERABLE WORKERS TASK GROUP AND SMALL BUSINESS TASK GROUP UPDATES

Prevention Council Members were updated about progress to date relating to the two Task Groups, including their inaugural and future meetings. It was noted that the Vulnerable Workers Task Group will be reviewing the recent Law Commission report on Vulnerable Workers and Precarious Work. Members also indicated interest in attending future Task Group and other MOL advisory body meetings.

Action item: Prevention Office to provide members with a list of upcoming dates and locations on monthly basis of Task Group meetings, other relevant health and safety events; and to report back on potential for attending other MOL advisory body meetings (Section 21 Committees).

11. DEFINITION OF SUPERVISOR

MOL is currently preparing guidance material that would assist in determining “Who is considered a ‘supervisor’ for the purposes of the Occupational Health and Safety Act.” Members were provided with background information, including stakeholder requests for additional clarity regarding this issue, and were updated about future consultations with stakeholders about the guidance material. It was communicated that the guidance material, once developed with stakeholder input, will be shared as an information item at the next Prevention Council meeting or shortly thereafter.

12. OTHER BUSINESS – FOR DISCUSSION

The Chief Prevention Officer (CPO) raised additional business items. The CPO communicated that John Sauger had stepped down as a member of the Prevention Council. The CPO indicated that a new employer representative would be selected according to the formal Public Appointments Process, and both existing and new applications for this position would be considered.

In addition, the CPO spoke about the upcoming Day of Mourning, asked members about their participation in related commemorative events, and offered to assist the members in preparing resources and announcements regarding the Day of Mourning. Members noted an interest in developing a Prevention Council message for the Day of Mourning that could be posted on the website. Members also indicated that related speaking points would be useful.

Action item: Prevention Office to coordinate PC Member feedback regarding the proposed Day of Mourning message from the Prevention Council, and to provide related speaking points to members for their use.

PC Members also raised the need to stay informed about recent OHS data related to worker injuries, illnesses and fatalities, as well as OHS enforcement in Ontario. Several members indicated that in the past, WSIB Board of Directors meetings opened with a review of prevention and injury data. Members expressed keen interest in reviewing similar data at the beginning of future Prevention Council meetings, though noted that time lags may be a factor. The CPO communicated that the Prevention Office is currently building its data capacity, but will work within the Ministry and with the WSIB to provide members with available OHS data.

Action item: Prevention Office to provide a review of workplace injury and operational activities at the next PC meeting.

Imprimer  Imprimer cette page

Réunion de conseil de la prévention : 11 avril 2013

  • Diffusion : avril 2013
  • Dernière mise à jour : avril 2013

MEMBRES DU CONSEIL DE LA PRÉVENTION PRÉSENTS :

  • Colin Grieve, Ontario Professional Firefighters Association
  • Bryan Neath, Union internationale des travailleurs et travailleuses unis de l’alimentation et du commerce - Canada
  • Graeme Norval, département du génie chimique, Université de Toronto
  • Linda Vannuci, Health & Safety Legal Clinic
  • Mike Oxley, DuPont Canada Company
  • Nancy Hutchison, Fédération du travail de l’Ontario
  • Roy Slack, Cementation Canada
  • Susanna Zagar, Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l'assurance contre les accidents du travail
  • Patrick Dillon, Conseil des métiers de l’Ontario
  • Gloria Rajkumar, SIMAC

AUTRES :

  • George Gritziotis, ministère du Travail
  • Cordelia Clarke Julien, ministère du Travail
  • Brian Lewis, ministère du Travail
  • John VanderDoelen, ministère du Travail
  • Alex Alwin, ministère du Travail
  • Jessica Harper, ministère du Travail

1. MOT D’OUVERTURE

Le président, le président suppléant et le directeur général de la prévention (DGP) souhaitent la bienvenue à tous les membres à cette quatrième réunion du Conseil de la prévention (CP). Le président suppléant présidera la réunion.

