Print This Page


  • Issued: August 2008
  • Content last reviewed: October 2016


What is the purpose of the Employment Standards Act, 2000 (ESA)?

The Employment Standards Act, 2000 (ESA) sets out the rights and responsibilities of both employees and employers in Ontario workplaces. It also contains provisions that apply to people who are seeking employment with temporary help agencies and, in some cases, to clients of such agencies, even though the client business is not the employer of the person filing a claim under the ESA.

What is the Employment Standards Act, 2000?

The Employment Standards Act, 2000 (ESA) sets out minimum rights for most employees in Ontario workplaces. It includes standards on payment of wages, public holidays, hours of work, overtime pay, vacation time and pay, statutory leaves, and termination and severance entitlements. If you are an employee working in Ontario, you are probably covered by the ESA. However, some employees are not covered by the ESA and some employees who are covered by the ESA have special rules and/or exemptions that may apply to them. For more information, see the Your Guide to the Employment Standards Act, 2000.

What are homeworkers?

Homeworkers are employees who do paid work out of their own homes for an employer (e.g., online research, preparing food for resale, sewing, telephone soliciting, manufacturing, word processing).

Independent contractors are not homeworkers under the ESA.

Are homeworkers the same as domestic workers?

No, homeworkers are not the same as domestic workers. Homeworkers do paid work out of their own homes for an employer. In contrast, domestic workers work in a private home directly for the person who owns or rents the home. They do things such as housekeeping and cooking, or provide care, supervision or personal assistance to children or people who are elderly, ill or disabled.

Here is an example of the difference between homeworkers and domestic workers: employees who prepare food at home for resale by their employer are homeworkers, but employees who prepare food in a private residence for the people living there to eat are domestic workers.

What rights do homeworkers have under the ESA?

Homeworkers are eligible for:

  • minimum wage
  • regular payment of wages
    • wages are paid for a recurring pay period on a recurring pay day, and
    • written wage statements are provided for each pay.
  • written job details
  • hours of work protections (i.e., maximum hours of work, and daily and weekly/biweekly rest periods)
  • overtime pay
  • vacation with pay
  • public holidays
  • pregnancy and parental leave
  • personal emergency leave (applies only to employees whose employer regularly employs at least 50 employees)
  • family caregiver leave
  • family medical leave
  • critically ill child care leave
  • organ donor leave
  • reservist leave
  • crime-related child death or disappearance leave
  • termination notice and/or pay
  • severance pay
  • equal pay for equal work

Changes in the law that came into force on May 20, 2015 required all employers, including those employing homeworkers, to provide their current employees with a copy of the ministry’s Employment Standards Poster by June 19, 2015. Any homeworkers hired on or after May 20, 2015 must be provided with a copy of the poster within 30 days of the date of hire.

If an employee requests a copy of the poster in a language other than English and the ministry has published a version in that language, the employer must provide the translated version in addition to the English copy.

English and French versions of the poster and multilingual versions are available online.

Note: there are rules about qualifying for some of the ESA protections listed above.

For information please see Your Guide to the Employment Standards Act, 2000.

What is the minimum wage rate for homeworkers?

Minimum wage is the lowest hourly wage an employer can pay employees. There is a special minimum wage rate for homeworkers that is higher than the general minimum wage rate. A homeworker is entitled to a minimum wage rate of $12.55 per hour.

Both full-time and part-time homeworkers are entitled to this rate. Students of any age who are employed as homeworkers must also be paid the homeworkers' minimum wage.

The table below sets out the general minimum wage and the homeworkers' minimum wage rates:

General Minimum Wage and the Homeworkers' Minimum Wage Rates
Minimum Wage Rate October 1, 2016
General Minimum Wage $11.40 per hour
Homeworkers' Minimum Wage $12.55 per hour

If homeworkers are paid piece-work rate, how do they know whether they are receiving the equivalent of minimum wage?

The amount that a homeworker is paid must be at least equal to minimum wage. Homeworkers who are paid on a piece-work rate--a way of calculating pay that is based on the amount of work an employee completes, and not on the hours worked--can calculate whether they are being paid at least the minimum wage in the following way:

Take the total amount earned over the pay period and divide it by the number of hours worked in the same period for an average hourly rate. Compare that amount to the homeworkers' minimum wage rate in effect over that same pay period. (If overtime hours were worked, the calculation is more complicated.)

