What's New

July 2016 | Issue #74

More than 33,000 Ontarians get the latest Ministry of Labour news delivered straight to their inbox. Find out why. Subscribe now.

Animated Video Highlights New Tips And Gratuities Rules

New rules around the handling of tips and other gratuities in the workplace are now in force. These rules affect employers and employees covered by the Employment Standards Act in workplaces where tips and gratuities are received – such as at bars, restaurants, hair and nail salons, catering firms and taxis. Watch a new animated video to learn about these new rules.

Watch The Video >

Ontario Improving Occupational Health And Safety Outcomes

Ontario is providing $4.38 million to support research and innovation projects that will improve occupational health and safety in the province. Each year, the ministry funds innovation projects and collaborative partnerships through the Occupational Health and Safety Prevention and Innovation Program (OHSPIP). It also invests in occupational health and safety research projects selected through the Research Opportunities Program (ROP).

Learn More >

Suspended Access Equipment

Ontario has made amendments to strengthen and clarify existing requirements relating to the use of suspended access equipment. They include a requirement to notify the ministry before using such equipment for the first time, requirements for roof and site-specific work plans, and training requirements for workers. The amendments also include enhanced design, inspection, maintenance and technical requirements for such equipment. The amendments will come into force January 1, 2017.

Learn More >

Protecting Outdoor Workers

It’s summer and many Ontarians are welcoming the warmer days. But working outdoors also presents many hazards. Working where it is hot puts stress on your body’s cooling system. Do you know the signs of heat stress? Workers who work in certain areas are also at risk for tick bites and Lyme disease; mosquito bites and the West Nile Virus; and serious skin reactions and permanent scarring from hazardous plants.

Heat Stress >
Tick Bites And Lyme Disease >
West Nile Virus >
Hazardous Plants >

Ontario Changes WHMIS Requirements

As of July 1, 2016, Ontario has amended its WHMIS requirements to adopt new global standards for classifying hazardous workplace chemicals and for providing information on labels and safety data sheets.

Learn More >

New And Young Workers Inspection Blitz

Young workers in Ontario continue to be injured. Ontario has launched a seven-week blitz to ensure the safety of young people while working at their summer jobs. From July 18 to Sept. 2, an enforcement blitz is targeting industrial workplaces where new and young workers are employed. Inspectors are checking that employers comply with the Occupational Health and Safety Act.

Learn More >

Winners Announced For National Health And Safety Video Contest

The Ministry of Labour’s “It’s Your Job” contest asks secondary school students to develop an original video that can be used in social media to illustrate the importance of working safely. Ontario’s top video then moved on to the national contest to compete with winners from other Canadian provinces and territories. A group of Ontario students from Markham have placed second in the national “It’s Your Job” contest. Congratulations! Watch the videos, and share with your workplaces!

Learn More >

Bring Safety Home Awareness Campaign Launches

Parents and others play a vital role in ensuring young people know about their rights at work. Our health and safety system partners have launched BringSafetyHome.com, a new website targeting parents, relatives, coaches, teachers and other support networks as part of a campaign to make work safer for Ontario’s youth.

Learn More >

Follow us on TwitterLike us on Facebook

#WorkSafeON | #WorkFairON
More than 22,000 Ontarians have
joined the conversation. Are you in?

Unsubscribe | Previous Issues

Quoi de neuf?

Juillet 2016 | numéro 74

Plus de 33 000 Ontariennes et Ontariens reçoivent directement les dernières nouvelles du ministère du Travail dans leur corbeille d’arrivée. Abonnez-vous dès maintenant pour en savoir plus.

Vidéo animée présentant les nouvelles règles sur les pourboires et gratifications

De nouvelles règles concernant le traitement des pourboires et autres gratifications dans les lieux de travail sont maintenant en vigueur. Ces règles touchent les employeurs et les employés visés par la Loi sur les normes d’emploi des lieux de travail où l’on donne des pourboires, comme les bars, les restaurants, les salons de coiffure et de manucure, les entreprises de préparation d’aliments et les taxis. Regardez une nouvelle vidéo animée pour vous renseigner sur ces nouvelles règles.