2. PROCÈS-VERBAL DE LA RÉUNION

Le procès-verbal de la réunion du 13 février 2013 est adopté.

3. PROCESSUS DE SÉLECTION DE LA PRÉSIDENCE POUR L’AVENIR

Les membres discutent du processus de sélection du président ou de la présidente du CP pour l’avenir. Les membres proposent et approuvent l’adoption d’une clause qui restreindrait les mandats successifs à la présidence et à la suppléance de la présidence à deux mandats d’une année chacun.

4. ÉLABORATION DE LA STRATÉGIE INTÉGRÉE EN MATIÈRE DE SANTÉ ET SÉCURITÉ AU TRAVAIL

On a informé le CP de l’évolution de l’élaboration de la stratégie provinciale intégrée en matière de santé et sécurité au travail (SST). On a commencé à recevoir des commentaires sur les documents de consultation, et s’attend à en recevoir jusqu’au 17 mai 2013. Jusqu’à présent, les séances de consultation se sont révélé une réussite, et plusieurs autres auront lieu au cours du mois prochain. On invite les membres du CP à prendre part à l’une ou l’autre des prochaines séances de consultation. Le Bureau de la prévention désire établir un dialogue avec les intervenants et intervenantes qui n’ont pas collaboré avec le ministère par le passé. Deux membres du CP, des ingénieurs, aimeraient encourager la participation de l’Ordre des ingénieurs de l’Ontario (OIO) pour faire connaître la stratégie provinciale intégrée.

On a informé le CP de l’évolution de l’élaboration de la stratégie provinciale intégrée en matière de santé et sécurité au travail (SST). On a commencé à recevoir des commentaires sur les documents de consultation, et s’attend à en recevoir jusqu’au 17 mai 2013. Jusqu’à présent, les séances de consultation se sont révélé une réussite, et plusieurs autres auront lieu au cours du mois prochain. On invite les membres du CP à prendre part à l’une ou l’autre des prochaines séances de consultation. Le Bureau de la prévention désire établir un dialogue avec les intervenants et intervenantes qui n’ont pas collaboré avec le ministère par le passé. Deux membres du CP, des ingénieurs, aimeraient encourager la participation de l’Ordre des ingénieurs de l’Ontario (OIO) pour faire connaître la stratégie provinciale intégrée.

Mesure à prendre : Le Bureau de la prévention fournira aux membres du CP les renseignements concernant la Conférence régionale et le Salon professionnel des partenaires en prévention qui aura lieu prochainement.

Mesure à prendre : Le Bureau de la prévention fournira aux membres du CP la liste des prochaines séances de consultation dans la province auxquelles ils pourront participer.

Mesure à prendre : Les deux membres du CP, qui sont également membres de l’OIO, se pencheront sur la façon de favoriser la participation de ce dernier. Le Bureau de la prévention leur offrira le soutien nécessaire.

5. PRINCIPES ET PRIORITÉS DE LA RECHERCHE EN SST

On demande aux membres du CP de fournir leurs conseils au sujet des principes, politiques et priorités futurs, relativement à la surveillance et au financement de la recherche en SST. La grande majorité des membres du CP a approuvé les principes, politiques et priorités présentés par le Bureau de la prévention, et a apporté quelques suggestions sur la formulation en vue de les améliorer. Les membres du CP conviennent de la nécessité de faire preuve de transparence dans le type de recherche en SST à privilégier, de rendre accessibles les recherches au public, de partager avec tous les paliers gouvernementaux l’information recueillie, et de mener des évaluations post-recherche afin d’assurer l’application des connaissances en SST.

Les membres indiquent qu’il leur serait profitable de connaître le type de recherche en SST qui a reçu du financement du CSPAAT, ainsi que la manière dont les recommandations finales, le cas échéant, ont été mises en œuvre afin de favoriser la santé et la sécurité dans les lieux de travail. Les membres demandent des renseignements supplémentaires sur les principes de recherche en SST, l’expérience du Conseil consultatif de la recherche et les leçons tirées par la CSPAAT, en vue de formuler une rétroaction constructive au sujet des propositions futures sur les priorités de recherche en SST.

