What's New

September 2016 | Issue #76

More than 35,000 Ontarians get the latest Ministry of Labour news delivered straight to their inbox. Find out why. Subscribe now.

Ontario Increases Minimum Wage

Ontario will raise the general minimum wage from $11.25 to $11.40 on Oct. 1, 2016. Minimum wage rates for liquor servers, students under the age of 18, hunting and fishing guides, and homeworkers will also increase at the same time.

Learn More >

barista

Reminder: Submission Deadline For Changing Workplaces Review

Ontario is conducting a review of the changing nature of the workplace. An Interim Report has been released with a range of options to amend the Labour Relations Act, 1995 and the Employment Standards Act, 2000 to better protect workers while supporting business in today’s economy. The review’s Special Advisors, Michael Mitchell and former Justice John Murray, are seeking submissions on the options in the report. Just a reminder that the deadline for submissions is October 14, 2016.

Learn More >

workers

Ontario Appoints New WSIAT Chair

Ontario has appointed David N. Corbett as the new Chair of the province’s Workplace Safety and Insurance Appeals Tribunal (WSIAT).

Learn More >



office building

New Workplace Harassment Requirements In Effect

Bill 132, the Sexual Violence and Harassment Action Plan Act (Supporting Survivors and Challenging Sexual Violence and Harassment), includes several amendments to the Occupational Health and Safety Act to enhance employer responsibilities with respect to harassment that occurs in the workplace, including sexual harassment. These amendments came into effect September 8. The ministry has developed new resources to help workplaces comply with the new requirements.

Learn More >

harassment

Ministry Releases New Sector Plans

Every year, the ministry develops enforcement plans that focus on hazards specific to workplaces in various sectors of the economy. The ministry has released the plans for the health care, construction and mining sectors, and for its specialized and professional services. The industrial sector plan will be posted shortly. These plans outline program priorities and what inspectors look for during an inspection.

Learn More >

workers

Call For Proposals: Research Opportunities Program

The ministry’s Research Opportunities Program invests in research and knowledge projects that focus on the priorities of the occupational health and safety system. The ministry is now accepting applications for the upcoming year.

Learn More >

researchers

Repeat Violators/Zero Tolerance Blitz

Ontario is helping to protect vulnerable workers with an employment standards inspection blitz this fall. In September and October, the Ministry of Labour’s employment standards officers are conducting a blitz focusing on repeat violators and will be taking a zero tolerance approach towards any violation of the Employment Standards Act, 2000. Repeat violations are one indicator of intentional or wilful non-compliance. The ministry is focusing primarily on sectors with a high rate of precarious employment and other sectors with repeat violators.

Learn More >

inspector

Safe Material Tramming In Mines Blitz

Safety hazards can arise in the use of haulage trucks, loaders, load haul dump machines, locomotives and other vehicles for material tramming. Past incidents involving such equipment have resulted in worker injuries and deaths, as well as property damage. In September and October, the ministry is conducting an inspection blitz at surface and underground mines in Ontario. Ministry inspectors are focusing on hazards that can arise when moving material by truck, rail or other equipment.

Learn More >

vehicle

Hazard Alert: Meat Mixer/Grinder

A worker in the meat department of a grocery store was injured recently while processing meat using a meat mixer and grinder machine. The worker opened the lid of the machine while it was still running and reached inside. The worker’s arm became entangled with the moving parts. Learn to protect your workers from the hazard of moving parts found in meat mixers and grinders.

Learn More >

Reminder: Thanksgiving Day Is a Public Holiday Under The ESA

Most Ontarians who are covered by the Employment Standards Act (ESA) are entitled to a minimum of nine public holidays with public holiday pay – including Thanksgiving Day. Employees who are entitled to take public holidays off work may work on those days if they agree in writing. Please note that some employees may work in jobs that are exempt from public holiday provisions in the ESA.

Learn More >

turkey

Take Part In Global Ergonomics Month!

