Table of Contents | Print Print This Page

Deductions from Wages

This workbook has been prepared to assist employers and employees in understanding some of their obligations and rights under the Employment Standards Act (ESA) and its regulations. It does not take the place of the ESA and its regulations and it should not be considered to offer any legal advice on your particular situation.

You should be aware that under the Employment Standards Act, only three types of deductions can be made from an employee’s wages: statutory deductions, deductions authorized by a court order and deductions authorized by the employee in writing (subject to certain restrictions and conditions). For more information, watch our video on illegal deductions from wages.

Statutory Deductions

These are deductions made according to federal and provincial legislation. They include Income Tax, Employment Insurance Premiums and Canada Pension Plan contributions. The money deducted must be remitted to the proper authorities.

Court Orders/Garnishment

A court may order an employer to deduct an amount from an employee’s wages. The money deducted must be paid out in accordance with directions contained in the court order.

Written Authorization

An employer may deduct money from an employee's wages if the employee has agreed to this in writing, subject to certain rules. Written authorization must state that the employee authorizes the deduction from his or her wages. It must also specify the amount of money deducted or a method of calculating the amount of money to be deducted.

It is not enough to have an oral statement that the employee authorizes the deduction, or to have a written statement that the employee owes money to the employer without stating that the amount can be deducted from the employee’s wages.

IMPORTANT NOTE: A deduction from wages, even with signed authorization from the employee, is not allowed if it pertains to:

  • A loss due to faulty work. For example, a mistake in a credit card transaction, work that is spoiled or rejected, or damage to company tools/vehicles.
  • A cash shortage or lost or stolen property if a person other than the employee had control over or access to the cash or property. For example, if customers leave without paying the bill (commonly referred to as “dine and dash”).

Deductions from Wages Checklist

Employers, please verify that:

  • The only types of deductions from employees’ wages are either statutory deductions, court ordered deductions, or deductions for which there is a written authorization.

Employers and employees, please verify that if deductions from wages are made on the basis of a written authorization, that the written authorization:

  • States that the employee authorizes the deduction.
  • Includes either the amount of the deduction or a method for calculating the amount.

Employers and employees, even with a written authorization in place, please verify that the deduction(s) are not being made for:

  • Faulty work.
  • Cash shortages/lost or stolen property where someone other than the employee had access to the cash or property.

Previous | Next

Questions? Call the Employment Standards Call Centre at 1-800-531-5551

Please complete our survey.

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Retenues salariales

Le présent guide a été préparé pour aider les employeurs et les employés à comprendre un certain nombre de leurs droits et obligations en vertu de la Loi sur les normes d’emploi (LNE) et ses règlements. Il ne remplace pas la LNE et ses règlements et vous ne devriez pas considérer qu’il vous offre des conseils juridiques sur votre situation particulière.

Vous devez savoir qu’en vertu de la Loi sur les normes d’emploi, seulement trois types de retenues peuvent être faites sur la paye d’un employé : retenues prévues par la loi, retenues sur ordonnance d’un tribunal, et, sous réserve de certaines restrictions et conditions, retenues autorisées par écrit par l’employé (sous réserve de certaines restrictions et conditions). Pour de plus amples renseignements, visionnez notre vidéo sur les retenues illégales sur le salaire.

Retenues prévues par la loi

Il s’agit de retenues faites conformément à la législation fédérale et provinciale. Elles comprennent notamment les retenues au titre de l’impôt sur le revenu, des primes d’assurance-emploi et des cotisations au Régime de pensions du Canada. L’argent retenu doit être versé à l’instance voulue.

Retenues sur ordonnance d’un tribunal/saisies

Un tribunal peut ordonner à un employeur de retenir un montant sur la paye d’un employé. L’argent retenu doit être versé conformément aux dispositions de l’ordonnance.

Retenues découlant d’une autorisation écrite

Un employeur peut effectuer des retenues sur la paye d’un employé si ce dernier a signé une autorisation écrite à cette fin, sous réserve de certaines règles. L’autorisation écrite de l’employé doit préciser que ce dernier consent à la retenue salariale. L’autorisation doit aussi préciser le montant qui peut être retenu ou la méthode de calcul du montant à retenir.

Une déclaration écrite selon laquelle l’employé doit de l’argent à l’employeur, mais qui ne précise pas que le montant peut être retenu sur son salaire, ou une autorisation donnée de vive voix par l’employé ne suffisent pas pour faire une retenue sur le salaire de l’employé.


IMPORTANT : Même si l’employeur a une autorisation signée de l’employé, il ne peut pas faire de retenues sur son salaire dans les circonstances suivantes :

  • Une perte causée par une malfaçon. Par exemple, une erreur relative à une opération sur une carte de crédit, un travail endommagé ou rejeté, ou une situation dans laquelle des outils sont brisés ou des dommages sont causés aux véhicules de l’entreprise.
  • Un manque d’argent, ou la perte ou le vol de biens du fait qu’une personne autre que l’employé avait le contrôle de la caisse ou des biens, ou y avait accès : par exemple, si des clients partent sans régler la facture.

Liste de vérification – Retenues salariales

Les employeurs doivent s’assurer que :

  • Les seuls types de retenues faites sur le salaire des employés sont des retenues prévues par la loi, des retenues sur ordonnance d’un tribunal, ou des retenues autorisées par écrit par les employés.

Les employeurs et les employés doivent s’assurer, dans le cas de retenues salariales autorisées par écrit par les employés, que :

  • L’autorisation écrite précise que l’employé autorise la retenue.
  • L’autorisation écrite précise le montant de la retenue ou la méthode de calcul du montant à retenir.

Les employeurs et les employés doivent s’assurer de répondre par la négative aux questions suivantes, même en cas d’autorisation par écrit :

  • Les retenues servent-elles à compenser une perte causée par une malfaçon?
  • Les retenues servent-elles à pallier un manque d’argent, ou la perte ou le vol de biens du fait qu’une autre personne que l’employé avait accès à la caisse ou à ces biens?

précédent | suivant

Des questions? Communiquez avec le Centre d’information sur les normes d’emploi au 1 800 531-5551.

Veuillez remplir notre sondage.