On informe les membres de la tenue, en février 2013, d’une journée de recherche organisée par le Bureau de la prévention, et de la préparation en cours d’un rapport.

Mesure à prendre : Le Bureau de la prévention transmettra aux membres l’information concernant les projets et les ressources de recherche, ainsi que l’information au sujet de la structure de transition du Bureau de la prévention, mise en place pour assurer la prise de décision sur la recherche en santé et sécurité durant l’intérim.

Mesure à prendre : Le Bureau de la prévention transmettra aux membres le rapport sur la journée de recherche en SST.

Mesure à prendre : Maintenant que les membres peuvent revoir la documentation, le Bureau de la prévention soumettra un nouveau point à inclure à l’ordre du jour de la prochaine réunion du CP : la portée et la structure d’un programme de recherche.

6. MISE À JOUR AU SUJET DES NORMES DU PROGRAMME DE FORMATION À L’AGRÉMENT DES COMITÉS MIXTES SUR LA SANTÉ ET LA SÉCURITÉ

On informe le CP des progrès majeurs concernant un nouveau programme de formation à l’agrément des membres de comités mixtes sur la santé et la sécurité (CMSS), notamment les principales modifications apportées aux normes, les mesures entreprises pour lancer les nouvelles normes à court terme, et les consultations à venir au sujet de sa mise en œuvre. Les membres profitent de l’occasion pour poser des questions et apporter des commentaires sur les progrès récents et les prochaines étapes concernant les normes du programme de formation à l’agrément des CMSS, de même que d’autres formations en sécurité dans les petits lieux de travail et dans le secteur de la construction, ainsi que la formation des délégués à la santé et à la sécurité.

7. MISE À JOUR AU SUJET DES NORMES DU PROGRAMME DE FORMATION POUR LE TRAVAIL EN HAUTEUR

Le Bureau de la prévention a mis au point des normes pour les programmes de formation qui définissent les critères à respecter dans les programmes de formation sur le travail en hauteur, en vue de recevoir l’approbation de formation pour les travailleurs et travailleuses de l’Ontario. On informe les membres sur l’avancement des travaux d’ébauche des normes par les groupes de perfectionnement plurisectoriels, qui organisent les consultations publiques futures sur les normes et évaluent les besoins de soutien relativement à la réglementation. Les membres profitent de l’occasion pour poser des questions et apporter leurs commentaires sur les moyens de cibler et de surveiller de nouveaux risques sur les lieux de travail, les prestataires de formation, le contenu et la qualité de la formation, de même que la modernité et l’accessibilité des méthodes de prestation de la formation. Les membres du CP se montrent intéressés par les progrès du processus consultatif, et discutent entre autres de la durée appropriée de la formation.

8. MISE À JOUR AU SUJET DE PROGRAMMES DE FORMATION ET DE SÉCURITÉ

On informe les membres du CP sur certains progrès concernant des programmes de formation et de sécurité. Ces progrès comprennent : le transfert réussi de la gestion du programme de formation à l’agrément des membres des CMSS au ministère du Travail; un projet pilote récent d’approvisionnement en infrastructure de l’Ontario; les efforts de sensibilisation sur les programmes de formation, ainsi que les ressources et les consultations. Les membres profitent de l’occasion pour poser des questions et apporter leurs commentaires sur ces progrès, incluant ceux qui touchent l’évaluation du rendement en santé et en sécurité au cours du processus d’approvisionnement.

Mesure à prendre : Lorsque la version bêta des modules d’apprentissage en ligne sur la sensibilisation des travailleurs et des superviseures sera prête, on invitera les membres du CP à les mettre à l’essai.

