What’s New

June 2017
Follow us on Twitter Like us on Facebook Connect with us on LinkedIn

Fair Workplaces, Better Jobs Act, 2017

Ontario has introduced legislation to create more opportunity and security for workers through its plan for Fair Workplaces and Better Jobs, including hiking the minimum wage, ensuring part-time workers are paid the same hourly wage as full-time workers, introducing paid sick days for every worker and stepping up enforcement of employment laws.

Read more | Join the conversation Facebook

Court bulletins

A Mississauga employer has been jailed for 30 days and fined for failing to obey an order to pay $140,000 in wages. Workplace parties that violate Ontario’s employment and workplace health and safety laws can face convictions, fines – even jail time.

Read more | Join the conversation Facebook

Suspended access equipment on construction projects

Read a new guideline to help engineers, designers, fabricators and suppliers understand the meaning and intent of certain technical aspects in the Construction Regulation related to suspended work platforms and boatswain’s chairs.

Read more

The Ministry of Labour and the Ontario College of Trades are consulting on proposed regulations respecting trade classification reviews.

Proposed regulation respecting trade classification | Proposed Board of Governors Regulation

Positions available on the Ontario College of Trades’ governing boards

The Ontario College of Trades Appointments Council and Classification Roster is currently accepting applications for positions on the Ontario College of Trades’ governing boards. Apply now!

Read more

Supervisor awareness and accountability blitz

As the employer’s representative on construction projects, supervisors play an important role in workplace health and safety. In June and July, the ministry is conducting an inspection blitz focusing on supervisors at construction projects. Inspectors are checking whether supervisors comply with occupational health and safety laws. They are also checking whether employers are providing adequate and competent supervision when five or more workers are at a project.

Read more

With summer around the corner, many Ontarians are welcoming the warmer days. But working outdoors also presents many hazards. Working where it is hot can put you at risk for heat-related illnesses. Workers in certain areas are also at risk for infections that come from tick bites (such as Lyme disease); infections that come from mosquito bites (such as West Nile virus); and severe skin and eye reactions from handling of hazardous plants.

Heat stress | Tick bites and Lyme disease | West Nile virus | Hazardous plants | Sun safety

Conveyor guarding in mines

Conveyors are widely used in Ontario mines. Workers may be exposed to certain hazards if conveyor belts and related equipment are not properly guarded or maintained. The ministry has produced a new resource to help workplaces understand the requirements and best practices for conveyor guarding, including preventing worker access to pinch points.

Read more

Free webinar: How to create a mentally healthy workplace

Employers that recognize mental health as key to a healthy workplace are the organizations that are going to succeed. Watch a free, one-hour webinar to learn how to create a mentally healthy workplace. Hosted by Workplace Safety and Prevention Services (WSPS), the webinar introduces key steps you can take to launch a workplace mental health program.

Read more

New website a one-stop shop for workplace mental health

ThinkMentalHealth.ca, a new website with free workplace mental health resources for businesses, has just launched. Developed by WSPS with its health and safety system partners, the website offers tools to help you create a psychologically healthy workplace.

Read more

Safe and fair workplaces 2017: Small business outreach initiative

The ministry is working with small businesses to increase awareness of workplace safety, and employment standards rights and responsibilities, and to improve resources that will help them comply with the law.

Read more

Quoi de neuf?

Juin 2017
Parlez-nous sur Facebook Parlez-nous sur Facebook Suivez-nous sur LinkedIn

Loi de 2017 pour l’équité en milieu de travail et de meilleurs emplois

L'Ontario a déposé une loi afin de créer plus de possibilités et de sécurité pour les travailleuses et travailleurs grâce à un plan pour l'équité en milieu de travail et de meilleurs emplois. Il s'agit notamment de hausser le salaire minimum, de veiller à ce que les travailleurs à temps partiel touchent le même taux horaire que les travailleurs à temps plein, de prévoir des congés de maladie payés pour tous les travailleurs et de renforcer la mise en application des lois régissant le travail.

Plus d’info | Joignez-vous à la conversation Facebook

Bulletins judiciaires

Un employeur de Mississauga s’est vu imposé une peine d’emprisonnement de 30 jours et une amende pour avoir omis de se conformer à une ordonnance de versement de 140 000 $ en salaires. Les parties en présence dans le lieu de travail qui enfreignent les lois ontariennes en matière d’emploi et de santé et de sécurité au travail peuvent faire l’objet de condamnations, d’amendes et même des peines d’emprisonnement.