For example

A homeworker received $240.75 as piece-work pay for the pay period October 2 to October 8, 2016 as payment for 25 hours of work in that pay period. The homeworker received the equivalent of $9.63 an hour in that pay period but the homeworkers’ minimum wage rate in effect from October 1, 2016 was $12.55.

Based on the homeworkers' minimum wage, the employee should have earned at least $313.75

Result: The employer must therefore pay an additional $73.00 to the employee ($313.75 minus $240.75).

Please see "What written job details must an employer give a homeworker?" (below) for information on the requirement that homeworkers' wage statements include the amount of the piece-work rate(s).

What written job details must an employer give a homeworker?

Certain requirements apply only to homeworkers. Employers must advise homeworkers in writing of:

  • the type of work they are being employed to perform,
  • the amount to be paid for an hour of work in a regular work week if the homeworker is to be paid by the number of hours worked,
  • where the homeworker is to be paid by the number of articles or things manufactured[1]:
    • the amount to be paid for each article or thing manufactured in a regular work week
    • the number of articles or things to be completed by a certain date or time if the employer requires a certain number to be completed by a certain date or time,
  • an explanation of how pay will be determined when the homeworker is being paid on some other basis.

[1] "Manufacture" includes preparation, improvement, repair, alteration, assembly or completion.

Employers must keep detailed records of hours worked, wages and deductions. They must give all employees a written wage statement with each pay that shows the full details of the pay period.

The written wage statement must set out:

  • the pay period for which the wages are being paid
  • the wage rate, if there is one
  • the gross amount of wages and, unless the employee is given the information in some other manner, such as in an employment contract, how the gross wages were calculated
  • the amount and purpose of each deduction from the wages
  • the net amount of wages.

What kind of information must employers keep?

Employers who employ homeworkers are required to keep a register containing the name, address and wage rate(s) of the homeworker. This must be kept for three years after the homeworker has stopped working for the employer.

In addition, all employers in Ontario, including anyone who employs homeworkers, must keep written records about each person they hire.

Employee records can be retained either by employers or by someone else on their behalf, but must be readily available for inspection. The period of retention varies depending on the information. For example, the employee's name, address and starting date must be retained for three years after the employee ceases to be employed by that employer. The number of hours the employee worked in each day and each week must be retained for three years after the day or week in question.

Each employee's written record must contain:

  • the employee's name, address and starting date of employment
  • the date of birth if the employee is a student under 18 years of age
  • hours worked by the employee each day and week (see Exception to the rule: hours of work records later in this fact sheet)
    Note: It is suggested that employees also keep a record of the hours they work and number of items they complete each day.
  • information contained in the employee's wage statements
  • all documents relating to pregnancy, parental, personal emergency, family caregiver, family medical, critically ill child care, organ donor, reservist, or crime-related child death or disappearance leave
  • the vacation time earned since the date of hire but not taken before the start of the vacation entitlement year
  • the vacation time earned during the vacation entitlement year (or stub period, if the employer establishes an alternative vacation entitlement year)
  • the vacation time taken (if any) during the vacation entitlement year (or stub period)
  • the balance of vacation time remaining at the end of the vacation entitlement year (or stub period)
  • the vacation pay paid during the vacation entitlement year (or stub period) and how that vacation pay was calculated.

Note: An employee is entitled to information about his or her vacation time and pay entitlement once with respect to each completed vacation entitlement year or stub period, on written request to the employer. For more information please refer to the Vacation chapter of Your Guide to the Employment Standards Act, 2000.

Exception to the rule: hours of work records

If an employee receives a fixed salary for each pay period, and the salary doesn't change unless the employee works overtime, the employer is only required to record:

  • the employee's hours in excess of those hours in the employee's regular work week, and
  • the number of hours in excess of eight per day – or in excess of the hours in the employee's regular work day, if that's more than eight hours.

What if the employer does not follow the ESA?

