• Content last reviewed: January 2015

Effective and responsive engagement is a vital part of achieving the Ministry of Labour’s (MOL) mission to advance safe, fair and harmonious workplace practices. As a ministry, we take seriously our responsibility to listen to and work with stakeholder groups. We recognize that the advice and support of stakeholders is essential if we are to develop and implement relevant, sustainable and practical policies and programs.

Engagement benefits the ministry by allowing us to address shortcomings in proposals, avoid unintended consequences and improve the quality of decision making by harnessing alternative perspectives and a broader evidence base. Engagement is also an important mechanism for raising awareness of the ministry’s activities amongst stakeholders, and for providing stakeholders with information on new policies or modifications to existing programs.

Engagement should be mutually beneficial to the ministry and our stakeholders. Stakeholders should have the opportunity to contribute their expertise and experience, have their issues heard and influence the decision-making process. Ideally, engagement should create opportunities for stakeholders and the ministry to draw on each other’s knowledge and capacity, and learn together through ongoing dialogue. Finally, ‘engaging for action’ by building partnerships with stakeholders is critical for improving outreach and achieving substantive change.

Who the Ministry Engages With

The ministry’s core stakeholder community are the workers and employers of Ontario. For the ministry to serve this core community, key stakeholder groups include the organizations and representatives of those who use our programs and services or are subject to our regulations, as well as all other groups who have an interest in helping to improve outcomes in Ontario workplaces. The range of stakeholders impacted by the ministry’s work is extensive, and includes (but is not limited to):

  • Business and industry groups
  • Community organizations
  • Education providers
  • Other Ontario ministries and other levels of government
  • Professional associations
  • Research community
  • Section 21 Committees and other Advisory Groups
  • Training providers
  • Unions/Labour organizations
  • Worker advocates

The ministry has established productive working relationships with stakeholders from all of these categories. Maintaining these connections is a central part of the ministry’s business, as these groups’ diverse knowledge and experiences contribute to better workplace outcomes. The ministry is also mindful that these groups are not homogenous, and that diverse views are often found within a single stakeholder category.

Formal Ministry of Labour Partners

In addition to frequent collaborations with stakeholders, the ministry has a number of formal partners. These include the six Health and Safety Associations and the ministry’s nine Agency partners, which all have statutory mandates that complement the ministry’s core goals. By working in a coordinated way with these partners, the ministry can better deliver on its mandate and accomplish much more than could be achieved in isolation.

Previous | Next

• Dernière mise à jour : janvier 2015

Le ministère du Travail (MTR) a pour mission de promouvoir des pratiques de travail sûres, équitables et respectueuses. Or, l’un des éléments clés sur lesquels il doit pouvoir compter à cette fin est la participation efficace et attentive de ses intervenants. Le ministère prend sa responsabilité d’écouter ses intervenants et de collaborer avec eux très au sérieux. Nous savons pertinemment que les conseils et le soutien de nos intervenants nous sont indispensables si nous voulons élaborer et mettre en œuvre des politiques et des programmes pertinents, pratiques et durables.

La participation des intervenants est avantageuse pour le ministère, en ce sens qu’elle lui permet de remédier aux points faibles de ses propositions, d’éviter qu’elles n’aient des conséquences imprévues et de prendre de meilleures décisions en tenant compte aussi bien de points de vue différents que d’éléments probants de sources plus variées. Cette participation est aussi importante pour le ministère pour mieux sensibiliser ses intervenants à ses activités et les tenir au courant de ses nouvelles politiques comme des modifications apportées à ses programmes existants.

La participation se veut à l’avantage non seulement du ministère, mais de ses intervenants. Ces derniers devraient pouvoir contribuer leur savoir-faire et leur expérience, se faire entendre par le ministère et avoir une influence sur sa prise de décisions. Idéalement, la participation des intervenants devrait fournir à ces derniers comme au ministère des possibilités d’apprentissage mutuel grâce à un dialogue continu et de mise à profit de leurs connaissances et capacités respectives. Bref, le ministère sait que pour amener des changements importants, il doit forger des partenariats avec le plus grand nombre d’intervenants possible et s’assurer leur participation constructive.

Qui vise le cadre de participation du MTR?

Les intervenants de base du ministère sont les travailleuses et travailleurs de l’Ontario, de même que les personnes ou entreprises qui les emploient. Afin de pouvoir servir au mieux ces intervenants de base, le ministère sollicite aussi la participation d’intervenants représentant soit la clientèle de ses programmes et services, soit les groupes qui sont soumis à ses règlements, de même que d’autres personnes ou groupes intéressés à améliorer les lieux de travail ontariens. Les intervenants touchés par les activités du ministère sont fort nombreux et divers et incluent, entre autres :

  • des groupes industriels et commerciaux;
  • des organismes communautaires;
  • des éducateurs et des formateurs;
  • d’autres ministères ontariens et ordres de gouvernement;
  • des associations professionnelles;
  • le milieu de la recherche;
  • des comités consultatifs, notamment ceux de petites entreprises constitués en vertu de l’article 21 de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail;
  • des syndicats et organisations syndicales;
  • des représentants des travailleurs

Le ministère a établi des relations de travail productives avec tous ces types d’intervenants. Cultiver ces relations est l’une des activités clés du ministère, vu que les connaissances et expériences variées de ces groupes contribuent à améliorer les lieux de travail. Le ministère a conscience que ces groupes ne sont pas homogènes, et qu’une diversité de points de vue est souvent reflétée au sein d’une même catégorie d’intervenants.

Les partenaires officiels du ministère du Travail

Au-delà de ses intervenants, avec lesquels il collabore fréquemment, le ministère a aussi un certain nombre de partenaires officiels. Ceux-ci incluent six associations de santé et de sécurité, de même que neuf autres organismes dont les mandats d’origine législative complètent les objectifs fondamentaux du ministère. En travaillant de façon concertée avec ces partenaires, le ministère est mieux à même de réaliser son mandat et d’accomplir bien davantage qu’il ne le pourrait seul.

précédent | suivant