Plus d’info | Joignez-vous à la conversation Facebook

Équipement d’accès suspendu sur les chantiers de construction

Lire les nouvelles lignes directrices visant à aider les ingénieurs, les concepteurs, les fabricants et les fournisseurs à comprendre le sens et l’objet de certains éléments techniques du Règlement sur les chantiers de construction qui portent sur les plateformes de travail suspendues et les sellettes.

Plus d’info

Le ministère du Travail et l’Ordre des métiers de l’Ontario mènent des consultations portant sur les règlements visant l’examen du classement des métiers.

Projet de règlement concernant le classement des métiers | Projet de règlement concernant le conseil d’administration

Postes ouverts à l’Ordre des métiers de l’Ontario

Le Conseil des nominations et Registre du classement de l’Ordre des métiers de l’Ontario accepte actuellement les candidatures pour des postes aux conseils d’administration de l’Ordre des métiers. Postuler dès maintenant!

Plus d’info

Inspections éclair ciblant les superviseurs : sensibilisation et imputabilité

À titre de représentants d’employeurs sur les chantiers de construction, les superviseurs jouent un rôle important dans la santé et la sécurité au travail. En juin et juillet, le ministère mène des inspections éclair ciblant les superviseurs aux chantiers de construction. Les inspecteurs vérifient que les superviseurs observent les lois en matière de santé et de sécurité au travail. Ils s’assurent aussi que les employeurs offrent une surveillance adéquate et conforme lorsqu’un chantier comporte cinq travailleurs ou plus.

Plus d’info

L’été étant à nos portes, un grand nombre d’Ontariennes et d’Ontariens accueillent avec joie les journées plus chaudes. Or, le travail à l’extérieur pose de nombreux risques. Travailler dans des endroits chauds vous expose à des risques de maladies liées à la chaleur. Les travailleurs dans certaines régions risquent également d’attraper des infections causées par des piqûres de tiques (maladie de Lyme), des piqûres de moustiques (virus du Nil occidental) et de graves réactions cutanées et oculaires découlant de la manipulation de plantes dangereuses.

Stress thermique | Morsures de tiques et maladie de Lyme | Virus du Nil occidental | Plantes dangereuses | Sécurité solaire

Dispositifs de protection des convoyeurs dans les mines

Les convoyeurs sont couramment utilisés dans les mines de l'Ontario. Les travailleurs peuvent être exposés à certains dangers si les bandes transporteuses et le matériel connexe ne sont pas dotés de protecteurs adéquats et s'ils sont mal entretenus. Le ministère a rédigé une nouvelle ressource pour aider les lieux de travail à comprendre les exigences et les pratiques optimales relatives aux dispositifs de protection des convoyeurs, y compris le fait de prévenir l’accès des travailleurs aux points rentrants.

Plus d’info 

Webinaire gratuit : Comment créer un lieu de travail sain sur le plan psychologique

Les employeurs qui reconnaissent que la santé mentale est essentielle sont les organismes qui vont réussir. Visionnez un webinaire gratuit d’une heure pour apprendre comment créer un lieu de travail sain sur le plan psychologique. Offert par Worplace Safety and Prevention Services (WSPS), le webinaire présente les étapes clés à prendre pour mettre en oeuvre un programme de santé mentale au travail. Veuillez noter que le webinaire est offert uniquement en anglais.

Plus d’info

Nouveau site Web, un guichet unique pour la santé mentale au travail

ThinkMentalHealth.ca, un nouveau site qui contient des ressources en matière de santé mentale au travail à l’intention des entreprises vient tout juste d’être lancé. Conçu par WSPS, de concert avec ses partenaires en santé et sécurité, le site offre des outils pour vous aider à créer un lieu de travail sain sur le plan psychologique. Veuillez noter que le site Web est offert uniquement en anglais.

Plus d’info

Lieux de travail sûrs et équitables 2017 : initiative d’aide aux petites entreprises

Le ministère du Travail travaille avec les petites entreprises pour les sensibiliser à la sécurité au travail, aux droits et responsabilités en matière de normes d’emploi et pour améliorer les ressources qui les aideront à se conformer à la loi.

Plus d’info