Print This Page

Child Performers

Ontario’s Protecting Child Performers Act, 2015 (PCPA) came into force on February 5, 2016. The purpose of this law is to promote the best interests, protection and well-being of paid child performers working in the live entertainment industry and the recorded entertainment industry.

This fact sheet is intended to provide general information only. Ministry of Labour health and safety inspectors and employment standards officers will apply and enforce the PCPA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This fact sheet does not affect the enforcement discretion of inspectors or officers in any way.

Legislative requirements

To what industries does the PCPA apply?

The PCPA applies to the following two industries:

  • The live entertainment industry – the performing arts industry that provides live entertainment in theatre, dance, music, opera or circus; and
  • The recorded entertainment industry – the industry of producing visual or audio-visual recorded entertainment that is intended to be replayed in cinemas, on the internet, on the radio, as part of a television broadcast or on a VCR, DVD player or similar device, and includes the industry of producing commercials.

To whom does the PCPA apply?

The PCPA requirements apply to:

  • Child performers;
  • Employers of child performers; and
  • Parents and guardians of child performers.

The requirements that apply will depend on the age of the child performer, and whether the child performer is in the live entertainment industry or the recorded entertainment industry.

The PCPA sets out certain minimum requirements for employing or contracting for the services of child performers in Ontario. Topics include:

  • Disclosure requirements
  • Hours of work
  • Breaks
  • Overtime hours
  • Income protection
  • Tutoring
  • Travel
  • Minimum age
  • Adults in the workplace
  • Orientation training
  • Work refusals
  • Healthy food

Hours of work, breaks, overtime hours, income protection and tutoring

Ministry of Labour employment standards officers will investigate claims regarding the above rights and obligations under the PCPA. Please note that in order to file a claim:

  • A claimant must be a child performer under 18 years of age, or a parent or guardian of a child performer under 18 years of age; and
  • The child performer must not be covered by a collective agreement, including but not limited to, the Independent Production Agreement of the Alliance of Canadian Cinema, Television and Radio Artists, and Canadian Media Production Association.

To file a claim under the PCPA, please visit the Child Performers Claim Form web page.

Travel, minimum age, adults in the workplace, and work refusals

Child performers also continue to be covered by the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and its regulations. The main purpose of the OHSA is to protect workers, including child performers, from health and safety hazards on the job.

The Ministry of Labour Health & Safety Contact Centre can refer matters to a Ministry of Labour health and safety inspector where necessary. Call 1-877-202-0008, 1-855-653-9260 (TTY) any time to report critical injuries, fatalities, work refusals. Call 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday to Friday for general inquiries about the PCPA and workplace health and safety. Always call 911 in an emergency.

Health and safety resources and tools

For more information on health and safety requirements in the PCPA, please refer to the following guidelines:

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help you understand some of the minimum rights and obligations established under the Protecting Child Performers Act, 2015 (PCPA). It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the PCPA or its regulations. Although we endeavor to ensure that the information in this resource is as current and accurate as possible, errors do occasionally occur. For complete information, please refer to the PCPA and its regulations on the Ontario Government e-Laws website. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation or its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

The legislation provides minimum requirements only. Some child performers may have greater rights under an employment contract, collective agreement, the common law or other legislation. You may wish to obtain legal advice.

Imprimer cette page

Enfants artistes

La Loi de 2015 sur la protection des enfants artistes (LPEA) de l'Ontario est entrée en vigueur le 5 février 2016. L'objet primordial de la présente loi est de promouvoir l'intérêt véritable de l'enfant artiste qui travaille dans l'industrie du spectacle vivant et l'industrie du spectacle enregistré, sa protection et son bien-être.

Cette feuille de renseignements vise uniquement à fournir des renseignements généraux. Les inspecteurs de la santé et de la sécurité et les agents des normes d'emploi du ministère du Travail appliqueront la LPEA et ses règlements selon les faits qui leur seront présentés sur le lieu de travail. La présente feuille de renseignements n'a aucune incidence sur le pouvoir discrétionnaire des inspecteurs ou des agents à cet égard.

Exigences législatives

À quelles industries s'applique la LPEA?