Regardez la vidéo >

L’Ontario améliore les résultats en matière de santé et de sécurité au travail

L’Ontario versera une somme de 4,38 millions de dollars pour soutenir les projets de recherche et d’innovation qui amélioreront la santé et la sécurité dans la province. Chaque année, le ministère finance des projets d’innovation et des partenariats par l’entremise du Programme de prévention et d’innovation pour la santé et la sécurité au travail (PPISST). Il injecte aussi des fonds dans des projets de recherche sélectionnés dans le cadre du Programme des perspectives de recherche (PPR).

Plus d’info >

Équipement d’accès suspendu

L’Ontario a apporté des modifications aux règles existantes portant sur l’utilisation de l’équipement d’accès suspendu en vue de les resserrer et y apporter des précisions. Elles comprennent une exigence pour aviser le ministère avant d’utiliser cet équipement pour la première fois, des exigences pour les plans de travail visant des toitures et des chantiers particuliers et les exigences de formation des travailleurs. Les modifications traitent aussi d’une conception améliorée, de l’inspection, de l’entretien et des exigences techniques pour ce genre d’équipement. Les modifications entreront en vigueur le 1er janvier 2017.

Plus d’info >

Protéger les personnes qui travaillent à l’extérieur

C’est l’été et un grand nombre d’Ontariennes et Ontariens sont ravis de l’arrivée du beau temps. Or, le travail à l’extérieur présente aussi de nombreux dangers. Le fait de travailler dans un environnement chaud exerce des pressions sur le système de refroidissement de votre corps. Connaissez-vous les signes de stress thermique? Les travailleurs qui travaillent dans certains endroits sont exposés aux risques que posent les piqûres de tiques et la maladie de Lyme; les piqûres de moustiques et la maladie du virus du Nil occidental; et de graves réactions cutanées qui sont causées par des plantes dangereuses.

Le stress dû à la chaleur >
Les morsures de tiques et la maladie de Lyme >
Le virus du Nil occidental >
Les plantes dangereuses >

L’Ontario modifie les exigences du SIMDUT

À compter du 1er juillet 2016, l’Ontario a modifié ses exigences du SIMDUT pour adopter des nouvelles normes mondiales pour classer des produits chimiques dangereux utilisés dans les lieux de travail et fournir des renseignements sur des étiquettes et des fiches signalétiques.

Plus d’info >

Inspections éclair ciblant les jeunes et les nouveaux travailleurs

Les jeunes travailleurs ontariens continuent de se blesser. L’Ontario a lancé une campagne d’inspections de sept semaines pour assurer la sécurité des jeunes pendant qu’ils occupent leur emploi d’été. Du 18 juillet au 2 septembre, une campagne d’application de la loi ciblera les lieux de travail industriels qui emploient des nouveaux travailleurs et des jeunes travailleurs. Les inspecteurs vérifieront que les employeurs se conforment à la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail.

Plus d’info >

Concours national de vidéos sur la santé et la sécurité : les gagnants sont annoncés

Dans le cadre du concours du ministère du Travail « C’est votre travail », on demande aux élèves du palier secondaire de réaliser une vidéo originale qui peut être utilisée dans les médias sociaux pour illustrer l’importance de travailler en toute sécurité. Les meilleures vidéos de l’Ontario sont ensuite présentées au concours national pour se mesurer contre les gagnants des autres provinces et territoires du Canada. Un groupe d’élèves ontariens de Markham ont remporté la deuxième place lors du concours national « C’est votre travail ». Félicitations! Regardez les vidéos et partagez-les avec vos collègues au travail!

Plus d'info >

Nouveau site Web pour les parents de jeunes travailleurs

Les parents et autres personnes jouent un rôle essentiel en ce qui concerne le fait d’informer les jeunes au sujet de leurs droits au travail. Nos partenaires du système de santé et de sécurité au travail ont lancé BringSafetyHome.com, un nouveau site en anglais destiné aux parents, aux membres de famille, aux entraîneurs, aux enseignants et à d’autres réseaux de soutien, dans le cadre d’une campagne visant à rendre le travail des jeunes ontariens plus sécuritaire.

Plus d’info >

Follow us on TwitterLike us on Facebook

Plus de 22 000 Ontariennes et Ontariens
se sont joints à la conversation. Êtes-vous de la partie?

Pour se désabonner | Numéros précédents