If an employee thinks the employer is not complying with the ESA, he or she can call the Employment Standards Information Centre at 416-326-7160 or toll free at 1-800-531-5551 for more information about the ESA and how to file a complaint. Complaints are investigated by an employment standards officer who can, if necessary, make orders against an employer—including an order to comply with the ESA. The ministry has a number of other options to enforce the ESA, including requesting voluntary compliance, issuing an order to pay wages, an order to reinstate and/or compensate /or a notice of contravention, or issuing a ticket or otherwise prosecuting the employer under the Provincial Offences Act.

For more information or to file a claim

If you have questions about the ESA, call the Ministry of Labour's Employment Standards Information Centre at 416-326-7160, toll free at 1-800-531-5551, or TTY 1-866-567-8893. Information is available in multiple languages.

Information on the ESA can also be found at the Employment Standards section of the Ministry of Labour's website.

To file a claim, you can access the Employment Standards Claim Form online. Claim Forms are available in hardcopy format at select ServiceOntario Centres. You may also order a copy through ServiceOntario Publications online, or by calling 1-800-668-9938; Hearing Impaired TTY 1-800-268-7095.

To access the Employment Standards Act, 2000 visit the Ontario government e-Laws website.

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help employees and employers understand some of the minimum rights and obligations established under the Employment Standards Act, 2000 (ESA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the ESA or regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation. Although we endeavor to ensure that the information in this resource is as current and accurate as possible, errors do occasionally occur. The ESA provides minimum standards only. Some employees may have greater rights under an employment contract, collective agreement, the common law or other legislation. Employers and employees may wish to obtain legal advice.

Travailleurs à domicile

  • Diffusion : août 2008
  • Dernière mise à jour : octobre 2016

Avis de non-responsabilité

Quel est l'objet de la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d'emploi (la Loi)?

La Loi de 2000 sur les normes d'emploi établit les droits des employés et les exigences applicables aux employeurs dans la plupart des lieux de travail de l'Ontario. Elle renferme également des dispositions qui visent des personnes recherchant un emploi auprès des agences de placement temporaire et, dans certains cas, les clients de ces agences même si un client n'est pas l'employeur d'une personne qui remplit une réclamation en vertu de la Loi.

Qu’est-ce que la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d'emploi?

La Loi de 2000 sur les normes d'emploi établie le minimum de droits pour la plupart des employés des lieux de travail de l’Ontario. Elle prévoit notamment des normes relatives aux salaires, aux jours fériés, aux heures de travail, à la rémunération des heures supplémentaires, aux vacances et aux indemnités de vacances, aux congés légaux et au licenciement et aux indemnités de licenciement. Si vous êtes un employé qui travaillez en Ontario, vous êtes sans doute couvert par la Loi. Toutefois, certains employés ne sont pas couverts par la Loi et certains employés qui sont couverts par la Loi sont visés par des règles spéciales ou des exemptions qui pourraient s’appliquer à eux. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, consultez Votre guide de la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d'emploi.

Qui sont les travailleurs à domicile?

Les travailleurs à domicile sont des travailleurs qui effectuent un travail rémunéré dans leur domicile, pour le compte d'un employeur (par exemple : recherche en ligne, préparation d'aliments pour la vente, couture, télévente, fabrication, traitements de texte).

Les entrepreneurs indépendants ne sont pas des travailleurs à domicile aux termes de la Loi.

Les travailleurs à domicile sont-ils des domestiques?

Non. Les travailleurs à domicile effectuent un travail rémunéré dans leur domicile, pour le compte d'un employeur. En revanche, les travailleurs domestiques travaillent dans un domicile privé pour le propriétaire ou le locataire qui y vit. Ils effectuent des tâches telles que les travaux ménagers et la cuisine, les soins des enfants et des personnes âgées, malades ou handicapées.

Voici un exemple qui montre la différence entre les travailleurs à domicile et les travailleurs domestiques. Les employés qui préparent des aliments dans leur domicile pour la vente par leur employeur sont des travailleurs à domicile, tandis que les employés qui préparent des aliments dans un domicile privé à l'intention des personnes qui y vivent sont des travailleurs domestiques.

Quels droits la Loi accorde-t-elle aux travailleurs à domicile?

