Table of Contents | Print This Page

Appendix A – How to Contact Your Employer

The Ministry of Labour has created some tools and a four-step process to help you contact your employer about your employment standards issue(s). You do not have to use these tools or processes, but some people find them useful to help them resolve their issues. If you are comfortable doing so, you are encouraged to follow these steps and use the tools. If you contact your employer, be sure to keep notes of any discussions you have and copies of what you sent to them. These may be helpful during the investigation of your claim.

If you are able to contact your employer to try to resolve the issue(s), the following templates are available later in this document:

  • Employer Notice – a notice that provides your employer with information about the claim filing process and the fact that they cannot punish you in any way because you asked about, or for, your ESA rights.
  • Information Letter – a template letter informing your employer that they may be in contravention of the ESA.
  • Request for Payment Form – a template for requesting payment of money you believe may be owed by your employer.

Step A: Determine how much you believe you are owed and fill out the Request for Payment Form.

To figure out the amount of money you believe you are owed please refer to the online information available from the Ministry of Labour on employee and employer rights and responsibilities, or use the Pay Calculator Tool. You can and should save and print copies of any calculations. Your Guide to the Employment Standards Act, 2000 may be of particular help, as each employment standard has a dedicated chapter, along with examples. You may also contact the Employment Standards Information Centre at 416-326-7160, or our toll-free line at 1-800-531-5551 from anywhere in Canada, for more information on your employment standards rights. Information is available in multiple languages.

Helpful Tips

  • Calculate separately the amounts you believe you are owed for each employment standard that involves money (such as overtime, public holiday pay, or termination pay). The Pay Calculator Tool will help you determine how much money you may be owed for each employment standard.
  • It may be helpful to have some documents such as pay stubs or a calendar in front of you before you calculate the amounts you may be owed.

Request for Payment Form

After calculating the amounts you might be owed, you will want to determine the "Total Amount Owed" for each employment standard and record it in the matching box on the Request for Payment Form (e.g. Vacation Pay). Once you have filled in each box, add the numbers together and enter the amount into the shaded box at the bottom of the chart. This box shows the total amount you are requesting the employer to pay. Attach copies of your calculation(s) to the Request for Payment Form.

Step B: Gather proof, if you have any, to show your employer.

If you have any records or documents to support your claim that you are owed money under the ESA, then make photocopies and include these with your calculation(s).

Here are some examples:

  • Contract of Employment
  • Record of Employment “ROE" (separation papers)
  • Schedules
  • NSF (Non-sufficient Funds) “bounced” cheques returned by a bank
  • Wage statements/pay stubs
  • Personal records of hours worked
  • Canada Revenue Agency T4 slips
  • Time cards
  • Calculations from the ESA tools
  • Copies of bills, credits card receipts showing tips and other gratuities or other records documenting tips earne

Step C: Fill out Information Letter and put together the employer contact package

Fill in the Information Letter, make a photocopy of the complete package that you are sending to the employer, and keep the copy for your records. Make sure you keep a copy of everything you send to your employer for your own records, in case the employer does not pay what you believe you are owed and an investigation is needed.

Your complete package should include:

  • Employer Notice
  • Completed Information Letter
  • Completed Request for Payment Form
  • Copies of any calculation(s) you made to determine the amounts you are requesting your employer to pay, and
  • A copy of any other documents that support your position.

Step D: Send your completed employer contact package to your employer

Send your complete package to your employer by one of the following methods:

  • Regular mail
  • Fax
  • Registered mail
  • Personal delivery
  • Courier, or
  • Email

Be sure to keep any registered mail receipts or fax confirmation reports for your records.

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help employees and employers understand some of the minimum rights and obligations established under the Employment Standards Act, 2000 (ESA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the ESA or regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation. Although we endeavor to ensure that the information in this resource is as current and accurate as possible, errors do occasionally occur. The ESA provides minimum standards only. Some employees may have greater rights under an employment contract, collective agreement, the common law or other legislation. Employers and employees may wish to obtain legal advice.

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Annexe A – Comment communiquer avec votre employeur

Le ministère du Travail a élaboré des outils ainsi qu’une marche à suivre en quatre étapes pour vous aider à communiquer avec votre employeur au sujet du non-respect d’une ou de plusieurs normes d’emploi. Vous n’avez pas l’obligation de vous en servir, mais sachez qu’ils pourraient vous aider à arriver à un règlement. Si vous n’avez pas de réticences à les utiliser, nous vous encourageons à le faire. Si vous communiquez avec votre employeur, prenez soin de prendre des notes durant vos discussions et de conserver des copies de ce que vous lui envoyez. Cela pourrait vous être utile pendant l’enquête sur votre réclamation.

Si vous êtes incapable de communiquer avec votre employeur pour essayer de régler la situation, vous pouvez vous servir des modèles de document indiqués ci-dessous que vous trouverez plus loin dans le présent document.

