What's New

August 2016 | Issue #75

More than 34,000 Ontarians get the latest Ministry of Labour news delivered straight to their inbox. Find out why. Subscribe now.

Ontario Seeking Input To Protect Workers And Support Business

Ontario has launched the next phase of consultations on employment and labour laws that will protect workers while supporting businesses in the changing economy. The consultations will seek feedback on the Changing Workplaces Review Interim Report. The interim report, written by special advisors C. Michael Mitchell and John C. Murray, outlines the review's findings to date on ways the Labour Relations Act, 1995, and Employment Standards Act, 2000, could enhance protections for workers and supports for business in Ontario's evolving workforce.

Learn More >

New Legislation On Workplace Sexual Violence And Harassment

Bill 132, the Sexual Violence and Harassment Action Plan Act (Supporting Survivors and Challenging Sexual Violence and Harassment), will come into effect on September 8, 2016. The legislation includes several amendments to the Occupational Health and Safety Act. These amendments will enhance employer responsibilities with respect to harassment that occurs in the workplace, including sexual harassment.

Learn More >

New Ministry Video Focuses On Veterinary Clinics

The ministry has released a new video focusing on what inspectors look for during inspections at veterinary clinics. The video highlights some of the health and safety hazards at these workplaces and appropriate controls.

Watch The Video >

Mobile Crane And Material Hoisting Blitz

Hazards involving mobile cranes can lead to severe injuries and fatalities of workers or members of the public. In August and September, the ministry is focusing on hazards involving mobile cranes – including those related to material hoisting – at construction sites in a province-wide inspection blitz.

Learn More >

Ministry Of Labour Recruiting Health And Safety Inspectors

The ministry is looking for health and safety inspectors to work across the province. There are 25 permanent industrial inspector positions and seven permanent construction inspector positions available. Successful applicants will undergo extensive training made up of classroom and field study.

Learn More >

Hot Off The Press … For The Last Time

The latest issue of Health & Safety at Work TODAY is now available! Read about the newest ministry initiatives, legislation, enforcement activities, and prevention programs and products. This quarterly issue will also be its last. The ministry found that an overwhelming 95 per cent of subscribers also receive What’s New – which provides the same information and, as a monthly newsletter, comes out more frequently (more reason to continue reading What's New to say up-to-date with the latest news and resources!).

Learn More >

Reminder: Labour Day Is A Public Holiday Under The ESA

Most Ontarians who are covered by the Employment Standards Act (ESA) are entitled to a minimum of nine public holidays with public holiday pay – including Labour Day. Employees who are entitled to take public holidays off work may work on those days if they agree in writing. Please note that some employees may work in jobs that are exempt from public holiday provisions in the ESA.

Learn More >

Updated Resource On Lyme Disease

Blacklegged ticks that can transmit Lyme disease are in Ontario. Workers who work in certain outdoor areas are at risk for tick bites and developing Lyme disease, and should protect themselves. The Ministry of Labour – with the help of the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care – has recently updated its resource on tick bites and Lyme disease.

Learn More >

International Mine Rescue Competition

From August 19 to 26, 2016, mine rescue teams from around the globe will meet in Sudbury, Canada, for the 10th International Mines Rescue Competition. Hosted by Workplace Safety North and Ontario Mine Rescue, 28 teams representing 13 nations will compete in different events including an underground scenario, firefighting, first aid and more.

Learn More >

Join the conversation Follow us on TwitterLike us on Facebook

Workplace health and safety | #worksafeON
Employment standards and labour relations | #workfairON

Unsubscribe | Previous Issues

Quoi de neuf?

Août 2016 | numéro 75

Plus de 34 000 Ontariennes et Ontariens reçoivent directement les dernières nouvelles du ministère du Travail dans leur corbeille d’arrivée. Abonnez-vous dès maintenant pour en savoir plus.

L’Ontario sollicite des commentaires pour protéger les travailleurs et appuyer les entreprises

L’Ontario a entamé la prochaine phase de consultation sur les lois en matière d’emploi et de travail qui protégeront les travailleurs tout en soutenant les entreprises dans une économie en évolution. Dans le cadre des consultations, on cherchera à obtenir des commentaires sur le rapport intérimaire publié à la suite de l’Examen portant sur l’évolution des milieux de travail. Le rapport intérimaire, rédigé par les conseillers spéciaux C. Michael Mitchell et John C. Murray, présente les résultats de l’examen obtenus à ce jour, qui portent sur les façons dont on pourrait améliorer les mesures de protection des Loi de 1995 sur les relations de travail et Loi de 2000 sur les normes d’emploi pour les travailleurs, et les soutiens pour les entreprises sur le marché du travail ontarien en en évolution.