La Loi accorde les droits suivants aux travailleurs à domicile :

  • le salaire minimum
  • le versement régulier du salaire
    • le salaire est payé pour une période de paie récurrente, un jour de paie récurrent
    • un relevé de paie est fourni pour chaque paie
  • une description écrite et détaillée de l'emploi
  • la protection relative aux heures de travail (par exemple : nombre maximal d'heures de travail, périodes d'inactivité quotidiennes, hebdomadaires et bimensuelles)
  • la rémunération des heures supplémentaires
  • les vacances payées
  • les jours fériés
  • le congé de maternité et congé parental
  • le congé d’urgence personnelle (il s'applique uniquement aux employés dont l’employeur emploie régulièrement au moins 50 personnes)
  • le congé familial pour les aidants naturels
  • le congé familial pour raison médicale
  • le congé pour soins à un enfant gravement malade
  • le congé pour don d'organe
  • le congé de réserviste
  • le congé en cas de décès ou de disparation d’un enfant dans des circonstances criminelles
  • l'avis de licenciement ou l'indemnité de licenciement
  • l'indemnité de cessation d'emploi
  • l'équité salariale

Des modifications apportées à la loi qui sont entrées en vigueur le 20 mai 2015 exigeaient que tous les employeurs, y compris ceux qui emploient des travailleurs à domicile, remettent à leurs employés actuels un exemplaire de l’affiche sur les normes d’emploi du ministère au plus tard le 19 juin 2015. Tout travailleur à domicile engagé à compter du 20 mai 2015 doit recevoir un exemplaire de l’affiche dans les 30 jours de son engagement.

Si l’employé demande un exemplaire de l’affiche dans une autre langue que l’anglais et que le ministère a publié une version dans cette langue, l’employeur doit fournir cette version en plus de la version anglaise.

On trouve les versions en anglais et en français de l'affiche et des versions en d'autres langues en ligne.

Remarque : Des règles précisent les critères d'admissibilité à certains des droits susmentionnés.

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter le Votre guide de la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d’emploi.

Quel est le salaire minimum pour les travailleurs à domicile?

Le salaire minimum est le salaire horaire le plus bas qu’un employeur peut verser à ses employés. Il existe un taux de salaire minimum particulier pour les travailleurs à domicile, qui est plus élevé que le taux de salaire minimum général. Les travailleurs à domicile ont droit à un salaire minimum de 12,55 $ l’heure.

Ce taux s'applique aux travailleurs à domicile à temps plein et à temps partiel. Les étudiants, quel que soit leur âge, qui travaillent à domicile doivent recevoir le salaire minimum des travailleurs à domicile.

Le tableau ci-dessous indique les taux du salaire minimum général et du salaire minimum des travailleurs à domicile :

Salaire minimum général et salaire minimum des travailleurs à domicile
Salaire minimum 1er octobre 2016
Salaire minimum général 11,40 $ l'heure
Salaire minimum des travailleurs à domicile 12,55 $ l'heure

Si le travailleur à domicile est rémunéré à la pièce, comment savoir s'il reçoit l'équivalent du salaire minimum?

Le travailleur à domicile doit recevoir une rémunération au moins équivalente au salaire minimum. S'il est rémunéré à la pièce (méthode de calcul de la paie fondée sur la quantité de travail effectué plutôt que sur le nombre d'heures de travail), il peut, à l'aide de la formule suivante, déterminer s'il reçoit au moins le salaire minimum :

Prendre le montant total gagné au cours d'une période salariale et diviser ce montant par le nombre d'heures de travail effectuées au cours de cette même période pour un taux horaire moyen. Comparer ce montant au taux de salaire minimum des travailleurs à domicile en vigueur au cours de cette même période salariale. (S'il y a des heures supplémentaires, le calcul est plus complexe.)

Par exemple

Un employé a gagné 240,75 $ pour du travail à la pièce effectué au cours de la période de paie allant du 2 au 8 octobre 2016, à titre de salaire pour 25 heures de travail. Le travailleur à domicile a touché l’équivalent de 9,63 $ l’heure, pour cette période de paie, mais le taux de salaire minimum des travailleurs à domicile en vigueur à compter du 1er octobre 2016 est de 12,55 $.