As part of Global Ergonomics Month, the Ministry of Labour, along with its occupational health and safety system partners, will raise awareness of ergonomics and musculoskeletal disorder (MSD) hazards. Organize your own events or participate in the many events, webinars or training sessions held around the province. Also, visit the ministry’s website for resources on how to prevent MSDs.

Learn More >

MSD x-ray

Healthy Workplace Month

October is Healthy Workplace Month in Canada! This month challenges participants to improve their workplace through activities and other best practices to promote healthy bodies, minds and corporate culture. Learn about ways to make your workplace a healthier place to work.

Learn More >

Healthy Workplace Month, October 1 - 31, 2016 (logo)

Join the conversation Follow us on TwitterLike us on Facebook

Workplace health and safety | #worksafeON
Employment standards and labour relations | #workfairON

Unsubscribe | Previous Issues

Quoi de neuf?

Septembre 2016 | numéro 76

Plus de 35 000 Ontariennes et Ontariens reçoivent directement les dernières nouvelles du ministère du Travail dans leur corbeille d’arrivée. Abonnez-vous dès maintenant pour en savoir plus.

Hausse du salaire minimum en Ontario

L’Ontario augmentera le salaire minimum général qui passera de 11,25 $ à 11,40 $ le 1er octobre 2016. Les taux de salaire minimum pour les serveurs de boissons alcoolisées, les étudiants de moins de 18 ans, les guides de chasse et de pêche, ainsi que les travailleurs à domicile augmenteront également.

Plus d’info >

barista

Rappel : date limite pour soumettre vos commentaires concernant l’Examen sur les milieux de travail en évolution

L’Ontario mène actuellement un examen sur la nature changeante du lieu de travail. Un rapport intérimaire a été publié et ce dernier contient un gamme d’options pour modifier la Loi de 1995 sur les relations de travail et la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d’emploi pour mieux protéger les travailleurs tout en soutenant les entreprises dans l’économie actuelle. Les conseillers spéciaux, Michael Mitchell et le juge à la retraite John Murray, sollicitent des commentaires sur les options présentées dans le rapport. Nous vous rappelons que la date limite pour soumettre vos commentaires est le 14 octobre 2016.

Plus d’info >

travailleurs

L’Ontario nomme un nouveau président du TASPAAT

L’Ontario a nommé David N. Corbett à titre de nouveau président du Tribunal d’appel de la sécurité professionnelle et de l’assurance contre les accidents du travail (TASPAAT).

Plus d’info >


immeuble de bureaux

Nouvelles exigences en matière de harcèlement au travail en vigueur

Le ministère a élaboré de nouvelles ressources afin d’aider les lieux de travail à se conformer aux nouvelles exigences. Le projet de loi 132, la Loi de 2016 sur le Plan d’action contre la violence et le harcèlement sexuel (en soutien aux survivants et en opposition à la violence et le harcèlement sexuels) comprend plusieurs modifications à la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail pour élargir les responsabilités des employeurs concernant le harcèlement qui survient au travail, y compris le harcèlement sexuel. Ces modifications sont entrées en vigueur le 8 septembre. Le ministère a mis au point des ressources pour aider les lieux de travail à se conformer aux nouvelles exigences.

Plus d’info >

harcèlement

Le ministère publie les nouveaux plans de secteurs

Chaque année, le ministère élabore des plans d’application de la loi qui sont axés sur les dangers propres aux lieux de travail de divers secteurs économiques. Le ministère a diffusé les plans pour les secteurs des soins de santé, de la construction et de l’exploitation minière, ainsi que pour les services professionnels spécialisés. Le plan du secteur industriel sera affiché prochainement. Ces plans donnent les grandes lignes des priorités des programmes et les éléments sur lesquels se penchent les inspecteurs durant une inspection.

