Table of Contents | Print Print This Page

The Employment Standards Poster

This workbook has been prepared to assist employers and employees in understanding some of their obligations and rights under the Employment Standards Act (ESA) and its regulations. It does not take the place of the ESA and its regulations and it should not be considered to offer any legal advice on your particular situation.

Posting and distributing the poster shows employees that employers are aware of the law and their legal obligations. It also lets employees know what their rights are.

To help ensure that employers understand their obligations and employees know their rights, the Minister of Labour has prepared and published a poster entitled Employment Standards in Ontario (also known as the Employment Standards Poster). All employers covered by the Employment Standards Act (ESA) in the province (excluding the Crown) must display this poster in the employer’s workplace. Employers must also provide all of their employees who are covered under the ESA with a copy of the poster.

The poster contains a brief summary highlighting the main standards of the ESA, including:

  • hours of work
  • rest periods
  • overtime pay
  • minimum wage
  • payment of wages
  • vacation time and pay
  • public holidays
  • leaves of absence from work
  • termination notice and pay
  • reprisals

Posting Requirements

The employer must display the poster in the workplace where it is likely to be seen by employees. If the majority language in the workplace is something other than English and the ministry has published a version in that language, the employer must post a translated version next to the English version. All multilingual material is available on the Ministry of Labour’s website at: Ontario.ca/employmentrights.

Providing Copies

Changes in the law that came into force on May 20, 2015 require employers to provide any employees who are covered under the ESA with a copy of the most recent version of the Employment Standards Poster. Any new employees hired after May 20, 2015 must be given a copy within 30 days of their date of hire.

If an employee requests a copy of the poster in a language other than English and the ministry has published a version in that language, the employer must provide the translated version in addition to the English copy. All multilingual material is available on the Ministry of Labour’s website.

An employer may provide the poster as a printed copy or as an attachment in an email to the employee. In addition, an employer may provide the poster via a link to the document on an internet database, but only if the employer ensures the employee has reasonable access to that database (i.e. must ensure the employee has access to a computer and is able to access a working link to the document) and ensures the employee has access to a printer and that the employee knows how to use the computer and the printer.

Copies of the poster can be obtained:

  • free from the Ministry of Labour’s website at Ontario.ca/ESAposter;
    and
  • for the cost of shipping and handling from ServiceOntario Publications, 1-800-668-9938.

Hanging the poster in the workplace, distributing the poster to employees and ensuring the standards described in it are followed is an excellent employee relations practice. It’s also the law.

Employment Standards Poster Checklist

Please verify that:

  • There is a copy of the ESA poster posted in your workplace.
  • It is the current version (visit Ontario.ca/ESAposter to verify).
  • It is posted where it will come to the attention of employees.
  • If required, it has been posted in a second language.
  • If the business has multiple locations, there is a copy posted in each one.
  • Employees were provided with a copy of the current version of the poster within 30 days of being hired (visit Ontario.ca/ESAposter to verify).
  • Employees were provided with a translated version of the poster in addition to a copy in English if requested and the ministry had a published version in that language.

Previous | Next

Questions? Call the Employment Standards Call Centre at 1-800-531-5551

Please complete our survey.

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Affiche sur les normes d’emploi

Le présent guide a été préparé pour aider les employeurs et les employés à comprendre un certain nombre de leurs droits et obligations en vertu de la Loi sur les normes d’emploi (LNE) et ses règlements. Il ne remplace pas la LNE et ses règlements et vous ne devriez pas considérer qu’il vous offre des conseils juridiques sur votre situation particulière.

L’installation et la distribution de cette affiche montre aux employés que l’employeur est au fait de la loi et de ses exigences. Elle permet aussi aux employés de connaître leurs droits.

Afin que les employeurs comprennent leurs obligations et que les employés connaissent leurs droits, le ministre du Travail a préparé et publié une affiche intitulée Normes d’emploi de l’Ontario (« l’affiche sur les normes d’emploi »). Tous les employeurs de la province visés par la LNE (à l’exception de la Couronne) doivent installer l’affiche dans leur lieu de travail. Les employeurs doivent aussi fournir à tous leurs employés visés par la LNE un exemplaire de l’affiche.

L’affiche résume les principales normes de la LNE, y compris en ce qui concerne :

  • les heures de travail;
  • les périodes de repos;
  • la rémunération des heures supplémentaires;
  • le salaire minimum;
  • le paiement du salaire;
  • les vacances et l’indemnité de vacances;
  • les jours fériés;
  • les congés;
  • le préavis de licenciement et l’indemnité de licenciement;
  • les représailles.

Exigences relatives à l’affichage

L’employeur doit installer l’affiche dans le lieu de travail à un endroit où les employés sont susceptibles de la voir. Si la langue majoritaire du lieu de travail n’est pas l’anglais et que le ministère a publié une version dans cette langue, l’employeur doit installer la version correspondante près de la version anglaise. La documentation dans d’autres langues est disponible sur le site Web du ministère du Travail.

Remise d’exemplaires

Des modifications apportées à la loi qui sont entrées en vigueur le 20 mai 2015 exigent que l’employeur fournisse à ses employés visés par la LNE un exemplaire de la version la plus récente de l’affiche sur les normes d’emploi. Tout employé engagé à compter du 20 mai 2015 doit recevoir un exemplaire de l’affiche dans les 30 jours de son engagement.

Si l’employé demande un exemplaire de l’affiche dans une autre langue que l’anglais et que le ministère a publié une version dans cette langue, l’employeur doit fournir cette version en plus de la version anglaise. Toute la documentation dans les autres langues est disponible sur le site Web du ministère du Travail.

L’employeur peut fournir l’affiche imprimée ou la joindre à un courriel envoyé à l’employé. De plus, il peut fournir l’affiche en offrant un lien vers le document dans une base de données sur Internet, mais seulement s’il s’est assuré que l’employé a un accès raisonnable à cette base de données (c.-à-d. qu’il doit s’assurer que l’employé a accès à un ordinateur et peut utiliser un lien fonctionnel menant au document) et que l’employé a accès à une imprimante et sait comment utiliser l’ordinateur et l’imprimante.

On peut obtenir des exemplaires de l’affiche :

  • gratuitement sur le site Web du ministère du Travail;
    et
  • en payant les frais d’expédition et de manutention, auprès de ServiceOntario Publications, au 1 800 668-9938.

C’est une excellente pratique en matière de relations avec les employés d’installer l’affiche dans le lieu de travail et la distribuer aux employés, et de faire en sorte que les normes qui y sont décrites soient respectées. C’est également exigé par la loi.

Liste de vérification – Affiche sur les normes d’emploi

Assurez-vous de pouvoir répondre par l’affirmative aux questions suivantes :

  • Une copie de l’affiche sur la LNE est-elle installée sur votre lieu de travail?
  • La version affichée est-elle la plus récente?
  • Est-elle affichée à un endroit où les employés peuvent la voir?
  • Si nécessaire, a-t-elle été installée dans une autre langue?
  • Si l’entreprise a des activités à plusieurs emplacements, y a-t-il une affiche à chacun de ces emplacements?
  • Les employés ont-ils reçu un exemplaire de la version à jour de l’affiche dans les 30 jours de leur engagement?
  • Les employés ont-ils reçu une version de l’affiche dans une autre langue en plus de l’exemplaire en anglais s’ils l’ont demandée et que le ministère a publié une version dans cette autre langue?

précédent | suivant

Des questions? Communiquez avec le Centre d’information sur les normes d’emploi au 1 800 531-5551.

Veuillez remplir notre sondage.