Print This Page

Parliamentary Assistant Biography

  • Content last reviewed: June 2016
Photo of Mike Colle

Mike Colle
Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister of Labour

Mike Colle was first elected to the Ontario legislature in 1995 as the MPP for Oakwood. He was elected as the MPP for Eglinton-Lawrence in 1999, then re-elected in 2003, 2007, 2011 and 2014.

Colle currently serves as Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister of Labour.

He has served as Parliamentary Assistant to the Ministers of Infrastructure, Transportation, Northern Development and Mines, Finance, Natural Resources, Children and Youth Services, and Community Safety and Correctional Services. Colle has also served as Minister of Citizenship and Immigration, a role in which he brought forward Bill 124, The Fair Access to Regulated Professions Act.

Colle was twice appointed as Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister of Finance. In his first appointment, he directed auto insurance reform and the consultation for a new Mortgage Brokers Act.

He organized the first-ever Bed Bug Summit and secured provincial funding to help combat bed bug infestation. Colle is a lifelong crusader for animal protection and fought to close down puppy mills and pass the 2008 Animal Welfare Act for stronger animal protection.

Prior to being elected as an MPP, Colle served as Chair of the Toronto Transit Commission and served as City Councillor in Toronto. He was a high school teacher at St. Michael’s College School, where he taught history and coached football for 18 years before entering public life.

He and his wife, Sharon, are longtime residents of Toronto, where they have raised four children and are proud grandparents of five grandchildren.

Imprimer cette page

Biographie de l'adjoints parlementaire au ministre du Travail

  • Dernière mise à jour : juin 2016
Photo de Mike Colle

Mike Colle
Adjoint parlementaire au ministre du Travail

Mike Colle a été élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative de l’Ontario dans la circonscription d’Oakwood en 1995. Il a été élu dans la circonscription d’Eglinton-Lawrence en 1999, puis réélu en 2003, 2007, 2011 et 2014.

M. Colle occupe actuellement les fonctions d’adjoint parlementaire au ministre du Travail.

M. Colle a occupé également la fonction d’adjoint parlementaire aux ministres de l’Infrastructure, des Transports, du Développement du Nord et des Mines, des Finances, des Richesses naturelles, des Services à l’enfance et à la jeunesse, ainsi que de la Sécurité communautaire et des Services correctionnels. À titre de ministre des Affaires civiques et de l’Immigration, il a présenté le projet de loi 124, Loi sur l’accès équitable aux professions réglementées.

M. Colle a joué le rôle d’adjoint parlementaire au ministre des Finances à deux reprises. Lors de sa première nomination à ce poste, il a dirigé la réforme de l’assurance-automobile et mené les consultations en vue de l’adoption de la Loi sur le courtage d’hypothèques.

Il a aussi organisé le tout premier Sommet des punaises de lit et a obtenu un financement de la province pour lutter contre cette infestation. M. Colle, qui milite depuis longtemps pour la protection des animaux, a lutté pour la fermeture des « usines à chiots » et a aidé à faire adopter la Loi de 2008 sur le bien-être des animaux, qui a renforcé la protection des animaux.

Avant d’être élu député, M. Colle a été président de la Toronto Transit Commission et conseiller municipal de Toronto. Avant d’amorcer sa carrière politique, il a enseigné l’histoire et été entraîneur de football à la St. Michael’s College School pendant 18 ans.

M. Colle et son épouse Sharon résident à Toronto depuis longtemps. C’est là qu’ils ont élevé leurs quatre enfants. Ils sont les fiers grands-parents de cinq petits-enfants.