La LPEA s'applique aux deux industries suivantes :

  • l'industrie du spectacle vivant – l'industrie des arts de la scène qui offre des spectacles dans les domaines du théâtre, de la danse, de la musique, de l'opéra ou du cirque;
  • l'industrie du spectacle enregistré – l'industrie consistant à produire des divertissements visuels ou audio-visuels enregistrés qui sont destinés à être présentés dans un cinéma, sur Internet, à la radio, dans le cadre d'une émission de télévision ou encore sur un magnétoscope, un lecteur de DVD ou un appareil semblable et, notamment, de la production de messages publicitaires.

À qui s'applique la LPEA?

Les exigences de la LPEA s'appliquent :

  • aux enfants artistes;
  • aux employeurs des enfants artistes;
  • aux parents et aux tuteurs légaux d'enfants artistes.

Les exigences qui s'appliquent dépendent de l'âge de l'enfant artiste, et si l'enfant artiste travaille dans l'industrie du spectacle vivant ou l'industrie du spectacle enregistré.

La LPEA définit certaines exigences minimales pour employer un enfant artiste ou retenir ses services à contrat en Ontario. Les sujets abordés comprennent :

  • les exigences de divulgation;
  • les heures de travail;
  • les pauses;
  • les heures supplémentaires;
  • la protection du revenu;
  • le tutorat;
  • les déplacements;
  • l'âge minimum;
  • les adultes sur le lieu de travail;
  • la formation d'orientation;
  • le refus de travailler;
  • les aliments sains.

Heures de travail, pauses, heures supplémentaires, protection du revenu et tutorat

Les agents des normes d'emploi du ministère du Travail examineront les réclamations relatives aux droits et aux obligations ci-dessus en vertu de la LPEA. Veuillez noter qu'afin de déposer une réclamation :

  • le réclamant doit être un enfant artiste âgé de moins de 18 ans, ou le père, la mère ou le tuteur légal d'un enfant artiste âgé de moins de 18 ans;
  • l'enfant artiste ne doit pas être partie à une convention collective, notamment la Independent Production Agreement de l'Alliance of Canadian Cinema, Television and Radio Artists et la Canadian Media Production Association.

Pour déposer une réclamation en vertu de la LPEA, consultez la page Web Formulaire de réclamation relatif aux enfants artistes.

Déplacement, âge minimum, adultes sur le lieu de travail et refus de travailler

La Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST) et ses règlements continuent de s'appliquer aux enfants artistes. L'objectif primordial de la LSST est de protéger les travailleurs, y compris les enfants artistes, des dangers pour la santé et la sécurité au travail.

L'InfoCentre de santé et de sécurité au travail du ministère du Travail peut renvoyer les questions aux inspecteurs de la santé et de la sécurité du ministère du Travail au besoin. Composez le 1 877 202-0008 ou le 1 855 653-9260 (ATS) en tout temps pour signaler des blessures graves, des décès ou des refus de travailler. Pour obtenir des renseignements d'ordre général sur la LPEA et la santé et la sécurité au travail, veuillez appeler entre 8 h 30 et 17 h 00, du lundi au vendredi. Composez toujours le 911 en cas d'urgence.

Ressources et outils en matière de santé et de sécurité

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les exigences en matière de santé et de sécurité de la LPEA, veuillez consulter les lignes directrices suivantes :

Avis de non-responsabilité : Le présent document a été élaboré pour vous aider à comprendre certains des droits et des obligations minimaux établis en vertu de la Loi de 2015 sur la protection des enfants artistes, et ne constitue en rien un avis juridique. Il ne vise pas à remplacer la LPEA et ses règlements. Bien que nous nous efforcions de faire en sorte que les renseignements contenus dans ce document soient à jour et exacts, des erreurs surviennent parfois. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter la LPEA et ses règlements sur le site Web Lois-en-ligne du gouvernement de l'Ontario. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises sont priées de consulter un avocat.

La loi prévoit les exigences minimales seulement. Certains enfants artistes peuvent avoir davantage de droits en vertu d'un contrat de travail, d'une convention collective, de la common law ou d'une autre loi. Vous pouvez consulter un avocat.