Table of Contents  | Print This Page

Section 5: Summary of Recommendations

  • Issued: January 27, 2014
  • Content last reviewed: January 2014

For the readers' convenience, the complete list of recommendations is summarized below.

Recommendation #1: Minimum wages should be revised annually by a percentage equal to the percent change in the Ontario Consumer Price Index.

Recommendation #2: Minimum wages should be revised annually, and a minimum of four months' notice of any wage change should be provided. The effective date of minimum wage changes should be April 1 of the following year. This would result in notification by December 1 of the previous year.

Recommendation #3: The Government should undertake a full review of the minimum wage rate and the revision process every five years. This review should be conducted by a panel of stakeholders and a neutral chair. The mandate of this Panel would be to review Ontario's past experience with minimum wage revisions within the context of Ontario's social and economic progress and prevailing practices in other jurisdictions to recommend changes that could better serve Ontario's future needs.

Recommendation #4: To aid the full review process, and to ensure that Ontario's minimum wage policies are in step with the needs of its citizens, the Government should establish an ongoing research program for data and information gathering and its subsequent analysis to address policy-relevant minimum wage issues.

Previous | Next

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Section 5 : Sommaire des recommandations

  • Diffusion : 27 janvier 2014
  • Dernière mise à jour : janvier 2014

Pour des raisons de commodité, la liste complète des recommandations est résumée ci-après.

Recommandation no 1 : Le salaire minimum devrait être majoré chaque année d'un pourcentage égal à la variation en pourcentage de l'indice des prix à la consommation de l'Ontario.

Recommandation no 2 : Le salaire minimum devrait être révisé chaque année et un avis d'au moins quatre mois devrait être donné avant tout changement. La révision du salaire minimum devrait entrer en vigueur le 1er avril de l'année suivante, l'avis étant rendu public au plus tard le 1er décembre de l'année de révision.

Recommandation no 3 : Le gouvernement devrait effectuer une révision complète du taux du salaire minimum et du processus de révision tous les cinq ans. Cette révision devrait être confiée à un comité d'intervenants et à un président neutre. Le mandat de ce comité serait d'examiner les antécédents de l'Ontario en matière de révision du salaire minimum, en tenant compte des progrès sociaux et économiques de l'Ontario ainsi que des pratiques d'autres territoires de compétence afin de recommander des changements qui permettraient de mieux répondre aux futurs besoins de la province.

Recommandation no 4 : Pour faciliter le processus complet de révision et veiller à ce que les politiques de salaire minimum de l'Ontario concordent avec les besoins des citoyens de la province, le gouvernement devrait mettre sur pied un programme de recherche continue pour collecter et analyser les données et les renseignements qui lui permettront de clarifier les questions relatives aux politiques en matière de salaire minimum.

précédent | suivant