What's New

February 2016 | Issue #69

More than 31,000 Ontarians get the latest Ministry of Labour news delivered straight to their inbox. Find out why. Subscribe now.

Ontario Announces New PTSD Strategy For First Responders

Ontario is putting in place a number of new initiatives to help prevent or mitigate the risk of post-traumatic stress disorder among first responders.

Learn More >

Occupational Disease In Mines

Workers may be at risk for occupational diseases due to physical, chemical, or biological exposures in underground and surface mines. These hazards can result in workers experiencing serious injuries, long-term health effects, and even death. Read more about how to protect workers from these hazards in the ministry’s newest fact sheet.

Learn More >

Protecting Child Performers

Ontario’s Protecting Child Performers Act, 2015 came into force on February 5, 2016. The legislation aims to promote the best interests, protection and well-being of paid child performers working in the live and recorded entertainment industries.

Learn More >

Sanitation On Construction Sites Video

Clean-up and toilet facilities are probably the last place you would look for hazards on construction sites. Inadequate facilities are a major cause of the spread of diseases to construction workers and their families. Watch a new video about how to protect workers from the hazards of poor hygiene and the spread of infectious diseases on construction sites.

Watch The Video >

New Standards For JHSC Training Programs And Providers

For Joint Health and Safety Committee (JHSC) certification training programs and training providers to be approved, specific criteria must be met. Just a reminder that new standards for the approval of these programs and providers come into effect on March 1. Meanwhile, JHSC members trained under the 1996 standards and not already certified must send confirmation of their Part 2 training by April 30.

Learn More >

Blitz Results: Material Handling

Workers can be seriously injured, or even killed, as a result of hazards involving material handling. From September 14 to October 23, 2015, the ministry conducted an enforcement blitz at industrial workplaces in Ontario. Learn what inspectors found.

Learn More >

Ontario Opens New Clinic For Work-Related Injuries In Ottawa

Ontario has opened a new Occupational Health Clinic for Ontario Workers in Ottawa to help treat and reduce workplace injuries and diseases.

Learn More >

Telescopic Handlers

A telescopic handler, or a telehandler, is mobile equipment that looks similar to a power elevated work platform, a forklift or a mobile crane. Learn what requirements under the Occupational Health and Safety Act and the Construction Regulations pertain to the use of such equipment.

Learn More >

De-rating Of Mobile Cranes

As mobile cranes age, they may reach a point where their useful life may be extended by making physical modifications to permanently reduce their lifting capacity. In this case, the Ministry of Labour will accept a crane’s de-rating – subject to certain conditions.

Learn More >


Did you know that repetitive strain injuries (RSIs) are among the most common types of worker injuries? These injuries mainly affect muscles, nerves and tendons. Take part in International RSI Awareness Day on February 29, and learn more about how you can prevent RSI at your workplace!

Learn More >

Follow us on TwitterLike us on Facebook

More than 19,000 Ontarians have
joined the conversation. Are you in?

Unsubscribe | Previous Issues

Quoi de neuf?

Février 2016 | numéro 69

Plus de 31 000 Ontariennes et Ontariens reçoivent directement les dernières nouvelles du ministère du Travail dans leur corbeille d’arrivée. Abonnez-vous dès maintenant pour en savoir plus.

L’Ontario annonce une nouvelle stratégie ESPT pour les premiers intervenants

L’Ontario mettra en oeuvre un certain nombre de nouvelles initiatives pour aider à prévenir ou atténuer les risques de troubles de stress post-traumatique chez les premiers intervenants.

Plus d’info >

Maladies professionnelles chez les mineurs

Les travailleurs risquent de contracter une maladie professionnelle en raison d’expositions physiques, chimiques ou biologiques dans les mines souterraines et à ciel ouvert. Ces dangers peuvent entraîner, chez les travailleurs, de graves blessures, des troubles de santé à long terme et même la mort. Renseignez-vous sur la façon de protéger ces travailleurs contre ces dangers dans le nouveau document d’information du ministère.

Plus d’info >

Protéger les enfants artistes

La Loi de 2015 sur la protection des enfants artistes de l’Ontario est entrée en vigueur le 5 février 2016. La loi vise à favoriser les intérêts, la protection et le bien-être des enfants artistes rémunérés qui travaillent dans les industries de la scène et du spectacle.

Plus d’info >

Vidéo concernant l'hygiène sur les chantiers de construction

Les toilettes sont sans doute le dernier endroit sur un chantier de construction qui présentent des dangers. Les installations d’hygiène inadéquates sont une cause principale de la propagation des maladies chez les travailleurs de la construction et leurs familles. Visionnez une nouvelle vidéo sur la façon de protéger les travailleurs contre les dangers d’une mauvaise hygiène et la propagation des maladies infectieuses sur les chantiers de construction.

Visionner la vidéo >

CMSS : nouvelles normes pour les programmes de formation et les fournisseurs

Pour obtenir une approbation relative aux programmes de formation à l’agrément des membres des comités mixtes de santé et de sécurité (CMSS) et les fournisseurs de formation, il faut répondre à certains critères. Un rappel que ces nouvelles normes pour l’approbation de ces programmes et l’agrément des fournisseurs entrent en vigueur le 1er mars. Les membres des CMSS qui ont été formés en vertu des normes de 1996 et qui n’ont pas reçu leur agrément doivent envoyer une confirmation de la formation de la partie 2 d’ici le 30 avril.

Plus d’info >

Résultats d’inspections éclair : manutention des matériaux

Les travailleurs risquent de se blesser grièvement ou même de mourir en raison de dangers que pose la manutention des matériaux. Du 14 septembre au 23 octobre 2015, le ministère a mené une campagne éclair dans des lieux de travail industriels de la province. Prenez connaissance des résultats des inspecteurs.

Plus d’info >

L’Ontario ouvre à Ottawa une nouvelle clinique pour les travailleurs ayant subi des blessures au travail

L’Ontario a ouvert une nouvelle clinique de santé au travail pour les travailleurs à Ottawa, dont la mission est d’aider à traiter et réduire les blessures et les maladies professionnelles.

Plus d’info >

Chariots téléscopiques

Un chariot télescopique ou un chariot élévateur à portée variable est un équipement mobile d'apparence similaire à une plate-forme de travail élévatrice motorisée, à un chariot élévateur à fourche ou à une grue mobile. Apprenez quelles sont exigences sont prévues dans la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements sur la construction en ce qui a trait à l’utilisation de cet équipement.

Plus d’info >

Déclassement des grues mobiles

À mesure que les grues mobiles prennent de l’âge, elles peuvent atteindre un point où il est possible de prolonger leur durée de vie utile en apportant des modifications physiques en vue de réduire de manière permanente leur capacité de levage. Dans ce cas, le ministère du Travail accepte le déclassement d’une grue, sous réserve des conditions indiquées ci-dessous.

Plus d’info >

Journée internationale de sensibilisation aux lésions attribuables au travail répétitif

Saviez-vous que les lésions attribuables au travail répétitif sont les blessures les plus courantes chez les travailleuses et travailleurs? Elles touchent principalement les tendons, les muscles, les nerfs et les tendons.

Plus d’info >

Follow us on TwitterLike us on Facebook

Plus de 19 000 Ontariennes et Ontariens
se sont joints à la conversation. Êtes-vous de la partie?

Pour se désabonner | Numéros précédents