Plus d’info >

travailleurs

Appel de propositions : Programme des perspectives de recherche

Dans le cadre de son Programme des perspectives de recherche, le ministère investit dans les programmes axés sur la recherche et les connaissances qui ciblent les priorités du système de santé et de sécurité au travail. Le ministère accepte actuellement les demandes de financement pour l’année prochaine.

Plus d’info >

chercheurs

Récidivistes/Campagne éclair à tolérance zéro

L’Ontario contribue à la protection des travailleurs vulnérables en menant cet automne une campagne d’inspections éclair axée sur les normes d’emploi. En septembre et en octobre, les agents des normes d’emploi du ministère du Travail mèneront des inspections éclair ciblant les récidivistes et adopteront une politique de tolérance zéro en ce qui a trait aux infractions à la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d’emploi. Les infractions à répétition sont l’un des indicateurs d’une non-observation volontaire et intentionnelle. Le ministère inspectera principalement les secteurs ayant un taux élevé d’emplois précaires et d’autres secteurs comportant des récidivistes.

Plus d’info >

inspectrice

Inspections éclair ciblant le transport sécuritaire du matériel sur rails

L’utilisation de camions, de chargeurs, de chargeurs-transporteurs et d’autres véhicules servant au transport de matériel peut causer des dangers. Des incidents antérieurs comportant de l’équipement de ce genre ont entraîné des blessures pour les travailleurs, la mort de travailleurs, ainsi que des dommages aux biens. En septembre et octobre, le ministère mènera des inspections éclair aux mines souterraines et à ciel ouvert en Ontario. Les inspecteurs du ministère concentreront leurs efforts sur les dangers pouvant survenir lors du transport de matériel par camion, par rails ou au moyen d’autres appareils.

Plus d’info >

véhicule

Alerte : mélangeurs et hachoirs à viande

Un travailleur du département de la viande d’une épicerie s’est récemment blessé pendant qu’il transformait la viande à l’aide d’un mélangeur et d’un hachoir à viande. Le travailleur a ouvert le couvercle de la machine pendant qu’elle était encore en marche et a tendu le bras à l’intérieur. Son bras s’est enchevêtré avec les pièces mobiles. Apprenez comment protéger vos travailleurs contre les pièces mobiles des mélangeurs et hachoirs à viande.

Plus d’info >

Rappel : le jour de l’Action de grâce

La plupart des Ontariennes et Ontariens qui sont visés par la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d’emploi ont droit à un nombre minimum de jours fériés avec salaire pour jour férié, dont l’Action de grâce. Les employés qui sont admissibles aux congés fériés peuvent travailler durant ces journées s’ils en conviennent par écrit. Il est à noter que certains employés peuvent occuper des emplois qui sont exemptés des dispositions de la LNE relatives aux jours fériés.

Plus d’info >

dinde

Participez au Mois mondial de l’ergonomie!

Dans le cadre du Mois mondial de l’ergonomie, le ministère du Travail, de concert avec ses partenaires du réseau de santé et de sécurité au travail, sensibilisera la population à l’ergonomie et aux dangers des troubles musculo-squelettiques (TMS). Organisez votre propre activité ou participez aux nombreux événements, webinaires ou séances de formation ayant lieu à l’échelle de la province. Vous pouvez aussi consulter le site Web du ministère pour obtenir des ressources sur les moyens de prévenir les TMS.

Plus d’info >

radiographie, TMS

Mois de la santé au travail

Octobre est le Mois de la santé au travail au Canada! Dans le cadre de ce mois, on encourage les participants à améliorer leur lieu de travail par l’entremise d’activités ou d’autres pratiques optimales visant à favoriser des corps, des esprits et une culture d’entreprise en santé. Apprenez comment rendre votre lieu de travail plus sain.

Plus d’info >

Mois santé au travail, 1 au 31 octobre 2016 (logo)

Joignez-vous à la conversation Follow us on TwitterLike us on Facebook

Santé et sécurité au travail | #worksafeON
Normes d'emploi et relations de travail | #workfairON

Pour se désabonner | Numéros précédents