Print Print This Page

Terms of Reference - Changing Workplaces Review

Over the past several decades, workplaces and the nature of work itself, have changed considerably. Trends affecting these changes include:

  • The rising prominence of the service sector.
  • An increase in non-standard employment relationships, some of which put workers in more precarious situations.
  • Globalization and trade liberalization which, among other things, put pressure on employers to reduce costs, boost productivity and be innovative.
  • Accelerating technological change which poses new challenges and risks.
  • Greater workforce diversity.

As a result of these changes, many workers have found the opportunity for increased flexibility in their work, but, at the same time far too many workers are experiencing greater precariousness. In addition, business and employers have new opportunities to enhance competitiveness, but may find that the regulatory framework that was designed for a different time is now cumbersome.

Ontario is committed to responding to the changing workplace landscape in a manner that allows us to capture the opportunity that change can provide.

Ontario is committed to an economy that benefits all Ontarians, because the economy is not an end in itself – but a means to enhancing opportunity and security for all.

The Changing Workplaces Review will build on the central principles of Ontario’s legislative framework, but update the approach if needed to reflect the realities of Ontario’s current economy. The objective of this review is to improve security and opportunity for those made vulnerable by the structural economic pressures and changes being experienced by Ontarians in 2015.

Background

The Labour Relations Act, 1995 (LRA) and the Employment Standards Act, 2000 (ESA), are two key pieces of legislation governing employment relationships in Ontario.

The LRA is the primary statute regulating various aspects of labour relations for most workplaces (e.g., the collective bargaining process, certification and decertification of unions, etc.). The LRA has undergone major reforms (in addition to periodic amendments to various sections of the Act), including changes introduced in 1975, 1993, 1995 and 2005. However, some of the key features of this legislative framework have been in place since its introduction in 1950.

The ESA provides minimum standards for fair workplace practices in Ontario, setting out the rights and responsibilities of employees and employers (e.g., minimum wage, hours of work, job-protected leaves, etc.). The ESA underwent a comprehensive review in 2000-2001, resulting in the current Employment Standards Act, 2000. Some of the key changes to the Act included new rules for hours of work and personal emergency leave. Since then, reform over the past decade has been characterized by frequent, incremental changes, generally seen as expanding employee protections.

Direction

The government has committed to engage with Ontarians with respect to the changing workplace. The 2014 Speech from the Throne included this commitment:

A changing economy means a changing workplace. Your government will engage with Ontarians to consider what it can do in the context of our labour and employment law regime to continue to protect workers while supporting business in today's modern economy.

In the Ministry of Labour’s 2014 Mandate Letter, the Premier has charged the Minister with:

  • Engaging openly with Ontarians to consider actions that will support labour and employment law reforms. Your goal is to continue to protect workers while supporting business in today’s evolving economy.
  • Leading a review of Ontario’s system of employment and labour standards. You will work with other ministers to consider reforms that reflect the realities of the modern economy, such as the rise of non-standard employment and the reduction in the prevalence of employer benefits and training.

The Changing Workplaces Review will be the first step towards identifying potential labour and employment law reforms.

Mandate and Scope of Review

The Changing Workplaces Review will consider the broader issues affecting the workplace and assess how the current labour and employment law framework addresses these trends and issues with a focus on the LRA and the ESA. In particular, the Special Advisors will seek to determine what changes, if any, should be made to the legislation in light of the changing nature of the workforce, the workplace, and the economy itself, particularly in light of relevant trends and factors operating on our society, including, globalization, trade liberalization, technological change, the growth of the service sector, and changes in the prevalence and characteristics of standard employment relationships.

The consultations will not consider:

  • the construction industry provisions of the LRA;
  • the minimum wage; and
  • policy discussions for which other independent processes have been initiated.

Consultations will be led by two Special Advisors. The Special Advisors are expected to consider matters in a balanced and neutral manner, bringing both labour and employer perspectives to the consultation process.

Key Roles and Responsibilities

1. Special Advisors

The Special Advisors will provide input into the engagement process, including what advisory supports are needed. They will also work together to lead public engagement with Ontarians and report back to the Minister of Labour within 18 months of their appointment, with their report and recommendations on whether and what legislative changes may be needed to reflect the changing workplace. Public engagement is expected to commence within two months of their appointment.

2. Ministry of Labour

The Ministry of Labour will support the Special Advisors throughout the process by providing secretariat support to assist in coordinating consultations and meetings (internal/ external), providing research support and facilitating any administrative and technical support needs, where appropriate.

Approach

The Special Advisors will examine academic and inter-jurisdictional research, and solicit feedback from stakeholders and the public, including conducting public consultations. The Special Advisors are encouraged to consider other innovative forms of engagement.

The Special Advisors will hold regional public engagement sessions to gather input from Ontarians.

Based on the research and feedback from stakeholders and the public, the Special Advisors will report back to the Minister of Labour within 12 months of their appointment with a preliminary report and within 18 months with a final written report.

If the report is not completed within the initial 18-month period, the Minister of Labour may extend the date for completion of the report, for a period not to exceed three additional months.