D'après le salaire minimum des travailleurs à domicile, l'employé aurait dû gagner au moins 313,75 $.

Résultat : l'employeur doit à l'employé le montant additionnel de 73,00 $ (313,75 $ moins 240,75 $).

Pour en savoir plus sur cette exigence, consultez la rubrique intitulée « Quels renseignements écrits sur l'emploi l'employeur doit-il fournir au travailleur à domicile? ».

Quels détails sur l'emploi l'employeur est-il tenu de donner par écrit au travailleur à domicile?

Certaines des exigences suivantes ne s'appliquent qu'aux travailleurs à domicile. L'employeur doit remettre par écrit au travailleur à domicile les renseignements suivants :

  • le type de travail qu'il doit effectuer;
  • son salaire horaire pour une semaine normale de travail, si le travailleur à domicile est rémunéré à l'heure;
  • s'il est rémunéré selon le nombre d'articles fabriqués[1] :
  • la somme à laquelle le travailleur à domicile a droit pour chaque article fabriqué au cours d'une semaine normale de travail,
  • le nombre d'articles à achever d'ici une certaine date ou heure, si l'employeur exige un certain nombre d'articles avant une certaine date ou heure,
  • une explication du calcul de son salaire, s'il est rémunéré selon une formule différente.

[1] « Fabriquer » s'entend de la préparation, de l'amélioration, de la réparation, des retouches, de l'assemblage ou de l'achèvement.

L'employeur doit tenir des dossiers détaillés sur le nombre d'heures de travail, les salaires et les retenues. Chaque chèque de paie doit être accompagné d'un relevé de paie qui renferme tous les détails concernant la période de paie.

Le relevé doit indiquer :

  • la période de paie visée par le chèque
  • le taux horaire du salaire, le cas échéant
  • le salaire brut et, à moins que cette information ne soit transmise à l'employé par un autre moyen, dont un contrat de travail, le calcul du salaire brut
  • le montant et le motif de chaque retenue
  • le salaire net.

Quels renseignements l'employeur est-il tenu de conserver?

Les employeurs qui emploient des travailleurs à domicile doivent tenir un registre renfermant le nom, l'adresse et le taux de salaire de chaque travailleur. Ils doivent conserver ces dossiers pendant trois ans après la cessation de l'emploi de la personne.

En outre, tous les employeurs en Ontario, y compris ceux qui emploient des travailleurs à domicile, doivent conserver des dossiers sur chaque personne qu'ils embauchent.

Ces dossiers, qui peuvent être tenus par l'employeur ou par un mandataire, doivent être facilement accessibles aux fins d'inspection. La période de conservation des dossiers varie selon le type de renseignements qui y figure. Par exemple, le nom et l'adresse de l'employé, ainsi que sa date d'embauche, doivent être conservés pendant trois ans après la cessation de son emploi. Le nombre d'heures de travail de l'employé (par jour et par semaine) doit être conservé pendant trois ans après le jour ou la semaine en question.

Le dossier de chaque employé doit contenir les renseignements suivants :

  • le nom et l'adresse de l'employé, ainsi que la date à laquelle il a commencé son emploi
  • la date de naissance, si l'employé est un étudiant de moins de 18 ans
  • le nombre d'heures de travail effectuées chaque jour et chaque semaine (voir ci-après la rubrique « Dossiers sur les heures de travail : exception à la règle »)
    Remarque : il est conseillé aux employés de conserver un dossier des heures de travail qu'ils effectuent chaque jour et du nombre d'articles fabriqués quotidiennement.)
  • les renseignements qui figurent sur les relevés de salaire de l'employé
  • tous les documents concernant un congé de maternité, un congé parental, un congé d’urgence personnelle, un congé familial pour les aidants naturels, un congé familial pour raison médicale, un congé pour don d’organe, un congé de réserviste ou un congé en cas de décès ou de disparation d’un enfant dans des circonstances criminelles pris par l’employé
  • les jours de congé accumulés depuis la date d'embauche, mais qui n'ont pas été pris avant le début de l'année de référence
  • les jours de congé accumulés au cours de l'année de référence (ou de la période tampon, si l'employeur établit une année de référence différente)
  • les jours de congé pris (le cas échéant) au cours de l'année de référence (ou de la période tampon)
  • les jours de congé restant à la fin de l'année de référence (ou de la période tampon)
  • l'indemnité de vacances payée au cours de l'année de référence (ou de la période tampon) et la méthode de calcul de l'indemnité de vacances.