  • Avis à l’employeur : Avis qui fournit à l’employeur des renseignements sur le processus de réclamation et qui lui indique qu’il ne peut pas vous punir de quelque manière que ce soit parce que vous avez demandé des renseignements sur les droits que vous confère la LNE ou que vous voulez faire respecter ces droits.
  • Lettre d’information : Lettre informant votre employeur qu’il enfreint peut-être la LNE.
  • Formulaire de demande de paiement : Formulaire servant à demander le versement d’un montant que pourrait vous devoir votre employeur selon vous.

Étape A : Déterminer le montant qui vous est dû et remplir le Formulaire de demande de paiement

Pour déterminer le montant qui vous est dû, veuillez vous reporter aux renseignements en ligne du ministère du Travail concernant les droits et les responsabilités de l’employé et de l’employeur, ou au Calculateur du salaire. Vous pouvez enregistrer et imprimer vos calculs, et nous vous recommandons de le faire. Le document Votre guide de la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d’emploi peut s’avérer très utile, puisqu’il contient des chapitres distincts consacrés à chacune des normes d’emploi ainsi que des exemples. En outre, vous pouvez communiquer avec le Centre d’information sur les normes d’emploi, au 416 326 7160 ou au 1 800 531 5551 (sans frais de n’importe où au Canada), pour en savoir plus long sur vos droits en matière de normes d’emploi. Des renseignements sont offerts dans plusieurs langues.

Conseils utiles

  • Calculez séparément les montants qu’on vous doit pour chacune des normes d’emploi de nature pécuniaire (comme la rémunération des heures supplémentaires, le salaire pour jour férié ou l’indemnité de licenciement). Le Calculateur du salaire vous aidera à déterminer le montant auquel vous pourriez avoir droit pour chaque norme.
  • Il serait bon d’avoir devant vous des documents, comme des talons de paie ou un calendrier, pour faire vos calculs.

Formulaire de demande de paiement

Une fois vos calculs terminés, vous devez déterminer le montant total dû pour chaque norme d’emploi et l’indiquer dans la case correspondante du Formulaire de demande de paiement (p. ex. indemnité de vacances). Après avoir rempli chaque case, vous devez additionner les montants et entrer le total dans la case en gris au bas du tableau. Cette case indique le montant total que vous demandez à votre employeur de payer. Joignez des copies de vos calculs au Formulaire de demande de paiement.

Étape B : Réunir les preuves à montrer à l’employeur, le cas échéant

Si vous avez des relevés ou des documents pour étayer la réclamation que vous déposez en vertu de la LNE concernant un montant qui vous est dû, faites en des photocopies et joignez-les à vos calculs.

Voici des exemples :

  • Contrat de travail
  • Relevé d’emploi (documents de cessation d’emploi)
  • Horaires
  • Chèques sans provision renvoyés par une institution financière
  • Relevés de salaire ou talons de paie
  • Relevés personnels des heures de travail
  • Feuillets T4 de l’Agence du revenu du Canada
  • Feuilles de temps
  • Calculs effectués à l’aide des outils de la LNE
  • Copies de factures, de reçus de carte de crédit indiquant les pourboires et d’autres gratifications ou autres documents indiquant les pourboires reçus

Étape C : Remplir la lettre d’information et réunir les documents à transmettre à l’employeur

Remplissez la lettre d’information et photocopiez tous les documents que vous transmettez à l’employeur. Prenez soin de conserver pour vos dossiers une copie de tout ce que vous envoyez à votre employeur au cas où ce dernier ne vous paierait pas ce que vous estimez qu’il vous doit et qu’une enquête serait nécessaire.

Votre envoi doit contenir ce qui suit :

  • l’avis à l’employeur;
  • la lettre d’information dûment remplie;
  • le Formulaire de demande de paiement dûment rempli;
  • des copies des calculs que vous avez faits pour déterminer les montants que vous demandez à votre employeur de payer;
  • une copie de tout autre document à l’appui de votre position.

Étape D : Envoyer la série de documents à l’employeur

Faites parvenir à votre employeur la série complète de documents de l’une des façons suivantes :

  • par courrier ordinaire;
  • par télécopieur;
  • par courrier recommandé;
  • en personne;
  • par service de messagerie;
  • par courriel.

Prenez soin de conserver les reçus des envois recommandés ou les rapports de confirmation de télécopie pour vos dossiers.

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource a été élaborée pour aider les employés et les employeurs à comprendre certains des droits et obligations minimums institués par la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d'emploi (LNE) et les règlements connexes. Elle ne constitue pas un avis juridique. Elle n'a pas vocation à se substituer à la LNE ou aux règlements connexes et il est recommandé de toujours se référer à la version officielle des dispositions législatives. Bien que nous nous efforcions de veiller à ce que les renseignements figurant dans la présente ressource soient les plus actuels et les plus exacts possible, des erreurs s'y glissent parfois. La LNE fournit uniquement des normes minimums. Certains employés sont susceptibles de jouir de meilleurs droits aux termes d'un contrat de travail, d'une convention collective, de la common law ou d'autres dispositions législatives. Les employeurs et les employés pourraient juger utile d'obtenir un avis juridique.