Plus d'info >

Nouvelle loi sur la violence et le harcèlement sexuel au travail

Le projet de loi 132, Loi de 2016 sur le Plan d'action contre la violence et le harcèlement sexuels (en soutien aux survivants et en opposition à la violence et au harcèlement sexuels) entrera en vigueur le 8 septembre 2016. La loi comprend plusieurs modifications à la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail. Ces modifications renforcent les responsabilités des employeurs en ce qui a trait au harcèlement, y compris le harcèlement sexuel, qui survient dans le lieu de travail.

Plus d’info >

Nouveau vidéo du ministère portant sur les cliniques vétérinaires

Le ministère a publié un nouveau vidéo qui présente les éléments sur lesquels se penchent les inspecteurs lorsqu’ils inspectent des cliniques vétérinaires. Le vidéo met en lumière quelques-uns des dangers en matière de santé et de sécurité de ces lieux de travail, ainsi que les mesures de contrôle appropriées.

Regardez la vidéo >

Inspections éclair ciblant les grues mobiles et le levage de matériaux

Les dangers entourant les grues mobiles peuvent causer de graves blessures et la mort de travailleurs ou de membres du public. En août et septembre, le ministère ciblera les dangers relatifs aux grues mobiles, y compris ceux liés au levage de matériaux, aux chantiers de construction dans le cadre d’inspections éclair provinciales.

Plus d'info >

Le ministère du Travail recrute des inspecteurs de la santé et la sécurité au travail

Le ministère recherche des inspecteurs de la santé et de la sécurité au travail partout en province. Il cherche à remplir 25 postes permanents d’inspecteur industriel et sept postes permanents d’inspecteur de l’industrie de la construction. Les candidats retenus suivront une formation intensive composée de cours magistraux et pratiques.

Plus d’info >

Dernier bulletin de nouvelles

Le dernier numéro d’ACTUALITÉS Santé et sécurité au travail est maintenant disponible! Renseignez-vous sur les dernières initiatives du ministère, les mesures législatives, les activités d’application de la loi, ainsi que les programmes et produits en matière de prévention. Ce numéro trimestriel est également le dernier. Le ministère a constaté qu’un nombre très élevé des abonnés (95 %) reçoivent aussi Quoi de neuf? qui présente les mêmes renseignements et est publié plus souvent, soit aux mois. C’est donc une bonne raison de continuer à lire ce bulletin pour vous tenir à jour des toutes dernières nouvelles et ressources!

Plus d'info >

Rappel : la fête du Travail est un jour férié en vertu de la LNE

La plupart des Ontariennes et Ontariens qui sont visés par la Loi sur les normes d’emploi (LNE) ont droit à un nombre minimal de neuf jours fériés avec salaire pour jour férié, y compris la fête du Travail. Les employés qui ont droit de prendre congé les jours fériés peuvent travailler pendant ces journées si elles y consentent par écrit. Veuillez noter que certains employeurs peuvent occuper des emplois qui sont exemptés des dispositions sur les jours fériés de la LNE.

Plus d'info >

Mise à jour de la ressource concernant la maladie de Lyme

Les tiques à pattes noires peuvent transmettre la maladie de Lyme en Ontario. Les travailleurs qui travaillent dans certaines zones à l’extérieur risquent de se faire piquer par ces tiques et d’attraper la maladie de Lyme. Ces travailleurs devraient prendre des mesures de protection. Le ministère du Travail, avec l’aide du ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée, a récemment mis à jour sa ressource sur les piqûres de tiques et sur la maladie de Lyme.

Plus d'info >

Concours international de sauvetage minier

Du 19 au 26 août 2016, des équipes de sauvetage minier de partout au monde se rencontreront à Sudbury, Canada, pour participer au 10e concours international de sauvetage minier organisé par Workplace Safety North et Ontario Mine Rescue. Vingt-huit équipes représentant 13 nations prendront part à divers événements dont un scénario souterrain, la lutte contre les incendies, les premiers soins et autres. Le site Web est en anglais seulement.

Plus d’info >

Joignez-vous à la conversation Follow us on TwitterLike us on Facebook

Santé et sécurité au travail | #worksafeON
Normes d'emploi et relations de travail | #workfairON

Pour se désabonner | Numéros précédents