What's New

March 2016 | Issue #70

More than 31,000 Ontarians get the latest Ministry of Labour news delivered straight to their inbox. Find out why. Subscribe now.

Awareness Campaigns Target Working At Heights, Residential Roofing

Falls continue to be the leading cause of critical injuries and fatalities in construction. In response, the Ministry of Labour is launching a digital and radio awareness campaign about the new training requirements for working at heights. The ministry has also begun conducting an online campaign to raise homeowner’s awareness of the risks posed by hiring residential roofing contractors who operate “under the table” in cash deals.

Learn More About the New Training Requirements >
Hiring a Roofer >

Workplace Fatalities

Workplace fatalities have a tremendous impact on families, workplaces and communities. As part of its mission to raise awareness of preventive information, the ministry has created a new webpage with resources to alert workplaces to hazards in a variety of industries.

Learn More >

New JHSC Standards Now In Effect

New training standards have come into force for certifying Joint Health and Safety Committee (JHSC) members in Ontario. The new standards contain specific criteria that must be met to obtain approval by Ontario’s Chief Prevention Officer for JHSC certification training programs and training providers who want to deliver those programs. An updated list of training providers is also now available.

Learn More >

Radon Guideline

Workers may be exposed to elevated levels of radon gas in indoor environments. Radon can accumulate to high concentrations indoors in confined or poorly ventilated spaces, as well as in confined subterranean spaces. Learn about the hazards and precautions that can be taken to protect workers.

Learn More >

Hazard Alert: Safety Of Load Haul Dump Equipment Operators

Workers operating Load Haul Dump (LHD) equipment could be ejected from the operator’s compartment while the equipment is moving. The ministry has issued a new alert about the potential for serious injury or death to LHD operators if the equipment is not properly inspected, operated and maintained in good condition.

Learn More >

Steps For Life

Every spring, people of all ages take part in the Steps for Life five-kilometre walk to raise funds to support Canadians affected by workplace tragedy. Register now for early-bird savings!

Learn More >

Follow us on TwitterLike us on Facebook

More than 19,000 Ontarians have
joined the conversation. Are you in?

Unsubscribe | Previous Issues

Quoi de neuf?

Mars 2016 | numéro 70

Plus de 31 000 Ontariennes et Ontariens reçoivent directement les dernières nouvelles du ministère du Travail dans leur corbeille d’arrivée. Abonnez-vous dès maintenant pour en savoir plus.

Campagnes de sensibilisation ciblant les travaux en hauteur et de toiture résidentielle

Les chutes demeurent la cause première des blessures critiques et des décès dans le secteur de la construction. Par conséquent, le ministère a lancé une campagne de sensibilisation numérique et radiophonique sur les nouvelles exigences de formation pour le travail en hauteur. Le ministère a également entamé une nouvelle campagne en ligne pour sensibiliser les propriétaires aux risques que pose l’embauche d’entrepreneurs de travaux de toiture résidentelle qui travaillent « au noir » et se font payer en argent comptant.

Renseignez-vous sur les nouvelles exigences de formation >
Engagez un couvreur >

Décès en milieu de travail

Les décès en milieu de travail ont un énorme impact sur les familles, les lieux de travail et les collectivités. Dans le cadre de sa mission visant à mieux faire connaître les renseignements en matière de prévention, le ministère a créé une nouvelle page Web qui comporte de nouvelles alertes destinées aux lieux de travail de divers secteurs.

Plus d’info >

Nouvelles normes sur les CMSS maintenant en vigueur

Sont maintenant en vigueur de nouvelles normes de formation à l’agrément des comités mixtes sur la santé et la sécurité (CMSS). Les nouvelles normes prévoient des critères auxquels on doit répondre pour obtenir l’approbation du directeur général de la prévention de l’Ontario concernant les programmes de formation à l’agrément et les fournisseurs qui veulent offrir ces programmes. Une liste à jour des fournisseurs de formation est affichée sur le Web.

Plus d’info >

Ligne directrice sur le radon

Les travailleurs peuvent être exposés à des concentrations élevées de gaz radon dans les environnements intérieurs. Des quantités élevées de radon peuvent s’accumuler à l’intérieur dans des lieux confinés ou mal ventilés, ainsi que dans des espaces souterrains confinés. Renseignez-vous sur les dangers et les précautions à prendre pour protéger les travailleurs.

Plus d’info >

Alerte : Sécurité des opérateurs de chargeurs-transporteurs

Les travailleurs qui opèrent des chargeurs-transporteurs peuvent être éjectés de la cabine de conduite pendant que le matériel est en mouvement. Le ministère a émis la présente alerte afin de sensibiliser les travailleurs aux blessures sérieuses ou aux décès d’opérateurs de chargeurs-transporteurs pouvant potentiellement survenir si le matériel n’est pas adéquatement inspecté, exploité et entretenu en bon état de fonctionnement.

Plus d’info >

Fil de vie

Au printemps, des personnes de tout âge participent à la marche de cinq kilomètre de Fil de vie en vue de soutenir les Canadiennes et Canadiens touchés par une tragédie au travail. Inscrivez-vous dès aujourd’hui pour profiter d’un rabais précoce!

Plus d’info >

Follow us on TwitterLike us on Facebook

Plus de 19 000 Ontariennes et Ontariens
se sont joints à la conversation. Êtes-vous de la partie?

Pour se désabonner | Numéros précédents