Remarque : L’employé a le droit d’obtenir des renseignements sur ses jours de congé et de l’indemnité de vacances une seule fois, pour chaque année de référence ou période tampon terminée, sur demande écrite à l’employeur. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez le chapitre « Vacances » dans Votre guide de la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d’emploi.

Dossiers sur les heures de travail : exception à la règle

Si un travailleur à domicile reçoit un salaire fixe pour chaque période de paie et que ce salaire ne varie pas, sauf s'il travaille des heures supplémentaires, l'employeur ne doit inscrire au dossier que l'information suivante :

  • les heures de travail que l'employé a effectuées en plus des heures prévues à la semaine de travail normale; et
  • le nombre d'heures de travail par jour qui excèdent huit heures, ou qui dépassent le nombre d'heures prévues à la journée de travail normale de l'employé, si celle-ci est de plus de huit heures.

Que se passe-t-il si l'employeur ne respecte pas la Loi?

Si un employé pense que son employeur ne respecte pas la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d'emploi, il peut appeler le Centre d'information sur les normes d'emploi, au 416 326-7160 ou au 1 800 531-5551 (appels sans frais), pour obtenir de l'information sur la loi et la façon de déposer une plainte. Les plaintes sont examinées par un agent des normes d'emploi qui, s'il le juge approprié, peut prendre une ordonnance à l'endroit d'un employeur, y compris une ordonnance l'obligeant à observer la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d'emploi. Le ministère a plusieurs autres façons de faire observer la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d'emploi, dont celles-ci : demander à un employeur d'observer volontairement la loi; obliger un employeur à payer un salaire qui est dû à un employé; obliger un employeur à reprendre au travail ou à indemniser un employé; remettre à un employeur un avis de contravention ou une amende; poursuivre un employeur en justice conformément à la Loi sur les infractions provinciales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements ou pour déposer une réclamation

Si vous avez des questions concernant la Loi, veuillez appeler le Centre d'information sur les normes d'emploi du ministère du Travail de l'Ontario au 416 326-7160 ou, sans frais, au 1 800 531-5551. Les personnes ayant une déficience auditive peuvent composer le 1 866 567-8893 (ATS).

Vous pouvez obtenir des renseignements sur la Loi en consultant la section intitulée « Normes d'emploi » du site Web du ministère du Travail. L’information est offerte dans plusieurs langues.

Pour déposer une réclamation, vous pouvez obtenir le formulaire de réclamation relatif aux normes d’emploi en ligne. Vous pouvez également obtenir une copie papier du formulaire dans certains centres ServiceOntario ou commander un exemplaire en ligne auprès de ServiceOntario Publications, ou en composant le 1 800 668-9938. Les personnes ayant une déficience auditive peuvent composer le 1 800 268-7095 (ATS).

Pour consulter la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d’emploi, visitez le site Web Lois-en-ligne du gouvernement de l'Ontario.

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource a été élaborée pour aider les employés et les employeurs à comprendre certains des droits et obligations minimums institués par la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d'emploi (LNE) et les règlements connexes. Elle ne constitue pas un avis juridique. Elle n'a pas vocation à se substituer à la LNE ou aux règlements connexes et il est recommandé de toujours se référer à la version officielle des dispositions législatives. Bien que nous nous efforcions de veiller à ce que les renseignements figurant dans la présente ressource soient les plus actuels et les plus exacts possible, des erreurs s'y glissent parfois. La LNE fournit uniquement des normes minimums. Certains employés sont susceptibles de jouir de meilleurs droits aux termes d'un contrat de travail, d'une convention collective, de la common law ou d'autres dispositions législatives. Les employeurs et les employés pourraient juger utile d'obtenir un avis juridique.