9. EXAMEN DES PROGRAMMES DE PRÉVENTION

On informe les membres du CP des mises à jour sur l’avancement des travaux du Groupe d’examen des programmes de prévention, le cadre de référence, les délais d’examen et les réunions tenues jusqu’à maintenant. Les membres passent en revue le processus d’adhésion au Groupe d’examen des programmes de prévention, et prévoient des consultations.

10. MISE À JOUR AU SUJET DU GROUPE DE TRAVAIL SUR LES TRAVAILLEURS VULNÉRABLES ET SUR LES PETITES ENTREPRISES

On informe les membres du CP sur les activités de ces deux groupes de travail, incluant leur cérémonie inaugurale et leurs réunions à venir. Il a été noté que le Groupe de travail sur les travailleurs vulnérables révisera le récent rapport de la Commission du droit sur les travailleurs vulnérables et le travail précaire. Les membres manifestent leur intérêt d’assister aux prochaines réunions des groupes de travail et d’autres organismes consultatifs du ministère du Travail.

Mesure à prendre : Chaque mois, le Bureau de la prévention fournira aux membres la liste des dates et des lieux des réunions des groupes de travail et d’autres événements relatifs à la santé et sécurité, et les tiendra informés des occasions d’assister aux réunions d’autres organismes consultatifs du ministère du Travail (Section 21 Comités).

11. DÉFINITION DU RÔLE DE SUPERVISEUR

Le ministère du Travail prépare actuellement des outils de référence qui aideront à déterminer qui est considéré comme un « superviseur » en vertu de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail. On fournit aux membres la documentation pertinente, incluant les demandes de clarification supplémentaire des intervenants et intervenantes, et on les informe au sujet des consultations à venir auprès de ces derniers au sujet des outils de référence. Il est convenu qu’une fois les outils de référence créés et révisés par les intervenants et intervenantes, on les diffusera auprès des membres à titre informatif lors de la prochaine réunion du CP, ou peu après.

12. POINTS DIVERS À DISCUTER

Le DGP soulève d’autres points à aborder. Il annonce le retrait de John Sauger à titre de membre du CP. Il indique qu’un nouveau représentant patronal serait nommé, conformément au processus officiel de nominations publiques, et que les nouvelles et les anciennes mises en candidature seront considérées pour ce poste.

De plus, le DGP rappelle la tenue prochaine du Jour du deuil. Il s’informe de l’intention des membres de participer aux événements de commémoration, et offre de l’assistance pour la préparation de ressources et d’annonces relatives au Jour du deuil. Les membres manifestent leur intérêt de rédiger un communiqué au nom du CP à l’occasion de cette journée, qui pourra être publié sur son site Web. Les membres soulignent aussi l’utilité de répertorier les points pertinents à faire valoir.

Mesure à prendre : Le Bureau de la prévention assurera la coordination des commentaires des membres du CP au sujet du communiqué pour le Jour du deuil, et fournira aux membres les points pertinents à faire valoir.

Les membres du CP soulignent aussi la nécessité de se tenir informés des données sur la SST en matière de blessures, de maladie et de décès des travailleurs et travailleuses, de même que l’application des règlements relatifs à la SST en Ontario. Plusieurs membres évoquent le fait qu’avant, les réunions du conseil d’administration de la CSPAAT commençaient par un retour sur les données en matière de prévention et de blessures. Bien qu’on souligne qu’il pourrait y avoir un décalage, les membres souhaitent passer en revue de telles données au début des prochaines réunions du CP. Le DGP annonce que le Bureau de la prévention tente actuellement d’accroître sa capacité de collecte de données, mais qu’on établira un dialogue avec le ministère et la CSPAAT pour fournir aux membres les données en matière de SST.

Mesure à prendre : Le Bureau de la prévention fournira un aperçu des cas de blessures et des activités opérationnelles sur les lieux de travail au cours de la prochaine réunion du CP.