The Minister may consider an amendment to the scope of the work of the Special Advisors during the course of the mandate based on feedback received and at the request of the Special Advisors.

Following the Changing Workplaces Review, the Ministry of Labour will consider what changes may be needed to ensure that Ontario’s labour relations and employment standards regime continues to protect workers and support business.

Ethics, Governance and Accountability

The Special Advisors are accountable to the Minister of Labour. The Special Advisors will report to the Minister of Labour on such matters and at such times as the Minister may request.

The Deputy Minister of Labour or his/her designate are responsible for approving all expense claims subject to Ontario Public Service guidelines.

The Special Advisors will comply with the Government of Ontario’s directives and principles with respect to ethics and accountability. It is the responsibility of the Special Advisors to identify any actual or potential conflicts of interest that may arise during the term of their appointment. The Special Advisors will keep their work on the Changing Workplaces Review separate and independent from any other work they may be undertaking. If a conflict of interest arises, the Ministry of Labour will consult Ontario’s Office of the Integrity Commissioner for advice and ensure that a memorandum of understanding or other necessary parameters are put in place to address the conflict.

Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Cadre de référence - Examen portant sur l’évolution des milieux de travail

Les dernières décennies ont apporté des changements considérables dans les lieux de travail de même que dans la nature même du travail. Ces changements sont associés à diverses tendances, notamment :

  • proéminence croissante du secteur des services
  • accroissement des relations de travail non conventionnelles, dont certaines placent des travailleurs dans des situations précaires
  • mondialisation et libéralisation du commerce qui, notamment, poussent les employeurs à réduire les coûts, à stimuler la productivité et à miser sur l’innovation
  • changement technologique accéléré, qui pose des difficultés et des risques nouveaux
  • plus grande diversité de la main-d’œuvre

Ces changements ont fait que bon nombre de travailleurs ont vu leurs conditions de travail s’assouplir, alors que d’autres, bien trop nombreux, subissent les effets d’une plus grande précarité. De plus, alors que s’ouvrent aux entreprises et aux employeurs de nouvelles possibilités d’accroître la compétitivité, certains jugent trop lourd le cadre de réglementation actuel, conçu pour une autre époque.

L’Ontario s’est engagée à réagir à l’évolution du milieu de travail de manière à nous permettre de saisir les occasions créées par le changement.

L’Ontario est résolue à créer une économie bénéfique pour tous les Ontariens, car l’économie n’est pas une fin en soi, mais plutôt un moyen d’améliorer les possibilités et la sécurité pour tous.

L’Examen portant sur l’évolution des milieux de travail s’appuiera sur les principes centraux du cadre législatif de l’Ontario, mais actualisera la démarche au besoin, en fonction de la réalité de l’économie ontarienne d’aujourd’hui. Cet examen a pour objectif de promouvoir la sécurité et les possibilités pour ceux qu’auront rendus vulnérables les pressions et les changements économiques structuraux que connaissent les Ontariens en 2015.

Contexte

La Loi de 1995 sur les relations de travail (LRT) et la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d’emploi (LNE) sont deux textes législatifs clés régissant les relations de travail en Ontario.

La LRT est la principale loi régissant différents aspects des relations professionnelles dans la plupart des lieux de travail (p. ex. processus de négociation des conventions collectives, accréditation et retrait de l’accréditation des syndicats, etc.). La LRT a subi des réformes majeures (en plus de modifications périodiques aux différents articles), notamment des changements apportés en 1975, en 1993, en 1995 et en 2005. Toutefois, quelques-unes des principales caractéristiques de ce cadre législatif ont été en place depuis sa création, en 1950.

La LNE fixe les normes minimales assurant des pratiques équitables dans les milieux de travail en Ontario et énonce les droits et les responsabilités des employés et des employeurs (p. ex. salaire minimum, heures de travail, congés en protection de l’emploi, etc.). Après une révision complète en 2000-2001, la LNE est devenue la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d’emploi. De nouvelles règles relatives aux heures de travail et un congé d’urgence personnelle comptent parmi les principaux changements apportés au texte de loi. Depuis, la réforme qui s’est exercée au cours de la dernière décennie a été caractérisée par des changements progressifs fréquents, généralement considérés comme un accroissement des protections offertes aux employés.

Orientation

Le gouvernement s’est engagé à consulter les Ontariens sur la question de l’évolution du milieu de travail. Le discours du Trône de 2014 comprenait l’engagement suivant :

Lorsqu’une économie est en évolution, le milieu du travail l’est aussi. Votre gouvernement sollicitera la participation de la population de la province afin d’examiner ce qu’il peut faire en vertu de notre régime du droit du travail pour continuer à protéger les travailleurs tout en soutenant les entreprises au sein de l’économie moderne actuelle.

Dans la Lettre de mandat 2014 du ministère du Travail, la première ministre a confié les fonctions suivantes au ministre :

  • S’engager ouvertement auprès des Ontariennes et des Ontariens pour envisager des mesures qui réformeront le droit du travail. Votre objectif est de continuer de protéger les travailleurs tout en soutenant les entreprises dans l’économie actuelle en constante évolution.
  • Diriger un examen du système d’emploi et des normes de travail de l’Ontario. Vous travaillerez de concert avec d’autres ministères afin d’envisager des réformes qui tiennent compte des réalités de l’économie moderne, comme la hausse des emplois atypiques et la réduction de la prévalence des avantages payés par les employeurs et de la formation.

L’Examen portant sur l’évolution des milieux de travail sera la première étape dans la détermination des réformes potentielles aux lois régissant l’emploi et le travail.

Mandat et portée de l’examen

L’Examen portant sur l’évolution des milieux de travail étudiera les grandes questions influant sur le milieu de travail et évaluera comment celles-ci sont abordées dans le cadre législatif du travail et de l’emploi, en portant une attention particulière à la LRT et à la LNE. Plus particulièrement, les conseillers spéciaux chercheront à déterminer quels changements, s’il y a lieu, devraient être apportés à la législation, compte tenu de la nature changeante de la main-d’œuvre, du milieu de travail et de l’économie même, notamment à la lumière des tendances et des facteurs pertinents qui agissent sur notre société, y compris la mondialisation, la libération du commerce, l’évolution technologique, la croissance du secteur des services ainsi que les changements qui s’opèrent dans la prévalence et les caractéristiques des relations de travail conventionnelles.

Les consultations n’aborderont pas les questions suivantes :

  • les dispositions de la LRT relatives à l’industrie de la construction;
  • le salaire minimum;
  • les discussions d’orientation faisant l’objet d’autres processus indépendants.

Les consultations seront menées par deux conseillers spéciaux. Les conseillers sont censés aborder les questions avec une approche équilibrée et neutre, intégrant les points de vue des travailleurs et des employeurs dans le procesuss consultatif.

Rôles et responsabilités clés

1. Conseillers spéciaux

Les conseillers spéciaux vont alimenter le processus de consultation, notamment sur les mesures de soutien requises en matière consultative. Ils vont aussi travailler ensemble à diriger la consultation publique avec les Ontariens et faire rapport au ministre du Travail le 28 mars 2017 au plus tard. Ils présenteront un rapport et des recommandations sur les changements législatifs à apporter, s’il y a lieu, pour tenir compte de l’évolution du milieu de travail. Il est prévu que les activités de consultation publique débuteront deux mois après la nomination des conseillers.

2. Ministère du Travail

Le ministère du Travail soutiendra les conseillers spéciaux tout au long du processus en leur fournissant des services de secrétariat qui faciliteront la coordination des consultations et des réunions (internes/externes), le travail de recherche ainsi que le soutien administratif et technique, s’il y a lieu.

Approche

Les conseillers spéciaux vont étudier la recherche universitaire et intergouvernementale et solliciter les avis des parties intéressées et du public, notamment par la tenue de consultations publiques. Les conseillers spéciaux sont encouragés à envisager des formes de consultation innovatrices.

Les conseillers spéciaux tiendront des séances de consultation publique régionales afin de recueillir les points de vue de la population ontarienne.

À la lumière de la recherche et des avis des parties intéressées et du public, les conseillers spéciaux présenteront un rapport préliminaire au ministre du Travail le 28 mars 2017 au plus tard, suivi d’un rapport final.

Le ministre peut envisager de modifier la portée des travaux des conseillers spéciaux durant le mandat, en fonction des avis reçus et à la demande des conseillers spéciaux.

À la suite de l’Examen portant sur l’évolution des milieux de travail, le ministère du Travail étudiera les changements qui pourraient être apportés pour garantir que le régime des relations de travail et des normes d’emploi de l’Ontario continue de protéger les travailleurs et de soutenir le commerce.

Mandat additionnel : Congé d'urgence personnelle

Comme énoncé dans l’Exposé économique d’automne 2015, les conseillers spéciaux répondront aux préoccupations soulevées par le secteur des affaires au sujet de l’application du congé d’urgence personnelle prévu par la LNE.

Les conseillers spéciaux donneront la priorité à cette question et remettront leurs conseils au gouvernement de sorte que des mesures puissent être mises en œuvre à cet égard en 2016.

Éthique, gouvernance et responsabilité

Les conseillers spéciaux relèvent du ministre du Travail et lui rendent compte sur les questions et au moment choisis par le ministre.

Le sous-ministre du Travail ou la personne désignée pour le remplacer approuvent tous les remboursements de dépenses conformément aux lignes directrices de la fonction publique de l’Ontario.

Les conseillers spéciaux observent les directives et les principes du gouvernement de l’Ontario en matière d’éthique et de responsabilité. Il revient aux conseillers spéciaux de signaler les conflits d’intérêts réels ou potentiels pouvant survenir durant leur mandat. Les conseillers spéciaux garantissent la séparation et l’indépendance de leurs travaux menés dans le cadre du l’Examen portant sur l’évolution des milieux de travail par rapport aux autres travaux qu’ils pourraient accomplir. En cas de conflit d’intérêts, le ministère du Travail consultera le Bureau du commissaire à l’intégrité de l’Ontario et veillera à ce qu’un protocole d’entente ou d’autres paramètres nécessaires soient établis pour régler ce conflit.